Hainanese Brides, anyone???

Lance - so nice of you dad!! Personally, it depends on what you want really. Pillarless, high ceiling, etc. If you are looking at 20-25 tables, think GWC will offer u the smallest fxn room, which has pillar or sth..

hi guys

u guys are pretty active for today. trying to catch up.

i am sure janf and huiz will have fun for their trips.

to the newbies: welcome to our thread!

lance: lucky u! even your dad hasnt given u a budget to work with, i think ivied is right. it's important you work out a tentative guest list first cos sometimes bigger hotels (or their ballrooms) require a minimum number. its about 100-200 difference between weekday and weekend dates too. for me, it was a 200 more even though mine was on a friday nite
but we took that date cos it was a good date. if u calculate, 200 multiplied by 25 tables is $5000 difference and that may sometimes determine if u make a "loss".

urm..how did u shortlist the hotels? food? location = mrt access? ambience? i have never attended weddings at trader's hotel, raffls hotel and goodwood park hotel before. for 25 tables, i don think u can use marina mandarin's ballroom on the 1st floor. think if i remember correctly, there are no pillars which is good.

sorry lance. i meant 100-200 difference per table in terms of pricing. pardon me if i am unclear.

brain still not functioning to its optimum yet.

yes lance, lucky you! Most hotels charge Fri as weekend rates so that is going to be pricy basing on the hotels that you have chosen. Furthermore, think only Copthorne's King, Traders and the smaller rooms in Goodwood Park are able to accomodate your required no of tables. You can check up their websites for more info.

sherrie is right, the diff in amount will also determine the losses. This is an impt consideration lor.
Stacy has a point. It boils down to what you want. Be it location, food, deco, banquet ballroom layout, banquet package. Priortise and it will be easier for you to decide.

On the lighter side, I would choose Marina Mandarin and Raffles Hotel for their food; GCW and GWP for their banquet ballroom layout.

Good morning ah mais and ah kor!

Yes, Lance, it is impt that u estimate the number of guests as best as possible. For me, I confirmed 20 tables with the hotel but ended up with only 18 for the Sg one. But thankfully the angpows I got were rather big and so I ended up topping up only $32 to the final bill (deposit taken into consideration). Haha. My Msia dinner was also very accurate. Topped up RM150 only.

I agree with ivied that I would choose GWP for their layout and ambience of the surroundings too. Wanted to go there previously, but they jacked up their price!!

Lance, I suppose that most of the guests will be from your side of the family rather than your FW? One thing to note if her parents and relatives intend to fly in is that there might be a need to provide accomodation for them.

Li Ann is in KL! I miss the very nice wan tan mee at the Chinatown. Very yummy but the stall is errr, not very hygienic. Hah, but I don't really care. Close 2 eyes and eat la... hahaha

sorry, side track a bit. Talking abt ang baos, I have jokers in my banquet leh. Imagine receiving $20 ang bao from one couple and a bottle of old old liquor from another person. *OMG*

and yes, agree with Huiz too. Then what about holding a banquet in her hometown? These are all costs. I rem u are an accountant is it? So u can plan your budget well lar.

I did not have many good memories of KL. I rem that I almost fell into an unenclosed pit!

i heard of people who received $2 big sweep ticket in the red packet before. realy bad. i received one $50 red packet without any name written on the red packet. we also received robinsons and metro vouchers in lieu of red packets.

i went to KL chinatown with my ex colleagues on biz trip a few years back. when i "cleared" through the busy streets, my brand new nokia phone was gone so i didn't really have a lot of good memories of KL. i'd prefer bangkok anytime.

Wah, i just realised what my last post was not posted. Must have close the browser too fast just now.

Actually what i am looking for is no.1 food and no.2 ballroom setting. I think the rest of the factors are secondary. I just emailed Raffles, their reply was super fast. Ha ha.

sherrie: Thanks for the info. I got what you meant the first time. No worries.

Li Ann is so lucky get to travel for work. Sadly to say i haven't been to KL before. Haiz.

Huiz, iViED: I can't imagine getting a $2 big sweep ticket for ang bao or a bottle of liquor. Yup, most of the guests will be my relatives, friends and colleagues.

Would all the ah mais here like to come? Heh heh.

