Hainanese Brides, anyone???

lucky for me, i made use of my food tasting as my solemnisation as well. . . nobody was late. went smoothly! and that was in Dec 2005..how time flies..now almost 1 year liao..gg to AD soon..

Stacy - Having a real cake sounds good but do bear in mind, most will be quite filled with the dinner already...cake might go to waste...

stacy - to hv a real cake cost few hundreds too leh.. $$$.. and the banquet mgr gotta cut up the cake in the super sonic speed to serve to all guests as well..

im okie for 4oct dinner..

Ehh ivied, I think unity candles will be more meaningful if you are a Christian. I went to a friends wedding before and they said some prayers or read some verses when the candles were lit. There some kind of simple ceremony to go with it if I am not wrong. Thank you speech is what most people do, but some of the shy-er ones might not like it lor.

Yes, koxxic, we are planning for another gathering. Had one a few weeks ago. Do bring your FW along too!

Hmm..

The next bride in queue is Crystalz who is getting married on 21 Oct...So our gathering doesn't crash with any Ah Mai's big day.

Ah kors - pls give us your AD, so CSI? can update the file?

Janf / Huiz - ya..real wedding cake cost $$...still working on it..see got budget or not 1st.

Ah ya...also my dad is those no nonense kind..he have mentioned to me not to have those fancy funni thingy (eg: ppt slides). He said pple are there for dinner to celebrate n go home! Hee...but my wed pkg comes with animation slides, so he cannot help but accept the fact.

hmm... Huiz, my intention is to lit up the candles to significe the start of the ceremony. My christian friends told me that as long as I do not use the actual unity candles, they are ok with it.

As for thank you speech, I agree that the shy-er ones are not comfortable with the idea. But come to think about it. I find that it is polite to thank those who have make time to attend your wedding and those who had helped you throughout the wedding preparations. This is the time to show appreciation.

koxxic ah kor, do join us for the gathering.

My hotel is lending me the projector FOC, so me cheap skate will take it up... hehee.. bu yong bai bu yong. Will be getting my friends to help me with the slides. And ya, somehow the older folks are really akward and uncomfy about such things (as in open show of affection and feelings). Alamak, loosen up a little mah... hehe

Huiz...good for u..free use of projector. my hotel is charging $350 for usage and rental so don't think i'm using it..

my AD on 9 Dec

talking abt no nonsense.. i oso wanted a no-nonsense wedding but end up full of nonsenses! frens made hub go on stage say i-luv-u in 5 languages.. needless to say, hainanese is one of it.. then played my morning express highlights b4 2nd march-in, whole ballroom luffing like mad tho i cant see their expressions but can hear the luffter while waiting to march-in..

wah koxxic, ur AD super hot! my AD PG juz called to tell me another couple rendered his svc on 9dec.. tink can see many many wedding cars on the road tat day.. keke. =)

janf, Carlton allows u to use the projector before the 2nd march in? The contract states only prior to start of 1st dish. I'm thinking if can cham siong or not.

huiz - i took up PG+VG pkg from my PG and express highlights is part of it.. its a 7mins snippet of morning session like the gatecrash haggling of AP, tea ceremony etc. it to be shown on projector b4 my 2nd march-in so tat guests can see wat happened during the daytime.. yup, our AD PG still maintain good relationship wif us and we hv intro many frens and forum-ers to him.. nope!, we dun collect a single comm from him but juz spread the word ard lor since he doesnt get much review..

ivied - during my time, i got to use the projector twice; b4 1st and 2nd march-in..

wah!! This thread moves so fast! I read until blur liao...

4th Oct, I'm ok.

Ok, ok...the list of BTBs is with me. I better go do it now....

Janf - ya..my date super hot. Many famous feng shui master even predicted people who get married this day will have many kids.."
zi sun man tang"

Koxxic ah kor..nvr mind. U n FW can join us next round. Btw, does ur FW comes in n chat also?? Also, how many kids are you planning to have...since FS master predicted zi sun man tang..

