Hainanese Brides, anyone???

pris: tat's y in my family only 1 couple get married each yr. take turns... who announce first counts... hehe... hmm, or maybe it's a coincidence...

Petrina: We announced at the same time. :p Haha... so no choice. If both our weddings were 100 days apart, then no problem. Too bad only 8 days apart.

Mosburger: You know what my fed-up colleague mass-email everyone? He said if he had wanted to handle all the discipline cases for the upper primary, he would have joined the Police Force instead! I also agree that our jobs have lost its essence. Nowadays we don't teach...we do gazillion other things instead.
My banquet is with HIPV. When do you intend to confirm the hotel? If your AD is in 08 Q4, i think there is still time to slowly decide.

Will send the pics to the 3 of you...not many, cos it's impossible for me to share all. These are all original, not touched up yet.

Shalomzoe: Thanks for your comments. My BS is Bridal Concept.
What about you?

For all ah-mais who received my pictures, kindly remember NOT to share/circulate them ok? Thanks.

Btw, can tell me what is HIPV? Thanks!

mosburger and Pris: My sister is complaining everyday, i think she doesn't have bond with anyone yet. She doesn't even eat lunch sometimes, citing the reason that she don't want to be caught alone.

Huiz: So steady, in ozzie also come see the forum.

Pris : Don't worry, will not circulate your pics. Mine is Mr & Miss Wedding Club. Which level and school do you teach? My sis is also a teacher.

pris, i didn't rcv your link. btw, so far what are the things to take note with HIPV? what can u ask from them?

lance, bond = contract signed between MOE and teacher to serve a minimum no. of yrs.

shalomzoe: my family's not christian. they didnt charge me for the room cos i had 50 pax for solemnisation and reception. we paid for the 50 pax's buffet. my coordinator for the reception was cynthia tay. for the wedding dinner, it was someone else. i can't even remember her name out but i liaised with marie before when the girl was out of town.

no regrets about using pine garden

mosburger: haha, i thought what bond you meant. But then, she on contract now. Going NIE in July. Don't know if she can tahan longer or not.

hihi good morning, so many posts over the weekend.

mos, my WG is from L* Belle.
They have gowns imported from overseas as well as by their in house designers. Mine was imported from Denmark. Yeap, they are very service oriented and not pushy. Guess this is something that I enjoyed.

Oh, more ah mais are going away. CSI, Nellie and later Stacy. Anyway, enjoy your trip ah mais!

Pris, thanks for the pic. Pretty pretty. You look good in your off-shoulder gown as well as KWA. Find that red works well on you. Thumbs up!

Oh mos, forgot to add, the administrator/moderator will block certain words that are sensitive or related to a certain company. Unfortunately L* Belle is one of them. Think it is because they did not advertise in SB. :p

barney, I had PM Mr Chan's contact to you, not so appropriate to leave his personal number here. BTW, don't worry too much. Wedding preps can be tiring but enjoyable. Enjoy this process while you can!

it's a sad day today. Just got wind that one of my ex-colleagues had passed away in his sleep last nite. He's only 40plus

He has no illness at all... just suddenly passed away in his sleep. I remembered since last year, there were few men just passed away like this too

nellie don't be sad. if you look at it, he had no pain, no illnesses. he must have been peaceful.

but i suppose the family and friends will find it hard to accept. what you can take heart is he did not suffer in his last moments.

reminds us to treasure every moment.

I lost my good friend to cancer 2 years ago, she is only 27. Her daughter is only a few months old then. Yes, Jen is right. Though no illnesses, but your ex-colleague passed away peacefully.

hi ah mais..

wow.. so many posts.. what an eventful weekend..

pris - can send your pics to me?

nellie - oh dear, i just heard from another friend about her colly's husband, plagued by liver cancer committing suicide last wed cos he was in pain and depression (he did not think chances of recovery is high).. really very sad. He also left behind a toddler.. We must all take care of our health..

