Hainanese Brides, anyone???

huiz..never see you online... anyways..dun be too sad ya? *hugz*

lance.. i've emailed you the details of the suan mi guy. You can call me first to clarify what you want to ask so that you will not make a wasted trip.

pris, sherrie.. thanks thanks.. i'm collecting showroom brochures as well for ideas. ;p Do you gals know how we can get a copy of the Ikea catalogue?

li ann: eh as for the ikea catalogue..they usually send to my place once a year..not sure if i can find the catalogue at home. if i find it, i will bring it for u tomorrow.

sherrie, thanks!!
i threw away many many stuff cos of my wedding spring cleaning... now guys understand why women keep things... cos they will come in handy eventually!

Anyways, thanks! :D

hey CSI, thats great! Now we can finally get a chance to meet you.

So how many of us are meeting at Raffles Place station?

Li Ann, so I presumed that u have found your house? If you are looking for an interior designer, I have a friend's friend who is one. I shall email u the contact and you can decide later.

Huiz, saw u online. Ya, it can't be helped. But it is a blessing that he can drink your tea.

sherrie, I realised that you really take things easy and everything went on smoothly for you. If I were you, I would supervise the reno right from the beginning. :p

li ann: just searched thru the magazine rack and around my tv console area. couldnt find the ikea magazine. maybe my husband threw it away
so sorry!

ivied: i wont be meeting u gals at raffles place most likely. my hubby and i just let my sis-in-law run the show. we supervised the painters merely. i have heard a lot of horror stories from others who left it to the contractors. a lot of slipshod work etc. guess they didn't dare shortchange us cos of my sis-in-law.

sherrie, no probs.

ivy, yeps! we've found our place at last! It's the EC at Woodlands, which will be TOP only Mar next year. So we have about one year to design and plan what we want.

hey Li Ann, that's fast! Congrats! hee.. another round of planning and supervising after the wedding.
What is TOP? And the developer is?
BTW, my mum has kept the 2007 Ikea mag, I see if I can go back tonight to collect and pass it to you tomorrow.

i see sherrie. I agree, have heard of countless of cases whereby contractors do not honour their agreement or their bad workmanship. You are lucky. So everyhing is kept on track by your sis-in-law.

Wow Li Ann, congrats on getting your love nest! Hee, now can look forward 2 planning n all e unhappiness with hubby is over liao. So happy 4 u.
For me, I also did not get an ID. I find that there's not that many IDs who can do a gd country style. So I rather DIY n deco e place with DIY stuff. so now u can see my place with many self made knick knacks. ;-P

li ann: congrats! which development is that? how much is psf?

huiz: country style decor is v expensive! my gf was telling me that it costs more than 10k for country style kitchen?

janice seems to be in MIA mode today yeah?

janf today bzy.. morning doing rpts for tom morning meeting.. juz finished doing..

gongxi li ann!, wah next time can go ur hse liao.. keke.

wow Li Ann, That's fast! congrats! must be all excited to to do up your new home! so exciting...just after wedding somemore.
Woodlands is not bad leh. got quite a lot of amenities nearby...

Ivied: TOP = Temporary Occupation Permit. means
can collect keys and move in.

Hmmm, maybe Janice is busy today...

CSI.. thanks for explaining it for me! :P i also dunno it myself.

Huiz.. i foresee more squabbles and argument over house work leh :p My friend is getting help from part time domestic helper from china (those pei du ma ma) once a session per week at $50, covering mopping, ironing, washing the toilets.. that will be the last resort if we can't cope.. but with my experience in china before, think i'd rather handle on my own as much as possible.

mais.. ya i am really happy with the purchase! We went back a total of 6 times before signing on the dotted line and it was more happiness than heartache in the purchase. but it also means i need to cut down on my shopping and entertaining! You know the kind of feeling when you step into the house and it just gave you a nice warm feeling that you know you can call it home? Ya, both of us had the feeling and hence we knew that this would be the unit we would buy.

