Hainanese Brides, anyone???

I think it was Mauritius that kena the tsunami...

Stacy's pic is nice yah? so good looking...

wah, so many Geminis...I'm a Virgo...hahaha...count back 9 months, I think it was my parent's anniversary. hahaha....

this time it is the one she lies against the wall looking at her hubby..so lovingly so sweet..

the singapore brides committee prolly cannot decide which one to feature..they are all so nice so decided to put all! hee...

mais.. so sian.. mon blues too.. planning my meetings in KL this wed/thurs.. so sian..

Good morning ah mais.... hee, me just woke up not long ago.

I should be ok with 25 May at the moment for both my place or Marina and Oriental. If the decision is the former, then I think I can apply for half day AL if I have found a new pasture by then ;-P

Hey Lance, do join us with your FW yah?

Wa janf u are fast with your packing.... I havent even started yet! Die die must start today.

Yes, yes, I also realised last night that after each refresh, Stacy's pic changes

Haha, i give wrong info. Pai sei.

I saw the website too. This picture look nicer than the previous one. Both of them are in focus.

Wah, my FW invited also. So nice, I will go ask if she wants to go.

I keep reading you all are going for holidays my eyes turning green liao.
janf, Huiz and Nellie: (did i miss anyone out?) must show us nice nice photos when u all return from holiday, so i will be motivated to work harder and earn more money to go holidays. Ha ha.

haha, I was playing with the "Refresh" button to get more views of Stacy's pic. so cool!

Li Ann, me also very sian, super mon blues but still have to teach my colleague who is taking over my work. (then once in a while, I will peek into SB forum) haha..

mos, wow, so long, why not try 2008 Q2? Think your hubby can't wait so long. hee...

hey, do u still rem Westerveld? She used to come into this thread. Chanced upon her multiply, my, she is pretty!

Hello ah mais n ah kor,

Just finished writing my appraisal! Supposed to submit last Fri to boss for her to give the rating, hahaa…lazy me rite! I hate it at this time of the year! What to write manz, it’s the same old job yearly (btw, I’ve been here for 5 yrs)!

Oh, thanks for the compliments on the pictures. Yes, these were taken for the pre-wedding PS. I’ve emailed to Chin Leng and asked him to feature us there, wanna give my bo lau a surprised! And yes, he was pleased to see himself there! Printed them out and file them nicely! So nice of Chin Leng to put up our pics, got to refresh the pg to see all the 4 pics ïŠ

I’ve also email u gals some of my AD pics. Ivied, he normally give us all the softcopies in a cd.

Btw, I m Aries…any one sharing the same horoscope as me?? 25 May is fine with me…I will be back fm my HM them ïŠ

Okie….tt’s all for now… off for lunchie at TPY for fish head curry!…yummy!

Hi all..

I've been so busy so i haven't logged in since last week. On MC today, so i log in at home & start reading everyone's posts! Psst, i'm a Scorpio...born in Nov.

Stacy: thanks for sharing your pics. My fave is one where you kiss your hubby in the lift. So cute! So sweet of you to give your hubby a surprise!

Meet-up in May is fine with me too. Especially since many ah-mais won't be around in April.

Lance: My AD is in July but only going for HM in Dec. A few reasons...most important is that i'm a teacher & i don't get leave. So can only going during sch hols. Plus my FH never see snow before, so we'll be going to Japan in Dec.

I was very exhausted over the weekend. Went to meet our ID & confirmed all the colours etc for the flat. Also went to Sim Siang Choon & FH spent a bomb on bathroom stuff.

I'll be going to Bintan this month for a short getaway with FH. Escape from all the wedding prep & just focus on spending couple time with each other.
Anyone been there before?

Pris - been to Bintan 2 years ago b4 me and hubby started out. We were there with a group of friends. The waters was super choppy that time. We tabao Mac to eat on the boat. Everyone on the boat were amazed. In less than 20mins, most of the passengers were throwing up. Among my group, I was the only one throwing up... ha ha ha...

For our gathering on 25th May, can I propose dinner at No Signboard (Esplanade) then drinks at Axis (Oriental Hotel)?

Lance - Depending on where you want to go. For my case, we were contented to go Krabi for HM. Cheaper than going other places and also the flight is not that long.

Pris: You are a teacher? My parents and sister are all teachers. I got a family of teachers, who are very stress most the time except for my dad who is retired. Ha ha.

I went to Bintan last September with my ex-company. It was very nice, but the items there were more expensive as it was catered to tourists. I think its a place where a couple can really enjoy themselves.

