Hainanese Brides, anyone???

ha ha.. no no, tall people always only see those stuff that are within their eye view so its always those that are high up on the shelf. and normally ex stuff are placed on the highest shelf. :p

Huiz, WGS sells all sorts of wedding accessories that u will need. But as it is a shop located in the centralised area, hence the things tend to be quite ex too. The only thing cheap abt it is the KUA rental.

They rent Kua ah!!! I am looking for that! Does anyone have the addy? This comes at just the right time

addy: Delfi Orchard level 3
U can look for Doris.
One thing to note is that they do not dry clean the KUA so u have to wear a tube or camisole underneath the KUA.

Another alternative is to look for Jasmine. Tel: 97821144.

ugh... they don't clean it? gosh, then how to attract customers like that? well, mebbe that's why the price is lower

thanks ivied for the contacts though. I shall go check them out one day!

Huiz - Y are you looking for KUA contact? I tot u tailor made a CS liao?

Ivied - no dry clean?? U mean they pass fm one bride to another w/o dry cleaning? Erm, or are u referring that need to pay for the dry cleaning of the kua, cos not included in rental?

Hehe, me hiao leh, now buttock itchy wanna take photo with kua. And also thinking of wearing it for the tea ceremony in Malacca coz scared scare my MIL's face black black if I don't wear. She kept saying tt it's their Canto custom to wear. When she found out that her own kua was badly worm eaten and I can't wear, could see the huge disappointment on her face man. Though she said its ok leave it all to me, but u know la, all these old folks dun tell u how they feel directly but want u to guess!

ya, WGS do not dry clean the KUA and brides do not need to dry clean the KUA prior to returning. I only knew abt it after I have rented it. But no choice. The cost is $68/day as compared to HOE which is approx $238/day. I chose the former.

Jasmine rents abt $100/day and she will dry clean for u prior to rental. So this can be a 2nd alternative?

Huiz, what abt asking your BS? Do they rent it to you?

ivied - prob jasmine included the dry clean charges..cos' my kua is FOC rental from BS, but need to add $45 for dry clean. Think that's y Jasmine's slightly more ex than WGS.

I asked Jit (from Silver Lining) liao but he said he doesnt do kua or have contacts for that so asked me to source for it myself lor. I guess he is not confident in doing that so he might as well not offer the service at all so that he doesn't over promise.

Alamak, $238/day?? Very very exp leh. Oh gosh, what is HOE too?

Thanks Stacy.
And u are right, Jasmine has to factor in the cost of dry cleaning; if not she will make a loss.

Yup, it is quite ex but HOE has really nice KUA. I guess between price and quality, I have to choose the former. Budget tight and yet I want everything. hee..

Besides the above 3, Chinatown Classic at 15 Trengganu Street also rent KUA and its abt the same price as HOE.

Huiz, I have asked a girl named Angie before. She had bought her KUA for her wedding and is now renting/selling it. I can forward her email to you and u contact her direct to find out ok. She is wearing 'S' size so I think u can fit. I know I can't....................

Hmm, the suaku strikes again. Me haven't heard of HOE before ;-P

I spotted a new cheongsam (don't know if they carry kuas or not) boutique along South Bridge Road the other day.... a red red shop by the name "Ted Collections" or something like that. Wonder if it has any relations to Ted Wu? Hmmm.... *wonders*

hello ah mais... and one ah dei (? correct or not ah?)

sorry ah... very difficult for me to post now... hv to catch up with all yr msgs when I get back home from work....

Ivied & Stacy - I've emailed u guys with the link to my PS photos

CSI - how did ur PS go? where did u go for the outdoor shoots? Cant wait to see the picts!!!

Talking bout kua ah? I rented one from HOE.... but i'm wearing that in place of an EG for my dinner in m'sia, not for tea ceremony. Huiz, I dont think Ted Collections is related to Ted Wu.. but they do MTM dresses/gowns and they're quite popular for cheongsums i think.

huiz - HOE has very nice kuas but super exp!! got extra budget can take a look at them but i tink bo hua to spend too much on renting a kua lor..

ted collections at chinatown is not related to ted wu but they do make nice cheongsums.. i ate at the dessert shop beside it once and was wowing away at a lady trying on the cheongsum.. she really brot out the NuRenWei in it.. curvaous and classic..

I think we can call bohty "ah kor" la. "Ah deh" sounds very old leh

Yup, janf, I also don't want to spend so much on rental. I need it only to take some photos and more importantly seal up my MIL's mouth. Haha. So a mid range one will do. Haizzz, as for nurenwei, I surely lack a lot of that in the sommmee department
.... ahahah!

Ya i think can call him "ah kor"...

I think HOE has very beautiful CS but quite expensive right? I also want to wear a kua for my tea ceremony but i heard that bridal concept doesn't have many nice ones. I'm crossing my fingers that i'll see a kua i like from there, then no need to spend more $ to rent elsewhere.

Oh...a bit late, but to those ah-mais who turned up for dinner on Monday...sorry i didn't go in the end. Huiz sent me the photo & now at least i can identify 6 faces to the names here. Haha...

