Hainanese Brides, anyone???

wow, CSI.. both the fabric choices sounds lush!! Copper brown is so unique!! Lucky you, spoilt for choice
So what's the cut going to be like?? Share share leh *misty being kaypo*

Hi Blursotong *waves*
So are u the hainanese? or your hubby? or both? :D

oh...heehee...the cut is mermaid cut.

for the cut, both FH and I decided on that. but now we are in disagreement regarding the colour and fabric....

Sometimes, his fashion sense is better than mine...but not always lah. hahahaha.

HI misty, i am a pure hainanese and my hubby is a hokkien. so our wedding was a mix of customs. I had the 'jin dui' that you all were talking about in the other thread. anyone of you planning to have that.

hey blursotong, i'm also pure hainanese and my FH's hokkien.. hehehe. Yup, i think my family will be expecting to have the 'jin dui'. Is it given by the groom to the bride's family? Anyone know what the significance is? May I ask where you get it from?

I am a pure hainanese and hubby is a hokkien too.
I have the contact too. I will post it at the webby tonight!

Is at hainan second street. walking distance from raffles hotel.

Misty, your wedding at raffles, deco so nice. ifI were to have mine(15 tables) do you think is going to be costly?

Hi Misty, supposedly the bride family give the groom side but we put it in our house for 3 days for natural deflation. actually when i collected it, it is already deflated and the shape was not very nice. Not a full round circle. the uncle did not do a good job. i was not very happy about it.

The place is where BenDi mentioned. the coffeeshop name is Hainan SecondStreet Coffeeshop if i remember correctly. Cost me $50 for one pair of dough balls.

OOh... i didnt realise it's supposed to be from the bride to the groom. I think we are doing the same thing, just leaving it in the house to 'bai mei'

Hey Bendi, I just looked through the Raffles Package (last year's but I think it's still the same). I presumed you're asking about usual Chinese dinner rite? Cos they have Western style dinner as well as International buffet, and I dont have those information. For the usual package, anything between 8-20 tables will be priced at $1068+++, more than 20 tables will be $899+++. Then they also have more expensive package which is basically better choices on the menu e.g. abalone. I hope this helps.

CSI, so when will you be deciding the fabric for the EG and when will your fittings be? I'll be going for my 2nd fitting in July when I get back to S'pore, so that they can do the alterations in time for my PS, which is one week later... hehehe

Misty, I have to decide the fabric soon, so she can start work on the gown....but I'm still so undecided! How? How? aiyoh, I'm so jiat lat...
kao_cry.gif
hahahahaha.....

After that then I'll know the rest of my schedule. Haven't booked PS yet, coz FH doesn't want to do!!
kao_cry.gif
He says is too expensive for something you don't flip through a lot. He has a point too...and so, I volunteered to pay for it (since I'm the one who wants it...) but he wun allow me.

CSI, take ur time to ponder over the fabrics... at least when you do make the decision, you'll know it's the right one. I'm more jiat lat ah... just anyhow decide on whatever my designer showed me, and then after that kept thinking about whether it's the right decision

Your FH has a very valid point re PS. I kinda thought the same way previously as well. But both FH and I are very into photography so we are both taking it as a way of documenting 'us in this moment in time'
. I'm having engagement photographs taken in Boston as well... talk about being VAIN

CSI, share an idea with you. We were planning to take a short break to Bali and at the same time getting a photographer there (pseudo-holiday photography pseudo-prewedding PS)... ok, this is INSTEAD OF the boston one lar.... i'm not THAT vain
Anyway, SQ has boarding pass privileges on trips to Bali, can get good discounts on a list of hotels, restuarants etc. There are some pretty good photographers in Bali who charges a lot cheaper than S'pore ones. If you have krisflyer miles, maybe can consider redeeming it for airtix. It's a shame we really cant find the time to do that.

Hello Ah mais!

our thread is so hot now!!! I'm busy sourcing for contractors for my lovenest now. Really stressed up in both financial and time. Have to start the reno b4 the lunar 7th month.

In addition to my stress, I'm also worried if HDB will reject my application (cos the time grace given is 3 months to submit the ROM cert).

