Greece - Honeymoon

midori

any recommendation for hotel accomodations in Mkyonos, Santorini ( both Fira and Oia ).
Please help, thanks!

sunqian

Hi Midori,

Hotel Katikies at Santorini is very famous, check out their website www.katikies.com, but very expensive lor..

For Mykonos, last time when I was a student, I stayed at Petinos Nissaki, it's affiliated to Petinos Beach hotel (4 star), you may want to try Petinos Beach if your budget is okay.

paw2gether

plasterbride...dec is indeed not a good time to visit. quite a waste to go all the way there and everything would be closed for winter. too cold to enjoy anything anyway. May would still be the best time. either you 2 go on a short holiday after AD then wait till april/may to go HM or change destination loh. one reason why we choose late april for our wedding is also cos its easier to travel. haha avoid peak season. so our anniversaries would be much cheaper than people whose wedding is in dec. keke trick for people who havent set date yet.

paw2gether

sorry people i dont come it that often. PLEASE PLEASE PM ME if you want anything from me like contact person or itinerary.

btw i stayed in Mykonos Grand Hotel. Its the BEST BEST BEST hotel! absolutely beautiful and comfortable. in fact its considered luxury hotel. if you've decided to stay there, i see if i can find my room number. our room has extra balcony with 2 sun deck chairs. totally lovely.

in Santorini, we stayed in Volcano View. the beds arent that nice but the hotel is very near town centre and its very beautiful too. the whole hotel is very interesting! would recommend too!

midori

need to tip in greece?

lyn12

Hi annpaul,

I'm planning to visit Greece also next yr... possible to email me your itinerary? And are you able to choose yr accomodation for the package from easy traveller? Thks!
My add is : [email protected]

penguinna

hi....may i ask if nov is a good month to visit greece?

my AD is next yr oct, so planning to go for HM during nov time......

can someone share with me the itinenary too? my email is [email protected]..

thks in adv !!

sunqian

hi fea, I personally think Nov is not an ideal month to visit Greece, the peak months are July to Aug, the mid seasons are end May to June, Sep to early Oct. Some of the hotels in Greek islands are not operating during winter months, if you are taking flight from Athens to those islands, the plane is not flying during these months too if I am not wrong, is best that you check first before deciding.

Can I know when is the mth winter ends and spring coming? Somewhere in Jan? May need to wait till after winter to go HM coz AD in Oct.
. Would it be considered off-peak also?

Hi ann, possible to email me your itin? Or any others who had done F&E?
My email's add is [email protected]. Thanks!

Zephyrine - how's TopDeck?

sunqian

Spring should start somewhere in March. Early Oct could be still mid season, after which will be low season until end May. I found this paragraph on the web, you may want to think about whether you still want to travel during this period of time.

"The low season, from October through May, generally has cheaper airfares, lodging, and food prices, but many sights and accommodations have shorter hours or close altogether. At this time of year Greece hibernates, resting from summertime farming, fishing, and tourism. Ferries, buses, and trains run considerably less frequently, and life is quieter."

I will be going to Athens and Santorini in end May, early June 2009, I remembered the weather was pretty hot when I was in Athens and Mykonos in June 1999. My sis went to Santorini in end Sep 2000, both early June and end Sep are mid season, the price is slightly cheaper and sights are not as crowded. I am not sure about the situation from Oct to May.

For itinerary, you can actually search from the internet, type "greece sample itinerary" or if you want to be more specific, search "athens sample itinerary", should be able to find some.

Hope the above helps.

Hi Sunqian,

Thanks for the info. Was under the impression tt winter is 3 mths. Didnt know its that long. *Sob*...

I got an email from one of the Greece agts; they said Mykonos is shut off from the rest of the islands on 17 Oct this yr. But Santorini and 2 other islands (which i cant recall now) still are accessible daily, but longer waiting times in between. But it is a shame to miss Mykonos though.

sunqian

Winter is about 3 months, but you need to include autumn as well, so all in all about 6 months lor.

I love Mykonos, went there 10 years ago with my uni friends and we stayed 3 nights in Mykonos, all of us thought that we should have stayed longer, the place is very relax, very pretty and simply nice... I am not sure if Santorini will be as nice but I think the scenery in Santorini is more dramatic with all the cliffside houses and hotels. We met a retiree couple in Mykonos, they mentioned to us that comparing Santorini and Mykonos, Santorini is more laid back and more suitable for "older" ppl, Mykonos is more vibrant and lively, suitable for younger crowd. Many gay couples like to go to Mykonos, there is a gay beach named "super paradise beach", you can find many gay couples there. Another beach for main crowd is called "paradise beach", both beaches are beautiful with crystal clear water, we spent our time at paradise beach, swim, sun tan, people watching, etc. Oh ya, both are nudist beach. =)

So you definitely going during the low season? Think about it again la, Mykonos is such a nice place.

sunqian

My AD is in Jan 09, HM in June09, also never go straight after that. But it all depends on individual la, some prefer to go straight away. Maybe can consider other Europe destinations? if you don't mind to travel during winter/ spring period (day short, night long). Other European cities are okay, sights and hotels are open.

