Hainanese Brides, anyone???

Huiz,

rubbish chute outside the house has its own good... my current flat is. At least you won't have cockroaches & other yucky insects climbing up the chute INTO your house!

Just take walking to the lift landing to throw rubbish as exercise! Hee... Yes i'm very relieved to settle my AD PG. Next would be to pick a ROM date & also to go for my 1st gown fitting in November. TODAY, FH & i went to Bridal Concept to sign our package cos now it's Lunar 8th month liao. This is another "headache" settled.

eh...me kpo...also wanna see pics! mail me pls Nellie & Misty? -- [email protected]

hi ah mais, I'm back again.

Li ann - true, I come in here to take a breather once in a while too. But can only browse and kaypoh but no time to post a msg. hee...

Good that your new hotel coordinator is responsive and experienced. Discuss thoroughly your ideas with her. Hope u can strike this item off your to-do list soon.

Is your wedding band design as per what u showed me the last time?

Relax... work is never ending, try not to stress yourself too much, else u won't be a pretty bride by Dec. :p

U are looking for a JP? What about Mr Chan?
How about Mrs Chia Swee Tin? Her tel: 63421381

Ya, we should form one support group. Bluberi, how's your talk with your hubby? Hope things are working fine for u. I did not take reno loan but I do know of a co 'TCC' that offers reno loan at a lower rate than the banks. U can take a look. https://tcc.org.sg/index1.htm

hey Huiz, me also wish to take a look at the new Batam. I was there about 8 years ago and like what Li Ann said, not so impressive then. I do not even rem having a spa session then. Its a good idea, we can go pamper ourselves one day.

CSI, your wedding is in Nov leh, will u be in time to get your wedding bands done? I thought the lead time is 2 months if your size is not available OTR?

Getting rings done at Fairy Inc fulfill the wishes of couple who has a specific design in mind but was not available in normal jewellery shops or that the aspired rings have exceeded their budget. It is possible to get wedding bands at that price in outside shops, but it depends if u and your ah lao will like the design and fit.

Nellie, I also wanna see your EM pics.
Huiz, I guess there is also pros of having the rubbish chute at the lift landing. Imagine having to hear the loud 'thump' each time your neighbours start throwing big items off their own rubbish chute in their own home. I had been tolerating this for the last 30 years; unbelievable.

ah mais, thanks for all ur advice!!

iViED, i did heard abt tcc... tot of find a contractor who has an account with hitachi credit coz can take the reno loan fm them, interest tink oni 4.0++% as compared to others

Haha, looks like I am one really lazy wifey. Go out of the house throw rubbish also find it mah fan.... kekeke.. but ya, true also la. there's the pros and cons to it. I hadn't experienced any of those louding thumping from the chutes coz my parents stay at the highest floor... heh heh

After seeing Misty's lovely site, me also bitten by the wedding website bug.... heeheehee. Found this free and very user friendly site: www.ewedding.com

Those who have the time and are interested to share your precious moments with their family and friends, do check it out

Huiz, tink it depends on where the loan is from ba.. banks are charging 5.0+% to 7.0+%. credit companies charge from 4.0+% to 6.0%. tink should be something like dat..

empty flat = major reno??? we do not intend to spend more den $40k for reno+furniture. nt sure can keep within the budget anot.

Hi Huiz and Pris,
Having the rubbish chute at the lift landing does ensure cleaniness to the house; but provided u must be diligent to clear your own rubbish at the end of the day every night.

I can't help but to make a small complaint here. My FFIL and FMIL has a habit of taking little snacks at supper. After which, they will just throw the leftovers in the in-house rubbish bin and go to bed. Imagine waking up to see ants crawling around the rubbish bin????!!!!! I dunno if I can tahan this after shifting in; bless me...........

Hey Huiz,
That's an interesting website! I shall explore further. hee... Thanks!

Hi bluberi,
It is possible to spend <$40k for reno + furniture even for a new flat. Just do up the essential part of the house first. U can further improve it at a later stage when your pocket is not so tight.

hi ladies, thanks for visiting my website... actually my sis did the whole thing for me... I havent got a clue how to do it. But for those interested, I know there're a few different sites which allow you to create and customise your own wedding website based on their designs. Eweddings which Huiz mentioned is one and the other good one is weddingwindow. Have a look :D

LiAnn, Mosburger, Priscilla, Ivied - Emailed to you the link liao

Bluberi - I took a reno loan for my reno from my company. Depending what type your flat is, $40 is actually enough. Unlike my case, $40k is not enough.