Lance.. from personal experience, it is wise to work out the est no of tables needed. We under estimate the no and book a ballroom whose max capacity couldnt meet our final figures (the increase was due to the est on relatives..for some reasons, relatives often cannot give firm answers even till the very last min). We were lucky that our wedding dinner is on a wkday and no one has booked the other bigger ballroom.

conrad hotel serves very yummy food in my opinion. Loved the grand setting as well (high ceiling and chandelier). Reception area was spacious enough too. But booking is hot. The bridal suite is very beautiful too.

Hi Sherrie, Which menu did u pick? Was yours on a weekday or weekend? What did you pick for your favour? ; )

loinky : Not taken pics yet. Are u using them as well?

shalomzoe: i had the weekend menu but i can't remember which menu (only remember i chose green tea pudding with red beans for my dessert). we customised some of the items on the standard menu. for wedding favours, i took mixture of pralines and pineapple tarts.

my service manager was david tan. see if you can request for him. he's v friendly and helpful.

Nellie, iViED: So scary. I sometimes also think of what will happen if I just pass away in my sleep and leave so many things undone. But touchwood, i am still around. I think when our time is up, we also can't stop it. Haiz. So sad to hear that.

Wah iViED, your link is in chinese, i read the first 2 lines cannot take it liao. You can help summarize? Thanks in advance.

Li Ann: Conrad hotel noted in my notepad. Thanks!

Sherrie & Mos: I sent...perhaps you can check your junk mail folder in case it got filtered.

Lance: I'll send to you shortly.
If your sis has doubts about the job, better leave after her contract ends. Don't go to NIE cos once you enter, you'll be under the bond. For e.g. right now if i quit, i still have about $15K of the bond to pay! :p The sum is quite huge.

Shalomzoe: Mr & Miss is quite a new BS right? I'm teaching P1 in a sch at Marine Parade area. The teaching is not so stressful...the other aspects of the job is.

Ivy: Ya, my mom also said i look good in red. I think it's probably due to my fair skin.

LiAnn: I sent to you already. Hmm, you check & lemme know again ok? I'll send it out again if necessary.

Nellie: Don't be too sad. Nowadays it's very weird. Healthy young men just pass away like that. I rean an article in the papers once that there are about 50 to 100 men in SG who just die suddenly.

Lance: my picks for food:- Conrad and Marriott

but for Marriott, it must be the weekend menu...coz mine was weekend menu, and everybody loved the food (including my picky big bosses...hahaha). And a few weeks later, it was another fren's wedding...and she had a weekend lunch menu. The mutual friends said there's a significant difference in the quality and taste. But not sure if Marriott has changed their policy on the number of tables...

Hey Pris: hahaha...you know, after hearing about my working hours, my many teacher frens all came to the "realisation", that teaching is not so bad after all...hahaha. I start work at 7am, and most of the time I leave office at 8pm. And on some days, bring work home to continue after 8pm. Weekends also taken up by work...haiz.

shalomzoe: dun mind, could u leave ur details again pls? thanks!

sorry ah mais and ah kor....

the list that went on "holiday" for a while...heehee...

