Greece - Honeymoon

well...i booked my F&E packagae with Dolphine Hellas...am going in Oct07...This month is fine just that it prob be colder and more windy..looking forward to my trip already ;p

Hi Blue, pls kindly send me the info as well?

thanks in advance!

after reading thro the comments abt the ferry rides.. i got kinda scared.. i get seasick quite easily and has to take seasick pills.. i wonder how i will survive the 5 hr trip..
=(

Can any of you who have done your research advise if its a good time to go to Greece in early March? isit still too cold? Thanks!

I went in April and it feels like "four seasons" in a day. Cold in the morning, warm in the afternoon and cooling in the nite. Lots of sun. So pack accordingly.

I am intending to go next yr June.. wondering how soon in advance can i book my stuff?

also, has anyone took a domestic flight instead of a ferry? Any pros and cons?
pls advise, cuz i am quite prone to sea sick..

I just returned from my trip in Greece,(hey thanks blue for yr useful info).
Another gd advice from eyewitness, bring
1)gd shades
2)gd sunblock
3)gd walking/climbing shoes.
The acropolis was lined with marble flooring and the volcano at santorini was full of rocks, quite a challenge if no proper shoes worn.
I took aegaen airline to santorini in the end. Was pressed for time as this was largely a work trip and santorini was our lil treat. Think jetstar with more legroom. For a 25min flight and considering time constraints, it was worth it.

Hi Sarah,

Is the security at Aegaen airline tight?

also, how do i get frm Athens to Aegaen airline?
is it near frm santorini's airport to fira?

might be taking airline as i am pretty prone to seasick.. thanks!

Hi midori,
aegean airline departs from the same int airport. Olympic airways also flies. Can check both websites to compare for timing and price.
Security level same as any int flight but dogs r allowed on board!!! No food though 25min flight only
Hey blue, santorini was nice, din like athens much though.

hey midori, june in greece is super peak season. its summer so is a very popular destination. good hotels will be snapped up quite fast. so if you're thinking of going in june. do book early.

hey guys...we've went Greece for our HM in May 07. 13D12N with another 2N in the air. We went to 3 islands, Mykonos, Paros and Santorini. The islands are perfecttttt and beautiful. We wanted to spend more time on the islands to soak in the culture so don wan to pack too many places to go. We were right with our choice. We got time to slowly explore the islands and get immerse in the culture. really nice. the weather was perfectttt in May. And its still off peak so its not crowded with tourists yet. would strongly recommend!

We stayed in Mykonos Grand Hotel in Mykonos. PERFECTTTTTT...the best best best hotel. so beautiful and nice! we've got a really good room too. must choose a room at the end so you get extra balcony! the extra balcony has 2 deck chairs. sitting there to watch sunset! woohoo shiok!

we stayed in Volcano view hotel in Fira In Santorini. Very very beautiful too and very very convenient! they also have shuttle buses to and fro the town. tho its only 10mins away from the town. the view is beautiful. the hotel rooms very unique. only down side is the bed wasnt very comfortable. but its more original design like greek houses. its just beautiful.

oh and if you're travelling to santorini and you have a driving license. do consider renting a car. we had sooooo much fun driving around the islands. Free and easy. the roads are easy to navigate. the popular places all have english signs so wont get lost.

we booked and planned everything ourselves coz we wanted free and easy and not group tours. we booked air tickets from Zuji.com Most of the time there're promo tickets. But a word of caution, choose reliable airline. If going only Greece, i would seriously recommend SQ. we had a long story to tell about how Gulf air cancelled our flight last minute man!

Anwyay...we booked the land package, meaning all hotel accomodation and transfer with Easy Traveller. There are some other agencies recommended by forumers here. But after emailing all, i find that Easy Traveller is the most prompt in service. They also coordinated our entire trip well.

Except for the Athens bit which is another long story. haha but not easy travellers fault oso.

can check out www.easytraveller.gr

you can choose any package you fancy and modify it slightly. like how you would want to go a certain island before another. or how many days you want to stay on an island.

Hi annpaul,

I wonder if u r still around...
May I know how's the weather in Greece in May? Is it hot & humid? Or cooling? Is it crowded too? Coz my hb & I are planning to go there in mid-May'08. =)

Hey annpaul,

im also planning to go greece for honeymoon in May 08.. May i know how much you spend for the entire trip? Thanks! =)

hi all...sorry i only come here once in a long while. sorry for late reply. May is a really good time to visit Greece. The peak season starts from June where there'll be influx of American and European tourists coming for summer holidays. everything will be more expensive and everywhere is more crowded. May would be a good time to go. for example, we rented car at half price of what it'll cost in June!! Hotels is more available and cheaper too.

the weather is very nice too. on the islands, its more cooling. temp average about 18-20 degrees in the day. but it dips to 15-18 degrees after sun sets. so it gets a bit cold. there's one night while we were there where it dipped to 10 degrees. a bit chilly. everyday we are just wearing what we'll wear in singapore plus bring a jacket for after sun set. the sun in mid day can be abit hot but the wind is chilly so feels very good. for islands like santorini esp cos its high above sea level. but athens was a torture! very sorching hot and not much shade and very little wind. so gotta prepare a lot of sun block for athens.

we spent about 2.5k each on air tickets on KLM. could have been lower if we've gone with SQ right from the start. long story. lotsa trouble given by gulf air which i have bought our tickets at first. cancelled the flight and didnt even inform us till we checked about 2 days before our departure! we had to quickly get another airline coz gulf air's alternative is so sucky. DONT take gulf air! I would strongly advise you to take SQ. its direct and more reliable.

then we both spent about 4.5-5k on all hotel accomodation and transfers.

expenses wise think we spent about 3-4k. on food, car rentals, sourveirs, entrance fees etc.

our trip was 13d12nights.

anyone has any idea which airline will have cheap or promotion flights to Athens? I will be going next year June 08. Currently, the cheapest i came across is thai Airway is $1300 after taxes. Will there be cheaper airfare?

