Hainanese Brides, anyone???

heehee...okie, thank you (and thank your boh lao too)!
so far gynae hasn't given me any supplements except folic acid (most impt for pregnant ladies - for baby's development) and multi-vitamins. Probably coz that was in first trimester. Think the supplements will change now that I'm in 2nd trimester. heehee...

Hi ah mais, another tiring day for me. Finally settle the hotel i am going to do my ROM. Ask you all something ah. My parents not too happy i inviting people for my ROM. They say like getting married twice like that lei. Not good. True or not ah? And I just realised, my FW and I can buy a HDB resale flat from the market (not from HDB). I told my mum, and she said if I want she can pay a bit for me lei, because i really no $$$. You all think I should get a flat now? Or wait?

Huiz: Ya, TJC steady la. Who studied there? You , me, Pris and...?

petrina: wah, engrave outside how much?

janf: Ya, now i really can relax liao.

Pris: Haiz, my mum say cannot go your wedding lei. So sian, originally wanted to see how you do yours, so i can plan mine next year.

CSI: So happy for you. Getting pregnant like very good, everybody pampers you.

me back frm shopping.. bot a blouse from mphosis and some cosmetics from OG..

lance - if u wana invite frens, juz invite those very close ones will do. dun need to do the elaborate sort.. usually for ROM, couple juz invite immediate familiy members and close frens. working colls and bosses, leave it till AD then invite.

as for flat, if u and wifey dun mind a resale and $$ is not an issue now, probably u shd hunt ard.. stay near ur ma is a good choice if possible, at least u can go back for meals/help is within reach.. but to note tat living on ownselves, expenses will be higher (utilities, groceries etc) compared to staying wif ur pama.. sit dwn and discuss wif wifey 1st, see whether is she comfy staying wif ur pama or prefer to hv own nest ya.. then frm there can start to plan..

Lance: I think Stacy was also from TJ.

As for ROM, Hubby & I invited 4 close friends each. Our parents didn't have any objections to it. One thing about buying HDB resale flat is that it'll definitely be more expensive than getting a new one. BUT you'll be able to stay in a mature estate. Perhaps you can pick one that's near your parents? Think can get some tax relief.

Too bad that you cannot come to my wedding...it's ok.
Will share my video & photos with you.

I'm also using Jacky...how much did he charge you? Are you taking his full-day VG package?

Petrina: I was online...but didn't see you! Haha...i woke up quite late today though, only at 11.30am. Actually i have friends who got married at 23 and 24...so i think my age 25 isn't very young to get married.

Eh, i think i inviting around 40 people for ROM. Is that a lot? My FW there about half then i half.

Pris: Ya lo, very sian cannot go, can only see video and photo. Haiz. Jacky charge me PG+VG $1.4+ lo. I not sure full day or not, but I think should be la. Since you all recommend, so i never look into details. We all took same package right? Ha ha.

janf: Ya lo, must talk to wifey. But she sure say she want to move out one. But the problem is, no $$$, thats why i tell her to wait. Then my parents bought some private property recently near MRT also. I don't feel like moving out on my own liao. Stay with parents can save $$$, then next time go Vietnam buy house. Ha ha.

Hi Lance, yes, if u buy a resale within 2km of your parents, u get a 40K rebate. But then again, when u sell the place next time, u need to pay a levy too.

For me, getting married before 26 (for girls) is really really young. Not a comfortable timing for me.... hee. Need more time to strengthen financial and emotional strength to undertake all the huge responsibilities ahead ;-P Life is not gonna be dreamy or "lomantic" all the time after we set up our own families liao....

Yes, I agree with janf about inviting people to the ROM. I too kept it very simple and very private. Save all the excitement and $$ for the AD.