Italy also quite nice, can go Venice, Rome and Florence.

annpaul

aiyoh i havent come in here for donkey years! and i just realised i used another nick 'paw2gether' in my last postings. haha hope didnt confuse anyone. if you needa ask anything, please please PM me lah. i hardly access here. i still got people asking me for my itinerary. i thought i posted before. hiys...here's attaching something i've sent to people who've asked me before. hope this helps.

We had a free and easy honeymoon. booked our own air tickets with Zuji.com then book land package with a local greek agent, meaning all hotel accomodation and transfer with a few tours thrown in. everything was done online.

one piece of advice tho. DONT leave athens to be last. We didn't plan as such at first but there were some unforeseen circumstances (some major event going on hence there'll be roadblocks) so our athens leg was changed to the last. we've heard a lot of negative feedback and true enough. really spoil all our beautiful memories of greece. People in athens are really unfriendly and rude. Place is conjested and polluted. Only the acropolis is worth visiting. but then its PACKED with tourists and tour guides trying to outdo each other in their guide talk.

Nonetheless e islands are BEAUTIFUL!! =P really love mykonos and santorini. both very very different in appeal.. we also visited paros. which is yet again something very different. we took time to soak in the local culture so only concentrated on these few places. really nice. depending on how long you go, you might want to prepare some herbal stuff man. the food is too heaty for asians i think. but very yummy. got really bad ulcers when we were there. cannot find any remedy. they hardly drink soup. can be quite torturous if you're not prepared. in any case, the best available remedy will be the cheap "ang-moh-liang-teh" aka beer! lol!

we would suggest you rent cars to self-drive on the islands. its very lovely to go wander and explore. its very easy to drive on the islands. but definitely never ever drive in athens!

13D/12N Greek Island hopping...

4 May: Athens - Mykonos
Meet at the airport and assistance for your connecting flight to Mykonos. Upon arrival, you will be met and transferred to your hotel Mykonos Grand Resort in a sea view room. Balance of day at leisure.

5 & 6 May: Mykonos
Days at leisure in Mykonos to enjoy the sun, the sea and the beauties of this unique island. Not to miss the night life Mykonos is famous for.

7 May: Mykonos - Paros
At the indicated time you will be transferred to the port for your high-speed boat to Paros. Upon arrival, you will be met and transferred to Hotel Holiday Sun in a sea view room. Balance of day at leisure.

8 May: Paros
Day at leisure to explore the island, visit some of the hundreds of white churches and discover the innumerous sandy beaches. Not to miss neither the Ekatontapiliani Byzantine Church nor the nearby archaeological site.

9 May: Paros - Santorini
At the indicated time you will be transferred to the port to embark the ferryboat to Santorini. Upon arrival, you will be met and transferred to your hotel Volcano View Hotel and Villas.

10 May: Santorini
Day at leisure to stroll around the village, do some shopping in the famous international shops or just enjoy a Greek coffee with the locals.

11 May: Santorini - Sunset cruise
Enjoy a half day cruise to the small islands of Nea Kameni located inside the caldera, the Hot Springs with the green and yellow waters and the island of Thirassia. Admire from a distance the town of Fira's houses that cling to a steep cliff accessible by cable car or mule and the sunset of Santorini, one of the most famous in the world.

12 & 13 May: Santorini
Free days to enjoy the island and share with locals the calm life and enjoy the Greek and Mediterranean food in the local restuarants and taverns.

14 May: Santorini - Athens
At the indicated time you will be transferred to the port for your ferryboat to Piraeus. Upon arrival, you will be met and transferred to your Hotel Hera.

15 May: Athens
Morning sightseeing tour of Athens including all famous monuments & the Acropolis with its museum. Afternoon at leisure.

16 May: Athens
At the indicated time, you will be transferred to the airport for your flight to Athens to connect with your flight home. *home sweet home*

annpaul

Another extract from a reply to a query...the person wanted to go for 2 weeks:

I think you can still go Athens. You have to transit there anyhow. So may as well take some time to tour the acropolis. I think that's quite remarkable. But half a day is sufficient for tour in Athens i think. You can take some time to tour the square that starts with a 'P' i forgot the name!! haha...But its best to go on guided tour in Athens. Hard to move on your own. So you touch down already, go tour Athens and stay there for a night before moving on to the islands. But of coz depends on your flight timing.

