Grand Plaza ParkRoyal Hotel

kar

hi all... i jus had my food tasting, hmm... think they mus hav taken all yr previous feedbacks into consideration, our fish was slighty overcooked... hee hee. We changed a few stuff here and there, other than that the rest were ok.

Btw, anyone recalled if the restaurant manager came and speak to you abt food tasting or came over to intro himself? We felt that the service was kinda bad though it was only food tasting, we were left to sit oursleves until we asked to serve the food, and the serving time was real slow, or are they following the banquet timing? hmm...

Also, we asked if there were complimentary parking coupons, one of their waiter said dun hav, and yet when we were leaving a waitress told us tat we can get complimentary parking coupons frm the reception, so if u're driving rem to get yr complimentary parking coupons. hee.

gregina

Can I just confirm what's their normal package like? Still got free flow of beer for weekend banquets? Coz I emailed Veralyn and she only passed me the package for wedding show one
And it states "Free flow of beer" as one of the wedding show perks...which I presumed they took out free flow of beer from their normal package.

Am not sure if the packages posted on their website is the current ones. Please advise?

gregina

yeap...they did. That's y I'm not even sure if the packages posted in their website are the current ones...

My AD's on Dec 07. sigh...sometimes wished that I can just do away with the wedding banquet.

kar

i jus completed my guestlist, i've more than 35 tables... gosh! feel so sad tat i've to cut my list.

berszewai

hi tattyhug,

yah hor. should have gotten the cards when going for food tasting. but during that time we do not know how many cards to get. anyway will be getting them this month and gotta start printing. didn't know so complicated regarding the wordings. When I told Vera about my comments for the food tasting, she mentioned that we will confirm wif her the final details regarding the food 2 weeks before the banquet.

hi sweet kar,
now ur fish is overcooked? flesh was tough and dry? agree that service for food tasting was poor. no restaurant manager came to intro himself. serving time was slow for some dishes and some quite fast. there was a time when we had 2 dishes on the table.

hi cpl,
one of the plus points for GPPR is that the beer is free flow compared to most other venues. but guests nowadays dun really drink much beer, they'll take more wine from what I observed from friends' weddings. agree that venue selection can be quite a hassle but I feel that the bridal studio experience is worst.. from selection to actually going thru the various stages till the actual day.

gregina

Hi Bernard

GPPR gave me their wedding show package...stating free flow of beer as one of the wedding perks. Which made me wonder if their normal package now is without free flow. If it is the case, then I think GPPR is totally out of my list.

I've lots of elderly relatives...so free flow of beer is really more worthwhile in my case ;)

berszewai

hi cpl,

I have no idea whether normal package have free flow of beer not. U have to check wif Vera. if possible, try to sign up wif them during the wedding show to get more perks n discounts.

saliva

Hi Bernard,

U r right. The normal packages excludes free flow of beer. Their packages offered can be found at their website.

Think most hotels offer free flow of beer as 1 of the perks.

summer1979

Hi pple...

Did anyone went to the road show on 16th sep?
Hear got new theme set up? Is it nice?
Cos my wedding on nov this yr..i happen to attend class that day so didnt manage to went down check it out.

ANyone took any photos of the set up?

Perhap can share via here!!!

Cheers,Summer

doraemon78

Hi anyone of u try to accomodate max of 35 tables ? Is it very cramp n squeezy ? Will it affect the March in .Any photo of the bridal suite ?

bride2bee

Hi, im new to this thread. Intend to sign with GPPR, but not sure how the ballroom's deco will be like. Was told by the coordinator that we can choose whatever flowers we want. But im still quite worried. Cos im not too sure how will it turn out to be. Any pls help me if u know as i need to sign my package this week

jodareth

Yoz Sweet kar,

Congrats.. Your Big day today??
Enjoyz...

Hi Wasabi,
The flower u can choose might be limited. Eg, Have ask whether can change the flower stand, mention it's fixed. Now they have new theme call Rose Theme. But heard previous Summer theme still avail. U might wan to chk with coordinator. Now their florist have change to orchidville.

bride2bee

Hi tattyhug, I was told by the coordinator that there is no fixed theme. They already do away with the themes. We can choose whatever flowers we like. It just that im not sure what kind of limitations are there....I like lotsa flowers in the ballroom, but can they fulfil my wish, im not sure. The coordinator might be able to promise alot, but not sure if they are able to deliver....

jodareth

Wasabi,

U mean we can decide the theme? is it.. i would chk with my coordinator again.

True, coordinator might promise alotsa, whether they able to produce end result, still unknown..

bride2bee

Hi tattyhug, my coordinator did tell me that we are able to decide what theme we like. but im still quite uncertain about it. She promise to let me see some photos once she get them organised.

pinkycat

Hi Sweet & Summer, how's the food tasting? Good? Are U using the summer theme or GPPR hv changed?

