Hainanese Brides, anyone???

Lance, I think camphor duck is a smoked duck, smoked with camphor. Think this method is known as "xun1' in Chinese?

Huiz: u very smart... yaya, gastric. but this time the pain is very bad cause i got a gallstone in my gall bladder giving me prob at the same time. so i did a endoscope + colonscope + gallbladder ultrasound.

Janf/Lance: I'm better le. i'm on drip n painkillers so no pain now. but dunno after discharge how... cannot lie in bed all day rite?

pris: wat's ur webby link? i also wan c ur food review...

Petrina: What happened to you?? Goodness me, if you need a specialist for future checkups, i can recommend my auntie to you. She's a gastroenterologist & her clinic is at Mt E hosp. Must take care ok? Your AD is coming soon!

Lance: On the menu it's stated "Smoked duck with camphor wood & tea leaves"...i don't think it's pipa duck.

Janf: I also don't use daily!!! Haha...i'm lazy. Abdo-choc is not bad. Now both these 2 products have been replaced with a new Biotherm product. Don't know whether it's good anot.

Everyone: I have just sent you the link to my wedding website...sharing some of my PS pics & a few of my album layouts with you.

Hey Petrina,

Hope you're much better already. Take good care, yah...AD coming up in about 3 months...

Lance, no lah, where got knowledgeable? There's sooooo much more info that I do not know yet. Haiz, next time still have to read up on taking care and bringing up a kid...developing kids minds etc. hehs...think the teachers would know such stuff better...

CSI-will check that website out! I'm also staying in the west! haven been to any gathering u gals organise.. but hopefully can join in the next (fingers crossed)..

Petrina- take gd care!

Pris- can share ur PS pics ([email protected])

Pris: Oh, those kind of ducks ah. I think i never eat before and I don't think my menu have that. I will ask my coordinator if they still have it.

CSI: Heh heh, like that Pris and mos should be very good at raising children next time.

petrina: on drip very painful one lei. should lie on bed watch tv or play with laptop la. the cute doctor is a bonus, press the assistance button more often then ask him to visit you lo.

Haha, Lance, press bell is not to call for the Doc. The grouchy nurses will come first.... hehe. Last time my hubby's pager always bombed by the nurses to come see the patients only after the nurses have asked the patients what is wrong. But petrina, are u intending to take out the gall stones? yah, u really need to take good good care coz AD is coming up soon

Pris, seen your pics. Prefer the outdoor ones. The back drop in Zouk is really eye-catching
I have seen the last 2 layouts in your Friendster before too.

Petrina,
Oh my god... that's terrible, must be very painful...
are you still there now, when can you get discharge? Feeling better liao?

Raymond? hmmm... never heard of him... is he one of the brothers?

Janf,
Oh where will you be seating at the concert?
so excited cos my FH loves him alot, though i am not a big fan of his but i still love his songs and voice... =)

Lance: Teaching the kids and bringing up kids is different!!! But i know what to do to stimulate them & help their brain develop well...but i want my kids to grow up with a good heart, that's more impt to me.

Huiz: The layouts are more simplistic magazine style. I like my outdoor shots too! Haha...had a tough time picking the pics, esp those taken at Shenton Way.

Petrina: How are you feeling already? Discharged yet? Will you be undergoing an op to remove the gall stones?

Pris: I saw your pics. They are good. I can't wait for my turn.
So your children next time are smart and good heart liao lo. Heh heh.

Lance: i bought the internet card lor... but ward not network... gotta go to the common area.. so i only go common area ard this timing n late at nite.

Huiz: i intend to remove cause it's pain, but cute doc say i too young to have infected gallstones. so he say better dun remove. so i still discussing wif my family whether to remove or not. pros/cons...
Ya, when i press the bell, the grumpy nurses came... after like 10mins... wan to c cute doc also cannot... haha

dorymiki: raymond lee... his name is in the webby under the list of designers... still in glen now, not sure when discharged cause of the stone prob.

Lance - yah lorh...next time Pris and Mos will know how to develop their kids well...

Pris - next time must ask you for tips on how to stimulate kids' brains...heehee...you're the expert in this...

Haha, Petrina & DoryMiki, the docs are usually the last people to come wan. Honestly speaking, they try to siam the bedside as much as possible. Go bedside = got problem or = need to talk to families. My bo lao says that being a doc is sometimes more of a PR than a healing job.