Sherrie, we paid 486 psf. My colly bought one during phase I and he paid 50k lesser than us.. so a bit heartache for us actually. Took us two weeks to consider... but since this is going to be the last EC govt is building, think we better grab it before our salary exceed the EC ceiling again.

oh i forgot to say.. the EC is called La Casa, developer is Far East. Actually we heard Quintet project is nicer and cheaper.. but we were too late. Only 4-roomer and penthouse is left... and developer is Fraser Centerpoint..their quality of finishing is better, i feel. But la casa is not too bad either. I loved the 50m swimming pool and two tennis courts. But maybe also no chance to play since there are over 400 units ;P

li ann: can really feel your excitedness. haha. good for you. finally a place of your own. the feeling is very good. we have a part time maid too. also china lady. $10 per hour. but she's not very efficient when it comes to ironing my clothes or hubby's biz shirts. one of my customer owns an agency (the one whom invited me for his wedding this sat) which deals with babysitting, maid sourcing on a part time basis, garden mowing etc. but his hourly rate is more expensive. its $12 an hour.

50k difference is really quite a fair bit hor...some people really buy at the right time and sell at the right time. not everyone's so "heng".

li ann - how much is ur unit on the whole? 3roomer?

my coll oso hired part-timer to clean up her place once a wk, every sat.. tink i will do so when i get my flat in future.. very siong ownself do hsework..

sherrie.. you put it so aptly. some ppl are just so heng.
we liked the unit no (it coincides with my hubby's birth date no) so much that that is prolly one of the pull factors for us to acquire it.

janf.. We paid total 555k for a 3-roomer.

Part-time maid is really a good option since we are both working and have to fly frequently.. weekend is really a chance to rest and bond a little.. so if we have to spend one day just to clean up and squabble over whose turn to wash the loo... think it loses the meaning of setting up a love nest together.. it became so stressful! hehe... my justification in getting help on that..

consider buying some 4d for the unit number.

my colleague said her condo's unit number (1515) came out the same weekend she signed on the dotted line. so inspiring.

hee Li Ann, this sums up our theory of: if its meant to be yours, its yours.
It is a good chance to try on 4D, especially since it coincides with your hubby's birthdate. My sis-in-law's unit no came out on the weekend that she bought the house.

talking abt part-time maid, I hired one for my mum too, on a weekly basis. My MIL insisted on not taking one, saying she can do it when she is free. (In other words, I have to do too lor.) This part-time maid is a local, been with my mum for >1 year. My mum even pass the house keys to her and allow her to come in to clean the house on her own. So far not too bad, but she is quite unlucky. She is diagnosed with breast cancer lately, but it is benign.

janf, make sure your hubby keeps to his promise leh. My bo lao till now, has not clean the toilet yet.....

ooh...La Casa...nice. So since it's been built, u guys managed to see the actual unit? I think seeing the actual unit is better than buying before it's even built. then u know what to expect.

Wah, 400 units...that's quite a lot...I guess the initial bit, wun get to use lah...coz it's still a novelty to many pple. but after a while, the facilities won't be so crowded liao lah. heehee...

Part time maid...yah, boh lao and I wanted to hire one to help us too (coz I end work quit late everyday)...but then...we thot to ourselves: "hey, it's just the 2 of us only leh. and we're still young lorh...20s - 30s. Cannot handle own house work?? 2 pple and we cannot cope? a bit too much right? Wait next time got kids then how? Die lah..." hahaha....so in the end, we never hire. We're still getting used to things...well, actually, boh lao is the one doing most of the things lah. heehee...coz he gets home much earlier than I do. I just do all the ironing on Sunday.

It takes some getting used to lah...esp for me, coming from a home where there's a maid to do everything for u...but after a while, I find myself settling into a routine...(Routines aren't all bad...). And I find myself finding the most efficient way to do things. and then it does seem much easier. Can be quite fun actually...hehs...

janf, I lived with my in-laws so their practice is to dump everything (including undergarments) into the washing machine. I wash mine separately though.

janf: my own family is female-domininated so we dump everything together unless we are having our periods.

my in-laws separate them. but my hubby and i dump everything into the washing machine.

why that question?

morning all, its nellie's big day today!

haha sherrie/ivy, no lah.. my colls were discussing the topic on washing clothes yday and the guys were saying how can wash all tog etc.. anw, my MIL very particular abt such thgs.. my undergarments (except top) i ownself wash.. she even bot me a small bucket when i married in and tell me men and women muz separate coz men muz Fa in career and $$..

then i told bor-lao so next time we hv own nest so everythg dump tog wash lah?! he said no no! he rather wash his on his own.. haha.

morning! yup yup, nellie's BIG day today and we are going to celebrate for her! So only janf, CSI and me will be meeting up at Raffles Place station right? Li Ann?

