Hainanese Brides, anyone???

Nellie - thanks for the tip...But I'm a very lazy person...always forget to do my mask..always got the evil in my head *do it tomorrow lah*, but when tomorrow comes, I'll wait for the next day..lazy me!

Janf - ya lar..his face muz be nice nice...so that patients will have confidident with him. Oh botox huh...tt's ex worh

Stacy - I'm lazy too... but got to force myself to do this month cos PS next month. I want to look pretty pretty. After that, I'll slack again.

I am not surprised if he or any dermatologists do that to themselves.... got access to so much botox everyday jab buttocks also can ;-P haha

ya nellie, I rem u mentioned that. But I find that your face condition is quite good. Can't really notice abt the blackheads from far though.

janf, I too do not wish to take the antibiotics. I can see the problems when I stopped the dosage. Hence I stopped going to doc/skin doc completely. that georgina is pretty???? hmm...

huiz, this P clinic doc has really good skin. My mum joked that his is so smooth that the ants will slip when they lay on his face.

My face has been having breakouts since young so I have ugly scars now. I'm thinking of going to bioskin to treat those scars once and for all.

ivied - i was bioskin loyal customer for many yrs since sch days! but pkg ended and i din sign on anymore coz damn exp.. currently, per session easily 100+.. cannot tahan.. now DIY put mask every wkend..

ya lor. it is so EX! but the effect is good right? my sis-in-law's face improved alot after the treatment and that gives me confidence.
i see that your skin is good too.

Ivied - where got good condition? My make-up artist said my skin is dry especially my eye area. Need to 'moist' them.

okie, ah mais... time for me ot knock off. Talk to you all tmr.

ivied - my skin where got good?! like oil spill too! can use it to fry steak liao!

if u sign up bioskin, betta to use their pdts concurrently.. their pdts are good but very exp too.. every yr increasing prics until i buay tahan.. my pay no increase but facials/pdts increasing faster than inflation!

im using KOSE mask, ORIGINS mask and BORGHESE mud mask..

nellie and janf, at least u do not have bad scars or pimple marks. Everyone has either oily, dry or combination skin. The basic is to have a clear complexion. It is VERY important.

My skin is terribly oily too. I can feel the oiliness 2 hours after cleansing. Can even see the 'shine' under bright light. bad bad...

BTW, do I really have to use their products? I specifically told them that I would like to use back my own products for daily cleansing and they said ok.

ha ha.. I like your way of expressing. these products always increase price year after year but not our salary.

My skin is basically quite ok other than the oily-ness. Breakouts only once in a while so I feel very frustrated that this oily problem is one cannot be overcomed hurdle to my ideal condition.

I do agree that the products are getting soooo exp. I always long for something like a xian dan that once used, everything will stop coming, like a treatment of the root cause. But then again, where got such things right? Need to keep on using to prevent recurrence. And if not, how the skin care industry make $$ right??

hey gals, dun u tink Li Ann's complexion is the BEST?!! i literally admiring her face when she sat oppo me tat day.. so babysoft and clear and oilfree.. envy envy..

ivied - no need to buy their pdts but use their pdts will enhance the healing process.. tats wat they oways proclaim..

hi stacy,

Changi around commando camp there.

Hi All Ah mai's,

Remember B4 Ps or wedding please do facial if not the makeup will not tahan.

not just before...but after also...coz of all that thick makeup, better to go for facial again after the PS or AD. Clear the pores mah...

Also, facial should be like 1 week to 5 days before (something like that) so that the face is not too red. At the end of the day, the age old advice is the best...Drink lots of water...

Moving fast again!!! Haha...must take my time to read through.

Huiz, for oily skin...it's often because the outermost layer of our skin is DRY, so our oil glands over-compensate by producing more oil. You actually need to MOISTURIZE but make sure you use a oil-free one.

CSI: I also use different masks -- for hydration and also for purifying. I use St Ives clay mask...ZA & The Face Shop sheet masks too.

I'm actually suffering from acne so i'm on Nimegen (it's a drug) to control it and to dry up my skin. My skin is improving but now got another headache. SCARS!
My doc said must go for chemical peelings to remove the scarrings. He's aware of my PS next year so he's also kan cheong for me... haha.

Just to share my skincare routine, i'm using facial wash & sunblock from Therapeutic Dermatologic Formula (TDF). Toner from SkinFood (Guardian) & Phytomer. Day moisturizer from Phytomer & night moisturizer is Jorubi aloe vera gel. That's all. Oh i go for facials once every fortnight.

Been using this regime since May when i got diagnosed with severe acne. So depressed at that time cos my complexion used to be flawless.

hi ah mais... aiyo...yak yak yak until 2 archives in 1 day!!! *faint*

sorry ah.. me on night shifts so havent got the chance to log in...

skin products = I use dermalogica cleansers + microfoliant, kose sekkisei and moisturiser, kose black mask and nuskin clay mask... been keeping to this regime for a while now, with minor variations in btw.... and I'm satisfied with it ;)

I also hv combi skin...doesnt bother me when I'm in temperate climates, only in s'pore it becomes v oily. I use a product called dermadoctor tease zone (from US) which mattifies the skin whenever i'm in s'pore... prevents the skin from becoming oily so quickly. I think chanel hv simiar product but not as good. Problem is hor, difficult to apply make up after that cos it smudges.

Another idea - if you ladies are up for it... can try microdermabrasion... I believe it really does improve the skin clarity. I only had it done on my back not my face cos I hv acne scars on my back, but can see an improvement. worth trying leh.

CSI, when r u getting the photos from PS??

I'll try to log in as much as i can... dont miss me too much arrr

Hi Prisc,

My mum swears by TDF too! She claims that it can reduce the redness and oily-ness of her face. Hmm, maybe I should start using it too. Furthermore, I can get staff discount of 10% at my pharmacy. So Pris, if u need I can help u get it too

Hi Misty,
ooh...microdemabrasion...I also have scars on my back...

Hmmm, I'll be getting the photos last week of Sep. Strangely, I don't have the "can't wait to see my photos" kinda feel. hahaha. Must be too much work. hahaha.

By the way ah mais,

Just wondering, would you gals go for the more trendy/fashion-y gold jewellery or the more traditional ones? Coz I went by Poh Heng, and saw quite a few very fashion-y sets (eg. flower patterns to form the necklace chain / bracelet kind, instead of the traditional chain). So I'm wondering do people buy those kinds...for SDJ.

csi - my SDJ is the gold kind.. but i wld say is the slightly trendy kind rather than the bicycle-chain type.. haha. tonite i go home take a pic of it and show yall here next wk..

actually its up to ur preference and whether ur MIL insist on getting solid gold for u anot.. coz i know some of my gfrens, their SDJ is white gold.. they simply bochap lor..

my ma say gold betta.. next time wartime can sell..! really!

all ah mais,
u all are sure 'beauty experts'. Me barely understand about those beauty products, just stick to my daily routine of cleaning, toning and moisturizing.

Pris, I have terribly scars too so I'm thinking of doing the chemical peeling. I have to do it fast coz wedding in Jan.
hee.. Huiz can get staff discounts for you so the cost burden is reduced now.

hi hi misty, we are all chatty ah mais and ah kors.

CSI and misty, did the MUA request u to put on moisturizer prior to applying the makeup for u? My MUA keep reminding me to moisturise and moisturise.

Bothy - thanks!

Pris - wow, u go for facial once every fortnight. I do it monthly already can't stand the cost I'm paying for :P...

Huiz - you should have gotten it last month (Nurses day)..got good discounts manz! Btw, I saw Andrew n his wife yesterday..wow, didn't know she's a MUA also..her skills good worh, saw a bride on trial make-up, it was natural and the hair-do is nice. I told my BS I also wanna do the same hair-do also..hehee.., but got to keep my hair longer.

CSI - I would go for the fashion-y gold jewellery...cos' I really doubt I will wear the traditional ones..MIL said she'll bring me there one day to buy SDJ..I just choose anything I fancy..hopefully she keeps her words :P..hehee

My FMIL gave me the freedom to choose my SDJ. So I literally went to a jewellery shop and pick up the pieces that I like and form them as SDJ. However as the pieces that I like are quite ex, I only took one necklace and one pair of earrings. hee..

Janf, the old folks all say the same thing.... my folks also say gold betta. White gold doesnt bring in much value. I quite dread yellow gols, but thankfully the designs now are rather nice to make up for it ;-P

My MIL gave me this piece jade and thick gold chain during my ROM. Say I cam wear it on normal days. But wah, how to? So eye catching. Beware my neck. So I plan to wear it with my CS la.

