Hainanese Brides, anyone???

Points noted. Thanks iViED and Li Ann. I copied the points and save in a word document so i can refer next time. Ha ha.

I also super sian the housing prices so high. Actually i think the IR should be successful if not mildly successful, because SG bringing in F1 racing soon. The plan of turning SG into entertainment hub like Monaco is quite appealing actually. I just hope HDB doesn't raise prices, and give reasons such as follow mkt rate, or higher sand and granite prices. Haiz, and HDB is suppose to be subsidized housing.

hi ah mais...

I'm so stressed! So busy with work. so much work to do that I hardly have the time to go out for lunch and come by here. Want to cry and bang my head against the wall already...
haiz.

Li Ann - Ever thot of renting first? (then again, rental rates are also climbing, though slower than property price increase). Yah, property prices are soaring, and are expected to continue till at least IR comes up. Then, with the expected 6.5m population in Singapore, I wonder when will prices come off.

Like Nellie said, you can always walk away from viewing a place one...so just go and see. It is spending quite a bit of time, but look at it in this way, you learn something in the process. Either about people in general (seller, agent) or about the market. Now, you only hear pple talk abt how high mkt is etc. But going into it to find out, ask your own questions and form your own opinions etc...you'll understand the market differently.

Who knows? maybe you'll meet a seller who's desperate for the money e.g. want to migrate overseas to be with family overseas etc...and would be willing to go lower. Things like that. A friend of mine just bought her resale HDB flat abt 2 weeks ago, at $12k above valuation. It's at Simei area...

Hey Nellie - men are like that lah. my bo lao also never bother with anything. Then on dinner day, his list a bit messy, and I gotta solve it for him. Just proves who's the stronger character in the r'ship manz...hahaha. And that feels good...hahaha.

Btw Nellie, what's ur FH working as?

28th ah...I want to attend! Arts House is so near my office...haha. But I must check if I can take leave that day or not. Or approx. how long will it last?

hmmm...HDB is subsidised housing...well, compared to private housing, it is quite subsidised. The only thing is, our salaries are not increasing at the same rate...that's why so difficult to buy...

My parents bought their HDB 30 yrs ago for I think $30k. 30 yrs ago, $30k is like damn huge amt...probably like $300k in today's context? That same kind of HDB flat (neighbours) is now asking for around $350k to $400k I think. Actually nett nett, like don't make much also...

Hi CSI, my FH is helping his dad in his biz. He's doing many things. Delivery, property and etc... until i have no idea

my wedding ... from 2.30 to 5pm
(have to be seated by 2.15pm)

let me know asap

Yah, 20 year ago, my folks bought their 5 room flat for only $77 700. It's now like almost... 350K? Come to think of it, our pay surely hasnt risen by this much too right?

bottomline is...if you can get a subsidized new HDB...pls do. It is really a gift from the govt. Don't wait and end up like me and hubby..belonging to the "chi bu bao, er bu shi" not enough to eat till full yet won't starve to death type. Very ke lian... people think you earn alot so this group is the forgotten ones.

Gosh...people around me buying properties like monopoly. Boss bought one FH unit at 750 psf one month ago, now worth like 860 psf. And another friend bought a thomson unit at 1000 psf??
wa... these people rich leh...

Ivy, so far woodlands has the most supply of houses therefore the quoted price is still reasonable. Saw a few units 10 mins from Admiralty, valuation around 290k-300k, asking about 5-10k above valuation. All of them 5I.

oh... this is for sharing with those planning to get a house... boss was just sharing with us what her agent told her ... that those who are hoping for property prices to come down in 4-5 yrs time may need to wait even longer cos if singapore heng heng get the F1 race to be held here, then that's it. Even price dip will be very little only. Then those not so rich expats will move out to suburb areas either buy or rent. So HDB prices will also go up, but at a slower rate. Now still a good time to buy. But also scared that the better houses got snapped up first. Sounds very exaggerating, but last Sat, we actually went to a few units in Woodlands..open house somemore, groups of potential buyers walk in and out, and amongst them, China chinese too...

