Hainanese Brides, anyone???

Stacy, we also not too keen for himself to convert coz we have plans for our retirement. Can go there buy holiday home and rot ourselves away. Haha. He said he can open a small clinic in a kampong there and work 3 days a week and the rest of the time play x-box! Men agaiinn...

But I wonder when we have kids, will they be entitled to less priviledges just coz the papa is not Sgrean?

Hi Prisc, yes yes, I am more than glad to help u get TDF

Huiz - I'm not too sure abt the priviledges for kids..I guess it shouldn't affect much ba...cos mum is S'porean mah. Just like buying HDB flats, put S'porean name 1st, gets the entitlement also.

Pris - My facial also pkg..but I bring my mum there, so each mth is like $200 gone..

Stacy: You sponsor your mom for facials? So generous! Both my packages add up to around $1360 for a total of 20 sessions. Now i think back, i could have bought a new LV bag! :p

Huiz: I think if your kids are born in SG, they're SG citizens cos you are. Not too sure too!

Hi ah mais,
Yah...facials are expensive...hehs. but for the sake of beauty...

Huiz:- Hmmm...not sure leh. Maybe can check some govt website like ICA?

Today is a cold weather...and it's Friday!

I have a colleague who's BIL is also a PR and she mentioned that his kids did not enjoy as good priviledges as others when registering for Pri school. Wonder how true it is. Didn't ask her for details though.

Yah facials are exp, but if effective still ok. Really suay to pay so much and end up with red botched up complexion. The reports in the papers are really scary

huiz - when ur pharmacy sells TDF at deep disc, can let me know? 'hear' u all say until so ShenQi, i oso wana try..! keke.

Okie sure, when have the 30% big discount I shall announce. Currently I only have 10% staff discount. They have small bottles, so u can give that a try first. Small bots usually cost not more than 30 bucks. I see if I can get the pharmacist to give me a brochure and I pass it to u during our next meet up?

Huiz/Stacy, me FH's also M'sian but not PR cos we're not staying in S'pore anyway

I dont go for facials regularly.. only occasionally when i feel like relaxing :P. In fact, for me facials are more trouble than beneficial... tends to breakout after that.. urg. And no, i do not believe in the 'purging of toxins/dirt to surface' theory.

Ivied, my MUA din specifically ask me to moisturise for the PS, but she did say to put on my usual mask in the morning of the PS, just before leaving the house. Apparently that helps the make up application.

hi Misty,
oh...on the morning before ah? ok...coz I put on my mask the night before PS, didn't seem to work. hehs. hmmm...then AD how? Usually MUA will arrive at 0730hrs kinda timing. Wah, then we must wake up really early manz...just to put on mask and do other stuff...*zzzzzzz*

CSI: Ya, cannot imagine gotta wake up that early! Maybe you put the mask BEFORE you sleep on the eve of your AD?

Misty: I'm one of those who believe in that theory. :p

Hmm.... good point, I also dunno leh. I guess if put mask the night before, then apply ur usual night cream, then the skin shld be just as smooth in the morning bah...

Hehehe.. Priscilla, I know i'm one of few non-believers...but I just need a more scientific explanation to convince myself :P

err.. in the morning? I don't think I can make it. My wake up call is 330am! Then I must rem to put it the night before. drag.. this must be added to my wedding eve checklist.

Facials are definitely ex. But no choice, we have to look sui sui mah. My ah lao always say i have an expensive face. ha ha ha..

