Hainanese Brides, anyone???

hilsywong

thanks csy and nellie. I called up Lian Yick, the lady I spoke to sound really nice. Even though we are not sure if their seat covers can fit our chairs... she's willing to provide us with one to bring to malaysia and try. So nice of her! She says to rent will cost around $2.50 per piece... still wondering if I'm willing to pay the extra $$ for something that probably nobody else cares about except me.

zapzap

My pleasure...

If you have the budget, please do so. The seats covers really make a difference. Unless the hotel provide you with very nice chairs (eg, rosewood with carvings...)

hilsywong

Rosewood + carvings chair?! I WISHED!!! That will be so gorgeous... but sadly...nope.. I think if I do rent the seat covers, I might rent table cloth as well... hahaha

zapzap

yes, you'll need...

here's an example, hope it helps

365345.gif

hilsywong

WAH Nellie dearest, thank you for the pics! I agree that seat covers do make a huge difference... hopefully I will hv the budget to have it

I think the colour combi on the first pic looks classy... on the 2nd photo, the contrast between the black and white is too stark, and maybe not too appropriate for weddings. Red/burgendy and black will look real nice tho.. what do you think?

Talking bout colour combinations.. since I'm working on oriental theme, my theme colour hv so far been red and gold. All the wedding stationary have been bought according to this colour theme... but now I'm a bit unsure on dressing up the reception site in red and gold. I'm going to be wearing kua.... will blend into the deco... hahaha. Any suggestions girls? Share your colour theme and ideas... love to hear about them!

zapzap

How about using maroon colour?

Using the 1st pic, replace the green cloth with maroon colour one.

I'll be using maroon colour cloth on top of my white table cloth. I don't know how to dscribe the material of the cloth. It looks like there's 3 tone of colours.

hilsywong

Wanted to share a pic with you girls

365390.jpg

I think this is so gorgeous.. .but my mum is pantang and say I cannot use fan as favors... cos sounds like 'fen shan'. hmmmmm

hilsywong

Nellie, that looks good! Is it provided by your caterers then?

hehehe.. we hijacked the 'hainanese' thread to talk about deco...:p

zapzap

Yup. It's provided by my caterer except for the flowers display. I need to get my own florist to do them.

We can talk anything here in hainanese... ha ha ha

zapzap

the pic you shared is very nice and classy

you're planning to use fans as wedding favours???

i'm still thinking what wedding favours to get... headache...

hilsywong

yeah, I thought the fans are nice way to jazz up the table setting and double up as favours.. but my mum dont like leh....

zapzap

the wooden fans are the most suitable wedding favours for the oriental theme.

well, i guess it's better to be 'pan tang' a bit, look for another wedding favour.

hilsywong

Urg.. I give up. My FH would rather we give edible favors since we're inviting a lot of older relatives and they wont appreciate fancy items, esp when whole family is invited... no point getting the same keychain or whatnot for all 8 members of the same family.. hahaha. Having said that... I was hoping can get something non-perishable.. so can get it out of the way :p

zapzap

now I'm in the same shoe as you, Misty. Can't decide which wedding favour. Wanted something unique but can't find. Everything is identical...

yesterday, went to my aunt's and grandparents' house, wow piang... they all think marriage very cheap... really can't stand sometimes...

zapzap

My FH very funny... he found an ultraman calendar set, wanted it as a wedding favour (cos it's unique) and he thought it's cheap. When I told him the price, he nearly fainted...ha ha ha..

hilsywong

Ya lor, very shang nao jin.. urg.

janf, thanks for the suggestion, but cos I'm inviting a lot of older folks and big families, I think bears might be costly and not too appreciated. Was that what you gave at your wedding?

Nellie, i supposed at the end of the day, it's really dependent on the profile of the guest and the budget lor. I really dun hv the budget to give fancy stuff... and kan4 lai2 kan4 qu4.. seems to be foodstuff that's the cheapest and most practical. But that means I hv to get and pack them just before the wedding..... i think i siao already, I hv the image of exactly how the box containing the favor will be wrapped and decorated, but still dunno what's going to be in it!!! hahahahaha

Ya lor, I'm telling you... i think some pple are stuck in the era where dinner cost $20 per head. I've mentally prepared myself for the meagre angbaos.....

zapzap

Hi Misty,

I'm having lots of relatives too... headache...

Tight budget too... how I wish I would strike 1st prize in TOTO (sole winner)!!!

maybe you want to consider key chains beside foodstuff. It's quite troublesome if you need to pack the foodstuff as wedding favours yourself.

I've checked those websites liao... the key chains in cheery paradise are not bad. Will take them if I still can't find anything unique.

twish

hi gals..

me also pure hainanese. love the secret language ;) not a bride in the near future.. hee.

hilsywong

Hi Nellie, Hi twish... wonder where the other gals hv gone ....

Nellie, same as you, I'm KIV-ing those keychains. Will see how lor... luckily my dinner in sg is sorted by the hotel, else my head will swell like mad.