Today is my lucky day. Got called up for 2nd round interview next week. Keep my fingers crossed. Now I can go on holiday with a better mood. Haha.

huiz, all the best to u! enjoy ur hols too!

dunno nxt time really know how to teach my own kids properly or not. but for sure, will discipline them well. so far my kids always rather scared of fierce miss tan. =P

petrina, do take care... btw can i check with u e cream/gel u mentioned to me e other time is biotherm or bioessence?

dorymiki: quite.. i think in his early 30s. then he call me by name de... *blush*.
My ENT doc always call me by Ms Goh... so formal... haha

Huiz: i think private doc is diff bah, everytime i call my ENT doc, he surely come immed if he's avail.
But my gastric doc is diff. we communicate via phone only. he only came once in the morn.
It's true tat doc more of PR than Doc... haha, cause when i was due to discharged today, then after breakfast got acute pain tat lasted till 6pm. (doc in surgery, so cannot come) then after tat he came to prescript new medicine due to new discovery to my illness. then he disappeared le...
So i realised tat my ENT doc is like PR, gastric doc like DOC. maybe as the years grow in the private side, doc become more $$ minded...
I feel that my ENT *fu yan* me only.. but stomach doc didn't *fu yan* me. when i say i wan remove gallstone, he advised me not to. i tot if i do surgery, he earns more... so i think he's quite impartial lor, weighing between patient's interest & $$$.

Mos: it's bio-essence. 1pkt pink & white tube, $48. go john little buy got 20%.

Petrina: So you're not removing it? Must take good care of your health ok?

Mos: I agree with you...must discipline the kids well. Can't stand spoilt brats who think the world revolves around them! I'm quite fierce in school too. The kids don't dare to mess around with me, not even the P6 classes i teach.

Huiz: Enjoy your weekend in Bintan. Look forward to reading about it when you're back.

Today i went to John Little warehouse sale and quite happy with the bedlinen & stuff i bought for my new place.
Good deals there!

Also finished making wrist corsages for my jie-meis... any comments on it?

491175.jpg
491176.jpg

morning gals.. me running a fever of 39 last nite.. siao liao.. last mth sick this mth sick as well.. actually oredi not feeling gd yday morning but still crawled to work.. shivering like shitz in ofc so better go home.. ate panadol and managed to sweat abit coz i dun wana see doc.. tink i really sway this yr.. FanTaiSui..

dory - i forgot where i sit liao but mines the $128 seats..

huiz - enjoy ur trip ya!

pris - ur corsages nice! outstanding.. muz tell ur JMs to keep it for remembrance sake hor.. i like ur outdoor shoots as well.. got 1 of ur pic same as mine haha. the indoor hold-gown-and-twist one.. its Kit's standard pose for couples..

ok, me gona pop panadol now again.. coz later going vivo watch Ocean 13, pls pls let me finish the show and dun fever halfway.. grrr..

petrina, thanks. i think most docs in sg can be trusted. i heard some of my relatives overseas say that if they go hospital, docs just anyhow suggest op. scary right...

pris, u also have a flair for crafts. wow!

janf, take care. try n drink more water k. get well soon!

petrina...oh dear...take care of yourself... if you don't remove the gallstone, then will it "disappear" if you drink lots of water and take medication? My mum had kidney stones and doc advised her this method and observe for 6 months before doing the surgery for her via laser or something. I know how painful it can be... first time i see my mum (with super high pain threshold) persipiring in beads of sweat and whole face turned ghastly white...scary.

lance, pris, mos...hehe...my friend, who is a teacher at primary school has a problem managing her little rascal leh. She is super sticky to her, and picky at who comes near her (if she doesnt like you she bawls at the tp of her lungs) and throw tantrums like anything. I guess it has to do with the child's natural temperament too...

csi...lately i have many friends/collys around me pregnant... interesting to see & hear their stories of how their body is developing and taste bud changing as well. All i can help them is to bring them shopping and be their fashion consultants hehe... cos they refuse to wear the preggy clothes... end up we bought many babydoll dresses and others thought i am pregnant as well haha

huiz...good luck for your job interview! I am looking through the recruitment section too...

janf...take care... flu bug is in the air... i was giddy and shivering in office yesterday... my boss instruct me to eat an orange of kiwi fruit (higher vit c) first thing in the morning and then take plenty of fluids everyday to give body resistance to virus. hee...good to have boss who knows alot of medical stuff.

pris...your corsages very pretty! my PG didn't take any picture of the corsages for my jie mei
i also so dumb dumb never take any pic...sigh... now looking back, how cme i never do alot of things huh?

Janf: Must take care!!! This year, you fan tai sui? Hmm, perhaps if you believe in it, you can go to the temple to bai-bai. Take some multi-vit daily and drink more water ok?

