Grand Shanghai Restaurant

Princess Wong,

I thought so too, but i tried the link again after i see ur msg. Still only one?? anyone can enlighten me?

Hi Princess Wong,

Do email me your pix of your AD too!!! I would love to see them

Thanks! [email protected]

Ahyeow,

That’s wat I heard from my colleague whose sis held her dnr there. The mgr practically asked her to open up the ang bao in front of them. She was so embarrassed and some guest oso hv to help out in opening the ang bao. I dun wan to be in her shoes leh.

hi ah ping yep its IMMEDIATE payment cos GS not under grand copthorne waterfront..even if u stay there u can pay next morning.

dun think the mgr so rude as to ask ur friend open ang bao? cos there are options like using ccard mah..so far the answers i ask them, the way they answered me are satifactory n professional. Wat they can give, they will..wat they cant they will tell u direct lah. Hope this helps

hi sushi (shanghaibelle)

tks 4 ur advise. now considering btwn GS & kings....both r recommeded for their food. price is the same.....headache ah!

Hi PrincessW, can share your pics with me? [email protected]

Dear BTBs,

We paid by card, so can chalk up on points. Overall, I think you have a smallish dinner (20+ tables) I think it is a lovely place to have banquet there.

Only thing is you cannot have montage or video, but for me i did not have one, my sis help me set up the computer for guests to see my photos... very simple. Also another tip, if you want more flowers for the decor, can top up with their florist. They charge very very reasonably.

Hi PrincessW,

Thanks! Lovely photos, I must say you n your guests are all very camera alert

Hi Lizzy,

Yes, you can top up, I think they quoted me less than $100 for a top up of the table floral arrangements.

HI blurblobs,
Table floral arrangements ,you mean for the guests is it?I know the centrepiece for the guest table is nothing much except for a small pot of flowers .So wat did they offer you?Any photos to show?You mean less than $100 for all the guest tables ?

Hi Lizzy,

Yep, for all the tables. The centrepiece for the guests table is just like 3 roses only, very minimal so at first was thinking of upgrading but later my friend suggested something else so I didnt take it up. No photos to show cos I just wanted them to add more flowers and other leaves so it does not look so paltry

Hey Blurblobs,

Thanks! I must give my PG compliments for doing a gd job for us.

Well my videographer sucks, attitude such service sucks.I have loads of unhappy issue w my Videographer.

hi all GS brides..

abt the march in songs..wat songs do u guys use? i know nuts abt chinese music , any sugg? me & hubby intend to march in with their live band but no idea wat songs are suitable. Tks alot in advance!

Hi Princess Wong

I am having my dinner at GS on 26 Mar and gonna collect the cards for printing. Realised they dun provide inserts. May I know if you printed on the card itself or u bot inserts?

If u dun mind, could you share with me your text layout in the card? As the card is narrower than normal invites, am not sure how to squeeze in so much wordings in the card.

Did u use the printers in GS's list?

thanks...

Hi Junebabe,

For our wedding cards, we use printers that GS has shortlisted "T dragon". FYI, we got it printed on the card itself w gold wordings. The experts from card printer will have the template to advice & guide u wat to be added onto the card. We didnt select the inserts cos i m too lazy to do all the inserting. Yes the card is special n smaller than the usual one. GS card is unique.

Hi Princess Wong,
View your wedding pics alreadi.Both you and your hubby looked great!You two muz hav lots of fun that day .

Hi lizzy,

Indeed we really have loads of fun on that day. An unforgettable day of being a beautiful princess on 10th Dec.

How's ur prep so far??

Hi Princess Wong,
Alreadi paid the booking deposit. My coordinator is Sally.Veri nice and cute lady.BS also done.In fact going for my PS somewhere in may since hubby will be abroad aftertat. So got to do early.Like veri kiasu hor...

are u going to select Grand Shanghai as one of ur PS Locations?

Princess Wong,
does the photoshoot has to be on a certain time belt or certain days?

princess, can u share w me ur AD pic?

gals, what kind of live band they perform? do anyone change their menu? i find their 1st dish dont look nice :p

Havent been in here for a long time... super bz with work. On MC today so finally have time to check the thread out... seems quiet though.

Hey Lizzy, my coordinator is also Sally. Ya, she's very nice and friendly.

Ah Yeow, I also having my PS at GS. Sally told me that we can do it in the afternoon on weekdays when their restaurant is closed before they open for dinner. You should do your PS there..when I told my PS and AD photographers that my banquet is at GS, there were very excited and keen about taking photos there cause' they said that the ambience is very nice = ) BTW, when is your AD?

Girl, the live band perform mainly old Shanghai Songs like Shanghai tan. When I was there, also heard some modern songs and sometimes nice band music without any singing. Think you can change the menu if the pricing is equivalent.. quite flexible on that.

Princess Wong, still havent receive your AD photos leh. The last time you sent me had no link to view the photos. Can re-send me at [email protected]? many thanks.

Hi pete, my coordinator only suggested 2 songs that i dun like..wonder any girls here can help suggest wat's appropriate ?

i dun want tian mi mi or the 'moon' song :P

Hi bliz,

wedding is on 11 Jun, coming soon...
my PS scheduled to be 22 Mar...
very excited to have PS at GS... really hope that my photographer can capture the ambience of GS...

Hi pete/ sushi i haven't thought of any songs too... do they have a songlist to choose from.. might make things easier.. at least the musicians are more familiar too...

Hi ahyeow..i didnt ask them. my actual day coming soon quite worried if by then i cant find one..might stick to cd oredi..i tot i can hv the option of having one cd & one live music u see..

princess wong if u are reading this any sugg from u? tks!

Hi bliz,
I will be having my photoshoot on labour day.Wonder if we could still have our photoshoot done in the noon time since its a public holiday?

I'm new here. Any idea how is it like to have a lunch banquet at GS? Me planning to have 1 there but was worried about the whole ambience during the day. any advise.

Hi pete,
Thanks for ur advise. i have change it to a night event. Find that the ambience is completely different when i went down yesterday afternoon. so hubby and i immediately place a deposite on an avaliable weekend.. haha... KS rite?

we have our lunch there as well, and the foods are delicious... ^_^

Hi Ah Yeow, wow your PS very soon... must share your photos with us after that = )Who you using for your PS? Scheduled my PS in Jul.. that reminds me better call Sally to inform her.

Lizzy, not sure also I think as long as its a working day for them it should be okay. check with Sally. ...

Hi ingsq, welcome. Good choice that you have changed it to a night event instead of lunch. Think the night ambience is much more glam for a wedding.

Hi everyone, im seriously considering GS too. Everyone seems to have good reviews of the place. Can one nice pretty BTB please share the details of yr wedding package? Thanks so much. I wonder if it's the same for early 2007 too. My email is [email protected]

Hi Soh Ing Ing, lunch at GS is nice too. But night time has better lighting n more mood.

I having my AD on 11 Nov 2006 at GS. Anyone can share their photos??

Hi bliz...

my BS is J&M... yah, have to inform GS in case they got any function or whatsoever...

think they can let us have PS from 2 to 5pm, Tue to fri...

hi lizzy,

i rem wrongly.. it's 3 to 5pm.. sorry for the wrong info...

hi stephanie,

my AD is 11 June, gown is done, having my ps this 22nd...