Sigh....

this guy named bobby(96951886) is a very "lao shi" honest contractor, he is a very very nice and reasonable priced and "worth the money" contractor I've ever seen, felt so bad for not asking him when doing our reno. do try to contact him for quotation and chat with him, he is really nice and most importantly, honest. He did our reno more than 5 years ago, workmanship now is much much better than ours compare to before. we redo our reno last year and regretted not looking for him. call and tell him is DIANA from WOODLANDS, basically he knows all my siblings,can quote natalie/juliana's sister recommended you, he will def give you a good price.

i can't tell you how low he charged me for my 3 rooms laminated flooring but is really the lowest with all the quality workmanship.

Hi Bendi,

Thanks! Just to confirm, Bobby can 'bao gao liao', right? Meaning from flooring, carpentry, electrical re-wiring and etc.

wah...sydney ah....so shiok! hehs...

Sorry, I have no idea how many hours are needed. But heard from my friends it's usually 4 to 5 hrs. depending on what kind of lighting you wish to capture...

1/2 days is like 5 hours? or 6 hours? Saw many of them with their services, the package is 5,6,7,8 hours. Of cause the price also increasing according to the hours, just afraid a 5 hours is not enough.

Hi all ah mais

I'm a newbie...i'm haineses and my HB is Hokkien...hee..din expect to see a thread for hainanese brides...

My details as such:
AD: 12-Dec-06
Solemnisation: Plaza Parkroyal Hotel (outdoor foyer)
Recep venue: Plaza Parkroyal Hotel (Stamford Ballroom)
BS: Silverlining
PG: TBC
VG: TBC

Read somewhere earlier in the thread about PPR...yeah...initially i was hesistant in this hotel too...the outlook of the hotel and the fact that i've never attended any weddings held there nor heard of any who had theirs there...my dream hotels were all those expensive ones like Conrad *drool*, Fullerton, Raffles, Four Seasons, etc but when we compare price and package...and of course considering our budget...guess going with PPR allows us more cash to get better stuff like bridal package, photoshoot, honeymoon... the wedding show we attended in May was higher than my really low low expectation and so it turned out to be a pleasant surprise afterall...plus Fiona was really nice and accomodates to our freebies requests... the only thing that sets this choice back is the "not so nice" feeling as you walk from carpark to hotel...cos it is linked to a really old shopping center so the smell of the old place and the dim lights sort of discounted the whole mood and experience...but if guests turned up from the main entrance then it is alright...well...we figured that is fine la..as long as the experience from then on is memorable, can le... I've always wanted an outdoor garden wedding but since our parents need us to hold a traditional wedding dinner in hotel, i am fulfilling my dream and desire by holding a solemnization at the foyer by the poolside....with immediate family and close friends only.. and we can have the place for free..and that helps us to save money too...
can use the money to decorate the venue, engage a quartet and get us a nice real wedding cake! hee...but of course i still secretly wish that conrad is not fully booked la..

i see that all of you are at various stages of wedding prep...i've just settled two impt items - banquet location and bridal studio..will be going for designing next fri with HB.really looking forward to it..

BenDi...you going to Sydney for PS? wow...nice! i've seen wedding pics of a friend who did theirs with a freelance aussie photographer in Sydney...the pics are really lovely..blue skies and the clouds look fluffy... btw, isn't Sydney winter now? so it is gonna be cold...bring some heat pads to warm yourselves...else your smiles wouldnt look natural if you are freezing with cold...

CSI fan...dear..dun cry...your FH has a point and we thought the same too...thats why we decided to do without the PS and opt for the AD photography instead...AD is more meaningful to us hence we have decided to engage a PG that is good in taking those candid shots and put them together to create a wedding story... he can also take those posey pics so that they looks like those you take from studio or outdoor. You can also consider engaging Chee Kuang on a consignment job...he charges $650/2hrs/location and then a wedding album $1500 for unlimited no of pictures to create an unique wedding story for you and FH. He is professional enough to be able to take enough pictures for you within that two hours...most importantly...he is really friendly and his works are marvellous...you can visit his website for consideration www.pentaserve.com

Hi Li Ann, welcome another ahmai!!

