Hainanese Brides, anyone???

hi ah mais, mi n hubby went hdb yesterday to enquire abt purchasing a new flat. hubby was adviced to transfer the ownership of the current flat he co-owned wif mil asap coz it takes time for documentation purpose n hdb to gif him back the $$ he paid + accrued interest. mi gave hubby warning to go hdb branch office to settle tis within 2 weeks.

also gotten the current (but nt really updated) list of WIS flat available inclusive of price fm the hdb recept... realised dat jurong west n woodlands are the cheapest place to buy in s'pore. can't imagine my eyes when i saw dat a 5rm flat cost oni abt $155k in jurong west lor.. 5rm exec in woodlands oni abt $235k (these are for 2nd floor units)

current WIS oni left those far north n west areas for selection, so i juz try my luck n ask the customer service officer when will the next batch of flats be released... was prompted dat the next batch will be released during the 4th quarter which means either oct/nov/dec, hope it will be at least during late oct coz hubby haven transfer his ownership out fm the current flat... best of all, the areas will be hougang/sengkang/punggol!!! hope the customer service officer gifs accurate info coz these are the areas i preferred to stay, near to my mum, sis n frens. i immediately told hubby die die we are going to queue at hdb once the news of the next WIS is announced, even if it means in the middle of the nite n next day haf to take urgent leave.. bo pian, first come first serve basis mah... lol

Just wondering if all of u are hainanese brides like the thread mentioned??? I was attracted to this thread becoz I'm a hainanese too

Hi Lydia,

Yes, u are right. ALL of us are Hainanese, either pure or one parent is. We are a buncha chatty ah mais and we welcome u to the clan!
kao_welcome2.gif

Hi Nellie,

Great to know that the works is getting on so well. In no time, the place will look spankingly new in its new garb

Haha, ask my bo lao to write something in the wedding site ah? Aiya he so lazy, say only la. Haha.

HI bluberi,

Are u staying in the hougang/sengkang/punggol area now? Me too. I had been staying in this area for the better part of my life so far and I can't ever imagine myself roughing it out in Jurong West.... haha. And ya man, the units in JW are really unbelievable. Wish u and your hubby good luck in house hunting!

Huiz, mi staying in hougang at my sis's place coz my mum rented out her place (next blk oni). hubby's place is at woodlands... mi tot of getting a place at woodlands but aft hearing dat hdb gonna release WIS for hougang/sengkang/punggol area, i changed my mind. need to stay near mi mum coz she'll look aft my children in future... mil dun wan to look aft leh

Hihi bluberi,

Wa your MIL so fast "yue fa san zhang" don't want look after her grandkids liao ah. Ya, since this area has WIS might as well wait a while. Worth the wait lor.

Oh ya, ah mais, me finally shed the shoe hunting "burden" off my shoulder. Bought the final pair from OG for the CS on Friday night. Since my CS is violet, I thought this would go well with it.

411310.jpg

Now I just hope that I remember my CS colour right and this pair wouldn't go to waste. I'm kinda sian to go round looking for just one pair. So I just went for it when it caught my eye.

Heh, hope it doesn't look too 'aunt-ish' too ;-P

Hi Huiz, thanks for welcoming me. From the amount of archives, this is defintely a happening thread man! I'm interested in ur wedding website, may I have the link too?

So when are ur weddings? Mine's 28 Oct 2006. Can't wait to get it over and done with.

Hi Lydia,

Oh yes, this IS a happening thread. Hehe. Wow, your AD is just round the corner. Which BS and which hotel are u with?

My wedding is still some time away, on 17th Mar 07. Another one will be held one week later in 24th Mar 07.

Here's the link to my wedding site: www.ewedding.com/sites/huiz/

oh dear, you girls are super "on". I am feeling tired these days and seldom go thru this website. I don't think can join u girls for the outing as I am afraid I have lots of appointment this coming week and wanna spend more time with my family....*sob sob*

Hi Lydia,

Welcome to the thread!

Want to leave your details so we can update our table?

AD / Solemnisation Venue / Recep venue / BS / AD PG / AD VG

Up next is bohty's big day!

hi lydia!, wow, ur AD is juz round the corner and now then discovered sgbrides?! keke.

anw, we are a chatty lot here.. non-stop chatting.. so juz post wateva tots/pics/comments here..

