Grand Shanghai Restaurant

I'm havin my dinner at GS too. AD is on 25 feb 06. Wanna ask, what are the type of music the band plays? Do you have to tell the band when to play? As in, if you haf a certain program, the band shd be informed when they shd play or not right? I'm gonna dance the waltz....... was wondering is the band good enough to do a waltz piece while we dance?

Hi Priscilla,
Sally told me that you can let the band know beforehand the songs which you want them to play for 1st and 2nd march-ins, during the dinner ,etc,if you have any preference. Of course it must be somthing they are familiar with too lah.If not, maybe you can consider bringing your own CD for the waltz dance.

Belle,
You went for your food tasting already?

hi bliz, not yet to the food tasting..but i think we dun intend to go ley..its not FOC rite? think its 50% or sthing..wat my sister told me was that if u eat for 6 pax or 10 pax the end result might not be same as when the restn serves 200 pax. So ultimately the standard on the AD is our utmost concern lor. (not that we doubt GS services n food standard la)

I went to see Grand Shanghai last week and really love the place. It's abit hard to imagine the march-in and also how guests may be seated so that everyone can see what is going on in the centre. Can anyone share with me their experience there?

Also, my tables are 30-35, wonder if it will be too much for the restn? =p

hi juliana GS max capacity is only 25 tables le. Min 20..think ur 30 abit on the high side. dun think GS can accomodate ..maybe u can call them up to check

Happy NEW Year to all brides .....

If i rem correctly, the max max is about 27.. and one of the tables will not be able to view the stage at all... hope this info helps....

Hi belle,
Ya, foodtasting is not complimentary, but we will still be food tasting cause we might be switching some of the dishes and want to test first. Also,want to show my parents and in-laws the place and experience the nice atmosphere = ) I think you don't have to worry about the quality cause it's restaurant std so whether they cook for one table or for 200 pax, the chef would still be able to maintain the std unlike hotels where they have 2-3 weddings to cater for at one time. That's what Sally ensured me and I think it makes sense lah...

Hi Juliana,
GS fixed seating is 26 tables but they can fit in another 2 tables max for you. So which means 28 tables max.

hi bliz when is ur AD har? guess wat ? i went GS today (or rather yesterday) cos i was at GWC so might as well pop by to ask shirley some questions lor.

Forgot to tell u we have GS voucher to utilise so will go food tasting with it during Feb period
we will most likely be swopping dishes here n there lah.

Hi Belle,

Happy New Year to you.
oops.. if it is 20 tables. i guess i have to forget it. Currently i have found one hotel which offer 10 tables. Grand Copthrone. Any comments? Will you find it odd to march in for a 10 tables banquet?
Now i learn a lot short form here. Now then i know what does FH means . :P

Hi Belle
My AD is 9 Dec. Starting to panick leow cause' alot of things still not settled and it's 2006!Sigh. What GS voucher- how to get them? Huh, my coor, Sally didn't say anything about that. How much ae the GS voucher worth? I think it's better to go food tasting cause at least you could still have a chance to swop dishes to try to get that 'perfect' combination on the menue for your guests. Also,better to have older folks like our parents to share their comments on the food also.

hi anglea & bliz & all GS brides HAPPY 2006!!

Anglea: urmm i m not sure if grand copthorne offers 10 tables..its not grand copthorne waterfront rite? u hv to make careful checks like if the venue is open just for u or any walk in customer (if its a restn in the hotel premise) cos some couples dun really like to see ppl walkin in n out of their own wedding banquet lor..abt MARCH IN..dun think so its odd ur 10 tables are just close friends or relatives? or both? i believe if u invite this special grp of ppl to celebrate for u, they are sure special in both you & ur hubby's heart. its ur BIG day just enjoy that MARCH IN lor..hehe cos u guys are the STAR mah.

Bliz the funny thing is i m not panicky at all ley..urr i guess if yours is dec not to worry lah cos u oredi BOOKED GS rite..once booked then u can bang sim abit..the rest u will find out (here) or thru ur coordinator. I think u got ample time. We got the voucher during the UOB promo lah..only abt $168? i think so cos my hubby is holding the voucher. Food wise have u gotten the menu? if u have..i believe sally did tell u the dishes are sort of arranged for u nicely liao, meaning if got duck then no chicken..u wont see 2 same menu etc etc. However my coordinator did say we can swop here n there lor. i oredi booked 6 pax yesterday but might only bring 4 max to go haha.