I read about all the posts bout increasing housing prices & i'm also stressed. I think in future if FH & i wanna upgrade our housing, it'll be difficult. With the prices climbing higher & higher, it seems likely i'll be living in govt housing for the rest of my life. :p

Nellie: I can't confirm yet. Have to see my VP tomorrow (she's not available today) & see if i can be excused. Sorry ah...

Lance: There are TONS of BS in Tanjong Pagar so be street-smart & bargain. Be wise to their tricks cos they love to give a lot of perks during 1st meeting but after that, will have hidden costs.

AD = Actual Day. So the day after your ROM is my wedding day!
Have you picked a date for your customary yet?

Haii, Pris, it's really hard to own a private housing in Sg.... the house alone is already 1mil or more, excluding renov and everything. I have already more or less resigned myself to fate to stay in HDB all the time, unless my bo lao is willing to buy a house here in Msia. I saw his neighbour's very nice country style bunglow here yesterday evening and couldn't help drooling... haha

property agents make a lot of money these days. two of my customers who bought cars lately are housing agents. they do both private properties and hdb flats. i look at their pay and literally drooled over it, especially the commission pay out for private. one deal = more than 20k commission!

Wa piang, 20K just to bring us around to see the house, give some advice and help to do some paperwork??? Very very easy money! *faintz*

The property agents are having the best time now... but they also struggled during the lull period. A few agents that i contacted were less responsive to our HDB requirement... guess they are more busy entertaining the private property buyers. More commission mah... bad timing. So stay with in law some more and pray for miracle. *cry*

Pris: I intend to go down to Tanjong Pagar this weekend with my FW. I heard from some of my colleagues that the shops there are not very honest. They say IMM also have, but my FW and i live in the east so thats a bit far to go. Maybe i will pay a visit there when i have more time.

I haven't chosen the date for the customary yet because my mum got no time to look into that. But its definitely next year after chinese new year.

Wah, 20k commission. Yesterday i talked to my cousin about being a property agent and she say not good one. I think housing prices really going crazy already. Stress.

Acually, I feel we should just buy HDB in SG and go overseas and buy houses. I promise my FW we will retire in Vietnam next time, so i think we will probably save and buy a house there for retirement.

Huiz: I think you should consider getting a house in Malaysia too.

no la..i don think the 20k comes easily..cos it means she must have sold a property more than 2 million. its not so easy selling a property at that kinda pricing. u need to find the right buyers too.

plus they have a lot of other hidden costs, like advertising etc. advertising one day in straits times is 70 if i am not wrong. plus those fliers that they distribute...quite siong too...

Lance, ya, my hubby was saying perhaps we can retire in Msia too. Open a clinic here and work part-time. Say people pay him in chicken & eggs he also don't mind. Haha.

hi ah mais, long time no @@
me been bz bz. spent some time to catch up on stuff.

nellie, sorry can't attend ur wedding coz wed i'm on course. but do try to take things easy k. all e best!

hihi lance, i suggest dun take z wedding. no doubt they have nice gowns, but service so-so. not recommended. FH and i signed up on impulse. better do more research before sign up. must buay paisey walk out of the shop if u dun wan to sign.

huiz - i like ur photos. very nice!

li ann - how are u? i realised one thing abt in-laws is, we need to communicate directly. if always ask hubby go tok to them, they will think u trying to influence their son. but if tok openly and spend some time w them (alone, no hubby around), they can be very nice too. my FMIL and FFIL also asked me to stay with them nxt time, and promised when flat ready then shift out. meanwhile, still no flat, coz hubby wan new flat, so gotta wait n keep trying balloting. have u tried talking to in-laws directly? are they the open-minded type or traditional old pattern kind?

Hi ah mais, may i ask which fortune teller you all visit for choosing the AD and checking the 'ba zi' of your partner? Or did you all leave it to the old folks?

mosburger: Noted, z wedding deleted from shortlist.

