Grand Park City Hall

check with you all hor....how many canapes in total do you guys get?

Originally should have 3 trays and during the show they will give u additional 5 trays so total 8trays right...but I was told that the max giving is only 5trays ....

dzxz...i don't think there will be 8 trays..if they are giving 3 trays previously, it will be an upgrade to 5 trays i guess!

anyone here care to share wats the price per table for this year or next year? as my wedding will be in year 2010...

thanks cheekrene, but does it mean I have to use their printer too? Cos dont intend to use their printer and do not want to be held ransom as a result.

hi pea...
what i understand is that this hotel normally work with this printer. if u got your own preference, you can opt out... but ask hotel if there is any other perk you can exchange with...

for me my original package no canapes, i signed during wedding shows then got 5 trays.

cheekrene: i am not sure if we outsource our printer will we get to exchange to other perks or not, u can try to bargain

annisan: it depends on you wan weekday or weekend, for Sat dinner the most ex menu shd be $938+50=$988 for 2010

Hi annisan, their 2010 package is not open for booking and it's not out yet...but the price will definitely increase. that's what the wedding planner told me.

should be opening soon i guess. But there are a few couple who signed up during the wedding show for the 2010, which i have missed also.

Their next wedding show should be mar/apr 09.

i was there on sat to view their setup and 25 tables + 2 reserved was very cramped in my opinion already. i better cut my guest list soon.
The setting are so nice with gold table cloth. but one thing to note, the stage was very plain yet again. is there anyway to improve on the stage deco???

hi kristle, thanks for sharing with GPPH brides on this..i think i better keep to 25 tables as well..which i think shouldn't be a problem for me hopefully!

i agree that the stage deco was rather simple all these while..you may want to speak to your co-ordinator on whether if they can get the florists to do something more? well, additional costs will be involved for sure..otherwise, i guess the hotel pple will just say this is the standard set-up that they have..

any other brides wanna share more on this??

My dinner is just over last week and I was having a 29+2 tables.... We uterlise all the 31 tabls and well, my guests commented that the small area is rather cramp.. However, frankly i find tat if we minus 2-3 tables that space will be prefect..

Tat nite, as i also need a can can for my evening gown but still i find the walk space is still quite ok for us leh..

As for the stage deco, it was rather simple; i agree, but when we walk up the stage, they also have a bubbble machine under the table so the simple backdrop with the bubbles.. (colourful too due to lighting change), the whole effect looks very nice...!

evergreen> when's your AD? my budget for per table is $800-$850 Nett.. its seem like i got to strike out from my list... sob sob ;(

you may want to sign up during the GPPH wedding shows that are usually held twice per year during march and sep..there is a discount off the total bill, depending on the number of tables you booked with them..

if you want a weekday, perhaps you can still get it below $850 nett..

My AD is 03 Jan 2010. But they mention they cant extend the 2009 package to me even though it's only like 3rd day of the new year.

Also heard that the package for 2010 will have lesser perks...so best is to wait for their wedding show...

I also went over last weekend...there were 27 tables...and it was rather cramp up i tot...and they mention can put up to 35 tables? how in the earth they are able to do that? keen to see the set up with max tables as i will need this number of tables for my AD.. >_<

hmmm...is it 33 or 35 for the max that they mentioned?

but evergreen, if yours is a hot date, then you better act fast and book liao..especially if you are very particular with the dates..

33+2 spare is the max max they can go.... what they recommend is 28+2.. guest will have more rooms to move about...

oh no i think i will need at least 32+2 spare.. it will be super cramp then....

ya.. weekday and cheaper menu still can get less then $800.. for those who got the current menu package, it will be + $50 nett per table...

Supergal: I cant made any booking as the booking for 2010 is not open yet...got to wait for their package to finalise first...

now nothing much i can do now but to wait...

oh, even 1st quarter also not yet open for booking arh? in that case, you may want to tentatively booked the date with your co-ordinator..that's why alot of couples do..

they will ask the hotel to hold the date while they wait for the wedding show..but of course, if another couple comes along and wanted the same date and wish to pay deposit for the banquet, i guess your co-ordinator will call you to ask if you still want the date or not..

but well, of course you don't have to worry about this now since the 2010 dates are not open for booking yet

yup, i have already made tentative booking le!

