Grand Park City Hall

Hi Memorable Chocolate,

Thanks for the info too! That assures me... =)
Do you manage to negotiate for both free flow of beer AND a free bottle of wine per table? Cos from what I understand, we can only choose either or for wedding banquets from 1 Sep 10 to 31 Dec 10...

Oh also, you manage to negotiate for an additional night stay at the Bridal suite mah?

Thanks so much ! =))

I have shortlisted GPCH as our wedding banquet place...hehe...so excited. Can anyone share which coordinator is the nicest/experienced and easiest to negotiate for perks/changes in package?

hmm...got William, Janice, Veralyn....

HI Jaaycee, my AD is nov next yr. They have given me flow flow of beer and 1 bottle per table. Corkage charge waived for all wines, liquor and champagne. but do go check out with the coordinators fast, i think last day of offer will be wedding show in sept.

Hi CaymenS, u managed to get free flow beer AND 1 bottle wine? So gd! Which coordinator did u liase with? And which package did u take?

Yr AD in Nov 2010 n u have booked oredi? Dat is so fast! I am only starting to racee venues...AD in Sept 2010
Happy prep!

Hi, i got FREE flow beer AND one bottle wine per table too AND additional 6 bottles wine with UOB card.

waiver of corkage too. My co-ordinator is William Chen.

My wedding also Nov 2010.

Hi drizzles54, yup, i managed to get free flow beer, 1 bottle wine per table, 6 bottles of wines with UOB, and i exchanged the F&B voucher for additional 12 bottles of wine, waiver of all corkage charges =)

My coordinator is Janice..friendly and helpful lady. My AD is nov2010. now waiting for the contract to sign. We saw total of 8 hotels and went to quite a few wedding shows. In the end decided GPCH =)

Oh sounds like its really a good bargain! Thanks for sharing! I am also looking at Nov 2010 or Dec 2010, but more of weekday though.

Somehow I find the recent promotion of $88/68 a very attractive one...was comparing against the previous wedding shows one-off rebate off the total bill, seems quite a good deal. Tats why we are very attracted to this hotel...

Any of you managed to negotiate for an additional nite stay at the bridal suite ah?

Personally, i think its a great bargain. only setbacks are the bridal suite a little small compared to the others, and not many ppl i spoken to knew about the hotel or its actual location.

Helloe CaymenS n MemorableChocolate!

Tks for the info! William only offer me free flow of beer and free corkage when we met up. Think must really ask for it cos' they won't offer FOC wine on their own accord.

CaymenS, think GPC has more pros than cons, the bridal suite isn't a really big issue as the perks they give compare to other hotels is really attractive. Ambience and food's good, and with all the perks, what more could we ask for? *wink*

CaymenS> woo change the $250 F&B voucher to 12 bottles wine, thats a good bargain. about $20 per bottle wine. That save alot of troubles.

I'm going to speak to William about it. Haha. hopefully still can change.

Hi drizzles54, frankly speaking, i was having a hard time trying to choose between hilton and GPCH. Though some ppl told me i cant compare that way since its a 5stars versus 4 star, but ultimately i felt more comfortable with the GPCH coordinator than those in hilton. so decided to stick with GPCH =). hopefully i made a right decision.

MemorableChocolate, good luck in ur bargaining with William.

Jaaycee, i didnt manage to get 2nd Night stay in bridal suite. They only offered 2nd Night stay in normal room, and that is if i exchange the free 1N helper room for it.

Caymen - that's what i got to...i doubt any possibility to get 2N in the bridal suite coz they only got so little suites in GPCH which means loss income if they were to offer us...

Gene> Normally they won't give u additional night stay in Bridal Suite. Even i ask for late check out, but the co-ordinator say "depend on availability". If they got client booked the suite, then sorry to say... i think additional night stay in Bridal Suite is out of the question... But u mayb bargain for next day stay at normal room.

I got 1 night Bridal Suite stay, 1 night stay at Superior Room (i can use it for my Hen's Night b4 my wedding) and one 2pm-8pm helpers room.

CaymenS> William offer me 10 bottles of wine instead of 12 bottles.... i hvnt agree yet. