Hainanese Brides, anyone???

Hi bohty,

My package has 28 free A4s and 24 free 12"x 15".... am I right Stacy?

Huiz,

Which pkg did u take up? Total u got 52 pics?? Mine is 28pcs of 15R (inclusive of 6 collage). Think return 4R of all pics and softcopy of selected pics? Something like tt

Hi Stacy,

Did u choose the A4 package and upgrade to 15R? Me actually haven't decided on the exact package yet. Andrew says its ok to decide later when I choose the photos.... haha, so I will just leave it for now

hmmm....Bohty's AD is coming right up! How's it manz? Excited? Looks like this ah kor won't be able to join us for makan on 4th Oct...

<font face="Vrinda"><table border=1><tr><td><font color="0000ff">Bride</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">AD</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Solemnisation Venue</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Recep venue</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BS</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">PG</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">VG</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Janf</TD><TD>4-Jan-06</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>InJack Studio</TD><TD>InJack Studio </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bohty</TD><TD>7-Oct-06</TD><TD></TD><TD>Furama City Centre</TD><TD>David Lim Lee</TD><TD>Let There Be Light</TD><TD>Not getting </TD></TR><TR><TD>Crystalz</TD><TD>21-Oct-06</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>JB Venus</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stepford</TD><TD>28-Oct-06</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Fort Canning, Gallery</TD><TD>Kai Bridal</TD><TD>Ron Lee</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>CSI_Fan</TD><TD>18-Nov-06</TD><TD>Church of St Teresa</TD><TD>Marriott</TD><TD>Amanda Lee</TD><TD>Lyrical Moments</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Koxxic</TD><TD>9-Dec-06</TD><TD>Crown Hotel (Over)</TD><TD>Crown Hotel</TD><TD>David Lim Lee</TD><TD>Let There Be Light</TD><TD>Brother </TD></TR><TR><TD>Li Ann</TD><TD>12-Dec-06</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Silverlining</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>LambZzz</TD><TD>23-Dec-06</TD><TD>Grand Hyatt</TD><TD>Grand Hyatt</TD><TD>Tan Yoong &amp; Divine</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Misty</TD><TD>30-Dec-06</TD><TD>Raffles Hotel Lawn</TD><TD>Raffles Hotel Ballroom</TD><TD>Divine</TD><TD>Lightedpixels</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>iViED</TD><TD>26-Jan-07</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>La Belle</TD><TD>Friend</TD><TD>Friend </TD></TR><TR><TD>Huiz</TD><TD>17-Mar-07</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Silverlining</TD><TD>The Edge</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stacy</TD><TD>24-Mar-07</TD><TD>M Hotel</TD><TD>M Hotel</TD><TD>Flamingo</TD><TD>Yew Kwang</TD><TD>Not getting </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nellie</TD><TD>28-Mar-07</TD><TD>The Arts House</TD><TD>The Arts House</TD><TD>J&amp;C Bridal</TD><TD>Desmond Ho</TD><TD>Mark Yang </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bendi</TD><TD>26-May-07</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Oriental Hotel</TD><TD>Dang</TD><TD>Jon Keng*</TD><TD>Not getting </TD></TR><TR><TD>Violetcrystal</TD><TD>7-Jul-07</TD><TD>ROM Office</TD><TD>Sheraton Towers</TD><TD>Amanda Lee</TD><TD>Sam Wong</TD><TD>Kevin Yap </TD></TR><TR><TD>Priscilla</TD><TD>29-Jul-07</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Holiday Inn Park View</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Diana</TD><TD>4-Oct-07</TD><TD>Merchant Court (Over)</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Raymond D'Nuptials</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mosburger</TD><TD>2008</TD><TD>ROM Office - 22 Nov 06</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Z Wedding</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Friend </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table></font>latest update on bohty

Do I need to amend or update anyone else's details?

Thanks CSI for updating our details

Haii, me having a problem now. The pipe in my kitchen loo is leaking and the HDB officer said its due to the lousy water proofing works of the unit upstairs. So now we have to fork out $250, which they said is a subsidised rate, as co-payment.... butttt.. the sickening thing is, I have to go to see the MP to apply for it. For other constituencies, just need to write in to ask can liao. Everyone who apply sure will get the subsidy, but it's just in my area that the MP made it a rule that we have to see him!

Hi Huiz,
hmmm...maybe it's his way of trying to get to know the residents? Coz that's how he'll actually get to see the residents &amp; recognise them? (though, not everyone wants to see their MP lah...I think generally, pple dun bother)

ya, huiz. take it that its a chance to meet your MP and get to know him/her. Who knows u may need their help in future too.

CSI, this thread is moving so fast that when i need to find the contacts that u gave for the MPC, I had to search thru the archives!

Hah, yah, I thought that's his "motive" too. He's a new MP so I believe he needs to know us better as well.

Hoho, we jia you jia you, keep our messages coming and the hainam spirits high

ask u something CSI, my ah lao is worried that when non-catholic uses the services provided by the church, will they talk about the christianity after the services? No offence, but we are not keen when such topics are being touched on.

