Hainanese Brides, anyone???

Hi Huiz,

the CS ah....they had a less than 24hrs turnaround time. hahaha...Coz I only managed to find them the day (or rather, evening before I left for Singapore). My flight was the early morning flight (0845 hrs), so I had to leave hotel at 0630am (It was so bright! It's like our 8am). So at about 630pm the day I found the tailor, I selected my fabric, decided on the style and buttons etc, they took my measurements, and I paid up. Then they delivered to my hotel room at 530 am the following morning. You can choose to pick it up on your own, if you have the time or have them deliver to your hotel room.

I'm not sure if they usually charge for deliveries. Initially he wanted to charge me RMB400 for the CS. I bargained down to RMB380 (mine is 2-piece. According to them, a 1-piece one would cost RMB350). Then he said, the RMB20, consider it as "lu4 fei4" (travelling expense for the delivery guy). So, ok lorh...so I paid RMB400. Maybe if I didn't give such a short turnaround time, perhaps it might have been cheaper? I dunno...hehs. Coz it's delivered, I had to pay in full. If self collect, just pay deposit and balance later.

According to the people there, the tailors ("shi1 fu4") work at night and sleep during the day. The pple at the stores are the so-called "designers", selling the cloth and taking the measurements and drawing out the cutting for the shi1 fu4 to sew. That's why they can produce one CS in 24hrs...

That's really efficient service they provide. Not bad to create a good first impression man.... hehee

So ur CS is 2 piece? Sounds really unique. Do u have any pics to share?

yah lorh...hehs...

Yap, it's 2-piece. A CS top and a CS skirt. hahaha...thought at least can wear the top with normal black skirt and pants for dinners or to work. hehs...

No pics yet lah...hehs. I only got it yesterday morning...and last night was unpacking etc. So haven't taken pic yet. heehee...

Bendi, your shoes are really gorgeous but i got broad feet, can't wear pointy-toe shoes.

Huiz, the stethoscope idea is cool but too bad your hubby doesn't want it. Did your PG ask you to bring props along?

Oh CSI, no hurry la. I just kaypoh wanna see only... heehee. It is a very practical idea to make a 2 piece coz I totally agree with u that it can be worn on other occassions too.

Hi Prisc, ya lor, its such a waste that he don't like my idea. Haha, but I shall see how I can pyscho him within the next few months to change his mind. No leh, my PG didnt ask me to bring anything

I have the same thoughts as Stacy. KUA is only worn during PS or AD so I have decided to wear it despite me not being Cantonese.

Actually making a CS in Spore is not that ex. My mum had hers done <$200. Here's her breakdown:
Material (simple lace and satin) - $50
Workmanship (local seamstress) - $120

CSI - I'm amazed by the efficiency of that shop in Shanghai. Somemore it is cheap. No wonder people are flocking to Shanghai to make one. Spore has shops that make CS for tourist too but I rem it takes 2~3 days for completion.
I also wish to see your CS. Do show us when u are available.

BTW my friends said that Woodsville and Floral Recipes are quite good in church deco.

Stacy - Thanks for the photo. The file is really big. :p

janf - thanks.

Pris - ya, BenDi's shoes are nice. Actually I have broad feet too but I can't resist the pointed shoes so ended up I bought one pair and have them expanded the front for me. hee... I shall show it to u the next time round.

Huiz - then have u thought of your PS locations?

hey gals, just out of curiousity. I do not take the bridal package so I quite curious about the PS. Do u pick the venue and props or the BS will decide for u?

hey ivied,

oh...wow...less than $200, that's good!

Yap, yap...I'll take a pic tonight.

Hmm, for me, I picked venue (and discuss with PG - coz they will know which place is better and timing etc) and I brought my own props. PG didn't say what to bring. At first I wanted to bring additional fake flowers just for the fun of it, but lucky thing I did not, coz PG's studio has some flowers too. And my PG had some of his own props (eg, the old coffeeshop cups, table and chair, bench, old antique cupboard kind...which can be taken for shots with CS or Kua kind...).

Hihi ivied,

I did my CS for $580 man. The guy better do a good job for me ah.

Heh, me had my PS locations in mind long long ago liao. I have 5 potential locations but my PG says one of them might not be so 'go-able" coz of the strict regulations now. Btw, its the railroad I mean here
So now I hope I will have enough time to squeeze in the other 4 locations! I plan to start early at 9 (so by the time make-up is done its 10am) too

As for choosing venue, it's very flexible. If u have a places in mind, u can bring them up to him for his advise. Most people I know also let the PG decide for them.

pris - i saw u asking in injack thread on whether the PG will make the couple luff anot.. cfm will! at 1st we oso worried on whether will we be stoned anot but din turn out to be lor.. and all my JMs had good thrill making a fun outta him..! haha. in short, we had good chemistry wif him, even hub's grans oso joke wif him.. btw, i told u b4 tat bridal concept's boss is hainanese rite?! use ur lingo to the max when u are there for fittings!, gtee will work ur way.. *wink*

ivied - for PS tat time, we asked PG wat are nice places for PS and me and hub oso made our request.. as long its not outta the way, usually PGs will compromise.. i din bring any props but my gfren brot her soft toys for indoor PS tho.. why u din wana take PS?