So, if i'm not wrong, you've your venue, caterer, AD PG and VG sorted rite? What bout BS? Hv you decided on any yet?

So twish, how 'far in the future' will you be a bride then :p?

janf

yup misty, my wedding favours were bears provided by the hotel.. ha. i had 25tbls of relatives+parents' frens!! bochap! as long i like the bears can liao.. keke. try not to spend too much on favours coz at the end of day, guests will not rem who-give-wat-at-which-wedding..

zapzap

My BS is J & C Bridal Collections. Will be discussing my WG design with them this month.

Welcome to the thread, Twish

hilsywong

Wah, you ladies are so early, in opic ah?

janf, i know what you mean... so for the time being i'm going to not think about the favors. Hv decided that if there's really nothing worth getting, then i'll donate the money set aside for the favors to charity, maybe in honor of the guests who attend

Nellie, wow that's quick! Hv u done your 'research' on designs yet? kekeke. My BS is Divine Couture. Had my first fitting in Jan already cos the next time I'm back in sg is in July for my PS. hmm... i think i'm very niao.. now that my dress is done, my taste seemed to hv turned 180 deg and now i prefer a different sihouette :p.. but aiya.. too late liao

kitty_li

wah...I haven't been in this thread for a while...a bit busy lately lah...

Seems like you gals are in high gear in your preps...
That's good, that's good...me still slow...hehs...only got venue, churc, caterer settled...

Wow, Misty, that's really nice...to donate the "favors" to charity. I'm sure your gowns would be very nice...Divine leh. aiyah, we women always fickle minded one...heeheee...it's ok. we just want the best. As time goes by, you would suddenly decide that you like the initial silhouette, and you'll be relieved you didn't ask to change it...hehs.

hilsywong

Hey CSI... nice you see you back!

Update ladies, just had a discussion with FH, we like the favors to charity idea... and he suggested an old folks home in the town, so I think we'll go for it!

Ya lor CSI, I'm so fickle minded... and on top of that, I keep coming up with new and fancy ideas for the wedding... never knew myself to be so creative and imaginative until now.. kekeke. The worst part is, when i think of a new idea.. i will firmly believe it's the best idea EVER... then a week later, i'll give up and look back and cringe at the thought..hahaha... i seriously hope i'm not going mad

janf

misty - BTBs by default are fickle minded lah.. dun worie.. tat time i chg my EG twice.. tink my coordinator nearly wana stranggle me liao.. haha.

twish

Nellie - thanks for the welcome

Misty - haha, i'm buying time to 'psych' my parents that there'll be no hotel banquet :p foresee a uphill task as i'm the only child.

think i'll be freaked out by the prep.. seems daunting. personally, my guy and i prefer something simple and intimate (if poss). we'll see how.

zapzap

I super kiasu mah! Scared projects keep coming suddenly in the later part of the year so I rather have everything prepared early.

I did some research for my WG, BTBs are fickle-minded... TRUE!

Initially, I wanted halter neck, A-line. Then I saw those off shouldered, shreath types... Alamak!!! Don't know which type to decide liao...

Furthermore, I belong to those big-sized category, fleshy fleshy ones. Very difficult to lose weight. My FH somehow just lose weight (easily) and he's so lean now. I feel so stressed now!!!

hilsywong

My dearest 'ah mais',
Jia you! Jia you! hahaha... i wish everybody will get their super-amazing wonderful dream wedding :p

Twish, simple and intimate sounds nice... unlike mine, inviting a lot of parents + grandparents' frens I dont actually know. My grandmum told me she HAVE to invite all those pple from the same village as my granddad *faint*... so hor, in case any of you are descendents from 'ao buay shui', you can warn your relatives they will kena 'bomb' soon hahahahaha :p

Twish, show all your research to the designer and take your time to choose... you still hv plenty of time. And COMMUNICATION is the key... ensure that your designer hv exactly the same idea as you so that your gown will not turn out different from how you want it

AND DONT WORRY about your weight! The dress is made to fit and enhance us, not the other way round...kekeke... a beautiful bride is one with confidence and 'say'.

twish

Misty - hahaaha... think you meant the advice for Nellie! I'm not in the least bit kancheong cos my guy hasn't proposed yet lah!

Nellie - take it easy ok? I'm not the petite type either and used to grouse to my bf that I'm putting on so much weight I probably won't be able to fit into a wedding gown. And he said "don't worry.. I'm sure they have L size". Dunno whether to laugh or cry.. though I know he meant it as a joke.

Bottomline is.. as much as we all want our weddings to perfect, I think it's ok to have some screw-ups here and there :p Nobody remembers a perfect but over-rehearsed wedding.. but 10yrs down the road, your family and friends will still find silly mistakes memorable e.g. page boy running off cos scared by huge crowd. Heh, and they won't let you forget either.. which is a good thing right!

janf

misty - while planning for my wedding, hub's grans oso wana invite China village fellas as well!! we nearly faintz.. endless list until hub told his grans NO WAY! if invite whole village, tink 50tbls oso not enuff..

u gals will hv headache when come to tbl planning.. this one is the mostttt mafan thingy.. i enjoyed the process of planning for my wedding EXCEPT tbls arrangement! haha.

zapzap

Thanks my dear 'ah mais'!