Hi Lizzy,
GS alreay provided nice tables and chairs for the solemnisation but for the gazebo they wont decorate cos they lend the place to me at no cost, so I dont expect them to decorate. Also, we wanted to decorate the whole gazebo and even if we rent any ballroom, we still need to pay for decorations. Hope this helps

Hi Belle,
Hey,I booked GS under the UOB promo too!Ya,now I remembered that I still have the voucher to utilise for food tasting=)Yes, I got the menu already but thinking of switching some dishes e.g. the pork knuckles. I am not panicking so much about the wedding dinner but more on other prep comming up like WG and EG (havent gone for 1st appt at GHA yet) and also need to source for AD PG and VG, ID for my new home, and the list goes on and on.... hahha

Blurblobs,
Your pics very small leh..heheh. Can try to upload bigger versions?

haha bliz we actually NEARLY missed the UOB promo :P till i flip my ccard promo leaflet which i normall dun look!! haha so u can use the voucher liao
u dun want the pork knuckle?? heard from previous brides & my coordinator that its the BEST DISH ley. i think i m goin to order that for food tasting haha.

yeah blurblobs tks for sharing the pics but pic very tiny hehe.

Princess Wong, I've booked SWC as BS... but not sure if the photo can do such stylisyh pix like yours... and also... don't think FH and me can pose so well... the two of you so stylo milo!!

When I went to GS, one of the waitress was complimenting your photoshoot...

I'll be going down to have a look at a actually wedding dinner before booking... My AD is in Dec.

What about the UOB promo? Still on?

Is the individual serving big enough? I thought the individual serving seems quite classy and special.... Am not sure if the older folks prefer individual serving or the conventional way... Any comments... Did anyone find out if it's possible to change style of serving?

Hi blurblobs,
Can share with me your Ad pics at GS please?BTW, I went to had my dinner at GS just now,find the music and the singing abit loud . Dun know the guests will find it too chee na or not leh????

hi anyone knows if GS provides any restn MC?? forgot to ask shirley...anyone know if they can arrange for VEGETARIAN meal huh? i got one guests is vegetarian ley..

Hi Belle,

GS provides vegetarian as well as Halal... well that's what Shirley told us when we met her the other day. The cost I think is about $50++ per person.

When is your AD? Mine is in Dec...

hi bubblessugar tks! my AD is in march! arrrgh i m counting down now...my colleague even made a countdown calculator for me haha.

do u know if we need to have a min of 10 muslim or veg? or 1 or 2 pax is fine?

Hi belle,
Sally told me that GS does cater for Halal/Veg for even 1 pax, if need to.
Hi Bubblessugar,
My AD is in Dec too!

Hi Belle,

I think 1 or 2 pax is fine... cos they serve individually... but think you better check.

Sad news for me is that I can't have my AD at GS now
. Future mother-in-law say 9 Dec is a better day for us to get married. Now don't know how... cos GS is booked on that day... and I like the ambience of GS...sigh sigh... how? anybody here can help? I'm looking at around 10 - 20 tables place... but ambience life GS would be good.

Am feeling quite sian now... haiz

hi bliz! i will check with shirley again during my food tasting in feb

oh dear bubblesugar..i hope u hv not placed any deposit at GS ? if not will be forfeited? hv u seen chinos chinos? at orchard parade hotel.. i nearly wanted that if not for some blocking in one of the rooms. i like the ambience u wanna check them out?

Thanks Belle,

No have not left a deposit yet... anyway, I've settled for GS on a weekday... so my dinner's on a weekday instead...

Hey Bliz, are you seating all your muslim friends together in one table or? I was thinking since GS serve individually, can seat them at different tables...

Anyone of your got your own table decoration? I notice they only place like a tiny basket of 2 roses on all the tables. Only the VIP table is beautifully done up... Any ideas?

