Grand Plaza ParkRoyal Hotel

madrock

Aiyo, why everyone left the hotel? I am under Karen and she told me Michelle will be taking over. Anyone got contact with her b4?

kar

yah... seems so panicky tat everyone's leaving, feel a little low in confidence now. haiz. yest even called the hotel to ask if i can collect my cards today, they said will call me back and they didnt, haiz, so not promising.

Madrock, my banquet has been take over by michelle too, heard she's the banquet manager, hope she'll be of great help to us.

starcom

you need to give them at least 2 to 3 working days to prepare the cards la. Dun expect you called, and everything is ready.

Also, I think 1 month before AD to collect cards is kind of too late. Imagine you still have to fold, write, insert and send them. I am thinking the guests should have received the invites at least 2 weeks before the dinner.

Sometimes, I am just thinking why we have always so high expectation.

minkey

I sent them an email last week informing them that I would like to arrange for food tasting & collection of wedding cards. My wedding on 10oct.Veralyn replied & said they will send me the card samples & the form for food tasting. I have received them yesterday liao. I think for friends, its gd to sent the cards out earlier. n as for relatives, its during guo da li..anyone used the printer they linked up wif?

kar

starcom, we hav high expectations cos its our wedding ma, to us its an impt occasion, to them its a job, so of cos we hope everything will gel in well. Oh, Vera jus called me today, asked how many cards i need and i can collect them tmr already. hee. i plan to distrubute cards 3 wks before lei... hee.

minkeyttots, our wedding is jus 4 days apart, think we shld be gettin our letters soon, mine coord is Vera too! hee.

summer1979

I be gg down for food tasting this sun (16th).
I am taking gold pkg food, any food not nice?
If change need top up money?
Will co-dinator be there as well?

cheers,summer

b2b06

Has anyone used their crystal theme? Is it nice?
How's the food?
Has anyone done their solemnization during dinner?

minkey

hi sweet kar, i received my samples liao...hv nt reply yet.

hi summer, there will be some top-up dependg on wat u r changg to..i hv asked them before..to change one of the dish to a whole roast suckling pig will costs about $80~$100 extra..ex hor...i m takg gold package too..

hi b2b06, i hv nt decided on the theme yet..but it seems tt is quite nice..think there is some postg on the layout. u can try to check out.

heard from others the food is good. =)

summer1979

Thks for the inform.
Me now gg for food tasting liao..in the aftern
shall get back my finding once tried to food.

Any other pple who manage to capture the ball room with another theme?

Cheers,Summer

summer1979

Finally food tasting is done.

Most of the food under GOLD PKG is fine & yummy.

Except the 'mian sian with pork + prawn (TOO SALTY) & dessert (TOO SWEET for the glutinous Balls)

I got no complains jus hope the standard be same as actual day...

Cheers,Summer

berszewai

I have arranged my food tasting to be in the first week of Aug. For those of you that did not take the shark's fin soup, may I know what soups did you all changed to?

My new coordinator is Veralyn. Is she good?

b2b06

can anyone advice me if our wedding is in nov / dec, when would we be asked for the food tasting?

I've spoken to Vera before, she sounded friendly and she's been very accommodating to our requests.

For those who have held your wedding there, how is the crystal theme? Their service is it good?

Thank you so much!!

jodareth

Yo Sze Wai,
U going for your food tasting too.. Mine mid aug.. U not taking shark fin? U might wan to email Vera to check whether any other soup to subsitute

minkeyttots,
How's ur food tasting? IS the theme still crystal? Wedding favour lei?

berszewai

Hi tattyhug,

yup. we do not want to serve shark's fin as we feel its too cruel. we have also requested the no shark's fin postcards. Vera suggested some fish maw, sea cucumber soup. will taste it during the food tasting. hope its good.

jodareth

Sze Wai,

Oic.. u guys r so environment friendly.. But our old folk say it's a muz have..
Do u get any form to select what u want for food tasting? When's urs?

summer1979

Hi Tattyhug,

I suppose when u sign up for yr pkg,u shud get to choose the pkg (silver/gold/diamond) menu.

Oh the food tasting day, they will hv 2 pc of feedback on the food, for u all to write all the comments...

Cheers,Summer

berszewai

Hi tattyhug,

No choice... the poor sharks without the fins will die in the ocean. the postcards will help spread the message and hopefully lesser pple will take shark's fins. we have consulted our parents and they were fine with not having shark's fin. I suppose there's no meaning behind serving shark's fins at wedding dinner, just that its a soup item and expensive item.. and something like a must have for wedding.

There's no form to fill up. I just emailed Vera and told her when we want to have the food tasting and which package we are taking.

hi summer,

will the coordinator be around during the food tasting? the food tasting is held at SCDH right? its complimentary but we have to pay for the drinks, towels and pickles etc. right?

summer1979

Hi berszewai,

The co-ordinator of GPPR wont be around..only the in charge of SCDH be ard to answer if there is any enquires.

