Grand Park City Hall

hi all, it's great to know that more and more people are considering this hotel..i felt good also when i tell others that i'll be having my banquet there cos of all the good reviews!

hope to have a good time at the wedding show tmr too!

ya pics pls for tomorrow. i will be off town
can't get to see the setting.

anyone went and sign up with GPPH at the wedding show today? quite a fair no of couples signed up.
me and wtb finally signed up today after a long wait as we missed the last wedding show in march 08. lucky for us, our choice date is still available.

i am a new GPPH BTB!! just sign up with them today..AD 19 dec 2009, thanks to the couple who is willing to give up the date for us..

we were quite disappointed by the bridal suite and the furnish of the hotel..but in the end.. it is still just a 4 star...we now pinning our hopes on park palace chef and the wedding team..

hi junie,

congrats.

i & my htb also went to their bridal suite today and we were extremely disappointed too. their governor suite looked very cramped to me. too much of the furnitures.

so both of us consoled ourselves saying we chose this hotel is because of their good food and nice ballroom.. hehe!

hmmm...actually, i kind of like the governor suite..very colonial looking and gave me a cosy feel! me and htb feel that we don't really need a big bridal suite and more importantly, we like of course, the outdoor jacuzzi! hehehe..but don't really pin much hope to get this suite la..cos not really easy to get..

cheer up junie and cheekrene, personally i dun feel the room is a deciding factor and big issue. Imagine after the whole event is over, both you and your htb will be totally shag out. Even if the room is nicely decorated, i dun think any of us will have the mood to appreciate right? unless the bed is not comfortable : )
The most important is in fact the food and service of the hotel staff. We signed up with GPPH because of the location and pillarless ballroom. Of course we have been liasing with Henry and on our first meeting with him, we felt that he is very knowledgeable and share many things with us and both me and my wtb have strong confidence that he will make our event a very successful one.

BTW the consultation room was packed with couples waiting to seek enquiries or wanting to place a deposit. Lucky we met up with Henry 2 days before the event to go thru the contract so that we dun spend much time to make the correction today.

yeah cheer up...though I did not went to take a look at the suite, I really feel very comfortable with their service...hee sign with them today too....

any idea can we actually choose other flower deco for the ballroom other than those 2 design we saw in the grand ballroom today...forgot to ask the coordinator today....

care to share too have any one choosen their BS

thanks virgo... u are right. that is why my htb and i decided to stick to our choice of their pillarless ballroom, no point moaning about their bridal suite.

i also agreed with supergal. can't pin high hope on the governor suite as it is subject to availability.

dzxz ->
you can choose other designs. for me, i still prefer my last wedding show last year and the designs were nicer than this year.

i heard that the outdoor jacuzzi can be seen from the hotel opposite...

my SO was saying novotel was better in terms of the ballroom is more squarish and suite is nicer... but then i dont like the menu.. there is like no abalone even in the most ex package...

hmm i forgot to look out for a dressing table today... is there a dressing table in the suites?

the couple having the wedding today is so lucky to have the governor suite!!! hope i will be the same!!!

well, in terms of brand name, i think GPPH would seem to be better as compared to NCQ (just my opinion though). like what you gals mentioned, i don't really like NCQ's menu also cos i felt the dishes doesn't "sound" expensive to me..

actually, i almost wanted to take up NCQ as well cos i also felt the ballroom was nice, pillarless and high ceiling, long march-in, nice and big reception area but it's just the menu. i still felt that menu plays a huge role in my selection..so still decided to go with GPPH. too bad that they don't have a complimentary upgrade of first dish to lobster salad, like what they have done for the wedding show in 2006 or 2007.

as for the jacuzzi, since it is not situated in the suite, i guess it will be better for us brides to wear our bikinis so that we can really relax and enjoy the use to the fullest!

Hi, I signed up with the hotel during the show too. Talking about the suites, I didnt even get to see the governor suite with the jacuzzi. We were brought to orchid suite which is cramped + small toilet which was quite disappointing.
But yup, signed up with them in the end as the hotel offers the things tt we were looking for and are flexible.

we were honored to be accompanied by the director of sales william to view both the normal bridal and governor suite. There was 1 more couple with us. In fact we overheard that we were the last few couples who can view the governor suite as the guest was checking in soon.

yup yup..actually, bridal suite is just a small thing out of the whole wedding banquet..how much time is the couple going to spend in the suite itself? probably around 12 hours i guess and minus away all the sleeping, i guess is only around 6 hours ba..so as long as we are not so fussy about this, GPPH is still a great choice to hold wedding i supposed!

tried the food at the wedding show yesterday..the shark's fins was good! rich with ingredients but abit salty though. scallops were fresh too and the lamb chop was nice also. the only thing that i don't really fancy was the tang yuan red bean soup. found the tang yuan skin abit thick..other than this, thought the food spread was good!

so u mean one of the bridal suit is governor's suite? i oni managed to view the orchid suite leh....so does tat mean that we can choose governor's suite?

