hi blueroti,
good shoes r a must! i'm a budget traveller, n i think the budget choices in greece r much cheaper than most european cities n just as clean.
our "hotel" in santorini wasn't really a hotel at all. we stepped off the ferry n a tout offered us a "hotel in fira" for 25 euros, inclusive of one-way transfer to "hotel". we couldn't find the bus, so we took his offer, which was at a "hotel in fira" n costs only 25 euros a day. the place he brought us to was clean enough but it wasn't a hotel n wasn't in fira. i hv no idea what street it was on even. we asked for directions n took 20 minutes to get there. once we got to fira, we immediately rented a car. the cheap hotel + car turned out to be a good combination, since we could tour the entire island (something that is difficult to do with the reduced bus schedules in winter) quite affordably. i wouldn't recommend the "hotel". we had to pay upfront, which i always thot was really fishy. we never saw the tout or the owner of the "hotel" after our first day, which was even more fishy.
in athens, we stayed in hotel tempi
http://www.travelling.gr/tempihotel/. it's a nice hotel, only 2-3 minutes or so from monastiraki metro (which connects to the airport n the pireus port), 1 minute to the shopping district n 5 minutes to syntagma square. plaka is abt 10 minutes away. tempi is a budget hotel. the rooms r not luxurious, but it is clean, comes with a tv, a small cupboard, heating n aircon n it costs only 45 euros a night for a room with attached bathroom in winter. there's a book-exchange corner. the counter also has a large collection of lonelyplanet guidebooks. u need to make reservations for tempi. by the time we left in late feb, we couldn't get rooms with attached bathrooms without reservations. the owners of the hotel r nice pple. a bit gruff, but they r v. accomodating. we got off the ferry from crete at 5am n arrived at their hotel b4 6am, they still took us in n did not charge us an extra day of rental. but one thing... tempi doesn't hv lifts n it is 4 stories high.
when we visited argolis, we stayed in nafplio. i like nafplio, cos it's a welcome change of the hustle n bustle in athens. it is a tourist town that slowed down in winter, so u don't see tourists, but most of the tourist infrastructure is still opened. in nafplio, we were looking for pension marianna but ended up at pension dalfina. dalfina was 35 euros, while marianna was 80 euros!
the dalfina also has a small kitchenette, which we didn't use.
one note of warning. greek toilets don't take toilet paper, cos it can cause them to choke. it's a rule that applies to all toilets, not just the budget hotel. so there's a bin where u r supposed to dispose of toilet paper. and hor, remember to shower either after sunset or wait until the sun has risen for some time. bcos most greek hotels run on solar heating. it makes sense economically since they enjoy sunshine all yr round, but if u try to shower at day break, u will find that the hot water disappear quite quickly.
as for food, i find greek food quite heavy. maybe bcos i visited in winter, so most menus r left with red meat. the highlights r octopus, calamari, grilled lamb, rabbit, n fish. the greeks grill octopus really well. v. flavourful n not rubbery. the best i had was in crete, which u r unfortunately not visiting. anyway, octopus = highly recommended. they hv giant calamari, so calamari is a lot tastier than in sg. i wasn't a lover of lamb before, but i thot greeks stew n grill their lambs quite well. if u hv never tried lamb, i suggest u start with grilled lamb first. rabbit stifado is rabbit cooked in tomato sauce, it's quite nice, it's tender n u dun get the rabbit taste in it. this was my second time eating rabbits n i thot stifadoes r much nicer than the kebab i had in prague. i like fish in general, especially since it breaks up the monotony of eating meat. the greeks r good at grilling, n their grilled fish is pretty good. if u need to get food fast n cheap, gyros is everywhere. i'm quite meh abt gyros, since some places sell really fatty meat, so eating their gyros is really like eating fats. but there r some tasty gyros, like the one near byzantino in athens. not fatty, not too oily n dirt cheap. it costs 1.50 euros per gyros. greece's most common fast food chain is friendly's. i found mcdonalds only in athens. there isn't much choice in terms of vege. the most commonly found is greek salads, which r a combination of tomatoes, some greens n olives. the dressing is olive oil. u can get fruits in supermarkets.
oh yes, u hv to buy water. it's much, much cheaper to buy water fr supermarkets. but if supermarkets r too far away, there's a minimarket near monastiraki where u can get cheaper water. if u use film camera, stock up on film in singapore!! it costs 6 euros per roll of film in greece!