Hee...ya! Kit has a few stanard poses but overall, he was very fun to work with.

Li Ann: I like to take pics of things/places otherwise, i may not remember to take too! It has become a habit esp with camera phones, it's more convenient.

Heh, i like babydoll or empire-cut dresses so people sometimes think that i am pregnant. Next time i think i won't need to buy maternity wear until my tummy is much bigger.

Petrina: It'll be more meaningful if you made corsages for your own jie-mei. It's a keepsake & "souvenir" for them. It's also my way of thanking my JMs for helping me out on my big day.

If i make, must charge you money wor! Haha...

Mos: Nah, i don't really have a flair. Google-searched lots of wrist corsages images for inspiration before i started work. The ones that Stacy made for her JMs are very beautiful!

janf: You feeling better? I think weather is bad la. You fantaishui? Your zodiac is tiger or pig? I know my FW is pig and she fantaishui, but everything is going smoothly for her so far. I think you just drink more water and eat more fruits (not durians hor...) and you should be better in no time at all.

Pris: Wah, handmade corsages nice lei. But i thought BC mentioned they can provide. How come you do yourself? Hmmm.... unless the ones they provide not nice? Ha ha.

Huiz: Good luck for your job interview!

Li Ann: Ha ha, the children nowadays really pampered, self centered and naughty. Can't find those innocent and well-behaved children like what we used to be anymore. I think its because families now smaller so parents treat children as their precious. I am going to be super strict with my children next time. (laughs in an evil manner)Ha ha ha!!!!!

ah mais / gor...

hee...another good buy today!

dunno if you are aware... if you purchase up to $30 in a single receipt at cold storage, you can buy kitchen knives (WMF, the logo is two little red men standing side by side) at very cheap prices. Well, at least they were much cheaper than robinsons. yay... so happy! another item to add to our love nest.

lance/pris - me is Snakey and Direct FanTaiSui so sway until cannot sway liao haha. oredi baibai but well, tats the max i can do..

the day i was sick and took a cab home, tot i cld catch a wink in the cab. who knows the cab uncle kept talking on and on wif me..!? wat who am i staying wif lah.. his DILs story lah.. and even showed me his 10mth granddaug pic on his hp WHILE HES DRIVING AND TRYING TO BALANCE STEERING WHEEL!! my god.., told him "uncle, its ok. later alight then show me oso can ya!" he "nvm nvm!,i muz show u NOW!" i bopian but to "orhh ok lor.." (while risking my poor life haha)

li ann - i oso bot another good buy yday but was a blouse frm Tangs haha! 70% off how not to buy, i told bor-lao (wat a lame excuse?!)

watched Ocean's 13 yday liao.. good, better than 12.. hope they will hv 14 in future..

Hihi everyone,

I am back.... with a tan. Haha, I am so happy with that. I love tanned skin. But had some problems last night. Woke up in the middle of the night with food poisoning and threw up. Ate a cocktail of meds my bo lao gave me and woke up this morning as good as ever
Shall post up some pics of the beautiful place tomorrow

Pris, u bought the ribbon flowers ready made? One suggestion about the leaves. Perhaps a lighter colour would make it look sweeter? I suggest a light green chiffon ribbon as leaves can give it a more unique and dreamy wedding look

LiAnn: ooh, i live next to cold storage... tmr go racky le... thks 4 the news. last time they say muz collect stamps de.. so nv managed to get the knifes...

Janf: i also watched ocean's 13 yday also.. so funny rite? good movie..

Pris: i went to buy my wedding stuff today. bought a necklace n bracelet 4 my bride'smaid le. handmade wif crystals. show u gals nxt time. i havent collect yet.

i so envy u gals. can go shopping, today only managed to go chinatown to settle the wedding knick knacks.. then tummy too pain gotta go hm.. haiz, i think i'll get admitted again if my antibiotics dun wrk after they finish in 2wks.

I think the pain is super unbearable... non-stop pain. even after med. sianz man, still gotta wrk.

hey Li Ann, where do you get the babydoll dresses from? yeah, I dun want to wear the preggy clothes too...

Wah, janf...must take more Vit C...and rest more...eat more healthy stuff as well I guess...

Yah, some taxi drivers are like that one...then pai seh to tell them to keep quiet. They also human, and their job also not easy...but, what to do lorh...hehs.

