Hainanese Brides, anyone???

Hey Nellie!
Happy birthday!!

Your birthday is the same as one of my cloest pals...also my bridesmaid...heehee...

aiyah, why stress? It's your love nest...it's something that you would be staying in for a long while...dun think of it as stress...

Nellie.. sorry i'm about 30mins too late, so happy belated birthday!!!

congrats on your lovenest, yar like CSI says, dont be stress. In my opinion, it's better to take time to dress up the apartment/house rather than try to buy everything all at once.... firstly, it helps with the finances... hehehe, and secondly having furniture and stuff in will enable you to envisage what looks nice and goes with what. Better that way than ending up with a lot of very nice but somewhat mismatched and haphazard looking stuff.

yar... talking about WG, I wanted sheath too... actually I din want sheath until AFTER my first fitting. Lucky you, I cant wear halter cos i'm top heavy and upper body looks really SHORT. Mine is the usual bustier with organza skirt (semi-ballroom, bigger than A line type of shape)... the usual Divine kind of gown.

CSI, what bout yours? and anybody else had their gowns designed?

Thank you girls!!!

Hopefully, I can lose more than 3.5" and then can change from A-line to sheath... hee hee

My lovenest needs some renovation and I'm clueless on what I want.

Ah mais,
My aunt and my mum made hainanese bak chang, share with u all..the big one oh, the small one is ordinary one, whoever ah mais wanna eat hainanses bak chang can email me, aunt said they can make and sell. please go to my blog at www.ayoon.blogspot.com

wow Bendi, sooo nice of you!! I wish I'm back... yum yum... Just now called my grandma and she also mentioned that she's making bak chang this weekend. Must be around 'duan wu jie' now rite? So, did you manage to go down to Hyatt? How was it?

*waves to all other ah mais* Sorry, busy so havent been posting. How's everybody?

hallo all ah mais.. i juz came back from great spore sale.. from 10am till now.. walk until my legs aching away.. haha. hub the most vainpot liao, bot 2shirts!

its Dumpling Festival next wk.. my MIL no make hainanese bakzhangs, instead went katong bot the zhangs.. she said mafan.. keke.

when misty coming back??

I didn't go to hyatt today but went plaza park royal, the coordinator asked us to go down to take a look.didn't like it at all. =) Hyatt still our first choice.
also went to intercontinental, so WOW leh, but then we don't have 25/30 tables, too bad. the deco is soooo nice.

Hi misty,

my WG ah...it's a bustier ballgown. Has all my favourite fabrics - duchess satin, tulle and organza.
Has some detailing on the bodice and around the skirt. heehee...I like the slim cut types, but I'll be having a church ceremony, so I think a ballgown cut would be better...

Now gotta decide on design for EG...haiz. too many choices liao. hahaha. can't decide.

Janf, way to go! I'm also going shopping later, but no sales here. Initially was intending to go to one of the outlet shopping center. But we dont have a car at the moment, and the shuttle bus there costs US$36 per pax.... so I dont think it's worth it loh. Any savings will be neutralised by the bus tickets anyway hehehehe. I'll be back in July for 3 weeks. Going for my fittings and PS then... very exciting!

CSI Fan, your gown sounds lovely! I think slim cut/sheath/trumpet/mermaid are coming into vogue but I agree with my designer.... a ballgown DOES look grander and more bridal. Enjoy the designing process! Cant wait to hear what you decide for the EG
))

Hi Misty,

Yah, I think slim cuts are becoming more popular. But I also think that a ballgown is more grand. Plus, we can always wear slim cuts / mermaids version of other dresses if (IF) we have some formal events to go to in future...hahaha.

