Hainanese Brides, anyone???

CSI, fm wat i see,... restuarants will haf abalone if the prices is $500++/table le... when i enquire wif Amara, i was told dat package above $900 den will have abalone...

Hi bluberi,
Ooohhh....ok, so it's restaurants vs hotels. I think hotels is like above $800-$900 then will have. Restaurants, less than that lorh...

Nvm, dun be disappointed. As long as your other dishes are yummy, pple will remember the yummy food.

Huiz - thanks for the clarification. Went Chinatown...so many beautiful colour crystals, blur liao...gotta think waht I wanna make. Later let u know the price.

Bendi - I worked in Operations and we are in the same cluster
..Looking fwd to your yummy cupcakes. So u coming on 4 Oct?

CSI & Bluberi - Is it...pple look out for the fish, abalone?? I dunno wat fish I m eating during banquets..just eat only. Normally, when i go for wedding dinner, I'll look at the last item in the menu...yam paste? If yes, I'll stay till end of the event...wahaha! But mine dinner not yam paste, gonna make sure they change it for me to yam paste!

I know nuts about what the names of the fish. Can only recognise them by sight, not by name. Anyway, my fave is silver promfret (haha, same "taste" as my MIL) but I hardly see it in Sg.

Hmm, yam paste ah, me not so keen on it. I think my last dish is some sea coconut stuff.

Hi Stacy,

Yah...that's what pple (colleagues, friends, bosses, assoiates) tell me also lorh (and also what I observe lah), that pple (esp older generation) look out for the fish, abalone. I also never really bothered with what I eat during banquets. Just eat, as long as not horrible taste, I would usually forget. hahaha.

Yam paste is nice...but can be quite heavy also. But I still like lah. My banquet dessert is either cakes or mango pudding. That one I can't decide...hahaha.

oh, I never know about elders looking for fish or abalone during banquets. My banquet has neither. The coordinator only tell me that normally people like to have chicken and duck dishes. Like CSI, I too do not bother about the dishes; as long as it is not too awful. hee...

Stacy - same same
I always look out for the desserts when I was browsing at the menu during banquets. I like yam paste too. yum yum.. my mum said no wonder I pick a Teochew hubby. ha ha ha

My banquet offers only red bean paste or cream of sago. So I guess I'm picking cream of sago.

CSI - I'm meeting Ching later. I shall update u tomorrow ok...

Bendi - so happy that u can join us. *slup* pinning for your cup cakes now.....

I know yam paste is heavy, esp its the last dish n you'll be full by then. But I normally 'reserve' a space for the yam paste! Try not to eat too much dishes earlier

CSI - same..I can't be bothered too much about the dishes..as long as its doesn't taste too horrible, i will eat n forget abt it liao..
. Hmm..think some elders also look out for sharksfin..

Ivied - is that y I chose a Teochew hubby too..hahaa...My MIL loves yam paste..everytime we go out for dinner at restaurants, she'll sure order that.

Me love yam paste too! Yum Yum...no matter how full i am, i will still squeeze in the yummy dessert. The same goes for ee fu mee...esp with the crunchy green chillis... *slurp*