Yes, food tasting held at SCDH and u need not pay anything unless u order alar dishes or special drinks.

DUring the food tasting, they serve us chinese tea lor and of cos side dishes like peanut.Its FREE!!!!

CHeers,Summer

berszewai

Hi Summer,

Thanks for your clarification.

berszewai

jodareth

Hi Sze Wai,
chk for u... ya, u're rite..
The alternative for Shark's Fin Soup is Braised Four Treasure Soup
(Dried Scallop, Shredded Fish Maw, Shredded Chicken and Shredded Sea
Cucumber)
>>Seems yummy too !!

Hi Summer,
Yup, me choosen the gold pkg but wanted to chk whether able to swop some items from other menu.. Might be possible but might top up additonal amt$$.

Eh, Now the theme is summer, no more crystal theme rite??
As well for backdrop at stage, you gal any idea got put up wedg couple's name caption?

berszewai

Hi tattyhug,

yup. sounds not bad. hope its good! had a sea cucumber and fish maw soup for my ROM lunch at SCDH and its qiute good.

minkey

hi tattyhug..the food was good apart fr the abalone tt i find it overcook so kinda of chewy..portion very big too..i was dead full by the 6~7 dishes..they put in lots of effort decorating the dishes too..nice nice..

hmm? there was no set up for me..u mean they suppose to set up a theme for me? mine was juz normal table arrangement..oh ya..anyone has any idea how do they serve tea on actual day? in glass or those we are served during food tastg?

summer1979

Hi minkyttots,

The tea served on actual wedding day is in glass one.

That time during food tasting me oso ask them, cos serving in those 'teapot' like look more elegant lor.

Cheers,Summer

summer1979

Me got delimna here.

Can i know if base on 28 tables, how many carton of red wines (maxi)u guys hv used?

Cos tat time my cousin 35 tables used up abt 4 cartons, still not enuf. Ended up so pei seh for those whom wan red wine no more liao.

So now me & hubby decided not to serve any red wine..soely beer (free flow) and hard liquord lor.Cos those who driving also cant drink much mah.

Fyi, mine wedding on fri, so would expect more pple to drink more.

U guys thk is it ok not to serve red wine at all?

Cheers,Summer

jodareth

Summer,
Yup.. heard from vera, only 1 ballroom theme now..tat's ur nick-Summer..
Hmmm ... gues for 28 tables, abt 3 cartons should be okie liao..But mus oso depends on the crowds tat u invite.. u chk out those on consignment type.. if unfinished, then can return..

Actuali, nowsaday.. more trend in drinking red wine than hard liquor & beer lor..More or less sure got pple will drink one...
For me, gues i won't miss out the red wine..

Minkyttots,
Abalone too overcook & tough.. wil take note..
Usualli food tasting r all big portion..when comes to AD.. Hmm.. hard to say lor..
Oh, they'll have setup for VIP centre pcs & asle walkway with flowers stand etc..

minkey

juz one theme nw eh? hmm..i m not aware of tt? so is summer theme is nicer one?

guess 3 cartons should be enuff ba..i hv nt decide how many i shld get too...

hmm??? u mean during our food tastg , the set up shld be something wat we see on actual day???

hmmmf...

summer1979

Hi TattyHug,

How much does those consignment type cost per bottle? Me still not sure lor cos i know nowaday pple then to hv more red wine than beet.

Anyway thks for yr feedback too ..muack
Cheers,Summer

berszewai

Had my food tasting yesterday. Overall, the quality of the food was good and the serving was big. The food is not too salty which is good. Though the fish they served us I feel is slightly undercook as the some of the flesh still stick to the bone and a little red at the bones. My shark's fin soup replacement taste almost like shark's fin. For the abalone and sea cucumber, they served with cabbage. Did anyone change to other type of vegetable as we feel cabbage looks 'cheap'.

jodareth

<font color="119911">Hi Summer,

Not reali sure how much the consignment usually.. depend on wat wine u taking.. usualli abt $15-$18per bottles on average i guess.
but GPPR complimentary wine brand i check wif my coordinator for my nov wedg is

Red : Langhorne Crossing Australia 2003 (Cabernet Sauvignon, Shiraz)

White : Langorne Crossing Australia 2004 (Chardonnay, Riesling &amp; Verdelho)

Not sure whether it'l change.. Cos i wan to buy the same brand of wine ... So far chk with carrefor is abt $18/bottles..