Heehee...okie, when I've decided on the EG I'll let you gals know. hehs...

yup csi, slim cuts are in fashion now but i like pongpong gowns more!! i mean, once in a lifetime u will wear a fluffy gown ya.. keke.

gals wana see my PS and AD pics?! *not shy woh* =P

yah janf,
that's true lorh...that's what I told myself too! hahahaha...so probably for EG, will go for mermaid type lah...then the flowy ones...coz next time maybe "boh" figure to wear the mermaid types liao...hahaha

yes, yes! I want to see...please! [email protected]

Me, me! I wanna see also. email: [email protected] .... wanted to ask you last time, but paiseh lah

CSI, both my EG and cocktail dress (for solemnisation which will be held on the same day) are trumpet cut. I'm too short lorh, cannot wear dramatic mermaid cut... will look like a dwarf... hehehe

csi/misty - sent..

csi - mermaid cut nice for EG.. now got fig betta wear.. if not next time becum 1round fig then no need to wear liao.. my EG oso not the pongpong kind.. err.. duno how to describe.. u all see the pics will know..

today bzy day.. gona mug over my work now.. grr..

janf, just saw your picts... you looked really radiant on your wedding day... really lovely. I particularly liked you in the kua

misty - radiant coz got oil on face mah! haha. so my hub got hainan kor look anot?! big and round. haha. my ILs are pure hainanese too..

nellie - no stress no stress ya.. take ur time to do up ur nest if theres no hurry.. whens ur AD?

tink we shd put up the chart of whens each AD which i see in other threads.. but i duno how to do..

btw, sent to nellie my pics liao..

Janf - your pics are very nice. You look so pretty. I like your hairdo on your AD - got plaits, so unique.

my AD is on 28th March 2007. I'm really stressed with the financial part. Renovation is not CHEAP!!!

Morning gals!

Janf, your pics are really nice! You are so sweet & pretty...
Really good pics. You EG is nice. It has that flowy look, even though it's not those pong pong kind or big skirts type...

Yap, I can do up a chart....Let me try to put one up...

goody csi, a chart will be great!! cos sometimes i get a bit blur whose wedding's when as well

nellie, i dont have my lovenest yet... but i understand what you mean. Take it easy, ya?

thks csi.. too skinny in some pics.. then my BoLao so fatz.. haha. all brides look pretty on their big day one.. so all ah-mais here will also be meimei ya..

the Old Bird me start wif details so tat csi can try put up the chart ya..

AD Date : 04 Jan 2006
Bride : Janf
AD Venue : Carlton
BS : Bridal Concept
AD PG : InJack Studio
AD VG : InJack Studio

Ok, this is what I manged to do...not quite good at this. heehee...

<font face="Garamond"><font size="-2"><table border=1><tr><td>Bride</TD><TD>AD</TD><TD>Solemnisation Venue</TD><TD>Recep venue</TD><TD>BS</TD><TD>PG</TD><TD>VG </TD></TR><TR><TD>CSI_Fan</TD><TD>18-Nov-06</TD><TD>Church of St Teresa</TD><TD>Marriott</TD><TD>Amanda Lee</TD><TD>Lyrical Moments</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nellie</TD><TD>28-Mar-07</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>. </TD></TR><TR><TD>Janf</TD><TD>4-Jan-06</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>InJack Studio</TD><TD>InJack Studio </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table></font></font>

Hello my dear ah mais,

Janf - Bank of Parents will be giving us 15k for the reno. I think I need at least 40k. Don't really wish to take a loan from the bank if no choice then have to.

My FH lost so much weight that he's so skinny now, not so huggable liao. This adds another stress to me... sigh...

Misty - I'm trying....

CSI - it's very well done. Thanks

Solemnization/Recept Venue : The Arts House
BS : J &amp; c Bridal Collections
PG : Desmond Ho
VG : Mark Yang

misty - i cant speak hainanese but i understand coz my ma (hainanese) scolds me in hainanese since young so cfm i understand rite?! haha. my hub speaks fluently and my ILs all speak hainanese one.. besides JiakBui (eat rice), Hui (sleep), the rest i 1/2past6.. haha.

csi - the chart nicely done. very good.. got solemnisation venue huh? mine is carlton coz my solemnisation and AD is on same date.

nellie - perhaps can do minimal reno 1st.. then the rest slowly get in..