Wah...ah mais...so early in the morning already talking about food...making me hungry le...today lunch gonna go to this super tasty yummy $2 lor mee at clementi st 1 kopi tiam... with lots of vinegar!
~~~

ok...Ivy told me there is a gathering on 4 Oct...so i quickly come in here to give my attendance too...count me in!

back to zor gang le...ciao!

Yesss, me also feeling hungry now despite having taken a bun ;-P

Ok, so here's the attendance list at the moment:

1) Nellie
2) Huiz
3) Stacy
4) Ivied
5) Janf
6) CSI
7) Pris
8) Li Ann
9) Bendi??

Bendi, is it confirmed that u will be joining us?

hee....i couldn't resist and took a quick glance at the chats posted yesterday....

janf- hehe...besides good genes from mum, i think sleep and water really does help. erm...ok ok...i use SKII as well...from the cleanser to toner to "miracle water" to night cream to uv cream
yesh! I also have an "expensive" face! :p recently my friend recommended me a nutri drink (which has lots of vit c and antioxidants) to start two months away from AD. Everyday drink one pack, then the last month, every alternate day. i tried for a week and got people say i look more radiant and less puffy (yesh...i retain water easily...if i drink water the night before, the next day eyes sure puffy) but the nutri drink very ex...5 packs for $75. So very ex... but if i spend this and not on facial maybe also the same. Another thing i find really good is the facial pack from SKII (the moisturizing one, not whitening), the skin really feels soft, tender and supple after use.

ivy, stacy, huiz - you gals really know alot about hainanese traditional food hor, i only know hainanese chicken rice and the mixed veg

Ivy - about the cupcakes? Yesh...it was my original plan to substitute my dummy wedding cake with a 6-tier cup cake wedding cake. But hor, i think now this is low priority cos budget la. Plus my hotel food portion quite big so dun think my guests have any more space for the cupcakes, end up wasting it. And hotel charges extra plating fee. $3 per pax.

But if i am having a buffet style reception i will definitely consider that as my wedding cake and then leave it at the buffet table as one of the food.

Another idea is to use cupcakes as wedding favor. I read somewhere got bride bake her own cupcakes and use it as wedding favors, i think quite sweet.

I'll be having a little "garden" reception right after my rom serving little snacks...still sourcing....deciding between minicupcakes, or chocolates and strawberries and sparkling juice. I'll be inviting about 30 family and close friends to witness the rom so it is an intimate affair. the same place will serve as the cocktail reception for other guests.

If you see the latest issue of Her World Bride, The Patissuer makes dessert buffet now but min order 100 pax and $28 per pax. This option is out but the sweet stuff looks so yummy!

Blueberi - hello and welcome!

csifan - my AD photographer is Huang Chi Kwang from 39East Media and VG still TBA (if got budget then will get la, if not friends DIY)

okies....really back to zor gang this time! Seeya...

Wah, I wonder how the bride manage to make all the cupcakes (and pack them sui sui-ly too) when the wedding preps are already so stressful. Can't bake them too early coz will not be fresh, then bake them right before the AD must be super busy. Few hundred leh. No joke. She must be some superwoman.... heehee. If the cakes are plain without frosting still easy to pack and keep. If not will be rather messy.

Erm, just a word of caution. I was listening to the radio last week and there was a report of the Chinese authorities in Mainland and HK rejecting a batch of SKII just imported from Japan. Heard there's a high content of some dunno what.

Wa, the nutri drink is reelly exp ah....

Oh ya, Li Ann, what's plating fee? I have heard of PPR's large portions and I am quite glad about that

Hi ah mais, mi juz got hm from project meeting, so tired...

juz checking, which is more expensive..
ee-fu noodles or mee sua?
red bean paste with glutinous dumplings or almond cream with glutinous dumplings?

Stacy - hmm.. perhaps its the other way round? Teochew guys like we hainanese girls.
haha

CSI - meeting with Ching was pleasant. She is still as friendly over the phone as in person. We had quite a long chat and I left feeling good too. But there is one thing that I do not quite like about. She has incoming calls quite often and she can carry on her conversation despite me being there. I find that a bit rude. Well, this is just my personal opinion. Not to worry, I'm a judgemental person. Perhaps this is what u called 'mei yuan fen' with her.

I have not make my decision to use her or not. She offers me with some ideas but I would like to keep my options open. Anyway, I still have some time to play so I shall source again. hee...
So have you found your florist?