hee janf, my MIL is not particular abt this. But I have been trained by my mum, ladies' undergarments and men's cannot mix. She never say why, I just follow. Now I even wash my own top, coz I so scare my MIL will spoil my precious clothes in the washing machine. hee...
But hor, what your MIL said is happening to my friend, same reason too. But diff is she is living with her hubby and has a stricter rule. She is not to wash even her clothes together with her hubby. So u can imagine when u have to separate coloured and white clothes to wash, she has to further separate between hers and hubby's. So she has 4 sets of clothes to wash each time. (her hubby - coloured and white, hers - coloured and white) *faint*

Huiz, saw all your 90 pic. wow, the hotel room eludes romance, really like a honeymoon suite. The kids are so cute, can see the unity of your 'clan'.
But hor, think your make up in Spore is better, more like you.

ivied..hope this is not too late!! i'm meeting you gals at the train station too! anyways.. i'll message you along the way..

janf.. hee.. i'm also trained by my mum to wash own undergarment (including top), which means my mum will wash hers too. But everything else we dump together to wash except for my own tops. So i carried this habit to my in laws place too. In fact i wash all my clothes separately from my hubby and in laws.. cos pai seh to let her wash for me, and secondly, like what ivy says, most of my clothes are very ma fan, need hand wash. I did observe though that my MIL has a little pail for herself where she soaked her undergarment inside. My FIL and hubby will throw everything inside this big pail. So i think she washes separately. but hang together leh. but she did remind me to hang my undies as near to the wall side as possible so that no one will accidentally walk underneath my undies... :p

Think next time i'll still be hand washing my undies separately..but my hubby don't expect me to scrub his shirt first then throw into washing machine. It's everything into the washing machine! I already warned him to buy a few more shirts just in case no time to wash and iron.

Yes yes, Nellie, congrats on your big day! So sad I can't join in. Do update us ASAP okie?

I also went to cut my hair this morning. No need for long hair liao. Haha. Had been trailing this long mane for over ten years so I guess its time for a change too

im home from the wedding! ivied shd be too.. pris and li ann now lim kopi at raff city and csi shd be in town..

wah, the pathway in the main hall really grand.. and nellie had a super longggg train.. her makeup very nice too, make her eyes look so big and deepset, really look like angmoh..

talking abt angmoh, we were commenting tat one of her coll quite cute looking.. haha.

and sherrie best, kena public announcement over PA system 'CAN CARPLATE NUMBER ABC XXXX PLS MOVE UR CAR AWAY? UR CAR IS BLOCKING THE JP'S CAR!' hahah! we really had a good luff over it.. poor sherrie had to run out to shift her wheels..

food was good.. laksa sedap, choco fondue slurps, sandwiches good..

in short, really refreshing attending such a wedding! in fact was my 1st time too!

no choice. was raining v heavily at lunch time and there were no lots to park so had to park illegally. otherwise, i would have missed the solemnisation part. haiyah..turned out that my car was blocking the justice of peace's car. but when i left, there was a big land rover blocking me

mosburger and huiz: u gals missed nellie's singing!

hmmm the mood overall was v cosy, especially the big sofas and the two singers that nellie engaged were v good as well. think we really had a good afternoon.

hello ah mais, i'm back!!!

it's so good to see you girls at my wedding (Ivied, Li Ann, Sherrie, Pris, CSI and Janf)!!!

I know which cute colleague you're talking. His name is Jens from Germany. Handsome till you drool, right?? HaHa

I'm glad you enjoy my wedding. Thousands of apologies if i neglect you girls in some ways.

Thanks a million for your gifts!

468237.jpg

Wow, Nellie what song did u sing? Was it meant to be a surprise for your hubby?

Ivied, I saw the pics u emailed us. Yah man, the place looks really unique and classy!

So sad I missed it ah...

hi ah mais...

I m back as well! Couldn't post anything in office today...duno y opic pc said pg cannot be displayed leh! sian...

Wanna thank u gers for your well wishes n blessing. Wedding was fun n everything ended fast! I was like...har..its over liao (comparing to so many mths of prep). My XDs n JMs really play a great role on my AD...going to organise a tq dinner for them ya! Oh, Yew Kwang was great! My AD pics will be ready in a mth..will upload on multiply n share with u gers ya!

Nellie - belated wedding wishes for you!Great all went well for you. U sang? wat did u sing? Got video? show us during next gathering ya!