Nellie: I think i will go check Krabi out. Will need to do lotsa homework, as i am the only one doing it.

Stacy: Can post your AD pics for me to see see? I only get to see the few on SB brides. Would like to see more.

hey guys! MIA so long. so busy at work... wish i could just quit like that. so xiao-sha.

anyway that day i was at my bridal studio confirming my gowns and i saw wang de yuan. i know he was a hainanese cos i met him at one of those clan (qiong shi gong hui) dinner and he was the valedictorian.

haha... totally buey paiseh went up to him and ask him how to address the husband of "ah mai"... (the very first question i asked in this forum if you recall). :P he told me ah deh.

haha... well... just a short note before i disappear again to complete the 0708 budget and the KPI achievements and targets for next year!

i hate this end of FY and start of FY period ... *patience*

but keep the posts going. i'll read to keep updated but prob difficult to sit and compose a long msg.

Lance - I'm also the one doing most of the planning. Hubby just sit down there and wait for me to 'feed' him... ha ha

Hey Pris,

I was there with boh lao 2 yrs ago. Where are you staying? We stayed at Nirwana. Bintan is quite nice...lots of relaxing activities and sporting activities. Spa's good. The food at the hotels are not cheap. If you can, I suggest u go to the Kelong. It's very good! and you can watch the sun set (get a table by the side facing west, so u can see the sun set). If u have the time, go to their town...think need to pay, but can't remember how much. Abt 30 min bus ride...

Oh! Bring sun block horh...put on lots of it!

hihi Jen, welcome back.. so nice to hear from u again
do drop by often okie?

Heh, Lance, can really start thinking and planning where u wanna go next year, especially if u r thiking of F&E. Need more time to find out about the place and plan your route well

Hey Nellie, I am fine with your dinner suggestion too

Okie time for me to go cook dinner liao. Come back here tonight

Alrighty, i will go lonely planet look at stuff. And go borrow a few guidebooks. Thanks!

Huiz: Since you cook, do you have a lot of recipes? My FW and me like to cook together also. We are currently looking to learn to cook the XO or coffee spare ribs. Do you have a recipe?

Hi Jen! I am also at the closing of the FY and the start of another. More busy than usual i suppose for all of us.

Hi Jen, nice to 'see' you here again.

So we have:
Gemini - Nellie/Lance/mos/sherrie/ivied
Pisces - Huiz/Li Ann
Aries - Stacy
Libra - janf
Virgo - CSI
What about Pris, petrina?

I saw my video yday. hmm.. the voice do not sound like me at all. Do you gals have the same feeling? The morning session was enjoyable, had a good laugh. BTW, sherrie, mine was a full single pic on the cover, not like yours. I told jacky, he was like, "is it?" haha...

Yes, sherrie, I can cook, but not the big big dishes like curry or braised meat that kind. Just simple dishes for family meals that kind. Haha, so Lance, I am sorry I can't provide u with that recipe.

I did this fish last night....

470035.jpg

Ivied, your video is all ready and u had collected it?

yup, collected my video yday and watched it right away. hee.. Can't help but laugh at my own actions. My mum commented most brides will just smile and pose with the guests while going round the tables, but I went all the way, shout, drink and toast yum seng, super chor lor bride. She kept shaking her head when she saw my video. haha...

But the morning session was more memorable, lots of laugh. Evening session was more like a routine, coz the sequences are the same in all weddings. But it was good, reminises what happened 2 months ago.

Your fish looks tasty, your husband is so lucky. My hubby simply says no to my food. hee...

*slurp* yummy fish...

get to grasp some air now. =P

pris, me and FH went bintan for our first holiday together. mana mana beach club very near sea sports club. think if u're there for sea sports, then mana mana beach club offers cheap accomodation. spa then go for nirwana.

may gathering is okay for me.

hvnt 'see' petrina online in a while.

ivied, 2008 Q2 cannot, coz my father said cannot. hahaa... Q3 too near lunar 7th month, then FH's dad dun wan Q1, so we are left with Q4. now i truly understand wat ppl mean when they say marriage involves 2 families and not just 2 individuals.

u all watch news yest? tsunami in soloman islands after earthquake. gee, with global warming, all e icebergs melting away, it looks like any time can have tsunami after earthquake. *tsk tsk*

wah...Ivied, ur AD sounds like lots of fun! heehee...yah, it's quite fun watching ur own video...esp when u dunno what happened outside while u're inside the room etc...heehee...