<font face="Vrinda"><table border=1><tr><td><font color="0000ff">Bride</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">AD</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Solemnisation Venue</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Recep venue</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BS</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">AD PG</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">AD VG</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="aa00aa">Janf</font></TD><TD>4-Jan-06</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>InJack Studio</TD><TD>InJack Studio </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="aa00aa">Bohty</font></TD><TD>7-Oct-06</TD><TD></TD><TD>Furama City Centre</TD><TD>David Lim Lee</TD><TD>Let There Be Light</TD><TD>Not getting </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="aa00aa">Crystalz</font></TD><TD>21-Oct-06</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>JB Venus</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="aa00aa">Stepford</font></TD><TD>28-Oct-06</TD><TD></TD><TD>Fort Canning, Gallery</TD><TD>Kai Bridal</TD><TD>Ron Lee</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="aa00aa">Lydia</font></TD><TD>28-Oct-06</TD><TD></TD><TD>Goodwood Park</TD><TD>Emanuel B</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="aa00aa">CSI_Fan</font></TD><TD>18-Nov-06</TD><TD>Church of St Teresa</TD><TD>Marriott</TD><TD>Amanda Lee</TD><TD>Lyrical Moments</TD><TD>Emeharkeh </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="aa00aa">Koxxic</font></TD><TD>9-Dec-06</TD><TD>Crown Hotel</TD><TD>Crown Hotel</TD><TD>David Lim Lee</TD><TD>Let There Be Light</TD><TD>Brother </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="aa00aa">Li Ann</font></TD><TD>12-Dec-06</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Silverlining</TD><TD>39 East</TD><TD>Damon </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="aa00aa">LambZzz</font></TD><TD>23-Dec-06</TD><TD>Grand Hyatt</TD><TD>Grand Hyatt</TD><TD>Tan Yoong &amp; Divine</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="aa00aa">Sherrie</font></TD><TD>29-Dec-06</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Grand Hyatt</TD><TD>Z Wedding</TD><TD>InJack Studio</TD><TD>Not getting </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="aa00aa">Misty</font></TD><TD>30-Dec-06</TD><TD>Raffles Hotel Lawn</TD><TD>Raffles Hotel Ballroom</TD><TD>Divine</TD><TD>Lightedpixels</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="aa00aa">Westerveld</font></TD><TD>7-Jan-07</TD><TD>3 yrs ago</TD><TD>Meritus Mandarin</TD><TD>Di Gio</TD><TD>Lightedpixels</TD><TD>Forest Production </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="aa00aa">iViED</font></TD><TD>26-Jan-07</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>La Bell3</TD><TD>Yew Kwang</TD><TD>InJack Studio </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="aa00aa">Huiz</font></TD><TD>17-Mar-07</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Silverlining</TD><TD>The Edge</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="aa00aa">Stacy</font></TD><TD>24-Mar-07</TD><TD>M Hotel</TD><TD>M Hotel</TD><TD>Flamingo</TD><TD>Yew Kwang</TD><TD>Not getting </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="aa00aa">Nellie</font></TD><TD>28-Mar-07</TD><TD>The Arts House</TD><TD>The Arts House</TD><TD>J&amp;C Bridal</TD><TD>Desmond Ho</TD><TD>Mark Yang </TD></TR><TR><TD>Loinky</TD><TD>15-Apr-07</TD><TD>Hilltop Garden Restaurant</TD><TD>Hilltop Garden Restaurant</TD><TD>Superstar JB</TD><TD></TD><TD>Freelance </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bendi</TD><TD>26-May-07</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Oriental Hotel</TD><TD>Dang</TD><TD>Jon Keng</TD><TD>Not getting </TD></TR><TR><TD>Violetcrystal</TD><TD>7-Jul-07</TD><TD>ROM Office</TD><TD>Sheraton Towers</TD><TD>Amanda Lee</TD><TD>Sam Wong</TD><TD>Kevin Yap </TD></TR><TR><TD>Veron</TD><TD>7-Jul-07</TD><TD>Park East Condo</TD><TD>Jaderoom</TD><TD>Precious Moments</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>DoryMiki</TD><TD>13-Jul-07</TD><TD>Raffles The Plaza</TD><TD>Raffles The Plaza</TD><TD>White Link</TD><TD>Lightedpixels</TD><TD>Friend </TD></TR><TR><TD>Priscilla</TD><TD>29-Jul-07</TD><TD>Acte D'Amour (Masonic Gdn)</TD><TD>Holiday Inn Park View</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>Derrick Ong</TD><TD>InJack Studio </TD></TR><TR><TD>Petrina</TD><TD>22-Sep-07</TD><TD>St Joseph's Church (Bukit Timah)</TD><TD>Hotel Miramar</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>Shutterbug</TD><TD>Shutterbug </TD></TR><TR><TD>Diana</TD><TD>4-Oct-07</TD><TD>Merchant Court</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Raymond D'Nuptials</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bluberi</TD><TD>22-Dec-07</TD><TD>ROM Office</TD><TD>Club Chinois</TD><TD>Bridal De Couture</TD><TD>Lightedpixels</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mosburger</TD><TD>2008</TD><TD>ROM Office</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Z Wedding</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Friend </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table></font>