Cos mine AD will be in next yr Oct...

bride2bee

Hi Pinkycat, from what I learnt from my coordinator, there will not be any more summer or crystal themes. We will be able choose our own theme. Maybe you can check with your coordinator to get more details.
Anyone who has more details on the deco, kindly feedback us with more details. Thanks.

gregina

I'm going to confirm GPP as my venue soon
Will be meeting Vera tml. Gonna see an actual wedding setup on that night and also will ask her regarding abt the theme issue. Keep ya all updated ;)

bride2bee

Hi all, seems like most of the people do not know of this hotel. I'm feeling quite upset whereby my friends never even heard of this hotel. R u all facing the same problem as well. Btw, my coordinator is michele, anyone have any experience with her?

queen88

Hi Wasabi,

Dun feel upset that your friends dun know abt this hotel. Could be that they have not reach this stage yet.

I was a bride in Oct 2004, time flies. think about it I really had a grand wedding in this hotel . I was very lucky , good food , good presentation , practically everything works perfect for both of us.

Hope you gals can enjoy the best priviledge from the sales coordinator.

Even till now , I go back to hotel for anniversary dinner . HeeHee

pinkycat

Wasabi, dun be 2 sad... oh I thot yr co-ordinator is Vera...I met up wif her to cfm my venue n she's a nice n friendly lady. huh...u mean we can choose our theme...ai yo..headache sia coz i hv no idea wat to use :p

Pei Lin, dun 4get to tell us how's the wedding setup n wat theme.

I went dwn in June to chk out the setup n GPPR is using Summer theme. So my co-ordinater oso nvr tell me tat they gng to chg theme nxt yr...maybe mine is next yr Oct n that's too early for me to ask too..kekeke

madrock

Hi wasabi, greengal

Is normal that not many people heard of this hotel. Actually if u think of it also not a bad thing. At least is a new place and experience for your guests :).

BTW I just have mine food tasting on the 10/10. AD will be in december. Michele is the one that handle my wedding.

bride2bee

Hi all, my AD will be in 3 Nov 2007. But subjected to cfm as we still havent check the auspicious date.

Hi Pinkycat, your AD is in Oct? which date? I wanted to take 20Oct07 but someone else booked it. Is it you? Haha...

Hi Madrock, how is your wedding theme going to be like? Have you decided on the setup of the ballroom??

bride2bee

Btw i think they have changed their favours too. 1. 2 small cute piggies dressed in wedding attired (as its the pig year nx year)
2. shot glass with precious moments printed on it.

I find it quite different from the other rest. Michele also told me that there might be other favours coming up. So excited....Haha

kar

Hi Tattyhug,
Thanks! My long planned wedding is now over. haha.

i mus say the banquet food was really good!!! My frens and colleagues complimented that the food was great! Everything else went on sweet and smooth and i mus really applaud Lewis, he's frm the banquet operations team... he was really professional and made us felt so relaxed. Thumbs up for him!!!

The deco was well done and had a romantic feel, jus to bad, i dun hav pics to show yet. One thing tat upsets us was tat the door gift changed along the way since we signed the package, thought at least we shld be notified when they change, cos we really loved the door gift they showed us when we first sign the package. nevertheless, we're still happy la... hee.

oh... my one of my colleague even mentioned that the service rendered was really good, she told me one of my guest spilled wine over her table, the staff was fast to assit and even tell her its ok and jus relax. hee.

max0924

Hi All, I am planning for my AD to be in GPP, the person whom I met was Michele, nice lady. I made a tentative booking in Nov 07, yet to confirm, shld be confirming by end of this month.

Sweet kar, can I ask if you and your hubby did the separate march in? How was it? What was the response from your guests? Did you use the outdoor jacuzzi in the bridal suite? How many tables did you have?

Pai say, so many qns, wanna sign liao, abit excited, alot of queries to clear.

gregina

pinkycat>> My AD is 14 Oct. Wanted 2 Dec but another couple took up the date :p Are u inside here?? kekeke...

wasabi>> I had a colleague who held her wedding at GPP last year. At 1st didn't heard of the hotel as well but like madrock says, it will be a refreshing experience for your guest lor ;)

Oh yeah, I confirmed liao...Vera says no fixed theme for next year's wedding...it'll be like what kind of colours u wan, they'll do it for you (if they have lar). But she only mentioned roses...so now I'm wondering if the flowers are only limited to roses lor.

As for the backdrop for the stage, it's a standardised thing. I try to draw out here..formatting went haywire.