Huiz, your fish looks good leh. I only know how to steam. Why? Coz I dun like to fry (but I like fried foods). Frying fish always got oil splattering around, and I always kena the oil splattering on my hand etc. painful manz...so I sort of developed a phobia for frying. I can throw the fish in, put on the cover (to prevent the oil from getting to me), and the I dun dare to lift up the cover. end up, 1 side of fish is un-cooked, the other side is chao tar. hahahaha...

yah...earthquakes and tsunami now come together.

The earthquakes recently are quite frequent (within half a year each)...and they all seem to be along the Pacific Ring of Fire...Some say it's not new earthquakes, but aftershocks along the whole plate, from that major earthquake-cum-tsunami in 2004...

Talking about frying fish, that day I ended up with a fried minced promfret! Silly me, thinking that the non stick pan is forever trust worthy, I did not wait for it to heat up before putting the fish in. Ended up the poor fish got stuck to the pan and by the time I dug them out, the fish all nuar liao. haha. Now I have learnt my lesson.

Hey CSI, same here! I have a weakness for fried foods too.

Wa mos, then u can slowly plan for a great wedding in 2008

Ya, haven seen Petrina for some time. WOnder how she is doing....

Ivied, I sometimes anyhow cook wan. Whatever I saw my mum doing last time, I just monkey see monkey do... hehe

Wah, Huiz your fish look crispy and nice. But I see you put a lot of chilli. You must like to eat hot food?

Earthquake with tsunami now, i wonder whats next? Maybe Singapore will snow next time, then i not need to go those winter countries liao. Heh heh. Something like the movie "the day after the tomorrow".

Ask you all something ah mais, normally wedding dinner need to book a year in advance right? That means if my AD is in June 2008, i need to book my wedding dinner soon already?

depends on the date. for some super super auspicious dates, i hear that u need to need to book at least 1.5 yrs ahead.

i booked mine in march when my AD was end dec. we asked the "master" for a few alternative dates just in case

Hihi Lance,

Ya, I like spicy food but not my bo lao. He can't really take too hot stuff. I put the chili on more to deco the minced meat topping on top of the fish.

I think the earth movements must be very active these few years.

Yes Lance, the best is to book the dinner at least one year ahead. If the date is super hot, then have to be more than one year man.

yup yup, news lately were rather sad.
"Quake hits Afghanistan, scores dead in floods"
"Solomons declares disaster as quake toll hits 28"

Lance, since u have only one date, it is best to source around early. But not many venues have 2008 packages available, especially when they were unsure about the GST increase. Can just check it out at your desired venues first before signing on the dotted line.

I had selected the date in early Aug while my AD is in end Jan. Lucky it was not a hot date, and thus I can secure a banquet venue easily.

Petrina seemed troubled lately. I hope she is doing well.

Yes, Lance, better to shortlist a few locations u like and contact them early. When the hotel bookings and bridal shop are settled, the stress of wedding preps can be greatly reduced ;)

hahaha....either that, or the stress of wedding preps can be greatly increased! hahaha...coz initially, pple think it's just venue and bridal shops. once u select those, then out comes all the little details - food menu, guest list, design of gowns, flowers, make-up etc. Without the venue and bridal shop, no need to think of all these...hehs...

Hi Gals, am also a hainanese bride and wld like to find out what are the things that are required from the groom family? My folks are not very sure...besides the suckling pig, what other stuff do u need.

yes yes CSI. Fully agree.
Then next in line will be PG, VG, MUA.

shalomzoe, suckling pig is a Cantonese custom, not Hainanese. We Hainanese has very simple customs. Normally they would ask for cakes, sesame balls, candles, liquor and mandarin oranges. Of course not forgetting betrothal jewellery and pin jin.

HI all ah mais... I'm back...
Ivied: I'm a libra like janf.
To all, thks for your concern. i've sorted out everything, juz some stupid mind of mine working.
sick for a wk though, stress i think. bad headache still gotta work. deadlines to meet. very sian...
i heard frm nellie got gathering nxt mth. 25 may? i also joining (i think shld be ok.) date too far to confirm...

Thanks for the advice ah mais, so many things to do. Lucky i shortlist a few hotels already. But my FW having her exams soon, so she say after that then we go see the ballrooms, no time now. Later i go home i list down my shortlist, u all give me your comments.

Huiz: Ha ha, i same as your bo lao. I cannot take spicy food also. Luckily my FW also don't really eat spicy food. But then, she likes sour food, which i think is worse.

Hi shalomzoe, congratulations on getting married. When is your big day?

hi lance, welcome to our grp... care to intro? i mia for too long already... very tiring to read too much back posts...

Hihi Petrina,

So glad to see u back here. Was rather worried about u lately. Glad to know that things have turned out well for u

Hihi, shalomzoe, welcome to the clan!