Ohh u mean Bridal Concept's boss is Hainanese also ah. She's this petite quite sweet looking middle aged lady right? I had seen here at a bridal show before and thought she looks quite sweet and pleasant. Oh yes, speak to her in the language and perhaps she can give a better 'siu1 kee2' (fellow neighbours) offer too

Ya, ivied, why are u not taking PS?

huiz - the petite lady u saw shd be jasmine, shes one of the partner and shes hainanese too. the lady boss is stella, another hainanese.. tat time we were so adamant on signing up wif Feline but decided to go bridal concept look see.. scurry go in and start chatting wif jasmine, then realisd tat shes hainanese and hub juz let it go all the way liao! haha.

wow Huiz, u have 5 locations for photo shoot?! Is it possible to finish all in one day? Think u have to start taking ginseng or Yomeishu.

Ok, to answer janf and Pris's ques.
erm.... 1st of all, FH and I agree that the album will be left hidden somewhere in the cupboard after the AD.
2nd and most impt, my hubby will get grouchy or show a 'black face' whenever he is tired or pek chek. PS is very taxing. I do not wish to have this scenario.

I like to see PS pic taken by other brides but I do not envision myself in it. hee... I have concluded that I'm not photogenic enough for the pic. (^_^)

But it is interesting to hear stories on PS. So next time I can advise my future sis-in-law.

Haha, me also told my PG that I am very greedy to want 5. In the end we had to strike out the railway idea coz the PG said the authorities don't allow photo taking there liao. As for the other 4, some of them like Tudor Court cannot stay long one lor. So hopefully can still squeeze all 4 in comfortably la.

Aiyo, your FH sounds soooo much like my bo lao too! When he gets tired and hungry, he'll get damn cranky and his mood gets foul. But from what I see now, he seems to be looking forward to it (hopefully he really is) coz he even told me to get my mum to prepare lunch for us to take in the studio before going outdoors! *keeps fingers crossed*

hee.. Huiz, looks like your ah lao has 'accepted the fact'. When is your PS? My one simply cannot make it lar. I know he will give me those 'unbearable' looks during PS.
I'm happy enough that he is more willing to help out in the preparations lately. I do not pin for more. hee...

Surprise to see this thread really...Me and my FW are both Hainanese as well. But we sucks when come to speaking and u'standing the language. Wonder if our children will even u'stand??? haha

anyway, will be having my AD this Dec...but most stuff not done yet..

Just curious..for Hainanese, any particular custom to look out for? Any tips or URL which we can see?

heehee...Huiz and Ivied,

My FH also the same lah...but in the end, he just "accepted the fact"...esp since I went ahead and booked it on my own. hahaha...then after the whole thing, he tells me he actually quite enjoyed it! Men....

Hi koxxic,

Welcome to the thread! Looks like we have another hainam ah kor amongst us now

Well, I guess our children will only understand if we as parents take the effort to teach them, if not, expose them to an environment where they can learn. I have been staying with my granny eversince I was born and both my parents, being Hainanese, speak the language among themselves so I can pick up a lot along the way. It all boils down to teaching and the environment

We had been saying in some previous posts that Hainanese are perhaps one of the most relaxed people when it comes to customs. Either I am ignorant or I hadn't really heard much, but there seems to be nothing much hard and fast to our marriage customs.

So which BS and hotel are you and your FW going with?

Haha CSI,

Good for u that he was finally convinced of how fun a PS can get!

Btw, when did your PG say u can see the pics? Seems like its getting faster n faster nowadays. My friend could see her's one week after the PS.

hahaha...yah lorh. heehee...

My PG is away on overseas shoot, and then reservist after that...so I can only see my pics 2 weeks later...that's last week of Sep...it's ok lah...then I just focus on other things first...hehs.

Hi Huiz,

Kinda of agree with what you have mentioned most.
Well, for me, we speak english and mandarin most of the time hence my lack of knowledge in my dialect. It's really a shame...

Ya, hainan seems most relax on the rules and custom hor?

Me will be holding at Crown Hotel..For BS, we're using David from Black Box..