Huiz - actually, I also can't remember my pkg liao..also nvr exactly confirm it. Anyway, I think he's 'expecting' us to top-up after the PS..that's y he said no hurry..can decide when choosing the photos...wahahaa....Hmm..

Got to see MP to get subsidy..can save $$$...y not..hehee

Stacy, I think most people will upgrade wan lor. See so many nice nice pics sure tempted to get more. I have this colleague with a wife whom I think is rather immature... she die die wanted to top up till 80+ pics for the whole album and paid $3K+ extra! This, I think is too overboard liao

Aiyo, what I dread of seeing the MP is taking Q number and waiting and waiting and waiting..... Reminds me so much of my days at work... the long long Q.... haiii...

hi ivied,
yah, can understand ur worries.

For any catholic programmes, they are very aware of non-catholic pple attending. Some topics do touch on God etc (eg. abortion), but the facilitators will be aware, and will say things like "I know this is not for you, so just bear with us first" and continue addressing the Catholics/mixed (1 is non-catholic, the other is catholic) couples.

So, it becomes like sort of an educational thingy for non-catholis when topics relating to Catholicism are raised (such as the Church's stand on abortion and contraception). We had a free-thinker couple in our group, and they after the sessions, they felt that they could understand better why certain groups of pple react in certain manner, and they felt that they can now understand what their Catholic frens are talking about, and can join in the chit chat.

You can be assured that they won't tell u "you have to convert" or "please consider converting"...No, No....The community is very aware that there are non-catholics around. That's why they open it up to non-catholics too!
No "hard sell" kinda thing. Nope.

Generally, the topics covered are your everyday issues. Eg. Family, money issues, spending time with friends after marriage, communication etc. At the end of the day, the whole programme focuses on the couple. While the Catholic couples may bring Christian values into their personal (between the couples) discussion, the non-catholics can discuss between themselves the values that matter the most to them.

Depending on couple, some will find the issues nothing new (they probably have talked about the issues before they decided to get married etc). Both MPC and EE focuses on the couple, and encourages them to understand each other more kinda thing. Afterall, the marriage is about the 2 people...

aiyoh, Huiz...ur colleague's wife is not bad already...I have this ex-colleague (a guy) who topped up $8k to his $2k+ package with Milan!! He said, coz his wife likes the pictures...The bunch of us almost fainted. Best part, they are both accountants. hahaha...

Wooh, 8K + 2K = 10K!! My home renov is not even 10K!

Btw, ah mais (and ah kors if possible too), do u have any good and economical skin care products to recommend for oily skin? I have finally solved my white head problem with a superb product (at least to me la) and is now left with the oil prob to tackle. Need something to drink/dry up the oil reservoir. Facial doesnt seem to help much so I thought I'd rather save the money for some good products.

hahaa....I always get the impressions that accountants are very careful with their money..go where also hold on to the purse tightly..seems like got to change my perception towards them..wahahaa * sorry if I offended any accuntants here*

I got combi skin problem..some parts of the skin too dry, some parts too oily..sian! Sorry, I don't have any good skincare pdts to recommend..I just go for monthly facial

Thanks CSI. I feel more at ease now. But I still have some convincing work to do to my ah lao. He is not really keen on going, though he agrees on my point. men........

$10k+ for the package!!! I tot my ah lao's friend is terrible with $9k+ already and now I found one more even higher. this is yi shan hai bi yi shan gao. ha ha ha...

hmm Huiz, I too have very oily skin. I'm using Dr Secrets now. I can't say that it is removing the oily content totally but it does have some effect. To further improve my condition, I'm going for facial concurrently as well.

Hello Ah Mais,

As far as I know, there's no products which remove oil completely and it is not advisable to do so either. Cos the oil is to protect our skin (that is... to keep our skin moist). We can only use products to control the oil condition.

Use tissue papers instead of blotters to wipe away the excess oil. You tend to find your skin more oily after using blotters. Blotters actually remove oil. Since there's no protection, your skin will work harder to 'produce' more oil.

huiz - wat u use for removing white heads?? i dun tink theres any superduper pdt tat can remove oil from the face but i use Lady Rose paper blotters to blot off. im seeing DrX clinic for my face. i find tat their pdts are good for me so cont using it..

nellie is rite. oil for the face is good. less likely to get wrinkles at young age too. my coll same age as me but her wrinkles all come out liao coz her skin is dry..

Janf, I am using this Pro-Series Serum by this brand Cellnique (I actually mistook it for Clinique initially). Got it from Sasa. 70 bucks for a bot (ouch!) but I must admit it really helps to dissolve my white heads hidden deeper under the skin. Those irritating white stuff had made my skin so "bumpy" looking and gave me the urge to squeeze them out, which I did, thus leaving much ugly marks. But it's bye bye marks now.... heehee

The oiliness is making me so uncomfy. Feels like I have just emerged from an oil dip. Grrr.... I wonder how much is then considered more than enough oil. But thanks dears, your advice had been very insightful and helpful. Shall heed the advise 2 stay away from blotters but keep to the trusted tissue paper and also try to wash it more often

Huiz - if you want to wash often, remember : Cleanse, Toner and Moisture. These are the basic steps. Die Die must follow. Don't just use water to wash and wipe dry. No use too. May worsen.