Thanks, annpaul...

Anyone knows of any tour agency that offers good tour packages to Greece? So far I only saw Chan Brothers package - 10days for $2899, taking SQ.

Hi,I am keen to go Greece for HM in March,2008. Anyone been on tour with J3 and which package? please advise. Thanks alot!

hi sysy, not a gd time to visit Greece in mar. no vessel to take u to other beautifull islands. maybe can consider to go in late apr.

Midori...for airfares, you cannot consider price only. The price depends on which airline, transiting where and the period you're travelling. June is the peak season so air fares is already the most expensive compared to other periods. Then depending on which airline and where you transit, will affect the price. Flying direct to Athens, only SQ has flights takes about 10+ hours. Transit in middle east like Doha takes about 16hours. Cheaper than SQ. And transiting in other parts of europe can take as much as 24 hours. thats a lot of time wasted. so really depends on whats worth. thou the ticket may be cheaper but you're wasting one whole day in the air, it works out the same lah. then why torture to be in the air and transit for so long. long haul flight is really torturing.

anyway check out zuji.com. they have promotional airfares now and then. we also booked thru zuji.

i got my airfare for Greece. It's via thai airways and it's $1570 per pax. EXPENSIVE. =(
i've to get the transfers next.. is Easy Traveller better or Dolphine Hellas or Agean Thesauraus? Please kindly advise, thank you!

hi annpaul,

i'm thinking of going to greece for honeymoon in mid may. just wondering if you could email me your itinerary coz it's gonna be my first time in europe, just wanted to know wat to expect and plan. thanks so much in advance!

my email addy is [email protected]

I would like to go Greece for my honeymoon, how is July's weather like? Going there in July is it a no-no? My wedding in July lah.

Annpaul, you must had a good time there, so nice!

yap i agree july would be very very very hot. we were in athens in mid may and its already super duper hot. hit 42 degrees! really cannot imagine summer man. anyway athens isnt worth the time so just one or at most 2 days enough. spend more time on the islands which are lovely. cooler on the islands but would be very very crowded with summer tourists from europe and amercia.

i would think may and sept is the best time to go. pls PM me if you need the itinerary...

hi cadence...i did have a good time on the islands...very lovely! esp mykonos and santorini. very different from one another. we went paros also but its more laid back and less touristy. totally love the time on the islands. but i wasnt used to the diet there. everyday eating the same kind of stuff. forgot to bring cooling stuff like liang cha so got very heaty and fell sick towards the end of my trip. wats worse is we ended in athens which added on to my misery. haha this is the first time i cant wait to go home from a holidays. haha

so advise is do prepare yourself for the greek diet...it gets very heaty and dry. so if you cant take it for the span of your HM, must bring ju hua or yang seng to make liang cha there. haha

midori...have you got your local agent? i'll advise you to email all of them and see which one you feel comfortable. i also did that and i feel that easy traveller is the most prompt in replying. so it gives me more confidence in them. but i also read that some people dont like their way of charging.

there are 2 kinds of charging. one is per item that you choose and the other is package price loh. we wanted something more fuss free so chose easy traveller which comes with packages. but can tweak the package to your liking. but there's no breakdown of cost to each item. so depends on your prefence which agency you'll like.

hi annpaul, can share your itinerary with me? I am planning my honeymoon trip to greece...

however, we are thinking of going in Dec, but reading this thread, seems Dec is not a gd month to good.
my wedding is in Dec...will going in late Apr / May be a long wait ??

hi, i am thinking of going to Greece at end of April or early May. Where can i find reliable travel information on the internet?

Annpaul, do you mind sharing your itinerary with me too? my email is [email protected]

Thank you in advance!

Hihi annpaul, can you forward me the itinerary as well.....thanks.

By the way, how's the weather in Oct? We intend to go during that period.....

many many thanks

Hi Annpaul

It has been a while since I last came in, thanks for the info! This will be useful!
I went to check out Greece at Natas Fair, the temp min at 23 degree, max at 33, wet days at 3 in Aug. Such a huge difference during wet days!

Hi Xinyi, Dynasty Travel has Greece package which includes Santorini as well, you may like to check it out.

In fact, many friends advise me to skip athens and go straight to the greek islands. anyone has any opinion on that?

I've just signed up for a tour package with TopDeck, via STA travel for my HM in Sep.. Going to Athens, but the tour package's main focus is island hopping..

we are flying by Qatar, heard that theirs is one of the cheaper airport tax...

I'm looking forward to my trip in end Sep, hope everything turns out well as we are still pending for Topdeck to confirm the land tour departure date!