CSI - great u can join us...wanna see your lu san zhen main mu..hehee

Stacy - ya..shall join u all next round! Hope i can find the time..
Me planning to have 2 kids will do..too many quite a stress to my finance unless i can make it big in the next few years then maybe 3 0r 4..hehe

Oh ya, by the time we meet again, I wouldn't be the mad toad croaking and sniffing away like the last time liao.... heehee

Ya koxxic, since your FW is also a hainam mai (hope I've got it right) it'll be very meaningful for us all to come together

<font face="Vrinda"><table border=1><tr><td><font color="0000ff">Bride</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">AD</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Solemnisation Venue</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Recep venue</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BS</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">PG</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">VG</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Janf</TD><TD>4-Jan-06</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>InJack Studio</TD><TD>InJack Studio </TD></TR><TR><TD>Crystalz</TD><TD>21-Oct-06</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>JB Venus</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stepford</TD><TD>28-Oct-06</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Fort Canning, Gallery</TD><TD>Kai Bridal</TD><TD>Ron Lee</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>CSI_Fan</TD><TD>18-Nov-06</TD><TD>Church of St Teresa</TD><TD>Marriott</TD><TD>Amanda Lee</TD><TD>Lyrical Moments</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Li Ann</TD><TD>12-Dec-06</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Silverlining</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>LambZzz</TD><TD>23-Dec-06</TD><TD>Grand Hyatt</TD><TD>Grand Hyatt</TD><TD>Tan Yoong &amp; Divine</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Misty</TD><TD>30-Dec-06</TD><TD>Raffles Hotel Lawn</TD><TD>Raffles Hotel Ballroom</TD><TD>Divine</TD><TD>Lightedpixels</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>iViED</TD><TD>26-Jan-07</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>La Belle</TD><TD>Friend</TD><TD>Friend </TD></TR><TR><TD>Huiz</TD><TD>17-Mar-07</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Silverlining</TD><TD>The Edge</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stacy</TD><TD>24-Mar-07</TD><TD>M Hotel</TD><TD>M Hotel</TD><TD>Flamingo</TD><TD>Yew Kwang</TD><TD>Not getting </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nellie</TD><TD>28-Mar-07</TD><TD>The Arts House</TD><TD>The Arts House</TD><TD>J&amp;C Bridal</TD><TD>Desmond Ho</TD><TD>Mark Yang </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bendi</TD><TD>26-May-07</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Oriental Hotel</TD><TD>Dang</TD><TD>Jon Keng*</TD><TD>Not getting </TD></TR><TR><TD>Violetcrystal</TD><TD>7-Jul-07</TD><TD>ROM Office</TD><TD>Sheraton Towers</TD><TD>Amanda Lee</TD><TD>Sam Wong</TD><TD>Kevin Yap </TD></TR><TR><TD>Priscilla</TD><TD>29-Jul-07</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Holiday Inn Park View</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Diana</TD><TD>4-Oct-07</TD><TD>Merchant Court (Over)</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Raymond D'Nuptials</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mosburger</TD><TD>2008</TD><TD>ROM Office - 22 Nov 06</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Z Wedding</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Friend </td></tr></table></font>latest update on Priscilla and mosburger

our 2 ah kors, sorry ah...dun have your details (at least, I could see it when I went through the archives...eyes blur already). Can leave them again?

You know, I'm more active in this thread than in my Nov06 Brides or Catholic Brides threads...hahaha

CSI - haha..sure no problem at all..

Nick: koxxic
AD: 09/12/2006
ROM: Crown Hotel (11/12/2005)
BS: Black Box (Free lance BS)
PG: ???
VG: ???

What is PG and VG?

Thank you CSI!
U are great! We are so active that you have to put all your attention to this thread. ha ha ha.. and happy that u can make it on that day. So longgggggggging to see u...

haven't seen Crystalz and Stepford in here for a while. they must be busy with the final preparations.

koxxic, your AD banquet is also at Crown? The food is nice.

hey ah mais, I realised that all of us are using different PG. So all our pic will have a different output.

Wow...i haven't logged in and the thread has moved soooo quickly!

I'm free on 4 Oct...so tentatively can include me for the gathering. Just cross my fingers that i won't have last-minute work cropping up.

Janf: I'm interested to see you too! I also have your recommendation of Jacky &amp; my FH have shortlisted him as our AD PG. We're trying to book our PG by the end of Sept.

Does anyone have any ID to recommend? My FH &amp; i are looking for ID for free consultation for design of our master bedroom &amp; bathroom. Will they draw a concept/blueprint for us during the consultation?

Ivied - My PS photographer is same as Huiz..just that my AD PS is different fm hers

4th Oct Gathering @ 7th storey hainan steamboat
1) Nellie
2) Huiz
3) Stacy
4) Ivied
5) Janf
6) CSI
7) Pris

come on...join us!