We will go only in the mid of Nov, Spring turning Summer so not too bad, the last time we went also during this period. Just hope that fine day is not too cold/hot.

Hello my dear ah mais,

I've been missing for sometime cos I had an accident. Quite down on my luck lately...

Welcome Li Ann!

Wish I could have my PS overseas like you, BenDi. Too bad I can't... time & $$$ constraints.

CSI, all brides would want to take lots of pics when they're in their wedding gowns. Have a good talk with your FH and make him understand. Hey, it's once a lifetime! You know what I mean?

Nellie, my wedding super simple we set aside $15k for wedding only, including $4k loss from banquet, hopefully less than that. we spend $2.4k hiring an oz to take photos for us.reasonable la, the airfares so cheap and my cousin ofter us her place.

Hi Li Ann,

Thanks for the link! hehs...actually Chee Kuang is my senior from sec sch days...heehee...but dun think he knows me lah.
My AD PG (Stephen from Lyrical Moments) is also another senior plus a good friend. heehee...
Rates not as high as Kuang's, but getting there...hahaha. Stephen's quite good too, if any other BTBs are still looking for PG. Can consider him too...

Nellie, are you ok? Rest well and get well soon!

<font face="Vrinda"><table border=1><tr><td><font color="0000ff">Bride</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">AD</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Solemnisation Venue</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Recep venue</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BS</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">PG</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">VG</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Janf</TD><TD>4-Jan-06</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>InJack Studio</TD><TD>InJack Studio </TD></TR><TR><TD>CSI_Fan</TD><TD>18-Nov-06</TD><TD>Church of St Teresa</TD><TD>Marriott</TD><TD>Amanda Lee</TD><TD>Lyrical Moments</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Li Ann</TD><TD>12-Dec-06</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Silverlining</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Misty</TD><TD>30-Dec-06</TD><TD>Raffles Hotel Lawn</TD><TD>Raffles Hotel Ballroom</TD><TD>Divine</TD><TD>Lightedpixels</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nellie</TD><TD>28-Mar-07</TD><TD>The Arts House</TD><TD>The Arts House</TD><TD>J&amp;C Bridal</TD><TD>Desmond Ho</TD><TD>Mark Yang </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bendi</TD><TD>26-May-07</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Grand Hyatt*</TD><TD>Dang</TD><TD>Jon Keng*</TD><TD>Not getting </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table></font>*Tentative

latest update on Li Ann

Bendi - that's cheap! but I still can't do so as I have bought a house. And I have my projects coming off and now. Hope I can be like Monkey King, can have 72 of me running different shows.

CSI, I'm fine now. Thanks. Well, I learnt from this accident is that MEN are worse drivers than WOMEN.

CSI Fan...such a samall world!
Stephen's not bad either... how much does he charges? Actually it is a tie between Benny Ang and Chee Kuang.. am considering Terrence Heng from Hurricadia too...but hasnt got time to check out his works at Taka or Upper Room..

Nellie..oh dear...gotta be careful on the roads...guys like to think we gals are bad drivers but they fail to realise that they are often more impatient than us..tsk...tsk...

bendi..november is a nice time to visit australia...weather is comfortable... your pics would turm out awesome!

Hi Li Ann,

Hehs...yah. Even Terrence Heng is a friend...hahaha.
Unfortunately for me, Terrence won't be back in Singapore during my AD. He's only able to come back the week after! hahaha. Shucks manz! So actually, we know a few PG, but my FH is just not willing to take pre-wedding PS. haiz.

Not sure if Stephen has raised his rates...perhaps it would be better if you contact him, [email protected]. Wait I end up giving you wrong info...heehee. But definitely not as high as Kuang.
Stephen has a thread in this forum too...Lyrical Moments.

*raise eyebrows* ooh...you sure know many PGs huh...are you working in this line as well?
I've only spoken to Terrence once before...think i could have woken him up from his sleep in UK..he's only back in July...will meet up with him when he is back...i'm so fickle-minded...can't decide which one to get...me and FH is also just getting AD PG...we love how they package the pics into a wedding album, telling a story...hence it doesnt make sense to have two albums of the same sorts...