Yes, Pris, you are right. Stacy was also from TJ

New flats could be cheaper than resale in terms of the price of the property alone. However, some resale are in such good condition that the owner do not need to do much renovation, thus the total bill at the end of the day for a resale (including renovation, furniture and appliances) might be either the same as that of the new one or slightly lower. But then of course weather to buy a resale or a new flat also depends on the buyer's budget as well as their preference for old vs new. I understand some people might reject the idea of a resale coz they might not like to start their new lives together "in an old shoe" ;-P

Oh ya, to those ah mais who had had their wedding, I understand that some of u had catered your luncheons from either Neo Garden or Deli Hub? Are they from the same company? Their food I remember reading from u gals are good? My bo lao is asking his bunch of Pri and Sec sch brudders over and assigned me the task of looking for a caterer.... I am rather keen on either one as they provide this "mini buffet" thingy at a very reasonable price. Deli Hub even has a 10% discount for weekdays order.

been busy for the past few days. thanks everyone for the wishes. been eating a lot for the past few days. btw all the ring designs are so nice.

petrina: i was going to OUB centre to submit a urgent case. otherwise, we usually use company despatch.

lance: i bought a resale flat cos i tried balloting four times and were unsuccessful four times. we got the 40k grant. there is no levy but your parents and yourselves cannot sell the flat or buy pte property within 5 years. if you do so or your parents do so, you have to pay them back 40k together with accrued interest. a lot of resale flats are asking for a lot of cash above valuation these days. you may wish spend more time searching around. it's really the sellers' market these days. btw i used jacky too. hehe. i had close to 60 pax for my solemnisation cum reception.

huiz: i used neo garden for my wedding lunch and i have eaten their food for baby bashes. it's nice. u can try;) usually the feedback is quite good.

aiyo. how come all TJC one? no one from CJC? i was from there.

Sherrie, I think either Deli Hub/Neo Garden would be my final choice. They are the rare ones so far who caters for minimum 15 people. And I like the disposable aluminium trays that their food comes in. No need extra spaces to set up tables for the warmers.

Ya hor, that's about 4 of us from TJC already. Hmm, but I am sure no one comes from the same sec as I. Just curious, where did the ah mais/kor study last time? If I don't remember wrongly, Li Ann was from River Valley and Pris was from Anglican High. I was from Paya Lebar Methodist Girls' Sch (PLMGS for both Pri & Sec.... the full spelling is such a "length-ful")

huiz, neo garden also serve good food. I ordered from them last week(my wedding day)service is good too.

I asked them to come early at 9am and they came exactly the time. My make up artist straight a way said is from neo garden and of cause I wondered how come she knew it. She told me most of the brides will order from them due to reputable and she commented the food is nice. I even updated on my blog.

mais+boy - i juz realised i cant go to the potluck gathering!! arghhhh!!!

juz now i was telling bor-lao abt the gathering and asked him wat shd we bring. then he asked me when so i told him and he went "eh, 14jul we going to watch jacky cheung in concert, u 4get liao huh?!" and i went OHHHH NOOOOO!!!!!!

sudd so sianz coz i oredi looking fwd to it and somemore tinking wat to bring.. really blur of me too but coz we bot the tiks 1mth+ ago and i totally 4got abt it until now..

alamak... janf, u cannot come.. eh, do we wanna change the date?
btw, all of u attended JC huh... aiyo i'm the only poly student ard?

petrina, I am also a poly grad

Dunno if I am outdated, just to inform all ah mais the golden ball's shifu at purvis st passed away already, I didn't have any for my wedding. Anyone knows if there is other ppl doing it?

Aiyo janf, u can't come ah? I am fine with changing the date (only cannot make it on 7 & 29 Jul, it's my friend and Pris's wedding date respectively), but I am not sure about the rest. We see what the rest says next week okie?

Hey Huiz, I was the one who recommended Deli Hub.
Yeap, Deli Hub is part of Neo Garden, and their food was well received by my guests. If I did not rem wrongly, prices at Deli Hub is cheaper.

Lance, personally I feel that you should take your time to search for your house. Getting one is an investment and it is only thru various selections that you will know that 'this is the one'.
It is the same case for your PG+VG lor. U must really like their works before making your down payment. I'm not saying that Jacky is not good, just that you have not seen many others to compare. Do not have to rush into making a decision. BTW, I use Jacky as VG.

Why not postphone our gathering till Aug or Sept?

petrina, I'm from poly too.

ehh, ivy, gathering so far back.. then my invitation cards gotta mail le. cannot hand pass to u gals/boy...

I most dates also can, advance notice is ok de. u all c which dates u all cannot then we block out those dates lor.

Bendi, just saw your wedding montage. Pretty impressive.
I like your AD pic, especially those that featured your expressions. Well done!