Is the governor's room bigger than Orchid Room?

hey gals, i dun mind sharing some fotos taken during the wedding show...but can someone teach me how to load here....can't seem to work leh =P

yes, slightly bigger but for my point of view, it's abit cramped due to their furnitures even though it looked classy.

why not put your photos in multiply website and share with us? i also put it in that website.

ya mine is in early Jan...yet to take studio fotos =P anyway shld be starting to "disturb" Henry by Nov cox of the wedding cards, favours and food tasting.....was still thinking whether to increase my dishes to 9, instead of the current 8 dishes...seems so little oni

for those who have made a deposit during the wedding show, what did GPPH give you as a confirmation for your deposit? Any black and white?

Hi Chey,

Which BS u sign with??

Hi Huang, I have placed a deposit with a receipt given but have not sign the contract yet. Janice will mail to me...

Hi dzxz,

is the receipt just the credit card receipt?? When is your big day?

Hi chey,
is your AD in Jan? If so, then so late still haven't take your photoshoot?? Is there enough time? Have you finalised your gowns?? Because we have roughly 6 months to our AD and we have yet to go down and choose her gowns (just signed package) so I'm worried whether there will be enough time for us, so hoping to get some advice.

Hi Huang,
hmm i don remember is it the credit card receipt..let me go back and check hee....my ad is 18 nov next year..still a long way to go....u sign with which BS??

hi renee..
yeah agree tat Janice is really friendly n helpful...

I had signed up with GPPH also, 15th Nov 2009. here's my review:

1) Suite, pretty decent already and spacious compared to at least 10 other hotels i've seen. many other 5 stars hotels had smaller suites. only thing can't see marina bay. haha.

2) perks, probably the best around, prices are also good value for money for the food too. higher end hotels all minimum 1k+/table for weekend dinners. food also good reviews from friends

3) ballroom, good, big enough, no pillar, high ceiling. very good compared to other hotels ballroom for 25 tables or less. reception area also good. restroom is "private to your guests.

4) Henry is very good and prompt in replies as well. rest assured if things are incharge by him.

5) location is good, convenient, minus the crowd in peninsula plaza. ample parking around the area.

All in all, one of the most competitive and best package for its range!

yea yea! tats wat we tot too..

on top of all these..

we like the foyer.. thou abit narrow but we find it v private at least non-invited guests will find it pai seh to crash gate..

and also we like the flexibility of the menu, cards, decor, table flowers.. at least we can choose ourselves and am sure that we will like it.. not like the rest of the hotels we went to.. they are like.. this is fix tat is also fix.. menu cannot change... zzz

and we lurve the suite and ballroom ceiling..

keke.. we are so looking forward..

my AD is 1st week of Jan. Ya, i do agree that my photoshoot is kinda late liao...was kinda worried also but they assured me that it can be done...in fact my photoshoot is end of Oct =P so they have 2 months to do up my photos. I really hope that they will do a good job.

I've finalised my gown except for final fitting. In fact, i got my gown externally instead of my BS cox i din like their gowns

Hi dzxz, we signed up with Thomson wedding during the wedding show. I personally like their photography skills so that made me gave up our other package, which we have already made a small deposit, and sign with them.

Hi Huang,
oh u gave up your other package.. hee ya saw their photoshoot album nice..butI sign up with Fame Bridal already so did not sign with Thomson wedding that day...when signing up with BS was very worry even till now cos always saw those forum positive and negative comments on their BS is like it must be so really depends on our luck to get a good BS....
BTW when is your big day??

Anyone had anyidea on the march in for GPPH? Guess it was a short and is a L shape march in right??

hi dzxz,

i plan to do some arrangement on my 2nd march-in. since GPPH had 2 doors in the big ballroom, my HTB and i intend to march in separately and he will be singing on that day. hehe! at first wanted to do it on 1st march-in but find it weird. i think it will be special and romantic. =D