Hi Sze Wai,
Oh, u had ur food tasting already... mine tis sun.. Did u highlight that the fish undercook?
U can chk with coordinator whether can be change to other veg.. Brocolli... mayb they got the reason for cabbages... </font>

minkey

one of the waitress told me that a lot of people has feedback that the fish is under cook. but the main reason is tt they wana retain the freshness of the fish &amp; prevent it fr overcookg. after they cut up the fish, they will scoop the sauce tt is piping hot &amp; pour it over the fish. the sauce will help to further 'cook' the fish. This can help to retain its texture. Not so bad after all and i find the fish nice even though i m nt a fish lover.

there is another dish with scallop &amp; brocolli liao. though lettuce looks cheapo but i think it is a good combination with abalone leh..

hi sze wai - was there any set up for your food tasting or juz normal table arrangement?

berszewai

hi tattyhug,

I have highlighted the undercooked fish on the feedback form. waiting for Vera to call me regarding the comments.

hi minkeyttots,
the fish is cooked just nice and it taste great, just that near the spine of the fish, still looks red. doesn't look that good when presented to the guests.

regarding the lettuce and scallops whether can change to other veg, now still waiting for Vera to call. There was no setup for the table. just normal arrangement. and the tea was normal tea leaves. not the 8 treasues tea normally served in SCDH

miracle_miracle

hi yingsan,

there will be a bridal show at GPPR on the 16 Sep 06 from 2 to 5 pm. Met up with Vera recently and she's very nice to talk to..like to venue a lot but chose another venue in the end.

jodareth

Went for food tasting yesterday..Quite nice &amp; yummy food..
the prawns.. So Big portion .. Good for 12person's share...AD hard to say lor..

Find the Herbal chicken not so nice lei.. maybe it's becos the sauce texture too thick..
Don reali like the abalone, so rubbery wor &amp; sea cucmber like too overcook or steam till too soft/sloggish..

SZe Wai,
Have highlight to resturant manager in regards to undercook fish.. but he mention tat's Hongkong style way of cooking(80% cooked)
So i inssist to cook 100% , mum in law oso ask banquet manager to do tat before serving..

berszewai

hi tattyhug,

agree that the portion was huge, by the time the herbal chicken was served. most of us were very full and could't finish the rest of the remaining dishes.

For us, we find the food quite good. for herbal chicken, there's herbal taste in the chicken. if the sauce is too watery, it doesn't give the chicken a shimmery look. abalone for us was ok. not too rubbery. good quality sea cucumber is soft and like melt in your mouth. yet it still retains the shape and taste.

for the fish, I have spoke to Vera and she said will inform the chef. Its 80% cooked but it doesn't look good when served when the waiter deboned the fish and the bone is still reddish. I have also change the cabbage served with the abalone and sea cucumber to spinach and the herbal chicken to crispy chicken as we feel there are 2 herbal dishes and more pple will prefer the crispy chicken.

summer1979

Hi Juzgal,

Me went down to to SpeedTech liao.
I am keen to use their printing services.
Since u already use their service b4, can u send me yr real name &amp; hubby name for them to use yr template for GPPR?

Cos catherine suggest to use those who already got infor inside their system.

If u feel 'pei seh' put yr name here, u can PM me : [email protected].

I really appreciate yr kind help. I need to print by this mth lor.

Cheers,Summer

jodareth

Sze wai,
If u feel the fish still got abit raw, then u req them to cook 100% so that it look better to the guest. tink abt the abalone/sea cucmber, i'll still stick to cabbage. crispy chix will be more welcome compare to herbal chix as it's less messy .tink children will eat tis more crsiy chix...
So far, vera haben revert to my feedback abt food tasting though hv email her.

Summer,
Me oso enq from Speed tech. Cld say their quotes r the cheapest that i cld find in town.. But wat type of template tat u wan to use?
Though they using standard template?
Me haben print yet.. if u hv any template, then can email me too? [email protected](replce x wif g)

berszewai

hi tattyhug,

anyway the latest to confirm the menu wif her is around 2 weeks before the banquet. Have you collected ur cards? I'm thinking of collecting them next month. Any cheap and good printers to recommend? we need template to print? thought its standard?

jodareth

<font color="119911">Yoz Greengal, Sze Wai
Speedtech recommend by lovestory previous few thread.. it consider 1 of the cheaper one la... $70 for 200pcs but it's direct print...
It's Located at Ubi.

Sze Wai,
Oh, menu to cfm wif her only 2wks before dinner..
I've collected the wedding card when we went for food tasting, don't wan to waste another trip down..
Actually, the template more or less the same.. But just tat for chinese wording one hor... abit complicated..
cos if grand parent ard, then hv to put some tink like "Feng Ci Ming" etc.. </font>

saliva

am attending the wedding show at GPP on 16 Sep at 2-5pm. Anyone has any idea the wedding packages rates for 2007? Heard that prices are going up year by year for most hotels? Does that mean that if we were to book in 2006 for 2007. We can "lock" the prices and get a better offer for early birds?