Hi ah mais, will take all your advice into consideration. I spoke to my mother just now also. She said no hurry to get my own nest, can stay with her. Just take my time to ballot.

ivy: Ya, i think a bit rush to choose PG, but since sign liao, i look forward to it lo.
I like petrina also want to see bendi's montage please. Got website for us to see? i thinking of doing DIY montage. Heh heh.

janf: Lucky you. Going to Jacky Cheung concert. Which ticket category did you bought?

Huiz: I am also fine with changing the date too. Just not the 28/7/07. Ha ha.

Hi ah mais,
sorry that i have not been active in the thread =P
you all are really too fast for me to catch up liao... but once a while i am poping by to see how you all are...
I'm very busy with my house reno and wedding preparation for 13 July.
Hope everyone is well here =)
Congrats to CSI... when's bb due?

Bendi,
You montage is so nice... very touching... love the song too... =)

Bendi, you've been gone for so long! Perhaps u may want to intro yourself again? Some of them might not "know" u. I had also seen your montage. The Joshua Kadison "Beautiful in My Eyes" song that u had used for the montage is the same as my first march-in song.

Changing date is fine with me... but we shall see what the rest thinks okie? Need to come to a consensus

Ivied, I have checked liao. Both DH and NG charges the same rate $10.88/pax for their mini buffet. Menu is about the same, but the funny thing is, the "chef's recommendation" is different on both menus... haha

juz came back frm PC Show.. so crowded woh..

saw bendi's site, so nice!! the description to use is 'dreamy'..

all - no need to chg date juz coz of 1pax ya.. can stick to the supposed date.. if not i paiseh too.. or can chg to lunch on same date? wateva the case, juz dun chg to suit me ya..

lance - im watching the $128 one..

petrina - me oso poly gal.. from SP..

Lance: I agree with what the other Ah-Mais have said. Buying a flat/house is a big investment. You'll be forking out a large sum of $$, not just for the place but also for the furnishings & reno. Since the both of you are still young, can stay with your parents 1st before getting a place when you're more financially stable.

Huiz: I'm fine bout changing the date...but don't think i can make it nearer to my AD cos i'll be very busy. How about 1st week of July or even early August?
But if changing date, i can't make it on 15th July, i'm watching Dim Sum Dollies.

Janf: Woah, watching Jacky Cheung's concert!!!

BenDi: Haven't seen you posting for a long time! Thanks for sharing your montage.

ya, bendi, intro urself again. i dunno u...

janf, i'mm frm NYP. calling all poly grads, assemble here... keke

Hi dorymiki - long time no *c u* already...

me?
Ya, long time didn't post anything here as I was busying with the wedding prep and my dad was admitted to hospital x2 in the past 3 months and his condition was always critical during the hospitalization and this time round, i even need to walk to his single room at sgh in my KUA for tea ceremony!

Thanks for compliments re:montage. hubby and i were impressed too. I only top up $100.

Let me intro myself again

I am 25 years old, a mai of cause, both parents are hainanese. ROM in 2006 and had banquet last week.

we are hunting for house too!! I am looking at district 8/12/15. f/h or 999 tenure. we use to stay with my parents at wdls but now we want to have our own nest. is better to get house before we reach 30 and of cause we are financially stable. i use to save save save save money but, no point putting the money in the bank, interest not very high also and when ppl start to ask money from us, hubby will just take from our joint acc(w/o getting back the $)so now I am going to use that money for LONG TERM INVESTMENT-BUY AN UNIT, we are going to use 50% of our monthly savings to pay the mortgage monthly and use another 10% for share investment. Next time if ppl ask for money, just say sorry, we don't have CASH. I very bad hor..

hi BenDi, DoryMiki...

Long time no see! heehee...

BenDi, Congrats on your AD!
How was it? Love your cupcakes! Hmmm, can't view your video from office computer...so I'll view it when I get home. heehee...

Hope your dad's much better already...

DoryMiki, Thanks! BB's due end Nov / early Dec.

Huiz, yah, Neo Garden's food is yummy...

Good morning everyone. Hope all had a good weekend. I went to watch Shrek yesterday and enjoyed myself quite a bit despite some irritating kids kept poking me from behind. The story developement isnt too great this time, but I nevertheless, I am still very impressed by their graphics and animation.

Bendi, are u still working at NHC? Read in another thread that u have a job offer? Ya, agree with u that it is always good to save for some very important things in life rather than buying too many unnecessary things which we can't really call them our "assets".