Li Ann, point noted. But I'm thinking if I should take a 5 room or greater flat. Not because of income but more of maintenance. This hubby of mine is a lazy bum when it comes to cleaning and washing. I'm really like his minah manz. And he has the same mentality as mos's; he wants only NEW flat. aiyo, how many new flats are there in Spore???
The prices may be surging in the next few years but HDB will be moving in a slower pace. Maybe a wait-and-see tactic could be better at this point? Sometimes, you may not be happy with your decision if it was made in a hasty manner. Moreover, we are talking about housing now. It is a huge payout and proper planning has to be in placed before we can take a big step forward.

lance, for my case, we leave it to the older folks to select the dates based on both partners' birthdates.
As for your BS selections, you may want to purchase the latest Style or Her World bridal magazine to have a better idea. And you can check with your wife her preferences. From gowns to MU to photography, which do u places emphasis on? From there, you can gauge and shortlist those BS that offer the best choices for you. Have fun!

nellie, my attendance confirmed.

talking abt HDB flats...my boss was telling us his fren commented this:-
"I'll never buy a property in SG. Coz I dun want to be tied down by SG. Buy HDB, kena tied to SG. Want to leave SG also a bit difficult. If no property, no bank loans, can just pack and go anytime. Might as well rent..."

Hahaha...actually, he has a point too...just that for many of us, it's not practical.

Lance: I live in the east too, that's one of the factors that attracted me to Bridal Concept. The shop is in Bugis. Since you live in the east, you may wanna consider Golden Horse (Di Gio is from the same company)? It's at Tampines. My friend signed up with them.

My FH & i consulted my friend's uncle who is a FS master. He gave us a few dates to choose from. It was our parents' wishes that the date is based on our Ba Zi.

mosburger: I agree with you about spending some time talking to your in-laws, especially MIL. Afterall, many years back, she was also someone's daughter-in-law. She will somehow have experienced some of the frustration or apprehension that you're going through now.

Huiz: Ya lor. Pte housing is simply too expensive & i simply refuse to live in a condo. The size is small (sometimes smaller than HDB flat) and monthly gotta pay amenities fee. Think i have to strike Toto to stay in big private house. Haha.

iViED: roger that, will go pick up a few magazines later after work.

Pris: Can recommend your friend's uncle to me? My FW studying at Bugis that area, she also said Bugis there got a bridal shop. We will go check out this Bridal Concept.

My FW also got mention if SG BS to ex, she will go back Vietnam and do. I told her can, but photos better don't take there or later come out very orbit.

Hey ah mais,

anybody interested in the latest Her World Brides magazine? I got a fren trying to sell her extra copy (I dunno how come she got extra...). But anyway, think it's retailing at $8 on the news stands? She's selling for $6. Let me know lah.

Hey Nellie,
I'm on for your wedding. Boss ok-ed the leave.

Great, CSI, finally get to meet you then

mm... My PIL is the extremely traditional type, totally different from my own. Thus, it took me some time to get adjusted to that. I also think communication is important, but with them it became a little difficult cos my MIL can only speak Hokkien. Mandarin, sparingly. My FIL is still ok since he is a cabbie, can still speak a little Mandarin. Trying my best to brush up my Hokkien so that we can talk other stuff besides weather and food (like "have you eaten?") Though my mum is a Hokkien, she is struggling with it too... so when it comes to my generation, you can imagine..

Pte propery is crazy market.. the fren who has bought one at 1000 psf, is having second thoughts and were asking me if he had overpaid..

Huiz..an agent once asked me if i was interested in a three-storey bungalow in JB at 300k, facing sea somemore. See how cheap?

Ivy..i agree with you on the size. But my hubby prefers a bigger space, for the kids next time, he says. Plus my walk in wardrobe. That somehow managed to convince me haha. Already told him that he has to share the household chores. He is the "Da Shao Ye" in the family now, never need to do anything, all managed by my MIL.. so i made him promised he will do housework before i ok to bigger house

tomorrow coming...another round of house viewing... so tiring... gotta go home and do some house research le!

ah mais & gor, byeee...have a nice weekend!

Hah, 3 storey bunglow for RM 300K is like less than 150K in S$. What can we can for S$150K in Sg? A 3 room flat? Haii, life is really tough in Sg.

Li Ann, what size are u looking at? I am already slacking in the cleaning for my EA!! Heng my bo lao got help in the housework.