Wow...so many post...ok, i must slowly reply.

Ivied: I'm a Scorpio.

Nellie, Mos & CSI: I booked my Bintan trip tickets & accom yesterday. I'll be staying at the beachfront chalet at Mayang Sari.

Lance: Yep, i'm a teacher. Mosburger is also a teacher. Woah, everyone else in your family is a teacher. Ya, it's really quite stressful but the long holidays is a great perk of the job.

Btw, i think the advice the other ah-mais have given you is very wise. A banquet venue really depends on what you want. For my hubby & i, we wanted a mid-range hotel that is located in town area because not all of our guests drive. We also wanted a more grand-looking ballroom i.e. chandeliers & high ceiling --- so HIPV fit our bill perfectly. For your number of tables, many hotels may not offer you their grand ballrooms. Actually you can consider Club Chinois (Orchard Parade Hotel) too! Their max number of tables is 30.

Shalomzoe: My AD is on 29 July. Are you a July 07 BTB too? Share your details with us!

Barney: Welcome to our Hainan online clan. Do share your details ok?

Oh, My BS called me yesterday. I can view & select my PS pics this Saturday! So excited. Hope that the pics will be nice. :p

I too received $100 Capitaland and $50 Takashimaya vouchers from some jokers who don't even dare to leave their names on the ang pow. I suspect that these vouchers were not genuinely from the guests themselves. Someone must have given it to them coz the expiry is in Aug 07. Usually vouchers are valid for a year and if they bought it this year, it should expire next year instead. Haiii, there's really all kinds of funny people out there!

Pris, I have been to HIPV before. The internal do up is nice, with the high ceiling and chandeliers. The only thing which I think is a bit of a drawback is the reception area outside. Kinda small and too close to the restaurants. Not very exclusive reception area for cocktail.

I managed to track down all my guest to their ABs, cos I gotta my JMs to write their names behind the AB. No jokers during my wedding, but I do receive a couple of $50 ABs.

Huiz - u are lucky to receive valid vouchers..my gf received expried vouchers...more heartache!

Pris - can sense ur excitement! No worries, ur pics will turn out nice!!

Oh yes, my AD pics are finally ready for collection tomorrow too. Haii, another big hole in my pocket. Haven't paid Andrew a cent yet... hehe...

huiz: maybe they redeemed their credit card points for vouchers, or got vouchers when they had baby bash/company dinner and dinner/house warming etc. one of my hubby's colleague gave us robinsons vouchers - with 2 different sets of expiry dates.

Hey everyone, I am now lying under the stars at Changi Beach. It's so cooling. Hubby & I are counting stars & watching the planes fly by. Hmm, ya Sherrie that's possible too.

my AD is on 19/9/07... at hyatt

Lance, i think ur dad is very nice..

if ur concern is food, i heard marina mandarin food is really good... i only been to goodwood park.. the ballroom is not too bad but food so so only....

Huiz: I agree that the reception area is quite small. Shall see how i can make it a better place for my guests on my AD. Thanks for the reminder.

Barney: Which is your BS? Your wedding is roughly half a year away. You must be getting very excited!

Stacy: I'm going to ask my JM to write down the name on the AP too! That's a very good idea. Heh. I can't believe that people will give vouchers, expired somemore. My goodness.

iViED : Thanks for your help. Where is Pine's Garden? Is in AMK?

Pris : My AD & Church will be on 14 July 07. Have u got your cards printed yet? I've not :-P

Ah Mais who are married : Do u guys actually buy new clothes, shoes etc after yr marriage. I juz heard from my china colleague, she actually bought 20 outfits and 20 pairs of shoes, after she got married...amazing isn't it. Not aware of all these customs etc. :-P

Wah, i hear you all say so much. I really going to get 'nightmares' over this ang bao thing liao. Ha ha.

Pris: Enjoy selecting your photos this sat. I am sure they all turned out swell. My sister is not even a month into the teaching job and she is complaining the primary school kids are naughty already.

Huiz: Lying on Changi Beach? I heard a lot of mosquitoes there lei. But must be romantic there, get bitten also bitten together with your hubby.

Its a long weekend. Have fun everyone!

