Grand Plaza ParkRoyal Hotel

katkohcf

I am also a Parkroyal @ Coleman BTB my AD is 14 April 06. Got to know about the change of management and am now worrying if there will be changes to the menu and caterer.

One of the key reasons I signed with them is cos I heard feedback that the food is really good. I will be disappointed if the quality drop

max0924

Hi sweet kar, how long was your march-in? Im a bit worried that its gonna be very short, I think the march-in is very impt, I wish I could do a long long one, but GPP aisle is so short....

oh no, I may have to go for maximum for my tables leh....really cramp huh?

haahaa...i think i wil be in the same situation as u, my FH will sure be dead drunk by the time the dinner ends, so will not be able to use the jacuzzi, but i love the sun so still can lah

btw, got any pictures to share with us?

hi chye fong, I think u shld not worry abt the quality of the food, coz the food is from sichuan dou hua, not from the hotel. the hotel do not own the restaurant actually. unless they change the chefs too, den may affect.

kar

momo... my pics not ready yet lei. 35 tables really cramp, i didnt knw hw to cut my list, so i jus left it as it was. hee.

oh.. i agree tat the aisle is short... for the first march in, my FH went in first, then i entered and meet him at the center... so we could play the music abit longer.. haha. then we paraded super slowly to the stage.

chye fong, u mean yr AD in 06 or 07? u really dun hav to worry abt food, its positive feedback tat i got frm my frens.

bride2bee

I just wanna check if any of you manage to get 2 night stay in the suite… I told michele I wanted 2night stay but kana rejected. She told me I gotta top up if I want to stay for 2nd night.

max0924

sweet, pai say, forgot that your wedding juz over, i too impatient le....

do u mind me asking if u lost/gain any $$$?

wasabi, when did u sign up for your package? was the a room for your helpers?

max0924

wasabi, was it day room or night? if it is night, u may want to change it for extra night for bridal suite. not sure will they alllow or not :p

i know during their sept show, their perks was very attractive and comprehensive

max0924

actually hor, y do u wanna extend another night? do u have your own lovenest already? coz actually i also tot of wanting to extend another night, but i think think, already have my lovenest, y waste the $$$ so i give up the idea. the only thing that is attractive to me is the jacuzzi, other den that, i also dunno wat i wanna do if i extend the night, its not like as if i m on holidays, the feeling is different.

ppbbxhz

from what i know, they wont give extenstion for the suite one. one of the hotel staff told me that's because they have limited suites, and the next day will have other couples going to use the suite. however, if no other couple hold their wedding on the following day, you will be able to do a late check out.

anyone holding the solemnisation in the hotel before the dinner?

max0924

hi XHZ, i m planning to do my solemnisation in the hotel before the dinner, are u doing it?

anyone doing that? or anyone did that before? did anyone took the outdoor area?

ppbbxhz

mOmO,

i m also going to do it in the hotel. But haven't decide whether to hold it in the function room or at the courtyard. Wat abt u?

max0924

hi XHZ, im very practical one, i will do it at the function room. the courtyard cost me another $500 juz for that 30 min the most, its very expensive. plus it is outdoor, yes it may be nice and romantic, but i dun wanna sweat even before my dinner starts, i will be very pek chek, imagine u in that beautiful wedding gown????? i dun wanna go through it lor

wat abt u? dun be influenced by me ok? im a very stubborn person and i may not know wat i wan, but i definitely know wat i DUN WAN!!!! haahaa

ppbbxhz

momo, hm.. they charging u another $500 for it? i didnt know abt any charges. Maybe i never ask the other time. But they say the function room beside the ballroom can be use for solemnisation with no additional charge (subject to availability). my bf also dun want to sweat outside, so he wanted indoor, but i m thinking outdoor will be more romantic.

greengal, did they charge you for holding it there? i feel that the waterfall is abit too crampy for guest. how u going to do it?

max0924

is there a waterfall? i tot waterfall is at the plaza parkroyal hotel at beach road instead?

yes, XHZ, the function room is without charge, but the outdoor area is $500 additional.