But just worried that there are interested parties going for the same date. >_<

Keeping my fingers cross...

Hi gals, im having my AD on 7th Dec 08! So excited! I heard the price for 2010 may increase until $1000+ per table. But then again, economy not doing well, they may reconsider hor?

Mine worse, hope my ang pows will not shrink! Wat a time to get married...

actually nowadays, if you wanna hold a banquet especially at a hotel, you must be prepared for loss..unless you have really generous frens and relatives..

for me and hubby, we still go ahead with a banquet cos we feel it's a once in a lifetime thing..so no matter how simple it is, we should still have one..we take it as a good bonding process as well!

dont worry too much about $$ ba..it can be earned back eventually..but of course also try not to get yourself in a huge debt before your marriage life starts...otherwise, it may not be worth it then!

so every couple have to plan their wedding expenses carefully ba

twink, i'm not too sure about the 2010 prices but i guess 10.10.10 is going to sell like something close to $1100 or $1200 per table!

cos of the date, think GPPH will also take the trend set by other hotels, where some dates are deemed super hot and auspicious. somemore 10.10.10 is on a sunday.

hmmm..not sure for 20.10.2010 though..

10.10.10 is indeed a very nice number! Supergal, u getting married on that day? 10-Quan 10-Mei!

From what i know, GPPH dun practice the culture of imposing additional charges for special dates.. Think they only have weekday and weekend prices.

Sigh, it's really hard planning a banquet, but i guess u gals are right.. once in a lifetime. Do it once and do it good.

no lah..my hubby don't want to wait that long..hahaha! mine's on 24.10.09..exactly a year after my ROM..and 3 years after our pak tor!

yeah, GPPH currently don't have that practice but i heard that from my co-ordinator that he has that idea in mind..and i believe even at $1100 per table, there will still be couple who is willing to go for it..of course a better menu will be expected definitely!

so twink, you must be more or less ready for your wedding now rite? which florist did you choose huh?

evergreen, you also interested in m hotel? think i saw you in the thread also..

yes supergal, i'm in a dilemma on which hotel to go for.

M hotel is nice and have got good feedback. Only problem is the ballroom has blocked views for some tables even though there are no pillars. They are only able to accommodate max 32 tables (4 tables blocked view).

For GPPH, also good feedback...it is slightly bigger, but the ballroom also got limit on the no. of tables that we can put (max 35 but very cramp)...and GPPH can't confirm booking until it is open for booking...then the price will increase by dono how much also..

So...dono what to do and how...have explored a lot of hotels le...

but really keen in GPPH...and hoping that the price wont go up by too much...worse thing is perks will reduced.. >_<

M hotel was also one of my shortlisted hotels before I got to view the place...cos it was one of those few who can have 25 tables min. on a weekend..then I came to find out more about GPPH and both hubby and I like it very much..so went ahead with the booking..

M hotel and GPPH table prices are very much comparable but PERSONALLY, I find I prefer the overall look of GPPH and also the location of the hotel. After viewing M hotel, hubby and I find it abit old..my company has our D&amp;D @ M hotel last month and the feedback on the food given was that portion was relatively large but not very nice..but opinion on food is very much subjective lah..

Anyway, see which hotel you and your HTB prefer ba..you considered Carlton? Also around the same price but only thing is that the ballroom has 4 big pillars I think..perks also around the same though..

Carlton has been booked for that day liao. so fast right...

I personally also prefer GPPH and most prob will be taking that...going to bring our parents down to view the place first...

2009 is a hot year to get married i guess..i believed most of the weekends especially, have been taken up for most of the more popular hotels!

yup, it's good that you bring your parents to have a feel of the hotel first..it's nice of you to consider this for the elderly sake

anyway, good luck in getting your idea date and hope to see you around in this thread!

they have a few package for weekdays, weekend and sundays one..

and the package that they have now is 2009...anyway, have sent you the packages...you can also request the package from the wedding planners ya...they will be more than happy to assist.

evergreen: if got couple want same date as you they will chase after you! that is what i did.. and i would like to take the chance to thank the couple who is willing to let go of 19 Dec 09, hence i am able to book on that day!!!