Anyways thanks for the link for Stephen...will go heck out his thread ;)

hi Li Ann,

Noope, am not in the photography line...hehs. Just so happen to know these few guys u mentioned only. hahahahahaha....
I'm in the finance industry....

go for the one that fits your budget and style best. A balance of both...

Hello all~

I'm oso a pure hainanese and my FH is a hokkien. Haha
My AD is on Oct 21st
Banquet/Solem: Plaza Parkroyal
BS: JB Venus

Currently confirm my PG/VG and MUA (JB BS dun provide actual day make-up)
Had my photoshoot last month. Coming sunday will be going down to view the album layout. So excited!

<font face="Vrinda"><table border=1><tr><td><font color="0000ff">Bride</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">AD</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Solemnisation Venue</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Recep venue</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BS</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">PG</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">VG</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Janf</TD><TD>4-Jan-06</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>InJack Studio</TD><TD>InJack Studio </TD></TR><TR><TD>Crystalz</TD><TD>21-Oct-06</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>JB Venus</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>CSI_Fan</TD><TD>18-Nov-06</TD><TD>Church of St Teresa</TD><TD>Marriott</TD><TD>Amanda Lee</TD><TD>Lyrical Moments</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Li Ann</TD><TD>12-Dec-06</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Silverlining</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Misty</TD><TD>30-Dec-06</TD><TD>Raffles Hotel Lawn</TD><TD>Raffles Hotel Ballroom</TD><TD>Divine</TD><TD>Lightedpixels</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nellie</TD><TD>28-Mar-07</TD><TD>The Arts House</TD><TD>The Arts House</TD><TD>J&amp;C Bridal</TD><TD>Desmond Ho</TD><TD>Mark Yang </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bendi</TD><TD>26-May-07</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Grand Hyatt*</TD><TD>Dang</TD><TD>Jon Keng*</TD><TD>Not getting </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table></font>

What a wet Friday morning...

Latest update on Crystalz

Hi CSIfan...keke...many seems to know Kuang and agree that his works are one of the better ones...my FH seems to like him alot so i guess we will be signing up with him pretty soon...

Crstalz...welcome on board!
Did we meet at the other PPR thread?
Finds your name familiar...I'm also having my solemization and dinner at PPR... which part of the hotel will your solemization be held? Mine is at the foyer...

hey ladies.... been too busy to come in lately

welcome Li Ann &amp; Crystalz... so nice to see new BTBs joining us!!

I agree with all of you... Kuang's works are simply gorgeous. He has a great eye for details and so talented. However, because our families would expect formal portraits, we decided to go with Kelvin from LightedPixels instead. We like his work so much and he was so accommodating in this emails that we signed up with him without having met him face-to-face! I consider that my best deal so far cos he has since gone pro, raised his rates and his picts just won awards in WPJA

Nellie, hope you're okay. You must be so busy, havent seen you around lately too....

CSI, so have you finally decided on ur EG?!

Li Ann,

ya.. hahaha saw ur reply in PPR thread. kekeke
i will be having my solemnisation during the banquet. After 1st march in. Hehe

Hi Li Ann,

yah, Kuang's works are really nice! If you have the budget for it, go for it gal!
I had my sights set on Kuang's studio...but for some really strange reason, we couldn't find his studio...hehs. Then we met up with Stephen and engaged him.

Misty, yap, I'll be getting the red fabric for my EG. We decided that since I made the choice for my WG, and I made the choice in FH's suit's fabric, let him make the choice in my EG's fabric. Plus, it's also quite romantic to wear something that he has chosen for me...hehs...

CSI Fan... just after the message i posted...we came to a dilemma... we met a few videophotographers over the week but were impressed by none until we met Moomedia...and we loved their works...but they are on the high side as well...thus we will be over our budget if we engage both Kuang and Andrew...sigh...may have to sacrifice one for the other...

Gals...What's your opinion on AD PG and VG?? On one hand it is the moment that we would like to capture and on the other hand, we kept hearing friends who told us dun bother spending so much on something that will eventually be locked in the wardrobe to gather cobwebs...

hey girls, can share with me who is this Kuang and how's the charges like too?