CSI - Initially I wanted to custom-made my rings at Fairy's Inc too but abandoned the idea cos it's out of my budget. Bought my wedding bands at one of those neighbourhood jewellery shops.

I went to my house last night to take a look. Wow!!! The workers are super fast!!! The 2nd floor, staircase, living and dining were all hacked and cleared in 1.5 days. Now only left kitchen, balcony, toilet and study room to go. Think it'll be completely 'cleared' by today.

heehee....huiz, ivied, thanks for your thots on the rings...
Yah, while FH and I want something different, we realised that we don't want rings that are too different. While trying out rings at Fairy's Inc, we had this thought:- the rings are so nice and custom made to our liking...we sure wouldn't bear to wear it much...given that we have to do housework, and help out at in-laws home when we go over etc. Half our minds will be thinking of "Oh dear, will I scratch my ring?" or "Oh no, it's dirty..." kinda thing. heehee...so we'll probably just go for normal bands that can ta han the daily "labours". hahaha.

Hey ah mais, I also have a little wedding website of my own.
Not as nice as misty's lah...hehs, but at least on our next outing, you gals can recognise me...

Hey ivied,
then how has your FFIL and FMIL been "surviving" with the ants in the rubbish bin all these years? Maybe before you go to bed, you tie up the rubbish bag or throw out the bag (i.e. bin empty)?

Hmmm - Rubbish chute... there's always pros and cons. Well, for my case at the moment, I'll change the rubbish chute thingy to something nice. Nowadays there are cute designed rubbish chutes in the market. It's no longer the silver and old-fashioned ones.

Hi Misty,
Thanks for the info. This is a good way to feature our love story and wedding pic.

Nelllie,
Your contractors are fast workers. So your neighbours will have no complaints now.
Your EM is quite big and spacious.

No prob CSI. Just my personal view.
Actually, irregardless of the type of ring that u bought, it cannot withstand the acidic solution of cleaning detergents for long. So the best way is to take it off before u do any housework.
BTW, can I have a look at your website too? Me curious ah. hee...

My FFIL and FMIL did not complain so I never say anything. What I observed is my FMIL will wake up in the morning to clear the rubbish, clean up the kitchen and wipe the area. Personally, I cannot tahan this. I prefer to keep it clean before I go to bed. However, I go to bed early. My sleepyiness will come in at around 11pm and I just pop onto bed and doze off..... hee...
I tried to clear for them before I go to bed but old habits die hard. The next morning, u will see plates in the sink and leftovers in the rubbish bin.

Hihi good morning ah mais,

Good to see everyone here after being bombarded with so much shit first thing I reach office

I really have to "train" myself to make going to the lift landing every night before bedtime part of my daily routine now. But haha, hubby has been clearing the rubbish on his own now, so I shall let him take over this task next time.... kekeke

Hi Nellie,

Great to know that the progress is getting on well
The next time u go, u will see the house in new clothes i.e. with the new tiles laid

Haha CSI, heng I got a rather simple band coz they are in the scratched condition now.... have to do so much work around the house so this is really unavoidable. I had the same idea as u that's why I did not want to any any rings with diamonds. Oh yes, can share your website URL? Me in the process of building mine... nothing spectacular la, but hopefully is presentable lor... heee

Good morning..

Did u all read the thread on the hainanese ball? So sad for bothy hor...cos' the uncle told him can make n now said cannot make...he muz be really sian!

Nellie - Good that hacking job is fast..at least your neighbours wouldn't find it so 'fan'...u muz be really excited to see the progress...that time during my hse reno..after each job is done...I will rush down to see...see if it turns out well boh..hehee

hi ivied,
yah, true...always good to take it off first. But pple like me ah...hahaha. sure forget to remove first one! hahaha.

well, at least ur FMIL clears the rubbish the next morning...

Wah Nellie,
Your reno is moving fast! That's good to hear!
It must be quite exciting to be waiting to see how the whole thing will turn out...

Ya lor, how can the uncle go back on his words? This is wedding leh.... really dunno how to do business man.

Haha, yah, Stacy, me too. Really couldn't resist going down after work every evening, no matter how tired I was ;-P

CSI / Ivied - I used to take out my ring when I m doing washing, etc...but as times pass by...I get lazy..nowadays, forget to remove and don't care abt the scratch liao... I'm like huiz..got a simple band..scratch also nvr mind
...the exp one, i keep safely, only dinner or fxn then take out and wear..hehee

Huiz - I think the uncle simply boh chap..its like u want, take it..don't want, forget it kind. Think its losing trade, so onli he is still making it..think he can't bother abt customer servie. But too much hor..its wed leh, not like mooncake festival...can go get elsewhere if x place not selling..