Nellie,

Oh dear...dun stress, dun stress...really must relax. Break up the renovation/furniture into parts. Get the most impt part done first. e.g. The bed, lights, toilet and kitchen stuff are more impt (IMHO). Other stuff like table, sofa, TV console etc...are less impt. Breaking it up into parts may help you focus better and more motivating also, as each part gets done.
Hang in there gal!

Okie, I'm trying to reduce the size of the font in the tables though....
<font face="Garamond"><font size="-2"> <table border=1><tr><td><font color="0000ff">Bride</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">AD</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Solemnisation Venue</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Recep venue</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BS</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">PG</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">VG</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Janf</TD><TD>4-Jan-06</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>InJack Studio</TD><TD>InJack Studio </TD></TR><TR><TD>CSI_Fan</TD><TD>18-Nov-06</TD><TD>Church of St Teresa</TD><TD>Marriott</TD><TD>Amanda Lee</TD><TD>Lyrical Moments</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nellie</TD><TD>28-Mar-07</TD><TD>The Arts House</TD><TD>The Arts House</TD><TD>J&amp;C Bridal</TD><TD>Desmond Ho</TD><TD>Mark Yang </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table></font></font>

heehee....Janf, I dunno leh, I see some of the other threads also have leh...so I just follow lorh...hehs...if not relevant, we can leave it out lah...

Opps, okie, will continue again during lunch hour. Now got meeting....

CSI, thanks! Here're my details

AD: 30-Dec-06
Solemnisation: Raffles Hotel (Lawn)
Recep venue: Raffles Hotel (Ballroom)
BS: Divine Couture
PG: Lightedpixels
VG: TBC

misty, you will be having wedding at raffles hotel, so nice, my pathetic 15 tables doesn't allow me to have it there. so sad.any photos of the hotel ballroom or lawn to share?

bendi, i dont think raffles have a minimum capacity you hv to meet... but just that if it's less than 20, then the price per table will go up to $1069+++. The ballroom is quite small, more cosy type of feel... didnt really impress me at first. But after looking around at other hotels, we felt that it suited us most, so we went for it lor. Here's a pict of the ballroom.... sorry it's kinda dark.

374434.jpg

hi ah mais,
back from lunch liaoz.
Ok, today I'm a bit more "on"...hehs...

<font face="Times New Roman"><table border=1><tr><td><font size="-1"><font color="0000ff">Bride</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="0000ff">AD</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="0000ff">Solemnisation Venue</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="0000ff">Recep venue</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="0000ff">BS</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="0000ff">PG</font></font></TD><TD><font size="-1"><font color="0000ff">VG</font></font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Janf</TD><TD>4-Jan-06</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>InJack Studio</TD><TD>InJack Studio </TD></TR><TR><TD>CSI_Fan</TD><TD>18-Nov-06</TD><TD>Church of St Teresa</TD><TD>Marriott</TD><TD>Amanda Lee</TD><TD>Lyrical Moments</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Misty</TD><TD>30-Dec-06</TD><TD>Raffles Hotel Lawn</TD><TD>Raffles Hotel Ballroom</TD><TD>Divine Couture</TD><TD>Lightedpixels</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nellie</TD><TD>28-Mar-07</TD><TD>The Arts House</TD><TD>The Arts House</TD><TD>J&amp;C Bridal</TD><TD>Desmond Ho</TD><TD>Mark Yang </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table></font>

Latest update on Misty

okok...janf

CSI, I Bendi, ad on 26 May 06, Solem done, banquet tentatively at Grand Hyatt, BS confirmed Dang Bridal, PG maybe jonkeng, VG nil.