Huiz, I like ur card! So unique
. I'm also DIY-ing cards for my friends.... cos they're also invited to the ceremony... so need separate cards anyway. Relatives and parents' friends will receive hotel cards.

Misty - received your email and replied you liao

Janf / Huiz - agree that when a woman dons on a cheongsum.. she really brot out the NuRenWei in it.. curvaous and classic.. I loved the one in Misty PS. Huiz - no worries, I think u'll look great in ur CS too!

Pris - hw r you feeling now..ok liao? Now u've seen our face...also send us ur pic, so we can recognise you if we happen to bum on streets.

Hihi Misty

How does your card look like? Heh, we great minds think alike make cards for friends and keep the hotel ones for the older folks

Stacy, hurhur, me keep my fingers crossed I'll look proportionate in all my gowns man! ;P

hi Huiz, not a prob. Hope the info is useful. Happy sourcing.

BTW, I believe u will look nice in both CS and KUA. Somemore with the make up on, guarantee u will bring out the NuRenWei in you.

Just FYI, I rem Ted Collection do not rent out KUA. They are basically tailors. They do gowns and their speciality is CS. They do MTM and sell, not to rent. So whatever u see in the shop is for sale.

hi Misty, thanks for the link. I like your look in that gold coloured gown. It is NICE!

Ya, Misty very photogenic hor? Her pics so model model kind!

Haha, actually I would expect tt Ted Collection place to be those only sell no rent kind ah. As high "crass" looking wor.... haha

ask all ah mais and ah kor,

for colleagues, do u
1) ask them if they are available on your wedding date prior to sending out the invitations or
2) send out the invitations one month before the AD and then get them to RSVP?

Hi Ivied,

what I did I sent all of them a "save the date" email. I do this long before my AD so that they can literally "save the date" . But for those who really can't make it, they will reply and say they can't. I wouldn't send them a card this way.

Hello....

I would love to don on a CS but my figure doesn't permit. Will be wearing a Kua for my PS.

As my AD falls on a weekday afternoon so each dept will send a few representatives to attend. Thus I have 2 ways to give out my invites:
1. Put up the invite in the pantry and invite all (anyway, not all can come) OR
2. Send an individual invite to each dept.

Hi Stacy,

i still have cought and bad throat.
Maybe must go back to doc & ask for antibiotics to get well. Eh...if you have MSN, add me ([email protected]) -- then can see my face in my user pic. :p Haha...shy lah, don't want to post here.

Huh Nellie,

U so tall, wear CS should make u look v elegant ma

Okie, me scampering off for a meeting liao... byeee! Have a great weekend!

Stacy/Ivied/Huiz.. thanks for the compliments
kao_embarrassed.gif
... I was worried no one likes it cos my aunt says they're not v nice worrr...

Stacy - my outdoors are taken at Raffles, Grand Shanghai restaurant (hv to pay $150 i think) and some ulu place in sentosa. The cheongsum is OTR from Allure Charix... it's a very last minute decision, bought it 4 days before the shoot and pick up after the alteration the day before... thankfully it fits alright.

Huiz, erm.. i havnt finalise the design of my card.. but i think shld follow the style of my 'save the date card'. I think I might do a pocket-fold card with info like RSVP contacts, directions etc in it. I'm buying card materials from this store in the states - www.paper-source.com. I dont hv access to a camera leh.. else I could take photo of my save-the-date card and show u...

Hihi Misty,

I had been drooling over the stuff from Paper Source for a long time. They're just so cool! I am sure your cards will look really classy! If they have online shopping, I must pamper myself with some shopping there someday

Girls, i long long time never come back here and chat..super busy... bought a pair of shoes as bought the wrong one previously. now selling it. See my new shoes, satin ivory.
404476.jpg

old one very nice but too bad, not match my duchess satin gown, salah material.but I really love this pair.
404479.jpg

Do go to my blog to see more pictures.

Hi Bendi,

U've missed much of our action while u were away. We had even met up for dinner and got to know each other so much better

Why don't u keep the old pair for normal wear?

Oh no, aiyah, next time you guys sure can meet up with this little piggy la.

I normally don't wear such formal shoes, I am not those pretty office girl, I am a missy la. hehee, wear too nice ppl will call me vain pot!

Cheyy, missy can also dress nicely what. I am sure they'll make a very nice match with casual dresses for weekend wear

ya, i really like this pair too. okay la, my hubby speak very softly," don't wanna sleep?"
think I better shut down the computer now. he seldom speak so soft.something fishy. Night night!!!

Hi ah mais!
I'm back from my biz trip!

Shanghai was cool...nice weather. Autumn is approaching lah...managed to make a CS there...heehee (me vain pot. No need for CS, but still want to make. Now I gotta think of when I can wear it...hahaha)

Hmm, u gals were talking abt Kuas? I have one (my own...if any of you need - after my AD, can rent to you gals. Dun worry, I'll clean it one...). But I dun have pics of it leh...I didn't take. My PS would have lah. hehs.