Huiz, the link is fantastic. Looks like lots of work involved. Agree with all of them on the great england used. We've chosen Emanuel B Couture & Goodwood Park Hotel. My husband loves the hotel so it was easy and luckily the date is avail. I was deliberating between Wedding Present and Emanuel then. I'm very happy with my choice so far. So everything was quick and simple, did not do much bridal shopping (which I dread). Not very Singaporean style eh... Lazy bride...

CSI, thanks for inviting me to ur gathering, however I will not be able to make it. U guys go ahead and have fun. Join u all the next time. And i must say the venue is extremely appropriate eh... Care to share ur weblink too?

CSI, wat table are u updating? Sorry for being a newbie. Wat happens when all the weddings are over? Just curious...

Hi Lydia, erm...I think it was Nellie who posted the invite to you. heehee...but yah, it's an appropriate venue. Hahaha.
Oh, you're with EBC? EBC was one of those I had shortlisted too!

maybe you want to leave your email so I can send you the link?

Here's the table:-
<font face="vrinda"><table border=1><tr><td><font color="0000ff">Bride</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">AD</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Solemnisation Venue</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Recep venue</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BS</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">AD PG</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">AD VG</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Janf</TD><TD>4-Jan-06</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>InJack Studio</TD><TD>InJack Studio </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bohty</TD><TD>7-Oct-06</TD><TD></TD><TD>Furama City Centre</TD><TD>David Lim Lee</TD><TD>Let There Be Light</TD><TD>Not getting </TD></TR><TR><TD>Crystalz</TD><TD>21-Oct-06</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>JB Venus</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stepford</TD><TD>28-Oct-06</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Fort Canning, Gallery</TD><TD>Kai Bridal</TD><TD>Ron Lee</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lydia</TD><TD>28-Oct-06</TD><TD></TD><TD>Goodwood Park</TD><TD>Emanuel B</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>CSI_Fan</TD><TD>18-Nov-06</TD><TD>Church of St Teresa</TD><TD>Marriott</TD><TD>Amanda Lee</TD><TD>Lyrical Moments</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Koxxic</TD><TD>9-Dec-06</TD><TD>Crown Hotel (Over)</TD><TD>Crown Hotel</TD><TD>David Lim Lee</TD><TD>Let There Be Light</TD><TD>Brother </TD></TR><TR><TD>Li Ann</TD><TD>12-Dec-06</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Silverlining</TD><TD>39 East</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>LambZzz</TD><TD>23-Dec-06</TD><TD>Grand Hyatt</TD><TD>Grand Hyatt</TD><TD>Tan Yoong &amp; Divine</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Misty</TD><TD>30-Dec-06</TD><TD>Raffles Hotel Lawn</TD><TD>Raffles Hotel Ballroom</TD><TD>Divine</TD><TD>Lightedpixels</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>iViED</TD><TD>26-Jan-07</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>La Belle</TD><TD>Friend</TD><TD>Friend </TD></TR><TR><TD>Huiz</TD><TD>17-Mar-07</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Silverlining</TD><TD>The Edge</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stacy</TD><TD>24-Mar-07</TD><TD>M Hotel</TD><TD>M Hotel</TD><TD>Flamingo</TD><TD>Yew Kwang</TD><TD>Not getting </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nellie</TD><TD>28-Mar-07</TD><TD>The Arts House</TD><TD>The Arts House</TD><TD>J&amp;C Bridal</TD><TD>Desmond Ho</TD><TD>Mark Yang </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bendi</TD><TD>26-May-07</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Oriental Hotel</TD><TD>Dang</TD><TD>Jon Keng</TD><TD>Not getting </TD></TR><TR><TD>Violetcrystal</TD><TD>7-Jul-07</TD><TD>ROM Office</TD><TD>Sheraton Towers</TD><TD>Amanda Lee</TD><TD>Sam Wong</TD><TD>Kevin Yap </TD></TR><TR><TD>Priscilla</TD><TD>29-Jul-07</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Holiday Inn Park View</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>Derrick Ong</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Diana</TD><TD>4-Oct-07</TD><TD>Merchant Court (Over)</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Raymond D'Nuptials</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bluberi</TD><TD>22-Dec-07</TD><TD>ROM Office (Over)</TD><TD>Club Chinois</TD><TD>Bridal De Couture</TD><TD>Lightedpixels</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mosburger</TD><TD>2008</TD><TD>ROM Office - 22 Nov 06</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Z Wedding</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Friend </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table></font>Update on Lydia

ivied - cant view ur yahoo pics coz my stoopid ofc bar us for using yahoo.. go home then chk..

huiz - u made reservation for this wed gathering liao? wah, cant wait for it to come..!