Li Ann - I'm a SKII supporter too! But as I have just signed up with Apex (changed my mind at the last min) so I have to stop using their products for the time being.

err... this nutri drink that u are mentioning, is it Fancl? Heard they have something like that, but I'm not too sure about it.

From your description, I can visualise a romantic garden reception. hmmm...
and ya hor, what is plating fee?

BTW, so happy that u can join us. Now we have 8 in total. Bendi?

Huiz - ya, this bride is sure one super woman. But perhaps the cup cakes are meant for close intimate friends only? I rem there are some couples who held 2 wedding dinners - one for family/relatives/colleagues and the other for close friends only.

I could not do 2 dinners, too exhausted already. However, my ah lao and I will be treating our helpers to a nice intimate buffet lunch after our wedding; just to show our appreciation.

hi bluberi,
wow. u worked till so late? tough job.
hmm.. I do not know leh. I think ee fu noodles and almond cream with glutinous dumplings are more ex.

Hi bluberi,

Ya, I agree with ivied that ee fu and almond glutionous sounds better. Almond sounds a bit more exotic though some people might not like the smell. Like my bo lao and sis, they think that it reminds them of antiseptic ;-P

Hi ivied,

Yes, it's really a very good idea to express gratitude and sincerity by treating your helpers to a lunch after the wedding
I am planning to make something for them, maybe a crochet piece as a token of appreciation

Hi ivied,

Good to hear that your meeting with Ching went pretty well...
Florist for church venue deco...I'm still contacting a few. Ching was initially assigned by my BS for my PS & AD hand bouquet and groom corsages. But I've since asked my BS to assign me to another florist...Yah, you still have some time to think about it, so keep it open lah.

Hi bluberi,
Yap, agree with the rest on the food...but almond is less popular. Why dun you choose the almond one for food tasting, and then you see how. If the smell is strong etc, then you change to red bean? (at least you get to try 2 types...eventually. heehee...)

<font face="vrinda"><table border=1><tr><td><font color="0000ff">Bride</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">AD</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Solemnisation Venue</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Recep venue</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BS</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">AD PG</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">AD VG</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Janf</TD><TD>4-Jan-06</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>InJack Studio</TD><TD>InJack Studio </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bohty</TD><TD>7-Oct-06</TD><TD></TD><TD>Furama City Centre</TD><TD>David Lim Lee</TD><TD>Let There Be Light</TD><TD>Not getting </TD></TR><TR><TD>Crystalz</TD><TD>21-Oct-06</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>JB Venus</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stepford</TD><TD>28-Oct-06</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Fort Canning, Gallery</TD><TD>Kai Bridal</TD><TD>Ron Lee</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>CSI_Fan</TD><TD>18-Nov-06</TD><TD>Church of St Teresa</TD><TD>Marriott</TD><TD>Amanda Lee</TD><TD>Lyrical Moments</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Koxxic</TD><TD>9-Dec-06</TD><TD>Crown Hotel (Over)</TD><TD>Crown Hotel</TD><TD>David Lim Lee</TD><TD>Let There Be Light</TD><TD>Brother </TD></TR><TR><TD>Li Ann</TD><TD>12-Dec-06</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Silverlining</TD><TD>39 East</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>LambZzz</TD><TD>23-Dec-06</TD><TD>Grand Hyatt</TD><TD>Grand Hyatt</TD><TD>Tan Yoong &amp; Divine</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Misty</TD><TD>30-Dec-06</TD><TD>Raffles Hotel Lawn</TD><TD>Raffles Hotel Ballroom</TD><TD>Divine</TD><TD>Lightedpixels</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>iViED</TD><TD>26-Jan-07</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>La Belle</TD><TD>Friend</TD><TD>Friend </TD></TR><TR><TD>Huiz</TD><TD>17-Mar-07</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Silverlining</TD><TD>The Edge</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stacy</TD><TD>24-Mar-07</TD><TD>M Hotel</TD><TD>M Hotel</TD><TD>Flamingo</TD><TD>Yew Kwang</TD><TD>Not getting </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nellie</TD><TD>28-Mar-07</TD><TD>The Arts House</TD><TD>The Arts House</TD><TD>J&amp;C Bridal</TD><TD>Desmond Ho</TD><TD>Mark Yang </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bendi</TD><TD>26-May-07</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Oriental Hotel</TD><TD>Dang</TD><TD>Jon Keng</TD><TD>Not getting </TD></TR><TR><TD>Violetcrystal</TD><TD>7-Jul-07</TD><TD>ROM