Pris: Wah, i better tell her. She everything also blur blur one. But civil servants got pay rise now, even though not a lot, as compared to ministers. Today's TODAY got breakdown the increase.

CSI, you also recommend Conrad. That place must be good.

It is quite sad to hear people dying at a young age, perhaps it is all fated. As long as we live each day to the fullest, treasure those around us, life will be more meaningful and no regrets. right?

Lance, in summary, the story is about a couple, best of partners in both work and personal. Lady is 3 mths pregnant, couple about to get married. However, the groom-to-be had to complete an assignment and worked till 6am the next day continuously, even on wedding eve.
On wedding day, while the bride-to-be was getting ready with her makeup, relatives found the groom-to-be dead in his sleep. Autopsy results showed that he died of exhaustion.

The 2nd last paragraph states doc's advice:
- To sleep before 10pm
- Try to have a nap in the afternoon
- Best to have 8 hrs of sleep everyday
Last paragraph summaries how your body system detox at night.

Conrad ah, I had attended lunch banquet and was not satisfied with the food. Perhaps dinner is good bah. The atmosphere is not bad, high ceilings with those beautiful chandeliers.

ivy, thanks for the summary. Wow, I muz really show my guy this! He didn't sleep on the wedding eve, was bz with table arrangement and work proposal. Hmm..today onwards, I try to sleep by 10pm..haha..pris, u can't catch me on msn..kekee

Nope.. not using Mr &amp; Miss.. I using JB superstar.. cos i like pics taken frm Mr &amp; Miss so would like to take a look..=)

Sherrie : I didn't know u are allowed to customised the menu. I think u took Menu 2. Was it good? Were the pralines and tarts good?

Pris : I don't think Mr &amp; Miss is new. If i'm not wrong, its a sister co of In Wedding or Wedding In. Can't remember the name. Heard some mediacorp pple using them as well.

shalomzoe: thats what we did. the food..well, the guests all said that the food was good but i didnt eat much thru-out the dinner. as for pralines and pineapple tarts, i think they are alrite. mezzanine is famous for their pralines anyway. actually i don fancy pralines and tarts for wedding favours but guest hyatt's wedding favours are limited so it was no choice. hubby and i didnt want to pay extra for wedding favours.

Hi Sherrie, did u have to pay extra for the customising the food? I was told u can't do that. Will prob go for food tasting next mth. Not sure if they allow us to try Menu 1 and Menu 2..hehe

Wah, die of exhaustion. Those organizations which are slave drivers should read this. keke. I use to work till the morning also. Worse record was 30+ hours continuous. I think i will take the doc's advice. But 8 hours is a bit too much, i don't have time for that, for me maybe 6 hours should be ok.

okie ah mais and ah kors...

me still in office...going to zoom to airport in a short while. Take care all of you!

Catch you all when I'm back!

woohoo...boss gave me early release!! Whole day giving lecture n site tour for visitors. * tiring* Going bk home soon to rest..enough rest for 8hrs
! Yeah!

wow, so many posts... abit lost... hehe..

petrina, my bf's fren is ID so we got him to help reno our house..

lance, personally i think conrad food is good... i attended a wedding dinner there before.. u can check it out....

Lance, bring your your FW &amp; visit many hotels. If your priority is the food, i'll highly recommend Swissotel Merchant Court. The food is really superb &amp; of consistent quality.
As for teachers' pay rise, it's in the form of performance bonus. So it's not really increment in our monthly pay. Sad hor?