Aiya I didn't know that there's ah mais here using TDF earlier. Coz there was a 30% off last month. If not can help Prisc to buy some to keep. Good deal ah.

haha huiz! all old folks tink the same.. the bicycle chain so thick how to wear out?!

i only wore my SDJ when i chg into kua to go back ma's pl for tea ceremony.. its a tradition to show ur folks how generous ur ILs are if the chains are thick thick.. faintz.

Ya, I totally agree with this.
During my friend's wedding in June, poor her had to wear all the SDJ given by her MIL. Then when she return back home, her mum made her wear another set of jewellery to show off.

She praactically look like a christmas tree when she left the house. All the shining yellow gold hanging from the head to the hand.

Hi ivied,
erm, my MUA didn't moisturise for me, but she did tell me that for my AD, I have to put lots of moisturiser, coz my skin ah...haiz, inside oily. but surface very dry. Powder becomes flaky and doesn't sit well...cham...

Hi ah mais,
Hmm...okie...nowadays also got chains with white gold plating on them (all 916, but some parts plated white). Also look quite classy, though more towards traditional side also. Actually, fashion-y ones can be really very fashion-y. That, there's no occasion to wear also! hahaha.

Then, the fashion-y ones I saw in Poh Heng (PH) is not as yellow as the other goldsmiths. It has a slightly red undertone kinda thing. The person said it's coz 91.6% is yellow gold, the remaining 8.4% is other material different from the traditional pieces (eg. a bit more copper). But will pple say things like "why not yellow? etc..."

Then again, why bother with what pple will say, as long as I like it...haiz.

Oohh.. the webby from HK wan ah, so it should be more Canto kind. Then I must read carefully later. Thanks ivied!

hmmm...ivied,
Interesting webby. but cannot let FH read. hahaha. coz 1 part talks about not buying new bed, coz of outrageous real estate prices in HK. I'm trying to get FH to buy new bed...hahaha.

Oh..When new bed comes..can sleep on it 1st? or muz wait after wedding? Cos they delivering my bed over next weekend.

hmm.. Stacy, I rem the older folks mentioned about an chuang. It is to select a date to deliver the bed and place it correctly.

The newly weds are not to sleep on the new bed till after the wedding ceremony. And on the actual day, they have to place some mandarin oranges and red packets on the bed. Dunno what does it stand for.

I just listen. Well, they are the elders.

Stacy, I prefer not to sleep on it first. Not that I am superstitious, but I would prefer to zzz on a brand new bed on the wedding night. Something like a symbolism of starting a new life together.... heehee

okie..noted!Thanks! Bed will be coming in next Sat...we'll just put it aside till the carpenter puts a board below..

Hmm...then my guy got to sleep on the thin mattress for the time being..hehee.

OMG, you girls are too fast, I can't catch up. Today I took leave as my hubby told me he will be given a day off today but the boss took back his words @#$%^ so now I am alone at home. Both my furballs sent for grooming.

Stacy, is your FH a local? He seems to be like my hubby whose a Msian and is also staying at the new place now (but zzz in the study room) to save rent outside

My hb is a PR..but his mum got hse in Boon Lay..but too far fm his workplace..so he rather stay at our new hse. Same..he's sleeping in the study room..

Huiz,

Same as my HB..His thinking is "Singapore is so small, at least something happens, we can go elsewhere"..that's y he haven't tot of converting.

Huiz: TDF has been working quite well for me and i like that the products are quite value-for-money. It's not cheap but the sizes of the bottles are big! Haha...ok, next time ask you to get for me. :p

Stacy: I go for facials every fortnight cos my acne is a result of clogged pores. Since my frequent facials, those areas of my face w/o acne have been flawless. I signed up for package so it's "cheaper"... but one shot pay, very heart-pain too!

Ivy: Consult a DOCTOR to do peeling for you. Don't go to beauty salons ok? They're not professional and you don't want to wind up with chemical burns! My doc told me there're 2 types of peels -- normal & deep. He said since my PS is schedule in March, i have to do the DEEP one cos my scarring quite "jialat".

Misty: I signed 2 packages with my beautician & one of them is microdermabrasion. It really helps to clarify & even out skin tone. But this package is very expensive...sigh.