Office</TD><TD>Sheraton Towers</TD><TD>Amanda Lee</TD><TD>Sam Wong</TD><TD>Kevin Yap </TD></TR><TR><TD>Priscilla</TD><TD>29-Jul-07</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Holiday Inn Park View</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Diana</TD><TD>4-Oct-07</TD><TD>Merchant Court (Over)</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Raymond D'Nuptials</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bluberi</TD><TD>22-Dec-07</TD><TD>ROM Office (Over)</TD><TD>Club Chinois</TD><TD>Bridal De Couture</TD><TD>Lightedpixels</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mosburger</TD><TD>2008</TD><TD>ROM Office - 22 Nov 06</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Z Wedding</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Friend </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table></font>updated: Li Ann

Good aftn ah mais, lunch hour ending soon... actually my menu (which is the 2nd expensive) coms wif mee sua and red bean paste wif glutinous dumplings. but dunno y club chinois gif the cheapest menu ee-fu noodles and hot almond cream with glutinious dumplings. i already told the banquet manager that i'll want to change the mee sua to ee-fu noodles coz the mee sua sound cheapskate to mi.

Haizzz, I had a really bad day so far. Can't wait for the day to be over.

bluberi, did the manager agree to the change?

Blueberi - I had attended wedding banquet at CC before...their servings pretty huge...I remembered I was too full for the noodle dish. HB said the ee-fu noodles is nice. Of ocs' I had the yam paste for desert...their yam paste is wonderful!

ah-mais: if u all are in the north, shd go try the ZiCha restaurant at yio chu kang stadium.. the orh-nee really best!! slurp..

Sigh ya lor, janf, who else but the patients?? All come in with supppaa reeee-dee-cue-lous complains. Listen liao really feel like slapping them in the face. Really v v frustrating. One day I will grow rich if I write a book of all the siao things that happen here... grrr...

Oh I hadn't been to YCK stadium for makan since my attachment days. Not sure if the zi char is still the same one, but their food was really not bad then

my co having a 1 day 20% sale tomoro on Raffles the Plaza Szechuan Court mooncakes.

Mini Snow Skin Crunchy Chocolate Pearl (8 pcs) SGD 28.65

Mini Snow Skin Rum &amp; Raisin Chocolate Truffle (8 pcs) SGD 28.65

Mini Snow Skin Champagne Truffle &amp; Ganache (8 pcs) SGD 30.20

Mini Snow Skin Baileys (8 pcs) SGD 30.20

Baked with Double Yolk &amp; Red Lotus Paste (4 pcs) SGD 35.80

Baked with Hazelnut &amp; White Lotus Paste (4 pcs) SGD 27.85

Baked with Ginseng, Wolfberries, Melon seeds &amp; White Lotus Paste (4 pcs) SGD 31.80

Baked Peach Shaped with Single Yolk (4pcs) SGD 34.20

Mini Baked with Yolk (8 pcs) SGD 28.65

Mini Snow Skin Selection (8 pcs) SGD 29.45

Baked Selection (4 pcs) SGD 35.80

Stacy, i didn't koe CC offers yam paste for dessert.. wat i saw fm for the desserts on their three menus are as follow:
taipan menu: hot almond cream with sesame glutinous dumplings (tis is the least expensive menu)
regal menu : red bean cream with glutinous dumplings (2nd expensive and also the menu i'm getting)
royal menu : chilled cream of pumpkin with pomelo

maybe i'll ask if i can change to yam paste coz i also like it..but hubby sure will grumble if muz pay extra... lol

nobody here tonite??

mi juz got a nagging fm hubby... coz he told mil we spent $3899 on our bed n got a trashing fm her... well, the bed is an investment as we'll be using is for many yrs, so i do nt tink the price is too expensive. mil even said she can introduce her fren who sell beds and get a discount. who koes her fren may mark-up the cost before giving the discount. moreover, we r paying it fm our joint account n nt asking her for $$.. so angry now!!

janf - aiya, I had bought the mooncakes already... I like the Champagne truffle by Raffles the Plaza, quite nice.

bluberi - I agree with you. I would pay for this kind of investment but not my ah lao. He got angry when I wanted to buy a $2.5k bed.

I find that bed is a personalised thing. U must lay and toss around to see if you are comfortable with the bed; not by giving the model and get from someone who said to have/can give discounts. Don't get angry. Anyway u have bought the bed already, your MIL will simmer down after a few months. Perhaps she is just helping her friend to get more business.

CSI and all,
I finally found my florist! She is quoting me $250 for all if I'm getting roses. Seasonal flowers may cost up to $300 per package.
This is economical. At least I'm able to accept her form of floral arrangement. My ah lao's best friend gave me a contact who's said to be cheap. When I went to take a look, my first impression was: No way!

Anyway, this florist that I'm taking is opp the old Ted Collection, along Upper Cross Street.