For my PS, we went Club St, St Teresa's Church and Botanic Gdns. Overall, it was quite fun. Brought along our own props...heehee...that added to the fun factor and the flexibility of what we can take.

In the end, I got flowers from Boenga. Absolutely love the flowers manz...It was better than how I had wanted it to be (which RB was not willing/able to come up with). Yupz, I can't wait to see my pics...heehee...

Hi Ivied,
How was ur meeting with Ching? Hope it was good.

Hi Stacy,
can email me the Steve Chapman song pls? Thanks!

Hi CSI,

Welcome back! Your Shanghai trip must have been very fruitful. Heard the CSs there are very nice too!

What props did u bring for your PS? I asked my hubby to bring along his sethoscopes (spelt correctly??) so that we can have some cheeky casual shots of us listening to each other's heart.... but he don't want to. Said as if he doesn't have enough of listening to patients' hearts at work.... haha. Well, I respect his decision la. Don't want to force him too

morning all..

bendi - i like ur shoes.. same same, we both luv sharp-toed ya! keke. the white one i seen b4 at americaya when i was hunting for my own shoes.. the gold one is nice! my EG shoes oso gold sharp-toed but not as mei as urs lah coz mine not satin..

Hi Huiz,
I brought along my violin, and we bought those heart-shaped helium filled balloons for outdoor...

heehee...the stethoscope idea is cool...but yah, he's probably "sick and tired" of it. hehs...

I can't really take pointed toes shoes. Perhaps it could be due to the shape of my feet, it really hurts at the end of the day manz

Wow CSI, u mean u guys got the balloons pre-filled with helium and kept them in the car first? That's one really cool idea too

Ya, I think the stethoscopes will remind him of the irritating patients he meets everyday. So better not la. PS day should be a happy one shouldn't it?

Hi ah mais,

Bendi - I like your shoes! Especially the white one. I agree with Huiz. It can be both formal or casual, depending on how u wish to dress up. Don't sell lar...
BTW, what is your blog address?

CSI - Welcome back! Most of my friends also make CS when they were in Shanghai. Is it really so cheap and good? I have one preposition for you to wear the CS though. U can wear it to send guests off after your banquet. So now u can have 4 outfits to wear.

I did not meet up with Ching on Sat. hmm.. I lost my way and ended up proceeding to meet up with Floral Recipes instead. hee.. But she is still nice over the phone so I shall make a 2nd appointment with her again. I will keep u updated.
BTW, Floral Recipe is quite good too. The person I liaise with is a lady full of principle. She has her creativity and yet at the same time stick to what she believes should be her way of floral arrangement. wow... My friend who accompanied me was full of praise and admiration for her.

mosburger - I have added u in the MSN.
It is a tradition of cantonese to wear KUA but I guess the modern brides and mothers are also wearing it despite the dialect.

janf - May I ask who is your coordinator during your wedding at Carlton?

Bendi - Nice shoe's you've got! So u are a RN ya...can be sexy also

CSI - Glad tt you've got fruitful biz trip :P
I've emailed u the song. Big file, so better save it on your desktop.

Huiz/Janf/Nellie/LiAnn/Ivied - I just emailed over my version of gathering pic. Big file also (2MB)...dunno y i set to so high res also..*sorry*

Mosburger - I'll be wearing kua..cos nvr get a chance to wear it unless during AD or PS..hmm...also, cos I wanna save cost for AD (didn't make tee dress or CS), so will be renting the kua from BS. Have informed mum that I'll be wearing kua when i go bk for tea, n she's fine with it

hi Huiz,

Yah, heehee...we left the balloons in the car...heehee...

Oh Huiz, if you have the chance to go Shanghai, you shd go check out their "textile market" - this area that has loads and loads of textiles. It is amazing manz...just one building with tons of material (fake furs included), lace, ribbons etc...I was dumbfounded manz. then there's the smaller shops ard it too. While I was at work, FH wondered ard on his own, and he stumbled upon this area along Ren2 Min2 (People's) road. Then he brought me there the following day (when it was F&E for me). I think you would like this area, since you like to work with crafts alot...heehee...

Hi ivied,

Actually, I already have 4 outfits (1 WG, 2 Eg, 1 Kua)...hahaha...Me super vain pot. :p Will see how lah...heehee...

A CS in Shanghai cost from RMB250 to RMB3000 (SGD50 to SGD600), depending on design and material. So I guess the price point is just too attractive! hahaha. Just make first and see how later. Coz in Singapore, I think it cost abt $500 onwards to make one? $200 for OTR ones?

Wow ivied, from what you mention about Floral Recipe, I think that's great! Sounds a bit like Boenga too...Hmm, maybe I can check them out too. I'm still looking for florists for church deco...

Hi Stacy,

Thanks! I'll go check...

Hi Mosburger,

I've added u to my MSN

CSI, the textile market sounds ssoo tempting. Really hope to have a chance to visit it one day. Btw, so u had your CS made there and they will send it over to u after completion or have u already collected it?