Hi Misty, 'purging of toxins' is effective. The breakouts or pimlpes around the chin areas are due to toxins in the body. I do not know if the applications that u mentioned are external or internal. But doc did inform me that I have to detox my body (internally) once every month. When I managed to clear my bowels frequently, I see improvement in my skin condition.
(coz I have constipation prob once in a while, especially when I'm terribly stressed out)

hey ivied, the 'purging of toxin' i mean are breakouts following facials i.e. external applications. I cannot work out how that will happen knowing the structure of the skin as well as causes of acne. Anyway, for me at least, i believe it's cos of unnecessarily excessive friction of the facial on my mildly sensitive skin. I do believe in what you describe, something like 'dermalogical manifestation of systemic imbalance' hehehehe....
ah mais, sorry I sound so cynical... these are just my own personal beliefs and i do not wish to offend anyone

Good morning ah mais and ah kors,

Ask u har, when is the best time to send out invitation cards? 2 weeks before the dinner or even earlier? As for the RSVP, by when should we expect a reply? I am typing out the inserts for my DIY cards now and need to know what RSVP date to put. My dinner is on 17 Mar 07. Would RSVP by 28 Feb be too early? (which also mean I have to send out all the cards before 28 Feb)

huiz - i sent out my invites 3wks b4 and get them to rsvp 2wks b4 AD. so 28feb is fine for the deadline. coz at least u hv time to 'source' for backup guests during tat 2wks.. not nice to give last min notice ya..

man, misty, your words are too chim. But I guess we are talking in the same frequency.

Not to worry, every individual has their own beliefs. So it is alright that u have expressed your thoughts.

Huiz, here's what I intended to do.
6 weeks before - send invitations via SMS/email; at the same time, request for mailing addresses from those who are able to attend
4 weeks before - send out the official invites
2 weeks before - RSVP deadline
1 week before - confirm the guaranteed number of tables to hotel

Since 28 Feb is 2 weeks away from your AD, I find this date acceptable and reasonable.

Hi ivied and janf,

Thanks for sharing your timeline and personal experiences. They're certainly very helpful.

Looks like I still have lotsa time to slowly make my DIY invites
Mai kin jiang mai kin jiang (don't kancheong).... heehee

Huiz,

Think i'm a kiasu BTB! FH & i decided that we'll send out invites about 6 weeks before AD! 2 months before, we'll start collecting addresses of our guests and also inform friends via email/SMS to reserve the date. :p

I think your timeline is fine...

Hey Priscilla,

I think I'm more KS!! hahahaha....I emailed my friends 6-8 months before AD and collected their addresses. I DIY-ed and sent out my Save The Date notices to my friends and relatives (powerpoint show) 3 months b4 AD. I plan to send out my cards 6 weeks prior too! hahaha...which is beginning next month...haiz. so much things to do...

Hey hey CSI,

Haha, me as KS as u too! I sent out my save the date cards and emails (cards to closer friends and emails to others) last month, which is like 9 months before my AD! Hahahahah....

And yes, thanks to ivied, janf and pris for your affirmation on the timeline
I've also bought the right ribbons for my DIY cards. Here's the new look....

407054.jpg

And welcome welcome to the clan bluberi!
kao_welcome2.gif
We are a really chatty buncha ah mais and ah kors (koxxic and bohty) here. Do join in our yakking okie? May we also know more about u via some info like:

AD
Solemnisation Venue
Recep Venue
BS
PG
VG?

Hehe, CSI, got a bit of work for u to do now ;-P

Good day...I finally know what is Lup...thou' eaten it b4, but dunno its name.. The story of Lup was featured on yesterday's chinese paper

Hi Stacy,

If I don't remember wrongly, its a rectangular glutinous rice "ketupat" with some meat in the rice too?

Huiz- You are absolutely right...the rectangular one.

CSI - the triangle one you are referring to is the one made with glutinuous flour with cocount and peanuts inside? Its sweet tasting. Its called yi pua or something? The Lup is something like dumplings..

Hi Stacy,

Yup, there's something called yi bua. It's a sweet flat round thingy that is wrapped around the circumference and bottom with some leaf. I love the chewy glutinous skin but not the sweet fillings (well, its more like I can't eat it due to my diabetes). So that's why I always make a mess when I eat them coz I'll dig out everything inside.... haha

Ivied - hehee...I also eat but dunno the name sometimes. U tried the one at SCS before?