Hi shalomzoe,

I can answer your question on behalf of ivied. Yes, Pine Gardens is in AMK. At AMK Ave 5.

Yes, I have heard of friends who bought new clothes and new pyjamas after the wedding. Some even bought a new suitcase to bring their old clothes from their parents' place to their new house!

Haha yah, Lance, I just came back from Changi Beach. I am lucky not to have met any mozzies there tonight. Came home with zero bites. Same for my hubby too.

Pris, I attended my TJC's classmate's wedding at HIPV. Remembered the guests were milling around the outside of the hall rather akwardly coz there's not much space. The feeling was a bit like waiting to go into the hall for a movie. But the interior was really grand!

Hi all, thks for all ur concerns... hmm. barney, u getting married 3days b4 me.. hehe...
i everything on halt now, too busy to do anything, haiz... my cousin in law father is the owner of the purvis stall. (juz found out) he closed it cause too old to continue...

wah, huiz n janf go holiday... *envy* i still gotta wrk through the wkend... sian...

pris & mosburger: ever considered parttime tutoring?? my cousin p6 this yr, my *mai-nee* very *gan jiong*
cannot find tutor 4 him...

stacy: i saw ur pic on the homepage.. wah, so nice... i'll go 4 the 25th may gathering, wanna c u, pris, mosburger, CSI, lance (maybe??), etc...

Petrina: Where does your cousin stay? What subjects? Ya, hope to see you at the next gathering too!!!

Huiz: I agree that the area outside the grand ballroom can definitely be improved. How did you find the food served? My food tasting is going to be in June.

Shalomzoe: So cool, your AD is just 2 weeks before mine! It's quite a hot date in July. I have not printed my invites yet. In fact, only confirming the num of tables with my hotel at the end of this month. After that, we will be printing the inserts.

Lance: I've been teaching since 2005. It's really a tough job and if not for the bond, i may have quit already. :p

ah-mais & ah-kors --- Will mailing out my invites to relatives/friends in June be too late? My AD is at the end of July.

pris: my cousin stay in cck...

shld be ok, since ur relatives n frens already noe u getting married somewhere in july rite? juz a matter of date/day...

hmm, looks like CSI has a lot to update.

I have just completed my duty as ah sum, now resting and reading all the posts. (hubby is sleeping outside)

Lance, this is happening to all weddings. You will get 'surprises', especially to ang baos and guest list. I have plenty of $50, some $40 and $60. Relatives wise, for a family of 4, may give $200. Just keep this in mind when you are planning your budget. You won't wish to see that your dad will loogi too much right?

shalomzoe, what I know is buying of new clothes is part of jia zhuang for the bride and to be worn only after the wedding.

Pris, nope, it is not too late. Normal lead time: 1 mth prior - send invites, 2 weeks prior - work on RSVP
1 thing puzzles me though, why do u have to confirm the number of tables with your hotel so soon? Do you have a vast diff now as compared to the time u signed the contract? You can collect the invites based on the number of tables that was agreed upon when u signed the contract.
I'm sure your pic will turn out well. You are a pretty gal ah.

Huiz, that's fast! Look forward to see your pic in multiply orr...

okie, I'm going to develop the AD photos now. Been delayed too long and my mum is asking for it liao. *oh no*

I got my AD pics! Very nice. I really like the way Andrew captures the moments. I will have to wait till I come back from my trip at the end of Apr then can load the pics to Multiply. The file size too big and my hubby's laptop's CD drive is not working. Need to go back to my mum's place to do.

Pris, I remembered the food at HIPV was not bad. The worse food I had tasted was at Westin. Errr, I hope no one is going for that place. The food looks and tastes like those that can be bought off the chap chai rice stall.

Oh no Ivied, I can imagine my mum starting to ask me to develope the table shots for my relatives. Siao liao man, can smell the hole burning in my pocket!

Huiz: I agree with you about the Westin. :p My JC prom was there & i remember the food was really bad. My mom just somehow disagrees with me. Perhaps they have changed their chefs lately?
Will look forward to your AD pics!

Ivy: Thanks for your rough gauge for the invites. For my hotel contract, the minimum is just 25 tables. But my coordinator wants to know the min table...FH & i are thinking of confirming 28 tables + 2 extra. What do you think?