True true Stacy. I used to wear my bling bling everyday and take it out when I am doing washing. But this is really dangerous coz I tend to forget about it after I finish my work! Haha, so to play safe I rather keep the bling away.

Ya lor, get simple band scratched liao just get ah lao to buy a new one... heehee

My contractor told me the hacking usually requires 7 days but who knows it can be done within 3 days. My neighbours are really 'heng', only need to suffer for 3 days.

2 months ago, there was renovation going on at my parents' block. They suffered for a week for the hacking noise.

hey ah mais and ah kors,

I know this has been posted before, but I just cannot seem to find it in our loooong list of archives. heehee...

where's the location of the uncle that makes those balls ah? Was thinking of dropping by during lunch to look see look see...(can we speak to him in mandarin? My hainam half past 6 one...)

huiz, we are getting the so called new flats (at least 2yrs old liao) under WIS but the areas available are quite way out for us..

Blueberi - Reno for new flats are cheaper than resale ones cos you do not need to do any hacking of tiles. Unless you're going to do up like a showflat, then it'll definitely exceed $40k. Go for a basic reno first if you;re on tight budget.

nellie, no lah.. dun haf so much $$ to do like showflat unless in strike at least 100k for toto prize... LOL.. maybe master bedroom do nicer, the rest juz simple ba..

anione koe whether doing 1 wall of mosiac (tny square tiles of different colours) for bathroom is expensive anot??? i like the idea os dat leh, reminds mi of the hotels i stayed in b4

Hmm I think it could be good if the contractor can fill up the gaps between the tile with some silicon glue to make cleaning easier? If not I can imagine the gaps being stained with some black marks especially when the moisture in the toilet settles on it?

I agree with Huiz. It will be hard to clean off the black marks. By then u have to scrub real hard to get the stains off.

Blueberi - the mosaic tiles are not cheap. For my case, I had this idea too but gave up cos it's too expensive. FYI, normal wall tiles are more expensive than floor tiles.

If you need the contact of my contractor, just PM me.

Yes yes me die die also remember... heehee
And me the copy cat had got my wedding website done too! Nothing spectacular la, simple simple only... hee

ivied...the final wedding band design is different from the one i showed you.
It's designed by my hubby...a moment of inspiration and spark of ingenuity...the band is a combination of two bands, one with 4mm width, champgne gold and other other adjoining, 2mm width, white gold with diamonds. so the two bands run parallel with one another. My hubby's is combining rose gold with white gold but without the diamonds. It exceeded our budget but my hubby insisted of having it since it is our wedding band. But after hearing what you gals said about the scratches...ya hor...we overlooked this point leh... mm... perfect excuse for me to ask my hubby to do all the housework! haha

CSI, Huiz...can share share your wedding website?

haiz...last min notice to travel to bangkok next wed and thurs so i may have to give the gathering a miss
i was so looking forward to that... haiz...

aiyoh li ann, why ur co treat u SO GOOD, next wed make u go bkk biz trip.. faintz..

how much are ur pair of wedding bands? muz take a pic of it and show us leh..

huiz - i oso wana see ur site!

Oops Nellie, paiseh, I typed in one extra "w" in my message to u.

I have emailed u the right URL (hopefully ;-P).

Yah Li Ann, your rings sounds really unique... rose gold leh... think I haven't seen this before ;-P Do show us the pics okie? What a pity u cant join us

wah huiz! ur life story long leh!! ur england really tokgong!! write until like storyteller.. i dun even know how to use so bombastic england.. i enjoy reading the stories..

1 mistake : pic 6 of 8-the yr of ur rom is salah. shd be 2005 rite?

Hi Huiz,
Great website! I love the way you write your story...it's so enjoyable, reading it...I can't write like you (and my job requires me to write...no wonder I'm struggling...hahaha).

Hi Li Ann,
I think I've emailed you my webbie. Let me know if you got it or not...
Your rings sound beautiful...rose gold and white gold. Very unique...

Alamak, me blur again... thanks Janf for pointing out the boo boo... me had that corrected.

Errr, I thought my writing was too boring. I had always wanted to write in a cheeky way ala Mr Brown style, but I guess I am just not born with the humourous gene like he is so blessed to have.... heehee.

And hey, thanks for the encouragement too

haha!, csi same as me.. my job requires me to write story too but my england 1/2past6 kind.. tink my boss see liao oso shake head.. haha.

Share with u gals something. My hubby is mad. He said I should write in a fairytale style... something that goes like this:

"Long long ago in a land far far away...in the in the kingdom of Sillypore...."

*ROFL*