Hi Lydia, Welcome welcome.

Hee... u are the first bride that I have heard of who dislike bridal shopping. So reckon everything is settled already?

Hey Bohty, do show us your AD pic when they are ready ok. And Congrats!

Hi Huiz, nice pair of shoes.
It can go well with most type of clothes so no worry if the colour is wrong. BTW, do u know that the ewedding website is valid for one year only? Best that u do a backup of your website else your efforts will be gone down the drain. Its a nice website. I like your style of writing; I can't make it. hee...

CSI, thanks for the update. BTW, my AD PG is called Francis. He is my colleague cum freelance photographer.

Li Ann, its a pity that u can't join us. We will update u when u are back.
Your hubby is so sweet, can see that he treasures the wedding bands a lot. I have not seen rose gold before, hope to see your rings when ready.

Hey ah mais, I have sent a link to u on the stuff that I have bought/selected for my AD. My ah lao is working on the website so I shall wait and see. hee...

Hi Janf,

Yes, me made the booking for Wed 7.30pm liao

Hi ivied,

Thanks for the link. U making the crochet rose as wrist corsage? Same same like mine
And your ah lao is so good to do the web. Mine can't be bothered. Only know how to open mouth "give suggestions" and don't get down to serious work. And yes, I am aware that the site is available for only a year. I plan to colour print out the pages and compile into a little booklet

Oh ya, me added something in the "planning" section of my site.

Sorry Nellie, I do not have any contacts.

Hi Huiz,
Nope, I'm doing a brocket/pendant for my JMs. They shall decide what they like.

My ah lao has been talking about this for a month already but so far he's still talking and no action. hee... I'm surprised that he is willing to attempt again (we did once before during our uni days but the techniques are lost now)

I shall wait and see. It may or may not materialise. ha ha ha...

I'm looking forward to the gathering this Wed too. So we shall remain 715pm at Bugis station? Near the old Guardian pharmacy?

Hey ivied,

So I have found for myself a buddy in crochet! I love to crochet manz. Can't keep my hands off them.

Yes, I suppose the old Guardian is the easiet place to spot people?

err... no leh. I only learn how to do that ONE piece for this wedding. I wanted something different for my JMs so I thought of this. I hope they can re-use this after my AD.
I'm no handicraft person, but I like to conceptualise ideas and finding ways to materialise it. I still have a lot to learn from you.

Hi ivied, pls send me the link too. It is amazing what u guys are doing.

Have u all taken ur bridal photos yet? We took ours during the second month of seventh month. It was super tiring &amp; I cannot imagine how can I survive the AD...

I used Flux for my PS. Simon's good &amp; he is quite a joker too. He will be leaving for USA next yr to further his "name".

Sorry gals, the pics have to wait. Final pdt not ready yet. Will send once ready ok.

Huiz, I take my hats off u man! They are so pretty, ever tot of earning some money out of the skills u have?

LOY, do I know u?

Huiz, sorry forgot to answer ur qns. We went to Red Dot Museum, Changi Beach &amp; Neil Rd. We wanted to capture the rustic side of sgp b4 it is gone and we are beach lovers too.

So u guys plan ur honeymoon liao?

How's weekend? U gals are progress well..with webpages, DIY corsage, etc. I'm just being lazy. Wanna do my clay flowers wrist corsage and scrapbook, but just too lazy to start off...sign. Dunno when I'll get myself started...hehee

Lydia - welcome to the thread.

Hi Lydia,

The idea go making money did occur to me. But I guess this is not the time to materialise the idea. Too many things to juggle now. Perhaps after the wedding and I have settled down at my new place (read no parents to nag at me)then i'll seriously start something small

oh lydia, forgot to intro myself as im the 'oldest bird' here.. me oredi married in jan06 but still thick-skin posting away on this thread.. =P

we went spain/portugal for HM in apr.. luvly countries..

btw, i know of a lydia but not loy tho..

Hi Lydia,

My paternal grandma's surname is Loy...!! Any relation to Loy Kee chicken rice? (That's my grandma's side relative...I dunno them, but my father's generation would know). hahaha...

Oh you used Flux...yah, I heard Flux is not bad...
Will he be doing your AD photography too?

Yup, I started HM planning liao. We booked to go Italy in Dec.

ivied - juz viewed ur yahoo site. are the gowns featured the same as wat u getting ur seamtress to do? the gowns are nice! nice shoes u hv too.. the sharp-toed one very unique color.. where u bot?

Hi ivied, wat's ur yahoo link? Can I have a look too?