I have no idea where can I find those guo da li itmes, anyone knows?

Li Ann,

yes, that's true...budget is a huge constraint manz...either sacrifice one for the other or strike a balance somewhere...eg. go for your 2nd choice of PG and VG...then at least you can still get very good quality photos and video at cheaper cost - sort of like averaging.

I have the same problem...frens tell me the same too...haiz.

Bendi, you can go to his thread "39 East" under the photography threads...

Hi Li Ann, yes... i hear your dilemma. I guess everybody has their own wants and priorities. Whether it's the fairytale gown, the dream venue or the top photographer... everyone will desire the best for their 'once in lifetime'
. I second what CSI said... strike a balance. Consider what is most important to you and where you are more willing to splurge on. Haiz... i think all brides go through the same feelings lor... if only we could strike lottery... kekekeke

Bendi, I heard from my mum that there's a store in chinatown that specifically sells stuff for guo da li, and the lady there will advise you on what to get according to dialect group. I'm not sure where exactly it is... let me check with my mum and get back to you.. is it urgent?

hi gals and crsytalz!

all brides hv the same headache when come to hv-VG-or-dun-need.. well, for my case, i engaged my PG way ahead and very adamant on NOT engaging VG until 3mths b4 AD and frens went "muz get VG! then can capture it live!!!" wahlau, really headache tat time woh.. weighing between $$$ and 'capture live' (tempting!).. anw, i took up the VG from my PG partner for a neat price of $1.4k+ for both. aft tat, its eat grass-drink-water liao.. haha. so its a matter of work within ur budget ya..

from the old-bird janf here, can get the GDL items from :

Tiao Xiang Store
Blk 335 Smith Street
#01-97/99 Chinatown Complex
6224 8848/6222 2572

i bot my stuffs from this shop. juz tell the lady wat dialect grp and she will gather the stuffs for u. hassle-free!

Dear ah mais,
please be careful whenever you shop for guo da li items, I went there with my parents today. got 2 stores(believe to be sister) [these stores got sell big big traditional basket outside] anyhow take and charge me and never bother to teach us anything. the sewing kit she wrapped up selling me at $8 and few items never place it(normally ppl will sell it as one set) then the below all newspaper! got so shock then happened to pass by another shop behind call K.K Antique Centre runs by a couple, believe from China. Very nice and teach us a lot of stuff, she even tell me I can call her anytime to ask if in doubts.
Jenny Zheng
98483013/94351686
The shop located at the super old market at the centre of Chinatown. (basement got an old foodcourt)
My total damage today is close to $80, still got a few items to buy.

Misty, Went out whole day today and didn't see your msg. Don't think I need more contact. see my total damage already rolling eyes. Let me post the pics here and see if I've missed out anything(that we hainanese must-buy).

Wah... we are so lucky to hv old bird janf here

Thanks for the contact, Bendi. I think we might be shopping for these stuff when I'm back in July... so we can compare notes then :D

Oh..and I have a suggestion. For the ladies considering having both PG and VG, it might be wise to discuss this with your PG... only because I know for a fact that some PG prefers situation whereby they have the whole space to themselves to take photos at the best angles and not have to 'fight' with the VG and trying to prevent having the VG in the photos. Your PG may have some recommendations for VGs he has worked well with before. Otherwise, talk to your PG/VG about your priorities... whether you prefer the PG or the VG to have the best angles
.... just a thought

CSIFan/Misty/Janf...thanks for the good advice...it's good to know that i'm not alone in desiring for the best... haiz... never expect myself to be this im-jim with the wedding details...from the floral arrangement to the wedding cake... no wonder my FH has been betting on 4D and toto heavily lately... :P

Bendi...thanks for sharing details on the guo da li...totally clueless about what to get...

ladies....one more thing... is it funny to cut a dummy cake or if we forgo the wedding cake totally? I think i ever read it somewhere that there is significance of the wedding cake... so not sure if it is ok to take out the cake...
and i am so inspired by Bendi to bake our own wedding cake but my FH scare i'll be too stressed over the cake-baking and if it turned out ugly...it will affect my mood for the wedding day...