Petrina: CCK is quite far so don't think i'm interested. Sorry...

Pris : Yeah, seems like July is really hot. We wanted on 7 July 07 but fully booked. I know a few pple will be having on that day and it's a blessing in disguise that I will not have it on that day. ;-P
Where are u having your wedding?

Huiz : I know where it is now, it's near a coffeeshop that sells fish head steamboat right?

I attended a wedding at Westin last December. The worst dish I remembered was the sweet sour pork. It was very sweet, too red and artificial looking and reminded me of the meat at the rice stall ;-P But one thing good about Westin is that their deco and table do up are not bad.

Hmm, shalomzoe, fish head steamboat ah? I am not so sure about that. But I know that Pine Gardens has 2 shops within a few blocks of each other. I went to the one next to a clinic.

Huiz, that's great! No prob, take your time. Will just check when my multiply has your updates.

Developing of photos is such huge cost! I had sent 2 sets of pictures in all and each set costs around $100++! *OMG*
BTW, enjoy your honeymoon! See ya when you are back!

Pris, I reckon that the contract is 25+2? Based on your current guest list, is this number of tables sufficient? If yes, do not confirm anything more first. If no, then calculate backwards to determine the confirmed number.
E.g Guest list = 280 pax, thus require 28 tables. Hotel povides 2 tables as spare, thus confirm 26+2 with hotel at present.
It is alright to increase the number of tables when the date is near, but it is not possible to reduce what you have confirmed earlier. You would then make the final confirmation of the number of tables with the hotel 1 week prior to AD. (after your RSVP)
I hope this is clear.

shalomzoe, here's the website: http://www.pgcake.com/

shalomzoe: my mum bgt me 10 sets of outfits, new pyjamas, lingerie, suitcase, towels, bedsheets, pillow cases etc. she said when she got married, my grandma also did the same but she had her clothes tailored. haha..

happy easter, everyone! i went to select photo and frames for my enlarged photo yest. haa, we've been delaying this for so long coz of busy work schedule. but me and FH agreed on e same photo almost at once. hee! so happy! then told my FH i want to walk around tanjong pagar. he quite reluctant, said we already sign package liaoz. anyway me juzt wan to look here look there and kaypo what other BS offer, so went into 2 BS to take a look. Went to Sophia and L'Belle Couture. Think Sophia gowns so-so but pacakge so pricey. L'Belle got nice gowns and nice service. If only hadn't sign package so early... anyway, FH say if later really dun wan, then we find new BS lor. anyway AD now gg to be 2008 Q4, so got more than enuff time to slowly choose.

petrina, sorry i dun give tuition, as my workload's already very heavy. i'm doing videography at work, so my weekends are usu burnt editing videos. no time left for other things. i suggest ur cousin call some tuition agency and request for experienced trs or smthg.

Yes, ivied, I really understand what u mean by developing photos to a few hundred bucks. Imagine one table shot having 10 guests and if my mum wants a photo for every guest to keep, oh no, its a huge amount too!

Ya, Pris, ivied is right. Confirm the min number of tables first. Can increase but not decrease later. I ended up with 2 extra tables but the hotel was nice enough to spread out the seatings so I wouldn't waste the 2 tables. The guests had more space and food to eat... hehe. Heng I didn't lose out.

Wow, sherrie, so nice of your mum to get u the new stuff. Haha, I think my mum is clueless about theses.

Me setting off at 4.30pm later. See got chance to login again later or not. If not, till we meet again online, take good care!

New comers - welcome to this thread

our thread is getting hotter and hotter. YEAH!

haven't been coming here for a while... project just started.

Janf is already enjoying herself in Japan.

Huiz is leaving today... so shiok!

I'll be leaving on 16th apr too.

Hopefully, I can get my test system up b4 i leave for my HM.

btw, has anyone heard that we (newly weds)cannot go to someone else's house within the next 12 days after our marriage?

who has confirmed to come for our gathering???