Hihi koxxic,

U've got the BS and hotel fixed so everything should be well in place liao I suppose coz these are the most important things

Somehow being simpler on customs is good too.... not so stressful. And no one can fault us for being ignorant and lazy to practise our customs coz our customs are just so simple mah.... hehee

morning ah mais...

yah, ours is already the most relax and simple on those rules etc...but the thing is, my FMIL still dun want to give / do anything!! @^#&amp;*$@^!(#$.....

So in the end, I told FH, I'll go get the stuff...and he can either claim back from his mother, or he's paying for it.

Oooh, bohty, your mama's CS must be very exquisite....

Okie ah mais (and ah kors), here's my CS...very simple one lah. nothing very special...I just anyhow snapped a pic. hehs...still quite crumpled. Gotta send it for dry cleaning I think...
405122.jpg

Hello ah mais! Welcome ah kors!

Welcome back CSI!

I'm back in action!

Gosh! I've missed so much stuff in this thread over the weekend.

My wedding bands - sigh!!! decided not to custom-made at Fairy's Inc. FH doesn't want the design by Georg Jensens liao although we like it very much. Sometime not good has happened so we decided to get the ready made ones. There goes my dream rings.

PS - just bumped into my Lao Ban Niang (lady boss). Had asked her to 'arrange' for me to have my PS in the China Club. Keeping my fingers crossed.

IMF - many big-shot ang mos coming! My big big big lady boss is here too. She's dropping by next Mon. The whole bank has been red alert since yesterday.

morning all.. yawn..

nellie - wat happened?? anw, most of the jewellers (lee hwa, citigems, goldheart etc) are having deep discounts now.. i hv lee hwa, citigems, sookee and tianpo card so if u need it let me know ya.. my mgr juz bot a braclet for his wifey yday.. good buy..

csi - iron ur CS and it will look perfect on u! awaiting to see ur AD pics aft ur AD..

Hi CSI

I like the colour of your CS! Very sweet!

So Nellie, where u will u getting your rings after all? Why not from FI's and GJ? I got mine from Soo Kee... simple simple one only

Wa janf, your manager so sweet buy braclet for his wife ah? I hope he did it on his own will and not coz he was 'forced' to.... heehee

It's my 1 year ROM anniversary today. Not expecting much from my stone bo lao. But we are going for dinner at a Brazilian restaurant though. Hopefully the food don't turn out yucky.... hahaha

I'm not sure where I want to get but Lee Hwa, Goldheart, Soo Kee, Meyson, Taka and Citigems are definitely out.

It seems like most couples are getting from these shops. I might be looking at Poh Heng, Poh Kong Chye such shops. Found 1 pair at Poh Heng but FH doesn't like it.

haiz...why can't they give us a holiday for this IMF thing? The roads are closed, everywhere is super high security...our office also on alert.

Wow, Nellie, your lady boss can arrange for you ah? That's good. I wanted to go China Club too, but had to pay...ouch. hehs.

Wah, Janf, your mgr so nice to his wife...esp if it's on his own will...heehee...if only FH will do that for me next time...hehs. Yah, I need to iron it. hehs...I just took a pic to put here first lah. heehee...

Hi Huiz, thanks, thanks...FH chose that colour...

Happy anniversary Huiz!
Is it the Brazillian restaurant at 6th Ave? That one is nice...

Good morning..

Nellie - finally get to speak to ur boss liao...pray that she can help u out with the PS at China Club

Huiz - happy one yr ROM anniversary. Hmm...brazilian food..nvr try before...update us ya!

CSI - Nice CS..nice colour n yet pratical.

Koxxic - welcome to the thread. Prob u might want to update us ur AD date, PG, VG, lovenest, etc..

Janf - you muz have lotsa jewelleries..*can see from the no. of discounts cards you've got fm the jewellers*...hehee. So sweet of your manager to buy a gift for his wife

Yup CSI, it's the one at 6th Avenue. Dunno what Brazilian Churascaria (I know this is surely spelt wrongly.... kekeke) U have been there before? And thanks CSI and Stacy for the well wishes

Heee, ya lor, Janf's bo lao must really be doting on her to buy her blings blings ;-P

Hmmm... I'm unable to describe what I want. I can only say it's based on my FEEL.

Hopefully, my lady boss will succeed. Pray Pray Pray!

Happy anniversary, Huiz!

hi welcome koxxic ah kor. Welcome to the thread.

We are on the same boat, I do not speak the dialect since young too so I'm totally at loss when I hear my 'tong xiang' talking.
I give up learning already, so I shall let my dad to pass on this dialect to my kids in future. hee...

I think Hainanese has the simplest wedding preparations. Maybe we are just not aware of the customs or that our elders are also the modern type.

CSI - is your FH a hainanese too? What do u mean by FMIL do not want to give/do anything? U mean u have been working on your side alone?
The colour of your CS is sweet. It will look nice on your fair skin.
ya, do show us your pic after your AD.

hi hi nellie, good to have u back. what has happened? u sounded enthusiastic about the GJ rings the last time. This IMF news is bursting the headlines everyday.

janf - so good of your mgr. hmm... he did something wrong? :p

Huiz - happy anniversary.

