Hainanese Brides, anyone???

I do think Hainanese parents are more "sin sai" (chin chye) too. My parents always say that they do not want any share of the APs from the dinner. Say will let us pay off the bills with the $$. But of course I also try to make it up by saying that I will surely take out any balances (if any) and share it lor

Huiz - so sweet of ur hb..cannot brand him for being stone anymore..hehee.

For my case, my parents replaced most items with AB (eg: roast pig). They also asked for diapers $$ (they said its a muz), 2 bottles of hard liquor n I think some cakes for GDL.

Anyway, MIL also passed the whole list of PJ n GDL things my parents wanted to my guy..think she expect my guy to pay for everything lo :P

hi CSI, looks like your FMIL is quite protective of her sons. So have u chosen your SDJ? This time u can 'kai' all the way. ha ha.. Teochews do have more customs to follow than we hainanese. So your FH's bro is going to have some worries...

I can imagine Huiz is (^_^) so sweetly now.

ha ha.. nellie, i envy u really. Can see that your FH is the type who dotes on his wife.

ya janf, poh heng has improved on their wedding bands design. Especially since gold is coming up again.

hmm.. aren't we proud that we are hainanese!

I appreciated my mum for being so understanding so in returns my FH and I bought quite a bit of stuff for her at the recent Philips carnival sale. Did u all go? It was worth it.
We bought an electric flask, a rice cooker and a lamp that is said to relieve aches and pains. We even paid for her CS, my dad's suit and all the AD ang baos. I guess this is our form of thanking her.

u sure missed it. This year is really better than the previous years.
so u must have also forgot abt the JL sale over the weekend too? I did not go to this one though, too crowded.

My colleague went for the JL sales...she said the queue like snake..so long! In the end, she dropped all her merchandise when she saw the long long queue. I guess there was a big crowd due to many events holding at the same time (eg:food fair, book fair, JL sales)

Alamak, I've missed so many sales too! I wanna go JL sale. But ya, the thought of the Q can really kill (heh, it rhymes). These are the places where my hubby's mood will turn cranky immediately!

Oh yes, me got the pics of my tulips liao....

405367.jpg

The inside of the flower (whatever it is called) is beautiful! Yellow and black and very neatly arranged. Machiam like fake ones but they are a wonderful work of nature!

405368.jpg

Hehe, I think the vase is great too! Can recycle at home. This could be better than a bouquet coz after a few days the poor thing will surely end up in the rubbish bin.

Heh, looks like the vase is attracting more attention. Yah, I hope that the aircon in the office can keep it alive longer

Huiz - your guy very smart
. Gave you flowers in the vase..so u'll definately recycle the vase and he'll always reminds u that he gave u flowers during your anniversary..hehee

Hei gals, was just thinking if I should have cupcakes during the wedding reception? Will it be too messy?

I meant before the banquet, during the cocktail session...was thinking if dinner starts slightly late, these cupcakes will definately helps

stacy - i tink guests wld rather wait awhile for the banquet to start than to disrupt their tummies to eat cakes 1st.. coz aft eating the cupcakes, some mite be too full to enjoy the banquet.. juz my 2cents worthless.. =P

Ohh icic.... it depends on what kind of cupcakes u wanna get. Those with cream will be messy, especially when there are kids around. One thing to bear in mind too is also if guests have taken the cakes, they could be a bit full liao, so will eat less during the dinner....

Oh yes Janf, we both 'great minds think alike'...

Ya, there's this risk of having more food leftover and its kinda wasted as each table is not cheap also.

Hah hah hah, me found out how much is the vase liao ;-P

Now its my turn to feel bad. Haven't gotten him his Liverpool jersey though I have promised it to him liao.

li ann on working trip this wk ya?

we still got our steamboat voucher to be utilised..

btw, how many tbls do yall hv at the wedding banquet?

Yah, Li Ann is away. Think in HK now.

I have approximately 20 tables in Sg and another 18 in Msia. So that makes it about 38 in all.

Why don't we think of a liang cheng ji ri to use the voucher. Plan earlier so that more can make it?

this thread sure goes fast...
my FMIL also saying she will give back all AP to let us pay the dinner..if got shortage, they will cover..it's really nice of them.

Nice flowers Huiz..I did something similar for my FW but i use transparent small glass tank with 12 stalk of roses...

in case u gals dunno..i'm a guy.. haha

Hi ivied,
hehs...dun think his bro will have much headache...coz the gf is that kind...the "very-know-how-to-talk" / sharp kind. She really knows how to say things...(no offense to anyone here, but so far horh, the Teochews I've come across ah...are like that leh. They really know how to talk and drop hints one lorh...). Plus his bro is the favourite son...hehs.

huiz - 20tbls is reasonable.. lesser the betta! at least got time to take fotos and talk to frens.. we had 34tbls then.. wahlau, b4 we know it, the nite ended liao!!

except 22/9 and 25/9, im ok for the rest of the days..

Hihi koxxic...

Haha we all know u r an ah kor. U mentioned FW in your first few messages here. We are a chatty lot so the thread is surely moving fast.

Yes, I have seen a pic of the glass tank and roses in a DIY home deco book before. It is very unique mix of both modern and classical beauty.