Huiz - wah..u got a new haircut liao...it muz be refreshing ya!

Li Ann - congrats on getting your new home. I did not engage a ID for my resale home, basically I got sub cons to do the work for me (so pratically me n bo lau became PCK..hehee)

Lance - welcome to the group! Let us know if you need any advise or help ya!

i sang "我åªåœ¨å‘¼ä½ ". This surprise was discounted. explain to you girls another time.

Belated wishes to you too, Stacy.

tink nellie and csi all very gungho! both serenade to their bor-laos at wedding and sang well too! i cant sing for nuts and i guessed no one will wana hear me lalala either haha. so my wedding, my JMs and guests made my fatty sing was the best choice..

finally thur.. one more day to the wkend..........

good morning gers! Yes..managed to log in using office pc liao!

I agree with janf loh..nellie n csi really good manz..sang during the wedding. Luckily no one asked me to sing also, cos i can't sing either..hehee. My emcee sang for us during the wedding dinner thou
Was a surprise for us!

hi hi morning. hmm.. I have recorded Nellie's singing..... (any takers?)

yeah yeah, yday's food was good, deco was beautiful too. (ang moh is handsome too) hee.. But don't mind me this beginner hor. Some of the pic turned out to be quite dark. pai seh leh. But we really had a laugh when it was announced that sherrie's car was blocking the JP's.

sherrie, aiyo, this land rover also buay zi tong. then u managed to get the owner to remove the vehicle?

I shall send those pic in soft copies to those ah mais who had attended. I noticed janf is really slim leh, despite being a Mrs for >a year. Normally the waist line of married women tend to get bigger as the marriage years increases. hee... (except for those who are forever slim)

Welcome back Stacy. Can hear your wedding gossips.
Glad that you enjoyed yourself on your AD. I know your pic will turn out great, coz it is by Yew Kwang! :p

Huiz, do u feel a relief after the trim? No longer draggy by the long mane. What is your length now?

nellie, I had copied all the pic and video in the CD, will pass to you at a later stage.

aiyoh ivied, im not slim lah.. juz trying hard to suck in tummy only.. now everyone like to ask me when im getting preg so i juz conveniently turned to my fatty "HES PREG MAH!" keke. lidat will juz shut those SanGuLiuPo's mouths up..

i cant view the pics in ofc thru multiply! bleh! gotta go home tonite then can see.. softcopies good good!

i like sherrie's and ivied's new hairstyle.. so much easier to maintain now ya.. too bad i juz rebonded 1/2yr ago if not shd juz gangan chop off my messy hair..

The first thing I felt when my hair was chopped off was the lightness in my head! Now my colleagues say I look like sec sch kid with this hairstyle. I myself am still not too used to it though

Haha, janf, that's a good excuse to stuff their mouths up!

Hmm, so who's wedding is next? Pris?

hey ah mais, I have to get this off my chest...

Arrgghh....I'm so irritated by this, I just have to get this off my chest! This happened earlier...

How to take down a phone message.

10am. We invited a listed company over to our office to make a corporate presentation to some of our dealers and fund managers. After saying "Hi, Hi", the management of the company and my boss went into the conference room. So I went back to my desk.

Phone rang. Our intern (from SMU - the general feedback is that students from SMU are quite different [better] than those from NUS, NTU) picked it up.

Intern: Hello?.....Yah,....yah....yah....Ok....Ok....Orh. Bye.

[Puts down phone and turns to me]

Intern: Erm, Boss wants you to look for this "Gee-nell's" (that's what it sounded) name card and number to remind her ah. Ginelle or Jean, or Gi Gi or something like that....

Me: Ginelle? (I dunno of any Ginelle....ok, maybe it's another name that both my boss and I know quite well - e.g. Giselle). Er...I dunno any Ginelle.

Intern: I dunno lah. Or Gi Gi or something like that.

Me: Er....Do you know which company is she from?

Intern: Er, I dunno. "P' dunno what or something like that. You got the list?

Me: [my own thoughts: Crap!! OMG!! You just put down the phone and you can't even remember what's the name or company? Then how to find? If can't catch the name properly, just clarify again on the phone lah! Relay this kind of message...how to find any name?] Er, if you dun tell me what's the company, how do I sift through Boss's name cards to find a name close to Ginelle or Jean/Gene or Gi Gi?

Colleauge 1: Er, try searching under "G"

Me: The "G" bit is the person's name lah. Need the company's name first mah.