I also considering M hotel, Marina mandarin and GPPH. M hotel is out because HTB dont want to repeat his friend's hotel, MM was out too cuz vanda ballroom too small... hence we choose GPPH... anyway M hotel's Bridal suite is very very nice!!!!with high end sound system and the special frosting glass panel separating bedroom and bathroom...not to leave out the jacuzzi!!!

yup, i agree that M hotel's bridal suite is really nice! but don't have high opinion on the food though..well, to each his own ba...esp on food! it's not possible to please everyone..

as for MM, my sis's fren attended a wedding last month with per table costs about $1K but also don't have high regards for the food..she said you're only paying for the ambience!

it seems like hotel's food is really quite disputable isn't it? maybe pple have higher expectations from hotel's food cos afterall, we are paying a much higher price as compared to having banquet at restaurant but the ironic thing is we seldom seem to hear negative feedback about restaurants' food!

let's just hope that GPPH can maintain the standard of the food ba

Hi Supergal.. I'm doing my Final Fitting today.
Currently i have a quite a no. of ppl not being able to come on my day. I made an initial booking of 28+2 tables, but have since reduced to 25+2 tables. But actually I'm quite happy too, cuz I never wanted to have more than 26 tables. I guess my ballroom will be pretty spacious that day bah.

I did ask my Co-ordinator if I can do a "long" L-Shape march-in since now that i have lesser tables, but she said can't.. must be below 22 tables then they can do it.

Sian..

If i'm not wrong, i think i chose June Florist. I still prefer the crystal stand with big candle in the middle. More romantic!

hi twink, congrats in advance! yup, i also wanna keep to 25+2 if possible..cos i guess i will wear those EG with can-can in it..so won't be that clumsy as i move around to take pics..

for the L shaped march-in, does it mean that those who are doing dinner on weekends can't have this march-in then? cos since the min. is 25 tables..anyway, long or short march-in doesnt' matter too much to me ba..it's not going to take more than 10 secs afterall!

i also heard june florist not bad..btw, you contacting the florist on your own?

Supergal, the hotel is contacting the Florist directly.. Fyi, we can only choose up to 3 colors for our flowers. So i only chose Roses made up of white, cream, and pink color.

I think ur right, weekend dinner cannot allow L-shape march-in. Maybe lunch can.. But then again, my coordinator showed me the photos of the L-shape march in stage (which would be at the Chinese Calligraphy sides), and it seems like the backdrop will not be able to cover the whole calligraphy area. So, not nice too.

You're only going to spend 10secs for your march-in? Thats quite fast.. My gowns are all the "can-can" type u mentioned, so i think i will walk real slooooooooooowly. ha.

Congrats to u twink!

the june florist is a contractor vendor recommended by GPPH? or it's search on your own one?

I tot the march-in is already an L shape, just that the aisle deco starts at the centre?

thanks evergreen...

i think GPPH only uses the services of 2 florists, one is June Florist and the other one i can't remember the name (was a nice name thou). The Decorations u choose will determine the florist they will use.

The L-shape march in which i mentioned earlier is not one u saw i think.. The stage for the "L-shape" which i mentioned, is actually at the side of the ballroom where the big big chinese calligraphy is.

twink, will be we given a range of flowers to choose from or are we limited to choose from only roses? i know usually florist they will advise to choose roses not only because they are cheaper but roses tend to be more lasting as compared to most other flowers..

hahaha..cos with the 3-table march-in aisle distance, i guess more or less my march-in will take only 10 sec at most! but i think i will also be like you ba..to walk as slow as possible..

oh ya..something to share..I recently heard from one of the PG whom had taken photos at GPPH, they say they only have one spotlight. Means if we want to have a seperate march in (each coming in from each door), then the spotlight can only shine on either the groom or the bride.

The solution he gave me which he took from his client is the groom will come in from one door first and wait, after that follow by the bride frm another door and proceed towards to groom and from there they both march towards the stage together.

Junie,
yup thats what I intend to do too...now about the spotlight thing...must rethink again how to make it better?

dzxz, really??

Hm.. cuz i didn't really discuss this with the co-oridnator yet. I will let u gals know after my wedding this sunday.

actually, having the "groom 1st, bride later" is good.. so u can drag the march-in a little bit longer mah. I can't imagine my hubby and I finish walking the aisle and the 1st verse of the song still haven't start.. haha.