bride2bee

Hi momo, as for the wedding show perks, im not sure if they are still valid. The perks include
1. free flow beer
2. 1 wine per confirm table
3. 2trays of canapes for cocktail reception
4. 45min of 3piece band performance
5. 20person thank you tea reception for helpers

Shld be something like that....

max0924

wasabi, u signed the package during the wedding fair is it? and u never negotiate with them, i presume.

i asked for their package after the wedding fair but still in sept and they did offered me the package, if i were to sign the contract this mth. i m still negotiated with them coz i told them their price abit on the high side and that alot of things are not required.

max0924

actually i never tell her wat i dun wan, i juz told her that out of all the hotels, i like GPP the best but its the most expensive and slightly out of my budget. so asked her to come back with a revised package. all those lunch reception for helpers, band, cocktail reception all were not included and a better price

greengal

wow! suddenly the thread so active!! Hee... no leh, no extra charges leh... but then again must negotiate before signing lo... coz dun really know what else to ask for liao, the package quite comprehensive right? we sign up a year ago liao! haha so dunno if things has changed since then...

Yup GPPR oso got waterfall, is on the ground floor next to courtyard...BUT BUT BUT is open air area! so if rain then no choice hee... i'm guessing the solemnisation very short while only lo, so hold outside nevermind =)

and yes is very small and cramped, but ours only a small affair prior to dinner, with only us, parents and solmniser. so is still ok.

storeberry> easiest is just tell them (recept or concierge) u considering hold ur wedding there then let them sttle for u who to call =)

madrock

Hi Pei Lin,

Look like the price has increased. I signed up with GPPR during last december. Last year weekend package is 838 nett per table.

max0924

hi summer, are u here? i tried to PM u but cant. realised that u are looking at the same date as me. but i have already booked it, so how? wat is your plan?

btw, i realised no other couples looked at that date, how did u get that date?

kar

hi all.. i think if u hold yr solemnisation at the function room beside the hotel, it shld be free... but they'll keep telling u tis... 'subject to availability'... which me and my husband always freak out when they said this. haha.

i had my solemnisation at a church besides the hotel, its the armenian church, after my solemnisation my guests walked over to the hotel... oh.. but i think solemnisation at the courtyard sounds romantic... the bride wont sweat too much la, cos u're only out for awhile. hee.

pinkycat, my wedding was smooth, but loads of stress also.. haha. yeap, the common feedback we got was that the food was superb... so dun worry abt tat.

pinkycat

Sweet, glad to hear that food was good

Momo, mine is Oct 07. I signed up in June n it was 838nett for weekend package. hmm...thot they will increase by 20 for next yr. well...increase by 10 is still not too bad

glad12

im pretty lost at the moment cos is plannin for my AD next yr.. seems like most of the places taken in june..so will hav to go for jul or aug which will b on a fri..

can anyone help to email me wat are the perks tt you all manage to secure fm Vera? cos fm the quote she send me, it looks steep and like alot of tings nt provided.. anyone attended the weddin show and sign up? wat are the perks tt are thrown in? i missed tt cos i was outstationed.. need help urgently...
panic..

thanks gals

bride2bee

Hi all, im considering sattine bridal couture as my BS. Anyone using it as BS? Any comments?

Hi glad, as for the perks for wedding show, u can refer to my post above.

summer1979

Hi gal,

Hahah mine is 10th nov 2006!!
Yeah had great meeting with vera lor.
THou selection of wedding favour not much design thou...but still ok...
On the meeting we need choose table cloth colour...she gv us song list too

jodareth

Summer,

Haben update us ab the flower tinky?
Wat's the flower theme used huh?
Is it still summer theme or DIY flowers deco u like?

summer1979

Hi gals..

Me manage to most of the things except testing of video + cfm tables no.
Table keep increasing lor *stress*
Btw the flower theme..

max0924

hey summer, so our wedding is same day but 1 year apart.

did u choose the flowers yourself or the florist recommend?

remember to show us your pictures ya?

summer1979

Flowers u choose lor.Some common flowers like rose cos i thk more lasting throughtout lor.

Weddin favours: 2 diff types key chain, photoframe,single female bear.

CHeers,Summer