Hi mais, so sian yesterday. My FW and i went to Delfi Orchard thought can see some wedding stuff to buy. But 90% of the shops not opened. Haiz.

janf: hmmm.... bai liao still cannot? how about getting some four leaf clovers to get more luck? (i am a firm believer of rabbit's foot and clovers) Ha ha. The taxi driver very irresponsible lei, i really think govt should punish these drivers. Put our lives at risk.

Li Ann: Wah, got cheap kitchen knives.
I go cold storage see tonight also. My house 2 bus stops away have one. Its about time my mum bought some new knives, i think our knives in our house is like more than 10 years old liao.

Huiz: You very lucky got doctor hubby lei. No need to worry when get sick.

petrina: Your tummy still pain and they discharge you ah. And they never give you MC?

Ya petrina, didn't the doc give u MC? Need to keep a close watch on it ah...

Lance, what is it about rabbit's foot? I haven't heard of it before leh....

I am also very afraid of the talkative cabbies. Usually pretend/really fall asleep once I settle down in the cab.... haha

Ok, I have also put in the Bintan pics in my Multiply. Do drop by when u are free

I heard from many people including my boss that the WMF kitchen knives are really good to use. From Germany de. They should be considered the "branded" knives cos my MIL kept grumbling about how much we paid for the three knives (one chopper, one medium size for chopping veg and meat, and one small one for peeling) at $70 in total. hee...

CSI... i brought my colly to BYSI (they have several outlets...the nearest to town are located at Bugis, citylink, a boutique on its own next to Far East Plaza, Plaza Sing. Others are IMM, Vivocity, Junction 8. hehe... the recent collection are all A-line dresses, ranging from 20 plus to max 69. I have 15% discount and if you pay using UOB, another 5% rebate

Another location i bought from is Topshop. They having up to 70% sale and i bought some babydoll dresses from the sales corner at the Topshop at Marina Sq on the night we had our gathering.

Actually the fashion lately is all about the tunic dresses that you can wore it with tights or on its own. I thought it quite suitable for preggys.

You can try GAP, i think, to get some oversize blouses or draw string pants in nice neutrals or khakis.

Lance: aiyoh, that one is high crass shopping centre. of course Sundays and PH not opened lah...hahaha. The mindsets different from those in Tanjong Pagar kind of BS...for those guys, Sundays and PH are best days to get biz. But the high crass shops...no, Sunday is day of rest. hehs...what sort of wedding stuff are you looking to buy next?

Li Ann: Hmmm...BYSI ah...okie. I'll check them out. Yah, the tunic dresses are quite suitable for preggies...looking for those types too. heehee...only thing is...hehs...like that then next time pple might not give up seat to me on the MRT. coz can't tell if I'm preggie or just following fashion. hahahahaha.

CSI: Luckily now the fashion is tunics & trapeze dresses...perfect for you!

Lance: Why do you want to go to Delfi Orchard to buy your wedding stuff? Will be more expensive!!! What do you intend to buy?

Hmm, i didn't want to borrow corsages because it's my gift to my JMs...so i handmade, more sincerity.

Huiz: Thanks for your input. I'll add some light chiffon green ribbons to my corsages.

Li Ann: I agree. WMF is a very good brand!!! Isetan Parkway was having a sale on their stuff a couple of weeks ago.

Petrina: You should be resting at home...why are you out?!?? If your tummy is still so painful, i think you can get MC from your doc. Must recover well, if not your wedding is coming soon!

I also went to my GDL stuff on Saturday from Chinatown. Sooo tired after that. I reserved bracelets from Risis for all my JMs...will be picking them up on Thursday.

Janf: I don't like talkative cabbies...cos i don't like to talk to strangers. But my mom says it's good cos the cabby won't fall asleep! Haha.
Ocean's 13 is good? I'm watching it on Wed with hubby after his work...after movie, we going to Mambo nite at Zouk! Haha...

csi - for cheaper babydolls, u can get it at This Fashion etc. they hv dresses and blouses at reasonable price and now its GSS!

pris - steady leh!, wed go zouk! lidat ur hub how to wake up on thur am??!

thks gals, im ok now.. juz go ezy on the food i eat this wk coz i juz had the runs twice this morning.. duno izit wind or some gastric juices over the wkend.. anw, hv been gulpping gallons of H2O liao..

Janf: You & your hubby wanna join us?
My hubby says no problem because we won't be staying till very late.

Petrina: I email you ok?

Huiz: Rabbit foot suppose to give good luck also.