Stacy: I'm trying to sleep earlier too. Doc says i've got low blood pressure &amp; if i don't get enough rest, will get fainting spells.

Hi Pris, you may want to take iron tablets, agar agar, pigs liver, longans etc...but don't take too much...esp for iron tablets, u need to take lotsa water as it can get quite "heaty". ; )

life is really short. just stepped into the office and my colleague told me one of the secretaries upstairs had passed away in her sleep last night. i just saw her at the bus stop yesterday while going out for lunch. even waved at her. gosh...

shalomzoe: nope. we didnt pay extra.

i also have low blood pressure. i always feel giddy in the morning and sometimes even at night, especially when i stand up after sitting down for a long time.

ah mais &amp; ah gor...

I'm a firm believer that lifestyle and diet changes are one of the main reasons why such illness or disease are prone to happen nowadays(besides hereditary)...

They usually don't happen "suddenly" although that is how we see it... it is often a result of excessive abuse of our physical self and the "it won't happen to me" mentality...

Here's an informative article for sharing:

Below are some useful Information on one of the deadliest diseases of our time:

1. Every person has cancer cells in the body. These cancer cells do not show up in the standard tests until they have multiplied to a few billion. When doctors tell cancer patients that there are no more cancer cells in their bodies after treatment, it just means the tests are unable to detect the cancer cells because they have not reached the detectable size.

2. Cancer cells occur between 6 to more than 10 times in a person's lifetime.

3. When the person's immune system is strong the cancer cells will be destroyed and prevented from multiplying and forming tumors.

4. When a person has cancer it indicates the person has multiple nutritional deficiencies. These could be due to genetic, environmental, food and lifestyle factors.

5. To overcome the multiple nutritional deficiencies, changing diet and including supplements will strengthen the immune system.

6. Chemotherapy involves poisoning the rapidly-growing cancer cells and also destroys rapidly-growing healthy cells in the bone marrow, gastro-intestinal tract etc, and can cause organ damage, like liver, kidneys, heart, lungs etc.

7. Radiation while destroying cancer cells also burns, scars and damages healthy cells, tissues and organs.

8. Initial treatment with chemotherapy and radiation will often reduce tumor size. However prolonged use of chemotherapy and radiation do not result in more tumor destruction.

9. When the body has too much toxic burden from chemotherapy and radiation the immune system is either compromised or destroyed, hence the person can succumb to various kinds of infections and complications.

10. Chemotherapy and radiation can cause cancer cells to mutate and become resistant and difficult to destroy. Surgery can also cause cancer cells to spread to other sites.

11. An effective way to battle cancer is to starve the cancer cells by not feeding it with the foods it needs to multiply CANCER CELLS FEED ON:

a. Sugar is a cancer-feeder. By cutting off sugar it cuts off one important food supply to the cancer cells. Sugar substitutes like NutraSweet, Equal,

Spoonful, etc are made with Aspartame and it is harmful. A better natural substitute would be Manuka honey or molasses but only in very small amounts. Table salt has a chemical added to make it white in colour. Better alternative is Bragg's aminos or sea salt.

b. Milk causes the body to produce mucus , especially in the gastro-intestinal tract. Cancer feeds on mucus. By cutting off milk and substituting with unsweetened Soya milk, CANCER CELLS ARE BEING STARVED.

c. Cancer cells thrive in an acid environment. A meat-based diet is acidic and it is best to eat fish, and a little chicken rather than beef or pork. Meat also contains livestock antibiotics, growth hormones and parasites, which are all harmful, especially to people with cancer.

d. A diet made of 80% fresh vegetables and juice, whole grains, seeds, nuts and a little fruits help put the body into an alkaline environment. About 20% can be from cooked food including beans .