Me and Stacy are using the same PG, this Andrew guy from The Edge.

Oh great, really looking forward to meeting CSI and Prisc too!

As for ID, I am not too sure if they are willing to draw u the full blueprint before u engage them. Cos sekali they spend so much effort and the customer decide not to use them then they lugi also. Not too sure how this industry works i.e. do they show u samples of their other works first and give u everything when u sign up or they only give u a rough sketh first and then draw eveything upon confirmation. Me like Stacy also didn't use ID so not too sure also.

Hi Pris, do take note. if the ID you talking to ask for deposit for any services, pls ignore and delete him from your list asap. Most ID will show you perspective drawings without cost..

U reno ur master and bath room only???

Koxxic - I didn't engage ID for my resale flat reno, only did minor reno..so got sub contractors to come in to do the job.

Hmm..talking about hse..maybe one day we should do a potluck at one of the ah-mais or ah-kors hse and each of us got to bring a hainan dish? Heheee

Me bought a resale and it is in pretty much of a good condition so I didn't want to spend too much to do it up. Furthermore, it is along the country kinda taste which is what I love, so I just went along the setup but did some touch ups to enhance the country feel a bit.

wow..Stacy/ Huiz...u 2 are so lucky..i got resale also..but condition was so bad..previous owner live like a pig sty..haiz..spend ard $22K to revamp the whole place...

I did most of the concept and design myself somemore..the ID firm is like a contractor to me..but lucky their carpentry work very good..

Pris: if u dun mind, i can see your floor plan for your home and help you with concept and design, i quite gifted in arts stuff..hehe..(bu yao lian hor?) so i save on the design cost from ID..haha

Wow wow, Stacy I love your idea! Potluck is cool. I can cook (but nothing elaborate la) so I don't mind having u guys at my place. But hor, I think can forget about hainanese dish coz I don't think we have a very good cuisine. All I know we are famous for is this "kau sang sah jiu hoo" (some kinda chives fried with cuttle fish), mutton soup, lup (some kinda glutinous rice cakes) and only a few more leh... haha!

My flat was only 5 years old when I bought it last year. The previous owner was a Malay with a maid so the place is kinda well kept. I have this friend who bought a rather old 5 room and it smelled very badly when she first went it

22K is really a lot man. Is it inclusive of furniture? Btw, where is your place and how big is it?

oh..I love kau sang...I can make ngoh hiang (my grandma's receipe). For Lup...are u referring to the glutinous rice with coconut?? That's my family fav..always ordered fm a Simei family when we have grandma's birthday.

Huiz - my place also only 5 years. Previous owner stayed with parents and they kept all sort of rubbish..spoiled cooker, radio etc etc...

place was painted in orange, had a bit of smell..
totally cannot make it.. I re-do the whole house, $22K for resale quite cheap i think..with furniture all is ard $35K

my place in sembawang...4 room flat, 94sqm...

Oh the coconut one is call 'yee bua'... I love that too, but minus the coconut. I simply love the chewy chewy white skin. Lup is more like a salty rice cake if I am not wrong

Good good, we can plan for the potluck after the Oct steamboat (or even before it?) and draw up the menu list as well.... its so exciting!

Heh ah kor, I only spent 9K plus (excluding furniture and all appliances)and mine is an EA leh. Your previous owner is really terok man!

hmm...koxxic, your BS is Black Box?? Is this David Lim, the "sista"? Then it'll be the same BS as bohty...hehs...And Anthony is from Let There Be Light? Are you having any reception for your AD?

Hi ivied,
yah...I'm also longing to see you all...hehs. Think I might need to print out your picture in order to recognise you all manz...hehs...

Hey, if we eat at the 7th Storey again, will we get a voucher again? Then each time it'll be at the 7th Storey? hahahaha...

Hi Stacy, potluck is a good idea! But I can't cook for nutz. hahaha.

I think they are only giving away the vouchers in Sept. Don't worry la, leave the cooking to those who can. Just come along to enjoy yourself

Ok, me gotta zoom off for my Brazilian dinner now. Talk to ya ah mais and ah kors tomorrow. And keep the great ideas and plans (for the potluck) coming!

CSI - ya ya, David, the sista! haha same as bohty? cool, can share ideas then..my FW gown just done up only..i'll be testing my suit this Friday, final gown for my FW should be ready by next week..