Wow, your FMIL is great isn't she. Still willing to top up the shortage. We have to settle everything ourselves....

Ivied - I've seen in website brides replacing the dummy cake with the cupcakes..but puzzled me is how to have the cake cutting ceremony...maybe just yi si yi si?

Ya..better plan early for the steamboat session. Muz make us of the voucher! Hmm..voucher ends 4 Oct, n can onli be used on weekdays.

Ya lor, Stacy, me also have the same question as u.... how to conduct cake cutting ceremony with cupcakes??

The "start late" bad habit of Chinese dinners should really be changed man. It's coz of this that everything has to be so rushed in order to let the guests go home at a reasonable time.

As for the dinner thingy, perhaps we should go for the outdoor charcoal stove the next time? How about end of Sept or 2/3/4 Oct?

really? did i? wedding stuff must have made me all blur and forgetful liao. haha..

20 tables sound good enough to me..i'm gg for 25 tables..hope can fill it up..

ya, she's really a nice mum..very doting, i'm rather glad to have such a nice FMIL..

CSI fan - sometimes it's hard to judge how much parents love and dote their kids..just like me, my bro is the well loved and pampered one..but when comes to my new home and wedding..my parents "er hua bu shuo" came out nearly $15K for my reno and wedding..wat is most impt is u have a blessful marriage and live happily..dun get bothered by stuff before that...

Stacy - Cup cake sounds creative but will it look a bit off? Then again, i really wonder if i should go with cake cutting? so boring cos seems like every wedding i went also have it..

hmm.. I had 30 tables so far, hoping this number does not increase as the date draws nearer.
koxxic, your FMIL is thoughtful. Nowadays banquets are so ex, irregardless of lunch or dinner. BTW, we do know u are the new ah kor.

ya, Li Ann is outstation this week. Think can only catch her when she's back.
Huiz, I can't rem her intentions with the cup cakes. Can check with her later.

ya, we still have a voucher. Why not we make it end of this month? Think the voucher expires on 4 Oct.

Huiz...totally agree with the bad habit again..
Wonder why this people cannot keep their time?
when comes to free things, all know how to q up early early..when comes to wedding, always late..

i still remember i went to one that started at 8.45pm, 1hr 15mins late..so pissed and hungry..but no choice..

no matter wat RSVP we put in card still no use..

I tell u ah koxxic ah kor, u are one lucky dude man. Parents and ILs treat u so well. 15K for renov is no joke leh. U must really thank them well boy!

So how about keeping it to a Monday again, 2nd Oct?

I only have 1 date which I'll be available - 4th Oct...
kao_cry.gif

Stacy - think it's better to have the normal cake-cutting thingy... but if you really want the cupcakes, you can have them as your wedding favours.

Huiz - I hate the "start late" dinner thingy. That's why me and FH skipped the banquet. What we are worried is : our guests will be late for our solemnization which we plan to start on time.

yes...really can't thank them enough...i was shocked they came out with that money...now only hope i can repay them with a grandson..=) haha

u guys are really so fast that I can't catch up. *panting*

wow koxxic, your parents are really generous. 15K is not a small amount. And I agree. Wedding dinners are never on time. It looks like the norm nowadays is to start at 830pm.

2 Oct sounds good to me. But I rem we have one hainan mai getting married near to this date right? BTW, where is our updated list ah? I lost track already.

Koxxic - ya...I think locals here do not understand what is RSVP leh...think most nvr RSVP n in the end, bride n groom have to call up to check.

Huiz - Don't understand why pple can't keep their time. But surprisingly during my bro wed, guest came on time, dinner starts promptly at 8pm. Can't imagine how's mine going be like?? Kept reminding my guy to tell his colleague to be punctual, cos most invites are his colleagues.

Janf - I'm having 22 tables, trying to squeeze to 20 tables. Parents asked for 6 tables.

Ivied - yes, voucher ends on 4 Oct...good memory u've got! Hmm...if end of the month, I'm ok on 26 and 29 Sept (25th is out for Janf). Early Oct, ok with 2 and 4 Oct.

Ah Mais and Ah Kors - we are planning a gathering...do come join us ya.

iViED - buck up! hehe..i'm also trying very hard to catch up..

To me, my parents and FFMIL is best..I always say, nowadays no such thing as daughter married off but rather it's like having another son..and my parents having another daughter..doesn't that sound better?

I am ok with 4 Oct too

Ya, it's really not nice to have guests late for solemnisation coz it'll be really akward to see the place empty empty.

Koxxic - Ya..the cake cutting thingy funni hor...went on stage to cut a dummy cake. M thinking of having a real cake and serving that as desert.

Wawa, did we all just drank a litre of petrol or what? Heehee....

Oh yes, I hope whatever date we have decided on doesnt clash with anyone's big day too!

nellie, i think u have to be prepared for lateness. People can't seem to know what is called 'on time'.

I'm really slow man..... koxxic, I'm trying.. trying...

4 oct is ok for me too. so we can expect a bigger crowd this time?
what about our 2 ah kors?

Stacy, u'll need to get the hotel people to be very fast and efficient (and neat too) to cut the cake up nicely for a few hundred guests for desert leh.