Well, the relationship of my friend and her hubby who had this GJ rings isn't going well so my FH think that the rings are jinx.

Ha ha... my FH sounds so superstitious. He just want to ensure everything goes well for the 2 of us. Ning ke sha cuo, Bu ke fang guo.

hmm.. I understand that gold is coming back again. My future sis-in-law bought one pair of gold wedding bands at Poh Heng. Think it cost around $500++. The design is like 'Lord of the rings'.

OH NO AH MAIS!!!! Tell u a secret.... I was telling myself I'll chop off my head if I receive flowers from my bo lao today. I have to eat back my words liao!!! If not, my poor head.... hahahah

He just sent me a vase of 9 tulips. It's soo pretty! I think it's really a good choice compare to bouquets coz I can use the vase again and I really like the design of the vase!.

I wanna take a pic of it with my hp but have to wait till tonight to load it here

ha ha.. your FH is playing safe. But so nice. Its like he is telling u: We are an item forever.

koxxic - my mama only asks for a roast pig and nothing else. She even told me that she will be giving all the ang bao $ back to us. Lucky my FH knows how to zuo ren. He said he will give a big big roast pig to her.

Wah, Huiz!!! So sweet of your bo lao!!

Yap, I've been to that restaurant some time back...and it burnt a big big hole in our pockets (we just started work then).

Hi ivied,
Nope, FH is Hokkien/Heng Hwa. FMIL told my parents she not giving anything. Anything my parents want, just tell FH, coz he handles his own finances. In other words, it's like saying <font color="ff6000">"dun ask for anything. U ask for something that takes up a lot of $$, means ur daughter's husband will have not much $$ left to look after her. You want that?"</font> kinda thing lorh. But then I found out that FH's younger brother's gf is Teochew...Teochews sure ask for lots of stuff one (usually, right?), so I felt that it's not fair lah. And I made noise to FH. So now FH also agree to some extent...and he giving in lorh. Just that he keeps reminding me not to spend too much. (but I told him, for my SDJ I'll make sure I get BIG BIG pieces from his mother to compensate me...hahahahaha...oops. shhhh.....)

I'm not that fair lah...hahaha...yup, I'll show u gals pics after my AD...2 more months!!

Wow roast pig.... I love the skin... crispy and fragrant. Yum yum.

Heh, actually hor, I dunno hinted how many million times liao. And u know what he used to tell me? "Buy flowers ah? Flowers are meant for cows to eat wan!" Grrrr... men! But me now so touched till wanna cry liao... *sniff sniff*

Ya, the Teochews have many many "laws" to follow. U mean your FH's younger bro is also planning to get married? Your FMIL sounds like a very no nonsense person leh.

aiyoh huiz, tink my hub open printing co of dollarnotes meh?! i hv the cards coz tat time MIL and my ma bot me jewelleries for tea ceremony so got the disc card.. buy few thousands dun give me disc card, i sure yell at the shops ah!

my mgr bot diamond braclet for wifey coz her bday coming up this sat.. last yr he bot a diamond ring for her from tianpo..

btw, my wedding bands are from tianpo.. also a simple simple platinum one..

huiz - ur hub really lomantica ya! my hub only send me once flowers to ofc when we still in courtship.. i sooo emabarassed then coz all my colls were luffing away.. i stashed the bouquet under my desk! haha. damn malu..

Huiz - Sweet sweet liao! bet you're having that smile throughout the day! 3 cheers to your bo lao!

CSI - my FH's dialect is the same as your. FMIL did make a comment last time, saying her daughter's (FH's younger sis) wedding was very simple in front of my parents. My face turned black immediately. It was 2 different things. I'm marrying in leh. Furthermore, his sis married into a Indian/Chinese family. How to compare?!?! Anyway, I got a brochure in Poh Heng's SDJ recently. FH said he knows what to do... He's going to place that brochure on the coffee table, hinting to his parents. Hee Hee... ususally his parents always get the hint.

Ivied - Same here. my mum only asked for a roast pig and some cans of pig trotters. That's all.

forgot to tell nellie - poh heng wedding bands are nice!! dun see the shop cheena looking but their designs are nice.. my gfren juz bot her bands from poh heng and no regrets..

Not sure if FH's younger bro not planning yet. I'm just thinking, when they get married, it'll be like that lorh. Not fair to me mah. She scared pple eat her sons' money...

i tink hainanese parents are more generous when come to weddings (not being dialect-ist here!).. they dun stinge here and there lor.. mayb coz 'face' is impt in frt of relatives and frens..