Bendi, dont be depressed lar... I've been through the same thing also. Initially wanted Conrad, but they need minimum 25 tables of 12 = 300 guests. Cannot make it lorr. Then for my Malaysian dinner, decided on a nice hotel le, then suddenly out of the blue, the coordinator emailed us saying they decided not to cater for banquet!!! *qi si wo* So not choice, have to use a smaller place which is not that nice. Cheer up, gal!

oh yar, bendi, just top of my head... have you checked out Four Season or Oriental... I know besides the main ballrooms, they also have smaller function rooms which are just as nice... but not sure if the capacity works out for you. Just a thought

CSI, thanks for doing the chart, ya

janf, your mama scold you in hainanese?? that's so funny. what did she say?? My dad used to call me ''wan2 tu2 hao2'' (i.e. pototo head) kekekeke

yup bendi, i know four seasons can cater to smaller number of tbls but four seasons pretty steep for their prices.. dun kancheong ya..

misty - my ma scold me all sorta words lah! make her really really angry, even vulgarity oso come out! haha. but i muz say hainanese vulgarity not as rough as other dialects..

hehehe... hainanese vulgarity?? not sure i know any leh... even when grandma is very very angry.. the words she use still very mild :P

Hi Bendi,

your AD is 26 May 06? That's just over leh...hehs...or 07? heehee...Dun panic...impt thing is to consider all the venus carefully. Actually, you may never know. Just give the hotels a call first, and see what they can do.

Misty,
no prob lah...this gives me something new to try out...heehee...

sorry,I gong gong liao. is 2007.

those can cater small like 4seasons, fullerton, oriental are way too expensive TO MY HUBBY. he said no and today he said I should have married a doctor who can afford and he felt useless. da*n. make me more upset, fought with him before I left the house this morning then he brough this up. i told him i will still marry him if there is another choice then he blah blah blah

<font face="Vrinda"> <table border=1><tr><td><font color="0000ff">Bride</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">AD</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Solemnisation Venue</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Recep venue</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BS</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">PG</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">VG</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Janf</TD><TD>4-Jan-06</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>InJack Studio</TD><TD>InJack Studio </TD></TR><TR><TD>CSI_Fan</TD><TD>18-Nov-06</TD><TD>Church of St Teresa</TD><TD>Marriott</TD><TD>Amanda Lee</TD><TD>Lyrical Moments</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Misty</TD><TD>30-Dec-06</TD><TD>Raffles Hotel Lawn</TD><TD>Raffles Hotel Ballroom</TD><TD>Divine</TD><TD>Lightedpixels</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nellie</TD><TD>28-Mar-07</TD><TD>The Arts House</TD><TD>The Arts House</TD><TD>J&amp;C Bridal</TD><TD>Desmond Ho</TD><TD>Mark Yang </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bendi</TD><TD>26-May-07</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Grand Hyatt*</TD><TD>Dang</TD><TD>Jon Keng*</TD><TD>Not getting</td></tr></table></font><font face="Vrinda">* Tentative</font>

update on Bendi

Hi Bendi,

I understand your situation. My FH is almost like yours. He'll feel useless if he couldn't give me what I want. I always have to 'pacify' him. Sometimes, he doesn't have much confidence in himself. Guess it maybe due to the last relationship he had.

Well, maybe men had this inferior complex in them if they can't provide most of the stuff in wedding.

did not expect a new thread on hainanese brides. It is good to see so many of you in here. I got married last year in Nov 2006.

Happy wedding to those weddings coming up ya.

hello ah mais,

I've decided on the cut for my EG....

Now, the wonderful designer has come up with a slightly different design for the EG...and I gotta choose between copper brown duchess satin (will have beaded lace applique on it as part of the design) or some luxurious looking, imported red fabric (it has some patterns on the fabric and some texture. this will not have any lace applique on it as the fabric has designs liaoz).

I like both fabrics...I'm so indecisive. Oh no!! such a headache!!