Going to Jonker Walk to jalan the pasar malam later. Enjoy your weekend babes and dudes!

hi mais, me juz came back from my on-coming jepun trip briefing at CTC..

lance - boss of Bridal Concept is hainanese. so if u can speak, cfm got special svc.. keke. my BS was also Bridal Concept. good svc, no complaints.

we went to YouLongZi to ask for dates. many couples seek his advise too tho hes not cheap. if u are not particular, then the fortune tellers oppo GuanYin Miao do calculate marriage dates as well.

Lance: You send me an email ok? Not too sure i wanna post my friend's uncle hp number here. My email add is [email protected]

CSI: I'll be able to see you finally. I'll also be attending Nellie's wedding. My boss say next Wed nothing on in the afternoon. hee.

Li Ann: Hokkien is not a very difficult language to pick up. Don't get too stressed up ok? What kinda of flat are you gonna get? Which area?

Huiz: Enjoy your 2nd dinner this weekend... & have lotsa fun!

Stacy: Tomorrow is your AD!!! Not sure whether you'll log in later but sleep early & be a gorgeous stunning bride tomorrow. *hugs* Smile prettily at the camera & tell us all about your big day ok? Congrats again!

Btw...who is attending Nellie's wedding?

janf: Oh shucks, i don't speak hainanese. Maybe i can ask my Dad to go with me. I have to check with him later. I think i will go check out the guan yin miao area tomorrow also.

Pris: Emailed you. Thanks!

Btw, where is this youlongzi? Normally how much do you all pay the fortune tellers? $50? I hope i don't get chop carrot head when i visit them.

haha lance, huiz is rite. YouLongZi not cheap.. tat time was my MIL who paid for his svc. tink its $100 or $128 (somethg lidat).. my coll juz went to him for name of his newborn gal and he charges $100 liao. but many TCS actors/actresses go to him lah.. the TCS actor Zheng Guoping oso chg his name to Zheng Geping coz of YouLongZi..

Yiu Rong Zie Geomancy Consultation Centre
393 Guillemard Rd Singapore 399790
Tel: 6743 5738

Pris: Got your email. Thanks!

Huiz n janf: I didn't know so expensive. But then, maybe he is popular. I will call the place up tomorrow to check. My mum suggested to go to some fortune teller she found in the chinese classified ads. $38 only. I told her charge so low, sure no good one. Ha ha.

I visited Bridal Concept today with my FW. A lady called Sally (she mentioned she was the big one) attended to us. She was very warmth and enthusiastic and not pushy at all. I think my FW likes the service and the design of the gowns. But I think we will be visiting more shops tomorrow before we decide.

Hope all of you here have a wonderful weekend!

Lance: Sally (aka Big Sally) is my coordinator at Bridal Concept. She is a very nice lady & so far, i've been very satisfied with her.
Go check out other BS with your FW...it's very important that she likes the gowns & that both of you are comfortable with the service & price.

Stacy: How did your AD go? Do keep us posted ok?

Nellie: Just 3 more days...must rest more ok?

Janf, Li Ann & Ivy: How are you gals going on Wed? I'll be rushing down by cab cos i only finish work around 1.40pm. SMS me ok?

pris - sherrie, li ann, csi and ivy will be going as well. mayb we will meet at raff pl mrt then walk there? can discuss again ya.

lance - my coordinator at Bridal Concept was sharon. the lady boss is stella and her partner is jasmine, both hainanese. i signed up wif jasmine then. can say tat the staff at BC are very nice ppl. but do shop ard other BS for more ideas and choices.

Hihi ah mais,

My dinner last night was BLAST!!! It's so much more fun than my Sg one. The food was great, deco was better and the guests were so spontaneous. I am supposed to go back today at 1.30pm, but I am held back because of some very important matter. Will tell u guys more if I see u on MSN.

Huiz: Seems that you enjoyed yourself thoroughly. Show us some pictures!

Pris and janf: Roger that! Will check out other shops. I think Big Sally quite popular is it? That day i went down, there was also a couple down there trying the gowns with her.

Wah, so many of you no need to work and going to Nellie's wedding. So envious. Hee hee.

hi hi good morning!