CSI, Pris: Actually i wanted to buy a ring pillow because Tianpo doesn't give. I went Precious Thots at Raffles City at lunch time today. The ring pillow cost $40. Its a ex lo. Then my colleague and boss convinced me that it wasn't worth buying, because we will use it once only. Hmmm... other than the ring pillow, i am not sure what needs to be bought, I am going to go look around to see lo.

Lance... you may need a ang pow box too. Ever thought of making own ring pillow? It's quite a lot of fun to make it, especially together with your FW.

Instead of using ring pillow, you can also use alternatives like ring box (which is easier to decorate than making a ring pillow from scratch)

Or you can also use a bear couple and place the rings on their hands or over the necy using ribbons. Thought it quite cute.

I've also seen in bridal mag that there are couples who places their rings on plants / flowers (those who have garden themes as wedding/ROM). You can think along that line to use something that fit into your theme. It need not be ring pillow.

Yes, Lance, if possible, DIY your ring pillow or use alternatives. There are many wedding resources on the net that u can refer to. They can really give very good ideas and inspirations

lance, use bear bear is a good idea... saw very cute small bears selling at $9/pc at Fox. u can buy e two bears, sew them together at the sides then put a nice ribbon. that's a nice way... cheaper bears can be found at chinatown near the old 'cha ren zhi jia' stretch of shops. think abt $5/pc.

i ever saw my guy fren put rings on his self made origami flowers for the bride. so sweet...

Li Ann, yes yes. I swear by WMF knives too. The grip is good, knife is sharp. Slicing has never been easier.
Though it costs more, but I find that it is useful in long run. I have not sharpen the knives for a while and it is still in good condition. Another brand to recommend is "Zwiling" or something. Can't spell it but the symbol is "two men standing", like a twin.

CSI, baby doll dresses are everywhere. It is so IN now and u can see them in almost every shop. Prints and floral design are the most popular. U can give it a try, it can brighten a moody day.

Lance, I tot of using hydrangea to place the wedding bands initially. Just get one stalk and insert a hook in the 'heart' of the flower to hold the rings. It was abandoned coz my nephew felt left out when he saw his cute sis holding the flower and insist on holding something too. hee... BTW, I have a ring pillow, from Lee Hwa. If u do not mind, I can give it to u.
Have you found the place to hold your post ROM reception?

petrina and janf, do take care. Health is always the most impt. Rem, must rest rest rest.

I was told Ocean 13 is good too. hmm, must catch it this weekend.

Huiz, saw your Bintan pic. U look so relaxed sitting at the beach.

Happy Birthday mos!

Petrina,
Hope you get well soon... =)

Huiz,
I went Silverlinging yesterday, guess what?
I told Jit about you and he said he remembered you hahaha.. asking how come you are still in the forum after you are married =P
Didnt know he was a hainanese too, he's very nice and patient... =)

hi Huiz
How are you lately?

hmm..her bear at the wedding box is so cute..really admire her patience...i hope she can lend me her ang pow box for my wedding in december..rest assure it will be handle with 101% care.

Hey cotton_hill,

I said liao mah, I will lend it to u... haha. I have found the base of the box so everything is in one piece
Btw, the wrist corsages I had made for u are all ready. Pass it to u soon?

DoryMiki, are u a Silver Lining bride too? U went down to see Jit's packages or try on his gowns? Haha, he will surely remember me wan. I dropped by to say "hi" to him last week too. He said will welcome me with red carpet when I chia him red eggs next time ah... hehe. I am still in the forum here coz I have so many wonderful ah mais and ah kor friends to chat with mah
Ohhh, really! Jit is a Hainanese too?? Aiya I should have checked this out with him earlier and perhaps can get some discount from him the "clansman".... hahaha

Ivied, how are u lately? Hopefully your work has settled down a bit and u can take a breather sometimes. Bintan is indeed a nice place to relax. But its better to go to this resort than the other one. This one is more peaceful and is meant for couples rather than families. I am sure Pris will agree with this

I received a rejection letter from the first interview I went to (the one that needed to write an essay) yesterday. Once I saw the letter in the mailbox, I knew my fate liao. Haha. But just today I got 2 calls for another 2 interviews. So now there's 3 this week, 2 first rounds and 1 2nd round. Just gotta keep my fingers crossed and my hopes high....

Huiz, ganbatte!

Lance, u bought ur bands from TianPo right? Coz mine came in this nice box that has a mini ring pillow (with lace and ribbons) in it...ok, it may be a bit small for your liking,
but I thought it was quite cute and nice to use for ROM too (but my ROM was in church and my BS gave me a ring pillow, so in the end I didn't use the Tian Po one). Let me try to take a pic of it...