I agree with Janf that table planning is really 'ma fan' though mine is a small affair. I'm having mixture and standing.

zapzap

Dear 'ah mais',

I finally started my exercising regime. Thurs - Hatha Yoga, Sat afternoon - Badminton.

Will be taking up another class on Sat morning b4 badminton.

Now looking for another type of exercising class for Tue. Any 'ah mai' keen to join me?

hilsywong

WAH NELLIE!!! PEI FU PEI FU

I've been talking about exercising for the past 10 years. The most action you've seen me do is go to the gym once a month :p. Dunno why i paid all those membership for.... But have to say, I think yoga really works. I love it! And my aunt who took it up about 2 years ago, lost nearly 20kg within 12 mths doing yoga regularly leh

Hi BenDi, welcome to the 'Hai Nam Dien Nio' family *grin*

hilsywong

Hi BenDi, really lor. It's true! Cos 2 of my aunts and my mum go to yoga classes together. And they're all in their 40-50s le. But the aunt who lost a lot of weight worked much harder than my mum (who's lazy and misses her classes a lot :p). So she'll go for a variety of yoga classes e.g. mixture of astanga, hatha, power yoga, yoga-lates. And she often takes 2 classes one after another and go 3-4 times a week. She also says that since you shouldnt eat for 3 hrs before yoga, she cut down on snacking a lot. All her friends thinks she's gone to those slimming centre.. hahaha.... but it's all thru healthy eating and yoga

kitty_li

Hi 'ah mais',
haven't been in here for a while lorh...

wah, nellie, you are my idol manz! I'm so lazy...considering there are gyms and yoga so near my work place...

Where do you go for Hatha Yoga? I go for my yoga at True Yoga. Located in same building lah...so easier lah. But then, I still never go very regularly...hehs...

Misty, I agree with your aunty abt not eating 3 hrs before yoga. There was once, I made a last min decision to go lunchtime yoga (had eaten late b'fast like 2 hrs before)...wah...almost puked out what I ate manz, when doing those poses. Can feel the food like being moved up (oops...not too graphic, I hope
). Felt damn uncomfortable manz... Yes, it's impt to eat healthy...

hilsywong

Yar yar, CSI Fan, I've felt that before too! Esp when I hv a heavy meal before yoga session. The problem with me is after any exercise session, I'll feel terribly hungry, so i'll give in to temptations and un-do all the hard work
. Wah especially when my gym there sells yummy curly fries .....

Hey ladies, need to pick on everybody's brains. Trying to plan for my PS which will be in July. Any ideas where I shld go or what kind of props will be nice? I would like to make it as meaningful to both of us as possible but difficult since we din spend our courting days in Sg. A few ideas I hv:
1) I bought a tea-dress with puffy ballerina-type skirt. Thinking of wearing it with ballet shoes
. I did ballet for more than 10 years last time.

2) I would like to get one of these paper parasol... costs around US$17 incl shipping leh... wondering if you girls know whether i can get something nice like that in Chinatown??

368381.jpg

zapzap

Hello 'Mais',

My exercise schedule - Join me if you can...

I'm playing badminton at Clementi Sports Complex on Sat afternoons.

Will be starting my "Abs, buns & thighs" exercise class on 20th May (Sat, 11am to 12pm) - Yishun Sports Complex, still got vacancies.

Planning to take up another Hatha Yoga Class in Toa Payoh Central CC, starting on 30th May (Tue, 9pm to 10pm). Anyone interested to join me? Will be going down to register this coming weekend.

There's an Aqua Aerobics class coming up in June. It's on Sun evenings. Still considering to join or not?

Hee Hee... I'm also the lazy type but this time, I got to push myself. All these classes I'm going to attend are "small-scale" ==> not crowded.

Those classes in the gyms are always crowded, can't tahan.

zapzap

Misty,

the paper parasol are really pretty and sweet. I only saw those traditional ones. Think you have to go down to Chinatown 1 fine day to walk around and search, maybe they do have them but hidding in corners which you just can't see them.

kitty_li

Nellie,
your exercise schedule is all over Singapore! hahaha. Clementi to Yishun to Toa Payoh...ok, ok...the Western and Northern part of Signapore...

Misty,
I think Chinatown should have. Try Yue Hwa (corner diagonally opposite Chwainatown Point (blue bldg), opp Hotel 81 (with the canal in between). Or, like Nellie said, walk around Chinatown a bit. Probably hidden in some corner...

zapzap

Hee Hee...

if timing ok, I'll just go for it lor. If anyone of you need company in exercise classes, let me know. I'll see if I can join you...