Fresh vegetable juices provide live enzymes that are easily absorbed and reach down to cellular levels within 15 minutes to nourish and enhance growth of healthy cells. To obtain live enzymes for building healthy cells, try and drink fresh vegetable juice (most vegetables including bean sprouts) and eat some raw vegetables 2 or 3 times a day. Enzymes are destroyed at temperatures of 104 degrees F (40 degrees C).

e. Avoid coffee, tea, and chocolate, which have high caffeine . Green tea is a better alternative and has cancer-fighting properties.

Water - best to drink purified water, or filtered, to avoid known toxins and heavy metals in tap water. Distilled water is acidic, avoid it.

12. Meat protein is difficult to digest and requires a lot of digestive enzymes. Undigested meat remaining in the intestines become putrefied and leads to more toxic build-up.

13. Cancer cell walls have a tough protein covering. By refraining from or eating less meat it frees more enzymes to attack the protein walls of cancer cells and allows the body's killer cells to destroy the cancer cells .

14. Some supplements build up the immune system (IP6, Flor-ssence,Essiac, anti-oxidants, vitamins, minerals, EFAs etc.) to enable the body's own killer cells to destroy cancer cells. Other supplements like vitamin E are known to cause apoptosis, or programmed cell death, the body's normal method of disposing of damaged, unwanted, or unneeded cells.

15. Cancer is a disease of the mind, body, and spirit. A proactive and positive spirit will help the cancer warrior be a survivor. Anger, unforgiveness and bitterness put the body into a stressful and acidic environment. Learn to have a loving and forgiving spirit. Learn to relax and enjoy life.

16. Cancer cells cannot thrive in an oxygenated environment.

Exercising daily, and deep breathing help to get more oxygen down to the cellular level. Oxygen therapy is another means employed to destroy cancer cells.

While we are still at this topic of dying in sleep... would like to share another information adapted from a Health booklet issued out together with Her World Mag Apr issue...

Q: Without warning...what causes young men to die suddenly?

A: The most common cause is sudden cardiac death (SCD), of which 80% is related to coronary artery disease or CAD (read below), with or without an acute myocardial infarction (heart attack).

Unfortunately over half of sudden cardiac death victims have no prior symptoms. Some patients have chest pain, breathlessness or sweatiness and when these occur in a patient who has a heart problem risk, they should always seek treatment immediately.

An SCD attack is not the same as a heart attack. SCD is caused by an abnormal heart rhythm due to abnormal "electric circuitry" of the heart. A heart attack is caused by blockage or occlusion of the arteries supplying blood to the heart, causing a portion of the heart muscle to be damaged. This may or may not lead to an SCD attack. It is estimated that 1,000 Singaporeans dies from SCD every year, about half of whom are below 60 years old.

Cardiac Artery Disease (CAD)
CAD is a common type of heart disease whereby fatty deposits accumulate in the coronary artery and impede the blood flow. Reduced blood flow to your heart can cause chest pain (angina). A sudden, complete blockage can cause heart attack.

The problem is that many people who have this form of heart disease are not aware they have it. CAD develops slowly and silently over decades. It can go virtually unnoticed until it produces a heart attack.

You can prevent or slow down CAD by taking steps to improve the health of your heart and blood vessels. Drugs and surgical techniques can open up narrowed coronary arteries, but the best long-term solution is to make lifestyle choices.

After reading Li Ann's post i am a bit scared now. I am a carnivore lei, and i drink a lot of milk. I think i better cut down on my desserts too.

Pris: Ya, a bit sad. Something like PB. But better than nothing i suppose.

Hmmm... Whatever it is, we got to take care of ourselves well. I'm still learning to take things easy at work after seeing an example here.

I seem to be missing something... oh ya... lots of postings on the banquet... I can't help cos I didn't have banquet for my wedding. ha ha ha so no comments. All I know is that wedding is the time to test how good your bargaining skills are.

pris: same as li ann. i didnt receive under my hotmail junk mail either. my addy is [email protected]

nellie: u are right. i think bargaining skills really come out, especially before signing on the dotted line. once u have signed on the dotted line, everything else that u ask for will be rejected or have to be paid.