Huh! Encouraged not to used oil blotters? I just bot 5 pkts yesterday..*cry*

Huiz - after cleanse, must apply toner to close the pores...

hmm.. I was advised not to wash the face for more than 3 times a day. But I do agree that Cleanse, tone, Moist is a MUST.

Doc also mentioned about blotters. It is not advisable to use it. But occasionally, I still use it. hee...

Me also applying this Loreal Pore Minimising Astringent after cleansing now.... but chey, it doesn't seem to work very well

Hehe yah, I used to see a skin Dr long time ago and he mentioned 3 musts/must nots:

1. Must NOT used blotters
2. Must wash as often as possible (but who has the time???)
3. Must not go facial (I was like 'Huh??' when I heard this)

Sigh, looks like I have to work harder on the skin... haha

ivied, u went to the P clinic b4 too? I went there twice long time ago but stopped coz I found him too exp. I was still in school then, so poor poor no $$$.... haha

ya, i went to see him after recommendations from colleagues. but it was not turning any better. so i gave up. i agree that his charges are quite ex. but the products that I'm using now is not any cheaper. about $400++ per set of cleanser, toner, moisturizer, treatment and sun block. i can see the hole of my pockets getting bigger.

Huiz - will not worsen the condition. Of course, your skin will be clean. Always tone and moisture after cleaning. It's the basic steps.

Stacy - there's another way to utilize your blotters. Use together with egg white - no need to spend $$$ to buy Pore Pack. this acts as the same way as pore pack.

There's 1 clinic in Yishun which is very good in skincare. you may want to try. I've introduced friends there. Price is reasonable too.

I've patronised there for more than 10 years liao, not for skincare lah. The doctors will be there in the evenings so it's very crowded. Let me know if you're interested. I'm thinking of going there to remove my blackheads (become mole liao)!!!

wah!! You gals also go Punggol Clinic ah? Me too! hahaha...but that was like...10-12 yrs ago...hahaha. When Punggol flats not even up yet (I think). And yup, I felt no effect too...so my parents gave up. Then I just cleansed etc...then Uni life...just continue cleansing. I think it's the hormones also lah. It improved a bit in Uni days. Then now working, go for monthly facial myself. Improved lots. Then now I'm using DRx. Quite ex (maybe that's why it's called D-R "X" hahaha) also, but there's even more improvement! So, it feels better...hahaha...

Nellie - erm...how does pore pack works? I nvr use pore pack b4 leh..

Let me know the outcome after your consultation with the dr on blackheads...I wanna get rid of them too!

Stacy,

1. Cleanse and tone your face
2. spread some egg white on your nose
3. cover the nose area with a piece of blotter.
4. spread another layer of egg white on the blotter.
5. Put another piece of blotter on it.
6. Spread another layer of egg white on the 2nd piece and leave it to dry.
7. Peel off (must make sure it is really dry before peelin it off).
8. Wash the area with water. Tone and moisture.

Do the same way if your forhead or chin has black heads too.

Ah Mais, must fight the black heads cos if don't bother, it'll become moles. (like me!!!!)

OOhh... the good ol' porepacks are simply great. Feels shiok to see all the goo stuck on the white paper/cloth.

Hehe, Nellie, your blackheads can't be that bad right... if become mole liao will be a qian nian lao hei tou liao ;-P

The serum I am using now claims to be able tio handle blackheads as well. Those interested can give it a try

nellie, that's quite a bit of work leh. U really do it regularly? How long is one process normally?

CSI, which DRx product are u using? Dr Secrets?

csi - same same, i oso see dr tan at DrX.. damn exp! 1st time bot his full range of pdts cost my pocket $500+.. nearly got a shock of my life..

eh, punggol clinic ex meh?? tat time i went, he only gave me the pills to eat and the blue facewash lotion and the oily face cream, total only abt $50 i tink.. i tink my face improved abit aft seeing punggol clinic is coz of the medicine rather than the face cream.. but i muz say the doc's face really living example! his face soooo smooth and he speaks wif conviction! haha.

ivied - coz my breakout came back again aft i stop the antibiotics and i reckon cannot continue eating coz i hv been eating for 3mths then.. aft tat then went to drX see dr tan.. his clinic damn high class one.. the missys there all wear uniform.. and his clients got taitai pattern..

my coll now goes to the holland v lady doc, georgina lee.. she say she damn skinny but pian chio! haha.

It'a not a tedious process. It take 15 to 20 mins. Do it while watching TV.

I'm a lazy girl. only do when I feel like to. That's why I had that qian nian lao hei tou. Hope that it'll become a pimple and then it'll be gone. But too bad it didn't.

Aiya Janf, at that time I went I was poor student ma. I remembered he charged me 60 and asked me to return regularly. How can catch up with the expenses? I do agree that his meds are good. But have to take all the time,if not the probs come back again. Like my bro, now all "mor peng" again... haha (and that brat is so lucky to have my dad paying for his visits!!! no faiiirrr!!!)

And oh yes, my mum says he is a walking advert for his clinic man! He never seem to grow old wan. Face 4va that smooth and pinky.