Hi Sherrie, So nice of your mum to buy all those stuff for u. What abt the groom? Does he need all these new stuff as well? Hehe. We are so green :-P I will also be having my solemnisation and dinner at GH....r u a Christian as well? Did u they charge u extra for using the sir stamford room? My dinner will be at Sir Stamford Room. Now contemplating whether to have tea ceremony at the ballroom or in the hotel room. Who was your co-ordinator? Mine was Ai-Lin but she resigned and Marie has taken over. The food was good right? When was your wedding? So kaypoh hor! ; )

Hi iViED, Thanks for the website. All the cakes look so pretty.

Hi everyone, I am in the plane now. Hopefully no delays. Okie, good bye to all for now.
I'll be back on 21st Apr.

Wah, so fast so many posts liao. I having a busy weekend, helping my FW do her assignments. I also went to watch Phantom of the Opera with my colleagues this afternoon. Quite enjoyable, but i got bored a few times.

Hmmm... I didn't know we can go for tasting sessions before confirming the hotel? We need to pay just to taste is it?

Ivied, thanks for the recom of JP.. do u have his number??

Petrina, yea, our AD on the same month
i busy now with my house reno... bought a resale flat at sengkang... i just went last week to design my gown... BS is Ted collection... photoshoot is in june... hard to imaging how to enjoy all the preparation....

Lance, i didnt know can go for food tasting 1st..
guess u have to pay...

pine garden cakes are really nice.. i love their blackforest cake.. yum yum

barney, ur reno is ID or contractors?? share contact?

my photoshoot in may, but havent choose any confirmed gowns/jackets yet... sian...

pg cakes how much? to give brides' family or u all talking abt real wedding cake??

Hi barney and Lance,

Food tasting is usually included as part of the package in most hotels. It is usually done about at least a month before the AD.

Petrina, PG cakes are about $8.80 a box. I chose the one that comes in an assortment of different flavours. They can also deliver it for u at $10 per location.

I am now in Sydney. Just touched down. Now waiting for the connecting flight at 7.15am to go to Auckland

3 years ago when my sister got married, the purvis street sesame ball was not opened yet - they closed for a while before they "chong chu jiang hu"...

she found another hainanese restaurant near jurong town hall road which sells the sesame ball too. anyone heard of it before?

i have to check with her if she still has the contact.

Ivy: Thanks for your tip. I have told my hubby not to declare the exact number of tables but use XX + 2 instead.

Huiz: Enjoy your HM..take lotsa pics ok?

Shalomzoe: My banquet will be at HIPV.
I think July really a lot of people getting married. My cousin is getting married 1 week earlier than me, so we have to give each other's wedding a miss. Such a pity.

Sherrie: Your mom is so generous!!!

Petrina: My flat is currently under reno. I'm using ID.

Mosburger: So when is your AD going to be?

I have chosen my PS pics last night. Have sent the link (via email) to share with some of you. Did i miss anyone out?

wah...so many posts!

Ok...er...I got lost halfway. Whose details do I have to update? heehee...

Dun mind, can put in this format? easier for me to scan through and pick out that post...heehee...

AD:
Solemnization Venue:
Reception Venue:
BS:
AD PG:
AD VG:

Thanks yah...

Heehee...I caught the holiday bug too. Am leaving on Tuesday night to Melbourne. Back on Sunday...

Our next gathering in May right? Still a bit far. I shd be ok to go.

Petrina: Like Huiz, I also chose that $8.80 GDL set from PG. Everyone gave their thumbs (and other fingers and toes) up! Yummy!!!

Jen - that hainanese restaurant in Jurong has closed down already

Pris - wow!!! very pretty leh!!!

Petrina - i also got the same cakes as CSI and Huiz. It's the deluxe pack. Very delicious!

pris, my email is [email protected]
send me your link? thanks

hvnt confirm AD. finding a day for my parents and FH's parents discuss together. both sides very 'ma fan'...

huiz, enjoy ur HM!
take many many photos...

lance, me and FH just started attending wedding shows at hotels. sometimes these hotels have 5-course lunch or dinner, so u know how their food is like. so far we went traders hotel wedding show. their chinese cuisine quite good leh. a pity their big ballroom got 2 pillars, and small ballroom dun include use of projectors and screen. next wedding show we're targeting to visit Oriental and HIPV. btw i agree with pris too, if not for the bond, i would have quit too. it's an out-of-focus job. dunno what i'm doing everyday i go to work.