Gals - do have any contact for yi bua manufacturer? I noe one family in Simei that does it...n we will order fm her during grandma's birthday, celebration, etc. Her yi bua not bad tasting, but getting smaller yr by yr..but we just wanna try other manufacturer...hehee.

Wow, ivied, I like the first site u listed. Very good ah. There's a lot of factory made yi bua in the market now. I see a lot of those small small ones that they sell in a plastic container for something like 5 for a dollar.

Huiz - r u referring to the one selling in NTUC? That one not nice..skin thick thick. I think those homemade ones are nice..big n think skin with lotsa filling.

CSI - Thanks...but in the West..too far for me...m in the east. Unless my guy don't mind sending me there to collect..hehee

I see them in the NTUC and in the market too. Yah, one look I can see that they are not nice liao. But then again, for the kinda $$ they charge us, also can't demand the stars and moon la.... hehe.

But hor, I am those crazy ppl who likes the skin thick, but have to be very soft and chewy la. U know that little green bean deep fried dumpling with lotsa sesame seed on sale at old chang kee? I wonder if that's Hainanese too, but I love that too. The thicker the skin and the chewy-ier the better.... hahaha

I've not tried the one at old chang kee...but that day was at maxwell mkt..they've got the sweet potato one...very sweet n chewy. Hmm...what makes u think tt's hainanese dish?

Dunno leh, I think I used to hear my granny calling it "chinn deh" or something like this. She loved those with peanuts and being a true blue mainland Hainanese who only likes her own kind of food, I always associate the chinn deh with Hainanese "cuisine".... haha

Hello Ah Mais!! *wave-wave-wave* Got miss me or not??

I'm back...finally from my biz trip! Gosh...nonstop traveling from one city to another...Dying to check the forum but limited email access overseas la...so have to wait until i'm back. Really amazed at the running speed of our postings..haha...we really have loads to chat man..i just spent the last one hour trying to catch up...but without success...i'm still at one of the sep 12 archives...but still managed to catch the part where you complimented on my skin.. kekeke... *blush*

think ah mais guo jiang le...my skin ok la...actually think i owe it to good genes from my mum...she still has very supple and youthful skin despite in her 60s... i hope i will be like her too when i grow old.

i used to work in shanghai for 2.5 yrs and one of my fav past time is to visit the textile market CSI fan mentioned...really can spend the entire day there choosing fabric and copying designs from mag or existing branded clothes...they really can copy from the original... i also made CS from there before but you have to be lucky to find one with good worksmanship cos CS is quite delicate. I even have a regular tailor there at stall no 145 (this is based on the old textile market, not sure if he is still doing tailor at the same stall). He is quite used to the style Singaporean likes (hipster and tight fitting jacket and pants) so quite trusted.
sorry ah.... talk about shanghai and i tend to blah blah blah non-stop cos i did have loads of fun making clothes in shanghai before

btw, ivy, pris and mosburger, i've added you to my msn le..."see"ya online ya?

Heard from huiz that there is another gathering coming up?? Good good! I like steamboat...yum yum

Okayz...need to go back home eat dinner le...will try to catch up tonight...

aiyoh poor li ann, 730pm and still at work ah.. quick go home JiakBui yo..

ur skin really meimei.. muz say u BaoYangYouFang.. keke. wat u eat to maintain so nice skin ah?!

Ivy: Thanks for the links... i shall go explore cos my knowledge of Hainanese cuisine is really limited.

Li Ann: I added you back to my MSN liao!
Glad you're back from your trip.

Are we confirm having a gathering during 1st week of October?

Huiz, my details are per below mentioned..

AD : 22 Dec 2007
Solemnisation Venue : ROM center
Recep Venue : Club Chinois @ Orchard Parade Hotel
BS : Bridal De Couture
PG : Kelvin - LightedPixels
VG : TBC

toking abt hainanese cuisine, i sure missed my late grandma's cooking. everytime there is a big festival, she'll cook up a feast and wait for the whole family to com back. sigh, those were the days...