With 2 weeks, you can tour more than 2 islands...depending on how intensive you want your trip to be. But i wont suggest more than 3 islands in the Cyclades...Santorini and Mykonos are a must, i think. They're so unique and has its own attraction different from each other. You can also tour Paros or Naxos in between since its on the way. But i think its either or of this 2 islands. Quite similar. Both are more laid back.

If you're game to travel more, should go to Crete or Rhodes...they're quite different. We didnt wanna change many places so didnt go. I think would have been nice to see those places.

But seriously, after a while, everything looks quite the same there. Same color scheme, same housing, same building...haha same things to see - museums, churches etc.

June-Aug is the super peak season coz its summer time. YES its VERY hot during this period! Summer time loh...can get 40 degree hot. and everything is more expensive coz of the super peak travel season. hotel and car rental. you'll see more tourists too.

May and Sept would be better time to go. Just before and after the peak. But your AD around then, no choice lah.

Yap we booked through easytraveller. I've sourced a few online agents and found that the agent from easytraveller is the most prompt and patient in answering my queries. Not pushy and very patient. And relatively good command of English, meaning can communicate better. A lot of other agents got bad english so a lot of things i asked went unanswered. Very frustrating.

Its considered free and easy package. So they'll book all hotel accomodation and transfers both land/sea. Then also include a couple of guided tours such as the half day in Athens and the sunset cruise in Santorini. The rest of the time is free and easy. You wont get to see any agent.

You can opt for more or less guided tours depending on your preference. These tours are optional. So it'll impact the cost. Choose more tours then more ex loh. I find only the cruise around santorini and athens is worth the guided tour. But even then you can pick up these tours from the hotels or other online operators also. The cruise we had was a tiny boat with other 6 of us. When we were there, we saw huge boats with a lot of people. There are other operators providing these tours. Other times, its quite easy to get around on your own. Can self-drive if you're on the islands. Most places/museums have English translation anyway.

So everything can be negotiated with the agent. How you want your itinerary to be, which islands you wanna go, how many days you wanna spend on each island and what to be included or excluded. A lot of flexibility. Good planning and research is required. You also need to decide how you wanna transfer between places. Domestic flight or ferry. I wont suggest ferry from Santorini to Athens on hindsight. Its 9 hours on the ferry!! faint! Don't need to take domestic flight from Athens to Mykonos coz quite near only.

Well this way of travelling is good for people who like to plan and have their own say on what to do. Can research on tour agencies on their guided tours, see where they go and what kinda things they do, then you can plan your own.

But if all these are too troublesome, it might be easier to just go on guided package. Nowadays tour agencies in Singapore also know our preference for more free and easy stuff. So they have similar packages whereby some days are guided, some days are free and easy. Worth it to check them out, like SA tours.

wah seh i'm so long winded! haha hope this helps!

veeve

hi pple,

thinking of gg turkey and greece for my HM.
Howver, m q worried about the cost.
any1 here done that b4? pls advice on the best way 2 travel frm turkey 2 greece?
planning to go in sept, as read that its more off peak n weather is nicer too.
how much est do u guys spend frm experience?

blue_skies

Have not tried Turkey to Greece before but have tried going from Italy to Greece from Brindisi via overnight ferry. Not sure if they still do the ferry now. Italy is really pretty, should consider it... Florence and Venice are great for people who love paintings, sculptures and beautiful architectures.

Can't advise on cost as I went there before they used the Euros....

leidyornot

Hey all, we're thinking of going greece in Sept for our honeymoon. Gonna do santorini etc etc. Is it easy to get to other countries in Europe e.g. italy? Is it recommended that we do both countries, maybe just one or two cities extra apart from greece, for a 2-3 week trip? Thanks!!

zan_45

Hi veeve lau,

Have you plan on yr turkey n Grecce trip. Able to share the information as i will be planning similar trip as yours. Example: Which Tour agency you when/ /item of your whole trip/Total expenses for your whole trip.

fretzie

Like other posters in this forum, my husband to be and I are considering Greece for our honeymoon trip beginning in November.

The question is it to late, or out of season, to go? Would like to see an island or too, maybe Crete or Rhodes, or anyplace else that may be on the warmer side for that time of year. The fact that many resorts close November 1 is like a big red flag that another time may be better.

Have you traveled to Greece in early November, want to hear all the good and bad about travel that time of year, thank you

pinky2

I have not book anything yet. I will be going with my husband, we going by F & E too...Now getting quotation from a few Greece agency.
Wow! You will be travelling soon, must be very excited!
This is your honeymoon trip?
How many days will you be there and which islands?
I intend to go Athens & Santorini...Still thinking which island to go, Mykonos or Crete.
Do you mind sharing which agency u booked from and the quotation?

guinguin

Hi Pinky,

Yes, our honeymoon
Will be there for 2 weeks. Start from: Athens-Meteora-Mykonos-Naxos-Santorini-Athens

All trip by ferry, but from Santorini we fly back to Athens.