Yeah man, I have confirmed to take my catering from Neo Garden

As for the change of date, since I cannot make it on 7 Jul and 21 Jul is too close to Pris's wedding, shall I suggest 11 Aug? What's your take folks?

yeah,i'm still @ nhc.got job offer by a very mean cardio at gleneagle but dun think i'll go to him,another cardio is asking if wanna follow him to jurong medical centre or ah,he is quite nice juz a bit 'qi ko peh'today come bck work after 2 wks leave but now @ a&e.not feeling too good,coughing like mad &some inflammation over my ribs.

happy working!

i tried to view bendi's wedding montage on youtube. seems like my office has banned the site too. can only view from home tonight.

i am fine with any dates in july.

welcome back to the thread, BenDi, Loinky and DoryMiki.

Huiz - date for gathering now changed to 11 Aug, right?

Me no poly or JC grad. I was a private student, work and study at the same time after 'O' levels.

Wah Bendi, nice stuff you got there. I want to copy liao. Hee hee.

Huiz: I also want to watch Shrek, but my FW don't want. So sian for me. I am a cartoon junkie, but she don't like cartoons.
11 Aug? Need to reconfirm with you again.

Pris: Ya, i think sticking to my old plan of staying with parents liao. My dad also ask me to stay with them first.

janf: You went PC show ah. Did you buy anything? I wanted to go on Sunday but I scared crowded so in the end never go, because i saw the traffic jam picture on hardwarezone forum.
You so blessed, can afford so ex ticket. The only time i have $100+ tix is when ppl give me free. I very cheapskate hor? Heh heh.

Nellie: Work and study is very fierce and you can take it. I super admire you lo. I self study at home already going to die liao.

Bendi, Dory, Loinky: Hope to see you all soon!

Lance: shrek 3 is ok lah. i watched it on youtube cause FH dun wan watch cartoons also..

janf: PC show so crowded.. i only went on thurs.. too many ppl to buy anything.

Huiz: 11 aug is fine wif me. dear all, i'll pass u all my wedding invite for 22/09/2007 on the gathering day. *except Pris..*

Lance - didn't know how I made it thru either. the most stressful part is not exams or assignments... it's school fees!

Mais/Kor, next time got an IT or PC shows, don't have to squeeze with ppl at Suntec to check the bargains. Just visit those shops in Funan or Sim Lim during the shows period instead. Buy from them but make sure they have the same freebies given at the show too. Sometimes they can give further discounts or extra freebies which they can do in the shop but not at the shows. Then just make a quick trip to Suntec to redeem them and get out of that crowded place.

Wa Nellie, this is something new that I have learnt about PC shows. Can really avoid the headache of squeezing with the crowds.

Yep, the new date for the gathering is 11 Aug.

Petrina, I am surprised that the whole Shrek 3 can be found on youtube. This is really fast!

I dropped by my Bridal Shop to say hi to the boss yesterday. He told me that my WG had been booked by a BTB for her wedding at the end of the year liao, but not my EG. Haha, I am not surprised coz my EG is rather troublesome to put on.

Lance, what you wanna copy? I am a bit lost here..hehe..

so nice you girls are out for gathering, I am still having bad cough. maybe next time I'll join u girls..

Nellie, I agreed with you. no point squeezing at the show. will share with my hubby about this.

harlow to Bendi, Dory, Loinky.

nellie, that was a nice piece of information. i went to the pc show too. really crowded. i also think work n study is super siong. pei fu pei fu. i have not thought abt whether to proceed with further studies. coz wedding dinner in 2008, need money for that. also dunno what to proceed with based on a phy degree. getting nowhere.

i'm from NYGH and SAJC. any schoolmates here?

11th Aug seems fine to me at e moment. will confirm nearer to date.

i watched Shrek 3 too. dun really like cartoons actually, just accompany my FH watch. disappointing story line. the character Artie was not well developed. not enough screen time, i think. but graphics improved. i enjoy movies by du qi feng though. he employs a story-telling technique which is like "watching a novel" rather than reading one. kinda poetic. his visual composition is strong, but without strong lighting. so his scenes got a lot of old feel abt it.

wah mosburger, u so detailed... i didnt watch shrek 1&2 so i cannot follow the storyline...

huiz: u so gd, still go by ur bridal shop to say hi...

mosburger: I also agree that the character of Artie could have been given more screentime. But i still enjoyed it and i'm very impressed by the graphics.