Hi Bluberi,

Wow your AD is still some time away. But its good to start early preps too. Can be less stressful.

Is your ROM over? Your reception venue is certainly very cool

<font face="vrinda"><table border=1><tr><td><font color="0000ff">Bride</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">AD</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Solemnisation Venue</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Recep venue</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BS</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">PG</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">VG</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Janf</TD><TD>4-Jan-06</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>InJack Studio</TD><TD>InJack Studio </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bohty</TD><TD>7-Oct-06</TD><TD></TD><TD>Furama City Centre</TD><TD>David Lim Lee</TD><TD>Let There Be Light</TD><TD>Not getting </TD></TR><TR><TD>Crystalz</TD><TD>21-Oct-06</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>JB Venus</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stepford</TD><TD>28-Oct-06</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Fort Canning, Gallery</TD><TD>Kai Bridal</TD><TD>Ron Lee</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>CSI_Fan</TD><TD>18-Nov-06</TD><TD>Church of St Teresa</TD><TD>Marriott</TD><TD>Amanda Lee</TD><TD>Lyrical Moments</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Koxxic</TD><TD>9-Dec-06</TD><TD>Crown Hotel (Over)</TD><TD>Crown Hotel</TD><TD>David Lim Lee</TD><TD>Let There Be Light</TD><TD>Brother </TD></TR><TR><TD>Li Ann</TD><TD>12-Dec-06</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Silverlining</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>LambZzz</TD><TD>23-Dec-06</TD><TD>Grand Hyatt</TD><TD>Grand Hyatt</TD><TD>Tan Yoong &amp; Divine</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Misty</TD><TD>30-Dec-06</TD><TD>Raffles Hotel Lawn</TD><TD>Raffles Hotel Ballroom</TD><TD>Divine</TD><TD>Lightedpixels</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>iViED</TD><TD>26-Jan-07</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>La Belle</TD><TD>Friend</TD><TD>Friend </TD></TR><TR><TD>Huiz</TD><TD>17-Mar-07</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Silverlining</TD><TD>The Edge</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stacy</TD><TD>24-Mar-07</TD><TD>M Hotel</TD><TD>M Hotel</TD><TD>Flamingo</TD><TD>Yew Kwang</TD><TD>Not getting </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nellie</TD><TD>28-Mar-07</TD><TD>The Arts House</TD><TD>The Arts House</TD><TD>J&amp;C Bridal</TD><TD>Desmond Ho</TD><TD>Mark Yang </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bendi</TD><TD>26-May-07</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Oriental Hotel</TD><TD>Dang</TD><TD>Jon Keng*</TD><TD>Not getting </TD></TR><TR><TD>Violetcrystal</TD><TD>7-Jul-07</TD><TD>ROM Office</TD><TD>Sheraton Towers</TD><TD>Amanda Lee</TD><TD>Sam Wong</TD><TD>Kevin Yap </TD></TR><TR><TD>Priscilla</TD><TD>29-Jul-07</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Holiday Inn Park View</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Diana</TD><TD>4-Oct-07</TD><TD>Merchant Court (Over)</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Raymond D'Nuptials</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bluberi</TD><TD>22-Dec-07</TD><TD>ROM Office</TD><TD>Club Chinois</TD><TD>Bridal De Couture</TD><TD>Lightedpixels</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mosburger</TD><TD>2008</TD><TD>ROM Office - 22 Nov 06</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Z Wedding</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Friend </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table></font>latest update on Bluberi

bLuBeRi, you will never believe this, we born on the same day, same year!!!!!

CSI, i confirmed taking jonkeng as our wedding photographer la. pre-wedding is gordon jovic photography.

Huiz, my ROM was 3rd May last yr... had wanted to haf the AD earlier but had to delayed it due to budget-constraint and also the demise of my father. my reception venue is ok lah...

CSI, thanks for adding my details to the table