Intern: You got the list?

Me: What list? You dun even know what name, got list, give you also for what?

So I just went over to Boss's desk, took out his chunck of name cards, went to the P section, gave that section to the intern and told him to find. Coz I dunno what's he talking about.

Meanwhile, I emailed Boss (Boss carries a Blackberry phone with access to his emails) and asked him whose name card was he looking for. While I was emailing Boss, Intern couldn't find the "G" name (obviously...duh). So he just stood - yes, stood...when everybody's seated, and looked really lost. Poor thing...but hey! You're 24 yrs old!! Surely you know how to do a simple thing like take down phone messages right??

Boss didn't reply email. So I called instead - coz if it's regarding the meeting, it gotta be urgent. Then told Boss to reply to my email.

The reply came back:-

It's not even anything to do with "G"!!

That debunks the myth that SMU grads are better.....

If it's work that you can't remember etc...that's fine. coz sometimes, the references at work is our own internal erm, reference. We know what we're referring to when we say "ABC". So Intern may not be used to it yet. But a plain simple phone message from Boss...??!! Also like that??!! *Faintz* Definitely NOT hiring him after his internship, which by the way, ends tomorrow.

okie...now that's off my chest...

Nellie, your wedding was great! My first time attending a wedding at places like The Arts House. Quite different...The Arts House is quite grand too!! It was "Wahhh...." for me from start to end. Very nice...

And I finally got the chance to listen to A Little Dream as a guest...! hahaha...during own wedding, too busy mingling ard to sit down and listen to them. Yesterday's wedding was quite cosy...

To top if off for me, it was great meeting up with the ah mais (Ivied, Li Ann, Janf, Pris, Nellie, Sherrie) for the first time!

It's very funny! Coz I was at Raffles Place MRT Station quite early. So I was walking ard the Raffles Xchange (that shopping area). Then this lady in a turqoise dress, with a big brown bag walked past me. I thought to myself...wow, nice dress...Nice look. Hmmm...maybe I can dress like that too when I meet frens. Instead of the boring blouse and skirt. Yah, must start to look out for this kind of clothes. (My wardrobe very boring one). Then time's up. Ivied called me and I met up with her and Li Ann....and.....

Wah!! That lady in turqoise dress that I saw earlier and was so inspired to "copy her dressing" (hahaha...) is actually Ivied!! hahahaaha...so qiao manz! I was like "Hey! I saw you earlier!!" hahahahaha.....

csi: did u read the report in straits times a few weeks back about smu grads with starting pays of 2.8 to 2.9 plus? they even reported a graduate who started work and got a starting pay of 14k.

i couldnt believe it when i read that article.

life's so unfair. when i graduated 7 years ago, my starting pay was certainly far from that.

sherrie: tell me abt it manz...7 yrs ago, my starting pay was less than $2k! haiz...things are very different now lah...sekali next time our kids tell us their starting pays are $10k...hahaha. inflation...

Yah sherrie and CSI, I also started work 6 years ago with realllly PATHETIC pay. Anyway, it isn't much better now either. Healtcare is always "chi bu bao, er bu si" kinda place

aiyah, looks like I'm quite old leh. I started working 9 years ago... yeah, pay was really pathetic then.

CSI, it was great meeting you at nellie's wedding. Thanks for the compliment, feels so flattered. hee...
A Little Dream is really good, likes their singing, crispy clear and soothing.

I find that interns nowadays are more tech-savy but when it comes to EQ or simple tasks like answering phone calls, they are far lagging behind. I faced a lot of interns in my co, most of the time left me *vomitting blood*.
CSI, your life will be 'back to normal' after tomorrow. :p

aiyo janf, your hair where got messy?? It is so straight and u have maintained it well leh. Short hair is quite easy to maintain but has to trim it frequently else it will go out of shape. You can try it the next time. :p

think next in line is loinky, Bendi. But they seem to have MIA.

yeah. last time when i was temp-ing, the money seems to much "bigger". when i received the pay, the feeling was so good...but now when i receive my pay, the bulk of it goes to paying off my bills. pathetic

did u girls read abt this news? this andy lau fan hasnt been working since 1994. she is a full-time andy lau fan. her parents sold their house in china in order to secure tickets to hong kong. the dad committed suicide so that his death can gain some attention and allow his daughter to have "private talk" with her idol!

her picture with andy lau is in the papers!