Grand Shanghai Restaurant

hi belle,

GS having promo? Then how about us who have already paid for the deposit b4 28th Aug? Why doesn't she tell me about it? My fiance also used UOB credit card to pay for the deposit.

hi sammi,

i also got this news from UOB newsletter only last wk..i guess too bad for us as the fine prints in the newsletter says ONLY sign on the bridal show then we r eligible for the promo?

Hi belle, Thanks for your info. We are planning for Mar 06; will finialise & cfm our AD soon. Btw, i have just read the earlier thread; GSR can only take in max 25 tables. I need about 35-38 tables.

Hv you cfm your BS. I have cfm my BS; now searching for banquet venue. So tough!

Hi shuzuka,

urrr are u looking at weekday or wkend? better book early. Yep GS has only max cap of 25 tables..if u really keen on GS think u have to make ur wedding a 2 DAY EVENT .

Yep oredi cfm my BS

am thinking of having my solemnization at grand shanghai. do they have any private rooms? also can we take pictures in the restaurant itself during my solemnization?

hi princess wong,

have called them. they said they do have private rooms and i can take pics, but only in the private room.

has anyone been inside the private rooms? how does it look like?? is the decor nice?

how many tables do u have, gambit?

can try 4 season window east or west, they can accomodate 6 tables

quite a few restaurants/hotels offer private rooms

hi princess wong,

my actual day is on March 12. Travis from Utopia will be my photographer.

Have u gone for the food tasting? any comments?

hi moo!

i'm looking only at 1 table cos fh doesnt want hte wayang (he says save it for the banquet dinner). that's why i'm having trouble finding a venue. have checked out 4 seasons, equinox, china club etc...

Hi princess wong!

Heard from shirley the pig's trotter (sounds gross) is one of the popular dish..
so i m goin to really take a good look at it when it's my turn haha.

re: Gown, i have just cfm my design today.
paid 2nd deposit..really broke !

hi princess...

Ur gown looks ravishing!! Very tan yoong style...and ur cheongsam is so suitable for GS!!

May i knw how many tables can GSH accomodate?

I'm looking at the venue too..

tks!!!

hi all GS brides,

Any of u having video presentation? GS has got 2 pillars, how do u guys show ur vdo?

I have not booked my videographer but know that GS dun provide projector...if i rent there would be additional cost...sigh..thinking to scrap it totally or think of ways to cut cost.

Hi ! gls to see this thread is getting alive (i started it)

My wedding dinner is 2 weeks away (18 Sept).

have alr done food testing and tel u gals, you will like to food testing and the ambience a lot....

We ended up food testing or 3 hours cos we eat slowly while liscense to all the oldies... very relaxing dinner with family member.

Hi Belle,

FYI, I m not having any proj since my guest will be entertainted by LIVE performance.....Ye SHang Hai~~ Ye shang hai/.....~~ lah~~~

Hi Bluesand,
Which course did u take?? 5+++ or 6+++?
How many family memebers go w u for food tasting.
Plan to have 10 paxs but FT is cater onli for 6 pax wat abt the rest....sigh**

hi princess wong,

so u not having any vdo/ montage shown also?
ya lor the live performances oredi can occupy the guests i guess. Wondering now to scrap the vdo & save $$$ haha.

Hi Belle,
My favourite dish is pork nuckle and
" zhang cha ya". Yummy....

Hi Princess,
am taking 5++ package, ended up having 8 person for food testing and pay 50% of 8 pax.... 300 plus ! Will definately show GS AD picture after 18 Sept.... be patient....:-P

hi bluesand,

wah since ur fav also pork knuckle, think dun sound too bad hor? hee.

Is the food considered OILY? does it go with the usual kinda red wine?

yup, it definately worth a try, if you really don't like it, still can change to something u are familiar (the normal wedding dinner menu), I find Grand Shanghai menu quite unique as in it is totally diff. from usual menu, guess people will either like it a lot or don like it at all...