Anyway, it's something like those pull-up bars with different heights. Taller ones at the extreme end, tapering to the middle to a shorter one.

It's something like that lar...with the flowers hanging or creeping ard the stands lor. Looks not bad
But I don't really find it as fantastic as some other hotels have done.

pinkycat

Sweet!!!!! Thot u MIA ;p....Finally yr big day is over! Tiring horr.....Glad tat yr guests n yr day everything is smooth n great. Well...I guess I won't be worry too much on these ;)

Wasabi & Pei Lin, mine AD is on 28 Oct'07
wow...our dates are quite near to each other wo....I signed wif vera during June this yr cos i scared the date fully booked...very kiasu..kekeke

Wasabi, wow...seems like next yr wedding favours so different frm others...the shot glass wif precious moments sounds not bad hor...

pinkycat

Pei Lin & other ladies, u all know there's another htl - GPP which is located at Beach Road. GPP one looks quite old liao...but I n my hubby find their ceiling is too low...few feets high onli whereas GPPR @ Coleman St is much much better place to hold wedding. At first, I thot GPP n GPPR is the same but later realised it's different ones. I went to GPP in June and we dun quite like it as there hv few pillars. In d end, we choose GPPR cos it's pillarless n we feel comfortable wif the venue n setup.

bride2bee

Hi Pinkycat, our AD is only 1week apart. Haha... i have not decide on BS. Any good ones to recommend? I was thinking of scouting nx year as my AD is still a year away. Hehe..
As for GPP, my bro will be holding his wedding at GPP in dec. The hotel might looks older but the price is also very diff from GPPR. Its like 250cheaper per table. So anyone with tight budget can choose GPP.

bride2bee

Btw any of you started your own wedding blog? I juz started mine.. But seems that its so difficult to customise my own blogskin. Anyone have any nice blogskin to share to me??

pinkycat

Madrock, when's yr AD? Can consider GPPR
rem to ask Michele to show u new wedding favours n post it here ok...

Wasabi, ya...our AD is 1 wk difference. I very kiasu one...during June, I hv chosen my htl n BS as I dun like to do things at last min coz it's kinda rush. U can try J&C Bridal collections @ riverside pt. Prices a bit steep but their svcs is good. Think now J&C gt promotion. I did 3 research b4 I decide which BS I feel comfy wif.

Yes, I agree tat both GPP n GPPR pricing are so much difference cos think GPP bldg looks a bit old n oso inconvenience...

no leh, I hvn't start any wedding blog.

summer1979

I be gg downt to meet Vera this wkend to cfm my door gift/table no/theme used.

Let u gal know the result

My AD is 10th Nov 2006.

Cheers,Summer

gregina

pinkycat>> I booked my BS before I confirmed my hotel...haha, my hubby that time too lazy to go BS hunting with me
so he heng...else *heh heh*

GPP at beach road? Oh, I know it as PPR :p Actually I was going to confirm it as my venue coz of budget. then hubby see me reluctant, so he gave in and we chose GPPR
PPR's ok lar, their Stamford ballroom has a better ambience than Plaza ballroom. Coz for Stamford, can have outdoor reception at the pool area which is quite nice and unique experience. So for the price, it's worth it ;)

summer>> yeah yeah, waiting for u to update us :p

max0924

hi pinkycat, the other hotel at beach road, initialy they were of the same management, but as of last weekend, the newspaper reported that they had sold away the GPP at coleman st to another hotel management.

pinkycat

momo, ya...when I signed up wif GPPR, Vera did mention abt Htl mgmt. hmm...I guess changing htl mgmt won't affect much

Pei Lin, so u hv oredi cfm & sign wif GPPR? Next yr, they gng to increase the prices by $20 to $30 per table. I lucky cos I oredi sign up wif Vera

kar

hi momo...

yap. me and hubby did a seperate march in. It was fun and suprising to the guests, i find it rather unique. hee.

we only used the outdoor jacuzzi in the late morning, it was super hot and i hate to tan, so jus used it for awhile. thought could use after the dinner, but hubby was super drunk. ha.

oh, i had 33+2 tables, i maxed my tables. i filled 33 tables, the day before we wanted to change to 32+2 tables but Vera said too last min, so cant be done. In the end, the ballroom was super cramp, my guests did mention tat it wasnt spacious enough. So gotta really plan yr guestlist well...

gregina

hi momo, oh?? they sold it to other ppl? No wonder changed name...

pinkycat, already told Vera I wanna confirm
Now waiting for her to draft out the contract for me...heehee, my price should be the wedding show package price :p

kar, wah....33+2 tables? that night I went down, the couple got 30+2 already quite crowded. can't imagine it with 35 tables :p I'm gonna die die keep within 28+2!