Janf, nice intro
I wld love to go to spain. The beaches are lovely and the sale is fantastic too.

CSI, Flux is not doing my AD. Italy sounds good, how long will u be there?

Anyone got PS pics to share? I love looking at them. Also take a pic during the gathering on wed so I can put the name to a face ok.

Bout Wed...i'm shy cos i haven't seen any of you before and i scared i don't have anything to say! Haha...

Yes i think meeting at Bugis MRT (former Guardian) is the best location.

Nahh, don't worry Pris. Everything would be fine. When some of us met up for the first time last month, we broke the ice in no time and were chatting merrily away very soon

Hey Pris,
It'll be my first time meeting the ah mais too...hehs...so the former Guardian? Okie. I'll be wearing jeans and t-shirt (dunno colour yet) that day. How do I know what I'll be wearing? Coz I'll be on leave that day (shifting some stuff to new place) so I can plan what to wear already! hahaha...no office attire...

Hi Lydia,
Oh I see...so how's your prep? Your AD is coming soon...

We'll be in Italy for about 2 weeks, but we're considering extending to cross the christmas period. Only thing is, it'll be extremely crowded in Rome (Vatican City) and pick pockets will probably be having a field day...

Hi lydia,
Can u leave your email addy here? I shall send the link to you. Its only pic of the stuff that I have bought for the wedding.

Hi janf,
I hope the seamstress will be able to do up the gown as per the pic. *crossing my fingers* Then I can replace those 2 pic with me in it. hee...

Those 2 pairs of shoes were bought at Lulu with a 70~80% discount during GSS, way before my bf proposed. It was not meant as wedding/evening shoes but I see the versatility so decided to keep it for my wedding.
I have added a pic of my ang bao box in my link. U will be surprised. hee...

Pris, do not have to worry. Rem we are all chatty ah mais?
(So we do not have to bring red rose this time round) *wink*

CSI, that's a romantic place.
I started to have dreams of Rome ever since I watched the HK serial.
Ya, Christmas season is the best 'sales period' for pickpockets. Hang your bags close to you. But one thing good about it is that u can have a great spluge on Boxing Day. Lot of things will be going on BIG sale.

Hi Huiz,
hee... It is actually a lantern. I just attached a container to it, add a bulb to make it bright. The top of the container is sealed up with a small slit to slot the ang baos.

Wow ivied, very creative idea! I suppose the latern must be very big to contain all the APs ;-P

Btw, I see some couples have separate AP boxes for the groom and bride's guests. Does this mean that the bride's side will keep all the APs from their relatives and friends?

My parents said to let us pay off the dinner will all the APs. They don't want any. But of course la, if there's balance then I will also have to be zi dong to give them some lor.

huiz - groom's side will hv to determine how many tbls they are giving to bride's side. eg: bride's side got 10tbls in total and groom's side agree to give 8tbls, so bride's side get to keep 8tbls monies but gotta fork out remaining 2tbls monies to the couple to pay off hotel at end of banquet. but since ur pama oredi say give u all back all the APs, then it doesnt matter liao lor..

ivied - can upload the AP box here? if not i shall go home then log on again.. my stoopid IT dept!

pris - no need to paiseh lah! we are easily recognisable! u see a grp of gals gathering outside guardian, most likely it us liao! keke.

Aiyah...I missed all those emails manz! My email addy gt terminated, cos I did a transfer of acc fm mum's place to my place...dunno why it got terminated!

Ivied - wow, u are very creative..can imagine using lantern as AB box...Can't wait for my email to be up so can see ur pics

Ok gals - let's do a headcount of who's attending..
1) Janf
2) Nellie
3) Huiz
4) CSI
5) Ivied
6) Pris
7) Stacy
8) Did I miss any one out??

Stacy, I think there is also mosburger.

Janf, I can't upload here as my file size is 150kb. Anybody know how to reduce the file size? I have cropped it to the requirement already but as my resolution is rather big, I can't reduce it any further. Any advise? Me gunn doo in this. I shall send the file to your email.

BTW Stacy, thanks for the compliment. I'm not good with my hands but I have quaint ideas. My ah lao can't stand me already. hee...

Hi ivied,

U can open the pic in the MS Paint programme, then go to "Image", then to the "stretch/Skew" function. What I usually do is, under the "Stretch" box, I shrink it by say 50% or any percentage that is suitable. Just remember to enter the same value in the "horizontal" and "vertical" box.

Given the limited software in my office PC, this is the best I could do lor. Hopefully this helps