Belle, if i'm not wrong I don't think GS provides MC. But the singer was the one who announced to the guests for the arrival of the bride and groom.

I'm thinking of doing my solemnisation during dinner, just not sure should I do it before dinner or duringn dinner - after 1st march in.

Anyone care to share?

Hi Bubblesugar,
Ohh, the person who booked GS on 9 Dec is me...but glad to hear that you have already settled for another date at GS. I am still not sure whether I should seat all my muslim guests (4 of them only.) Was actually thinking of seating them at the smaller side tables near the glass windows. Like not very nice to separate them from the rest also. I think it depends on the main dinner menue, if the menu has pork, also quite funny for the Muslim guest to sit at the same table. Headache...I might consider just inviting them to my lunch reception at my church earlier in the day.

I havent seen the actual wedding setup. So not too sure how the floral decor look like. Saw them from the pictures only. Personally for me, my only request is that they have to use fresh flowers and Sally promised me that they will so don't think will spend $ on getting a florist to add on... Anyway, I think the ambience at GS is very nice and grand even without the wedding set up = )

I think you should do your solemnisation before the dinner.you can use the cocktail reception area near the river.. that will be very nice. I think one of the GS brides, Blurblobs did that. After 1st march in will be quite rush as your guests will be busy eating and also you need to gather everyone for the solemnisation segment.

hi i am interested in this restuarant, anyone know if they have a website and where are they located?

What is the cost per table? How is their food?

Hi Davi
They don't have their own website but you can find brief info on the Grandcorpthorne Waterfront hotel website. They are located at King's Centre, Havelock Road. Cost per table start from $588+++. If you want, I can email you their wedding package details and menu.

Hi Xiaopang,
If you are planning to book the whole restaurant, you need a minimum of 20 tables (GS BTB, pls correct me if I remembered wrongly). If not you can still book below 20 tables, but the resturant will still be open to other diners.

Hi Bliz...

Thanks for advice.

Another disappointment for me... now the horrible thing is that there's opposition to the weekday date from my future in-laws... sigh sigh... their concern is that the dinner will be too rush for those relatives who will be working the following day... haiz... headache...

First it's the change of date due to some astrologer's advice and now this... haiz haiz...

It's great that you're having a church wedding... as I do not belong to any church, I won't be having one... do you know of any church who will solemnise if you're not a member there?

Seriously, I'm now kinda stuck with no place for my wedding...

Hi bubblesugar,
Oh dear,why not choose another weekend date then? Does it have to be in Dec?There are many other good weekend dates in this year. Maybe you can give your in-laws a list of good dates to choose so that its easier for you to do the planning at least in making sure that the dinner venue will be available. Good to have backup dates avail on hand so that you don't have to keep going back to the fengshui person to get new dates.

Dont worry, I am sure you will still be able to get a place for your wedding. BTW, are you still planning to hold your wedding at GS?

Erm, don't know of any church which will do that but doesnt matter but you can always solemnise your wedding before your banquet at the restaurant or hotel.

Dear Bubblessugar,

Thanks for all your compliments, including GS staffs. Our AD dinner has really left all the ppl there a special memory. Be it food, ambience, march in, lodging...etc

Hope u have fun preparing urs.

Did anyone of you did any montage during your wedding dinner at GS?I know GS doesn't provide any projector and screen. I wonder if got any space to do our montage there.

hello blurblog,
do u have to pay for the band performance? do they perform throughout the dinner ? any additional charge? the cocktail before dinner is it part of the package?

hi Bliz, can u send me your package?

Hi Charmaine, Davi
You've got mail!

Xiaopang,
No need to pay for the live band perf if your wedding is on a day when they perform at the resturant (i think it's Thur-Sunday). Yes, they perform througout the dinner, with breaks in-in between. Cocktail is part of package. Can i have your email to send the details?

Like to find out the payment at Grand Shanghai? heard that they'll ask for payment immediately after the dinner & dun give any grace period of 3 days. Can someone advise....tks

Hi Ah Ping,

According to the manager, she says have to pay up immediately after dinner.. i asked her not even next morning, she also say cannot.. maybe u like to cfm with the rest of the btb?