We engaged Fantasy Travel agency. Their response so far very prompt. I will keep you posted for everything after I come back
But so far their services is very good, professional. Their english is very fluent as well.

www.fantasy.gr

By the way, the hotels was choose by us. They help us to make bookings and ensure all tickets booked as well. Apart of Meteora, as we will go Meteora by ourself from Athens, by train.

You may have to book in advance for some hotel as nice hotel may easily fully book. But I guess October should b ok as it getting into winter soon.

pinky2

Are the hotels 4 stars?
How many days will u be staying in each islands n athens?
What do u think of Engima hotel in Santorini?

guinguin

Hi Pinky,

Yes, most are 4 stars, apart from Athens as we won't stay long in Athens.

You can check more in tripadvisor. I guess u have to do some research 1st before deciding your hotel selection.

I stayed 3D2N for all except Santorini - 5D4N.

I saw Enigma Hotel before, is apartment suite. I never take it because the bed is at 2nd floor, where it's not next to the window, and we can't spot volcano view every morn :p But is really up to individual. You may want to search for more or email to Fantasy Travel. They will answer all your questions

pinky2

Hi guinguin,

The hotels which you choose look good!
May I know how much they quote you for the hotel?

Do you think staying in Athens and Mykonos for 2 nights each is enough?

For Enigma hotel KIV, still searching a hotel with good view.

guinguin

Hi pinky,

The hotel we choose consider moderate only le, we intend to choose others but when saw the quote nearly pengz, all about 400-500Euro per night..

The hotels we choose now consider 4 star, so acceptable for our honeymoon :p I will let u know once I come back ya! Hotel rate about 300+ euro..But Santorini slightly more exp. Athens is the cheapest.

Athens I think enough, as only Acropolis. Depends how interested you on historical bldg :p As for Mykonos, do you like night life? As Mykonos expenses is higher, and more for clubbing. But Mykonos town - little venice is the most beautiful place to go.

If you stay 3 days can pop by Delos tour where near to Mykonos. Else I think 2 days is enough bah. We doesn't want to rush our trip thus decided to stay at least 2N to recharge and slowly tour around..

Have you email to Fantasy Travel?

pinky2

I have just email to Fantasy Travel for the quotation!

For Santorini, want to have a cave house style hotel. Any suggestion?
Looking at Porto Fira Suites, any feedback?

For Mykonos, saw from web about this hotel - Marina view apartment.

Guinguin,

Which date are you travelling?
Please keep me posted when you are back...

guinguin

Hi Pinky2,

Dun worry.. they will reply soon. Who u contact with? Or maybe you can contact my agent directly?

His name is Mike [email protected]

I will drop him an email today to ask him to take note of your email

By e way, do you need someone to book everything for you? As for us, we want to make sure everything in order since is our honeymoon, thus nothing can goes wrong on the trip. Especially Greece ferry schedule. As you know, their riots always alive, thus I doesn't want we stuck for the ferry schedule if we purchase ourselves. At least by agent, they will sort out for us like arranging another schedule or etc.

pinky2

Thank you! I have email to Mike, will wait for his reply:p

Will I be too early to book for the trip since I'm going in Oct!

I'm considering Hotel Ikastikies - Fira too. Which suite did you choose?

I don't mind to book everything by myself but like you said their riots always alive, afraid the ferry schedule will affect...

Do you mind sharing your itinerary to me?

guinguin

Hi pinky,

I do not have ferry schedule yet as we don't plan to fix our trip. Thus Mike will check with us what time we want to leave, and he will arrange. Ferry schedule has few in a day, so up to yourself.

Ikastikies I choose Rozaki. They only have 4 suites in total, thus if you want have to book very advance else gonna grab by someone.

October book by now is fine, as Sept-Oct still have tourist visiting there. Book it earlier, be safe better than sorry :p Unless you have more than 1 alternative choice for hotel.

Can you give me your email add?

pinky2

My email : [email protected]

Ikastikies hotel give me a feel of cozy and romantic;p

Rozaki cost abt Euro330, a bit ex for me. So will be considering Ostria room cost euro200.

The differnce is only the size right?

guinguin

Hi pinky2,

That's the reason we took Ikastikies
And we love the dedicated service from the owner, where only serve 4 tenants. The comment of their service was fabulous!

Yup, size and jacuzzi.

I'll email you my itinerary. btw, better check air flight tightly, don book air ticket last min. The fuel oil now crazy. Which airline u intend to take?

guinguin

hi shanawana, welcome to this chat!

Fantasy Travel is in Greece, local agent who can help you to arrange whatever you need