Think the food is consider Ok, not really oily considering it is a fry pork nuckle !

I brought a btl of red wine which i am considering to use for my AD dinner during food testing, just to get a feel of how it goes with the food, you may want to try this as well...

hi bluesand,

That is a very good idea. May i know wat brand/ cost is ur wine. I hv a few sugg from friends. but really not good in wine & hope i can try some wines before i buy too.

Where did u buy ur wine from?

Hi Belle,

I forgot the name, it was recomended by friend as we r not expect with wine.

Another one which is good (my mum like it as she taste at some wedding dinner)which i use for my KL banquet was Paul Masson, Burgandy. The btl very different from the usual red wine one. I saw it at Cool storage and Carrefour, 1.5 litre only around SGD 28 very cheap. If hotel charge corkage, this is good as packaging big, reduce number of btl.

U can buy one and try to see if u like it !

May be it is 1 litre, now i confuse.. It is red wine, be it 1 litre or 1.5l it is still cheap.

Buy 1 and try at home, let me know if you like it after trying. I can tell you after 24 Sept cos banquet at KL using Paul Masson

hi princess wong & bluesand,

can i double check with u guys abt the WEDDING CARDS provided...

is it ALL BLANK? or R the words printed EXCEPT FOR GUEST NAMES?

Cos if blank one hv to go find printer ley...
heard price range from $.25 to $2.50 per pc dpd on wat u are printing.

How long before the AD do we get the cards from shirley?

tKS!!

hello Belle,

I think it is quite standard that hotel/ restaurant provide cards and you find printer to print insert.

Sg rate should be between SGD 80- 120 for 300pcs ??? and also depend what type of printing you want... I got my print in KL. My KL banquet not provide cards, KL cards ranging from RM 1.60 to 2.50 incl. printing. He only charge me RM 48 to print 200 inserts for Sg one, may be teh "pai ban" almost the same as KL so easy job for him... very cheap.

Grand Shanghai cards really special, thay change it to purple colour with Shanghai bride on first page. My friends all commented it look very unique.

I took cards from Shirley 2 half mths before AD. I think it really depend on individual.

Hi Princess Wong,

I am shortlisitng Grand Shanghai as my wedding venue. Just like to know if I go to the max of 25 tables, will there be blockage by the pillar?

Hope to hear from you soon

hi bluesand,

tks! but i tot the cards are DARK RED? cant rem. seeing any bride pic on the card hee.
maybe i saw oredi forgot. are u talkin abt the new cards or the old design..cos accdg to shirley they have changed the design.

Dear GS Btbs,

I just had my food tasting yest (sat). It was GOOD and enjoyable.
Our favourite dish is pork nuckle Yummy.... something diff.

Happy Btbs

may I know roughly how much is the cost per table for a wedding banquet on a Sunday? Asking on behalf of my colleague who does not have internet access at home. She's interested in booking for July 2006. thanks!

hi junebrides,

GS change the same rates for wkday & wkends..
they got 2 menus:
1) $588+++
2) $688+++

i am new here. Currently considering btw sichuan douhua and grand shanghai.

Just like to get some feedback on the food quality. Cos i dun seem to find any easily ;(

Thks gals!

hello! I just signed up with grand shanghai too.... its really a very nice place! Didn't use their cards though, cos decided to combine it with my church invitation card... Anyways, any feedback on the music??? I was hoping to have more english music.... anybody having wedding at grand shanghai soon? Did you ask anything abt the music?

hi priscilla,

dun think u can change the music..i think it's their 'signature'...shanghainess style hee.
i also prefer more ang mo style..i also wonder if they will keep on singing nonstop or not...i prefer more quiet ambience actually....

i'm considering GS as my venue in june 06 next year... been to the place, must say that it's quite unique...

those who have held their dinner there, got any feedback fm their guests??? do ur guests find it unique or too chinnna for their taste????