I am a hainanese bride to be... would like to join in as u all seems to be a bunch of fun gals and guy...

do u all have any recommendation for JP... my wedding is in sept' 07...

Hi iViED, Thanks for your advise. oops, didn't realise suckling pig is only for cantonese. Do they still sell the seasame ball thingy at Purvis Street? Heard from my dad and future father-in-law, they don't. Cakes, where do u reckon i should get them from. Why candles and mandarin oranges huh? what is the significant?

Hi Lance, my wedding is on 14 july 07.

Hi Petrina, thanks for the welcome ; )

Any of you guys wedding is in July 2007?

hi mais!, me at airport logging on now! boarding in an hr's time.. talk to u all next wed ya!

huiz - hv fun for ur HM!

Welcome Barney! Yes, we are a buncha very chatty and helpful folks
Wow we have 2 new comers in a day

Shalomzoe, I think Pris's wedding is either in Jun/July 2007.

Waaa, janf started her holiday liao! I can't wait for this weekend to come. Heh, me gonna be kiasu go airport early and try get a window seat. I love window seats ;-P

Gonna miss janf for a week

hihi petrina, no prob lar. Glad to hear that you have sorted out and joined us here again! Take care and rest well.

lance, some pointers though.
1. Get ready your draft copy of guest list. Estimate the number of invited guests.
2. Hotels do set min number of tables. Check it out if you meet the criteria.
3. Work out your budget, prepared for losses. Choose hotels accordingly.

hihi shalomzoe and Barney! Welcome!

Barney, for Justice of Peace, we would say: Chan Kai Yau! hee.. many of us had engaged him. But he does not hold solemnizations on Sun though.

shalomzoe,
suckling pig - though Canto customs, but some families would ask for one too. It represents the bride's virginity.
sesame balls - think not selling anymore. They offer yi bua instead.
cakes - many ah mais here ordered from Pine's Garden.
candles - 2 pairs of long feng zhu, it represents the couple. Bride to keep long zhu and return the feng zhu to the groom.
mandarin oranges - represent 'kum', meaning gold. Usually in even numbers.

hey janf, flying off so fast liao. Enjoy and seeya next week!

Huiz, your turn is coming in a few days time. :p Enjoy to the fullest!
It will be quite quiet here next week.....

petrina: Hi hi, i am going to be 25 this year. My AD is in 2008. ROM in July 2007. I am a hainanese too!

Huiz: Wah, i didn't know we become clan already, Hainanese clan. Ha ha. You leaving this weekend too? Its going to be quiet without you and janf.

Hi barney!

Hi ah mais, here is my shortlist for my AD, around 20-25 tables. Please give me some comments/advice. I haven't really done any on site visits yet. So my shortlist (not completed list) is based on homework done online.

1) Raffles Hotel
2) Grand Copthorne Waterfront
3) Copthorne King's Hotel Singapore
4) Marina Mandarin Singapore
5) Goodwood Park Hotel
6) Traders Hotel Singapore

iViED: We post at the same time. So i post again. Ha ha. I don't actually have a budget. My dad says he's paying. So i just go see what i like then tell him what i want. But then, the ang baos he keeping all of them also. Ha ha, i also hope we don't make a loss.

wow, we got new 'faces' in our clan,welcome, welcome..Barney & Shalomzoe. Btw, pls give us your details, eg: AD, BS, PG, Banquet venue. CSI ah-mai will update our table
Tks, CSI!

Janf - see you bk next wed. Enjoy ur trip!

Huiz - wkend is just 2days away!! Enjoy ur HM. I also love window seats. When I booked my air tickets, I did asked them to put a note for me "preferred window seat"..hehe, hope I can get too!

Lance - pls fwd me your email addy, so that I can send u some of my AD pics

Petrina - great to see u back. Hope to catch u on 25 May, cos I think we have not met..hehee.

hello mais...from KL!

aiya..jus miss janf... am sure she is gonna have a great time in jap... aiya, as long as you are away from work, it can only mean fun and relax..

oh my..so much good fun in KL *slurp* i think i put on those that i've painfully shed. argh.

hello barney and Shalomzoe *waves*
Welcome to our chatty thread

Many of us here have already become "mrs" but we are still active in this thread nevertheless. Welcome to ask us any questions, we will try our best to answer.

petrina.. hope you are feeling better ya? Everything can be solved one.. when you feel that you have come to a deadend, stop, let your mind take a rest and you will see a way out.

okie...got to go for my meeting soon.. seeya gals!