Huiz: That BTB is taking your WG for outdoor PS?
I'm fine with 11 Aug...long weekend for me!

Nellie: Thanks for the tip about IT/PC shows. Next time i'll know what to do.

Tomorrow is my food tasting...am going to spend this weekend writing my invitation cards.

Ah-mais, i'll be mailing my cards to you since we won't be meeting up.

Hi all, i'm planning reno for my bridal room le... took leave to c IDs today... anyone can recommend me their ID contacts? I lazy to source other forums le...

Pris, my BS does not provide free/extra gowns for outdoor shots wan. Want more gowns, then gotta pay wan. So I guess the BTB took the WG as her AD gown.

Haha, petrina, the BS boss and I are on rather friendly terms. I cross stitched him a thank u card and he sms-ed me to say not to forget him when my kid man3 yue4 (whenever that is). I said sure, no prob, I will send him red eggs n cakes to eat then and he replied saying that he will welcome me with a red carpet ;-P

Mos, my brother is from SAJC too. In J1 now.... And yes, I agree with u on the part about a weak Shrek 3 storyline

Eh pardon me for my ignorance. Is Du Qi Feng an ang moh? I think I saw an ang mo going up on stage to receive a prize during some awards when the name was announced.

Aiya Bendi, u can't be coughing until Aug right? We are meeting only on 11 Aug leh. Even if we are still sticking to the old 14 Jul date, I am sure u will get well by then right? *winks*

Wa piang eh, what a big boo-boo I had made... just went to Google on Johnny To and realised he is not an ang moh la... haha... blur blur me ;-P

oh ah mais...so many posts i've missed...and as usual... my one-time-bleah-all message...keke...

pris, petrina: thanks for the invite. Will turn up for your wedding!
Yay, more excuses to shop! Pris, we can arrange shopping trip le! ;)

Bendy, Loinky & Dory... hello gals...welcome back! Hope to see you gals in our next gathering.

Lance, Petrina...i love rings that have different textures or colors. Think it is more unique. But hor, after we spend almost 2k plus on the rings...the first time i had a tiny scratch on the ring...i so heartache! i am so clumsy and chor lor...very easy to get scratches... but it is still nice to be wearing ring designed by my hubby.

Huiz, Sherrie: My previous interview also quite scary and lengthy. Got telephone interview, group interview, presentation in chinese to solve customer complaints, etc. I just did one aptitude test, keke...kena killed at the round le, no chance to advance to the next round. Really not easy to find job leh...everyone keep telling me job market is good, but how come they never come to me??

Janf...enjoy the concert! i jus went for May Day concert last sat! High from beginning till end! Cannot control myself. Auntie fan amongst all the teens...screaming, shouting, singing, waving, even standing on top of my chairs. I was sitting at the second row from the stage. It was their best concert to date.

Lance... buying a house is really a huge investment. Me & hubby started viewing resale flats without even understanding the financial part of it...only after we sat down, then we realise how much cash on hand we need to go into the cash above valuation, reno, stamp duties, legal fees, furnishing...wa, all these need money. Plus the property market is not to buyers' advantage, heard of cases where sellers just keep pushing their asking price up and up. Quite ridiculous. Unless you have a certain reserve or sponsorship, you may want to consider staying with parents first to save up and wait for the property market to come down a bit, which i hear prolly still at least 3 yrs from now. If you can wait till then, it will be great. If your FW really wants to move out and cannot wait, then you may want to start looking around cos prices are just escalating by the minutes. My EC already appreciate by alot in a matter of one month. It's crazy. Alternatively, you can rent a house first. Still enjoy er re shi jie but no need to fork out too much cash. Buy your house when you are ready.

Huiz...your memory very gd leh! Yeps, i'm from River Valley High and NJC. Any juniors?

Sherrie...happy belated birthday! Welcome to Club 30...keke...our fun has just begun! ;)

oh huiz...ok, 11 aug i ok.

csi...hee...i'm surrounded by so many mums to be...two collys sitting next to me and opp me are pregnant! so nowadays, our topics are always about babies.
my boss herself is in the healthcare line so she also gave tips. There's one that i always remember...the rest forget le...share share with you... my boss say hor, from now till after birth, every night to apply vitamin E or cocoa butter cream (both can get from bodyshop) around your tummy and thigh area so that you will not get stretch mark! Since your tummy grow quite fast so you better start applying the cream now!