CSI, great to see you finally! This looks like our gathering. hee..
janf, can. We shall meet at Raffles Place station. Is 145pm fine with everybody?
Direction: From Raffles Place Station, take exit H and walk across Cavenagh Bridge.

wow Huiz, your dinner sounds fun! Awaiting to see your pic!

Lance, this is our chance to get away from work. :p

lance - $250?!??!? cannot be bah! u are asking for 2008 2nd half yr dates izit? coz the TongShu not out yet so he will charge more..

lance: that's so expensive. i won't pay that kinda money for consultation of dates man!

nellie: how's your preparations? are u on leave already? i bought a new dress for your wedding but couldnt resist wearing it today to cheer me from my monday blues. hehe. shall have to find an alternative.

huiz: do update us okie. we are waiting for stacy's updates too!

Lance...i got cheaper alternatives leh... only $10 for consultation. But it is not cos he not accurate... he charges more if you want to change your name for better luck, else he only charges $10 for whatever consultation. If you are interested, you can email me at [email protected]

I think he is very zun.. at least to me.. :p

huiz..show us your pics!! i wanna see! My gal fren held her wedding at Sabah, it is a local practice for them to advertise congratulatory messages on the local papers to the couple and family. So my friend kept a couple of newspaper cutting. Very funny, did you have that?

So looking forward to Wed now...ya, like our gathering like that. I'm also thinking what to wear...maybe purple! Wearing my mushroom dress. keke...you gals will understand why i call it a mushroom dress when you see me on Wed...keke..

i'm over the Bridal mag...now crazy over interior design mag!! Did you gals engage an ID for your house? Or did you design it yourself?

li ann: didnt engage any ID for the house cos we didnt have much budget when we were doing the reno. plus my sister-in-law was then doing wholesale for flooring tiles, parquet etc. she got us cost price for the flooring and she had a lot of contacts with those sub-contractors etc. she coordinated all the reno. i never saw my contractors before. just saw the drawings for my kitchen cabinet merely and approved it.

sherrie, thanks.

Asking another silly question again... is ID company separate from contractor? If we approach contractor directly, will they be able to do the design if we show them the pic? I'm worried the quality of work may turn out sloppy.

Nellie: Enjoy yourself and have a good rest tomorrow so you'll be a beautiful bride on Wed.

Li Ann, Sherrie, CSI, Janf & Ivy: I'm looking forward to Wed too! I'll be wearing a pink dress. A bit excited...been thinking what i'll wear to Nellie's wedding. CSI, finally can see you!

Hui: Pics pics pics!!!

Li Ann: I have (or rather, my in-laws) have engaged an ID for our flat. He's from Image Creat1ve...this company charges a bit more but they're a Superbrand. My in-laws insisted on engaging this ID so no choice, afterall, they're paying for the bulk of the reno. I've also been looking at ID magazines too! Haha..

Lance: $250 is chop carrot head! :p I think there're cheaper alternatives around. Find one that is within budget for your mom.

i think iD companies provide the design and the contractors. they "subcontract the work to their contractors. in a way, it's safe cos the contractors they engage should be reliable as they work on projects together.

Hey gals n guy,

I am back from my super eventful weekend. Some of u would have known what had happened to me over the weekend. I would tell u offline what happened. Haii, so sad I can't attend Nellie's wedding. I would not be able to meet those with coming weddings too if they or their families are pantang. Perhaps u all can catch a whiff of what happen to me liao. I prefer not to say it here la. Got chance i tell u all when we next meet up/see each other on MSN.

My pics should b out within the next few days. Need to go my mum's place to download coz my hubby's laptop USB is spoilt

hey Huiz,

yap, read your blog...oh well, can't be helped. It's good that ur PIL dun mind continuing the celebrations - some pple mind worh. Impt thing is, u guys managed to serve tea...

yah...I'm wondering what to wear too. Probably pink. Does Nellie have a colour scheme?

Well, my boss just told me "eh, tmrw keep ur lunch time free horh." and i'm like "hello?? I told u I want to go on leave! Maybe I'll negotiate...let me go on leave, but I'll turn up for the lunch meeting if he really needs me there. Then let me go off at 2pm.