Huiz - I saw the news that you mentioned about SKII products. Spore is investigating and looking into this now.

Hullo ah mais,

I just got back from Esplanade's glutton square. Not nice leh. Food so so only and certainly overpriced.

Hey ivied,

What scale of floral deco are u looking at? Which area of the banquet hall are u decorating? The deal u had gotten sounds great!

Bluberi, are u gonna stay with your ILs or on your own? Just let her yak la. After sometime she'll grow tired and forget about it liao.... heehee

Hi bluberi,
well, MILs are like that. They tend to be protective over their sons. Maybe a bit "scared" that we the wifeys are "anyhow spend my son's hard earned $$ (even if it's from joint a/c, his portion also hard earned)...u want to spend ur own hard earned $$, up to u, but dun anyhow spend my son's one" kinda thing lah...

our church lunch buffect reception costs $10 per head, and we're catering for 150 pax, she KB so much...saying we shd get the one FIL knows, the one that BIL used for his wedding. Only $400-$500 and food not bad...Sure...$500, but that's for wat? 70 pax? And no floral deco...presentation was kinda cheapo. Well, that's them lah. But after a while, they will get used to things and they'll forget about it lah.

Hi ivied,

Wow, that's a very good deal you got! Yeah, what scale of deco are you looking at?

iViED, i guess she will simmer down after while n start fuming again when the bed is delivered in oct/nov'07. my mum said if mil is fuming over the amt we paid for the bed, den most prob will go real mad if she koes we paid even more for our BS package. lol...

Huiz, mi gonna stay wif mil coz the hse us under hubby n her name. sigh.. dunno when i can get my own roof over my head. hubby said i can't even manage my own room, nt to stay our own home.

CSI, wat u said is true... when my hubby told mil i wanted to make a platform in the room as a bedframe n storage (dat was my inital plan b4 i found my ideal bed), she said no need to waste $$, juz buy a normal bed. so i listened n bought a normal bed, den now she said too expensive.. how to make her happy? tis expensive, dat also expensive. i tink if i buy cheap mattress n juz sleep on the floor she'll keep quiet

Haii, old folks shall be old folks. I wonder if we will become like this naggy one day or not ;-P Heaven forbid!

Living with ILs could be good and bad also la. I guess it is impt for us to know their "seh" well so that we can avoid saying/doing somethings to their knowledge and thus reducing some tension
Mebbe they also worry that when the son spend so much $$ then will give them less ah....

finally get a breather after 2 weeks of hectic madness at work. guess i'm missing out quite some stuff.

huiz and ivied, nice meeting u online, and thx for updates. i'll catch up on the fast pace in this forum. :D

i hvnt thot abt staying w ILs, but my FH is only son. so likelihood is there. but so far so good, coz his mom is really nice. sometimes even nicer than my mom, who could be so naggy. haa... wierd.

Hihi mosburger,

Welcome back
U are one lucky gal to have a great MIL

I wouldn't be staying with my ILs at all coz they are thousands of miles away.... heh heh. I just leave them a set of keys and they can come anytime. The house is theirs to enjoy while they are here. And since I will be away at work during the day, they can do what they want la ;)

Opps. Looks like I have caused some misunderstandings here. Mine is a small scale floral for the AD only. The package includes:
1) hand bouquet
2) groom's boutonniere (x2)
3) parents' boutonnieres (x4)
4) helpers' car (x1)
5) bridal car deco

I did not do venue deco as my hotel is providing it and is sufficient. However that lady does venue deco too. She is doing everything on her own. I'm not sure of the price though.

bluberi,
I agree with CSI. MIL tend to be protective towards the son especially when it comes to the expediture. So u have to differentiate which are the things that can be informed and which are not. Like what Huiz said, try to understand their way of life first and u can determine their style and acceptance levels.

I will be living with my ILs too. It is not going to be easy as my MIL is quite naggy and sometimes even my ah lao can't stand her. ha ha. I have been spending quite a lot of time at my IL's place to get to know them. It takes time to build relationship so I shall just go one step at a time.

Take it easy, things will turn out fine as time goes by.

Me just spoken to Mosburger, she said it should be alright for her to meet us.... great! So the list currently stands as:

Ok, so here's the attendance list at the moment:

1) Nellie
2) Huiz
3) Stacy
4) Ivied
5) Janf
6) CSI
7) Pris
8) Li Ann
9) Mosburger
10) Bendi??

Hi Huiz,
I only take the gowns from the BS, not the full package. So I have to source for the rest of the stuff myself. In short, my wedding is DIY.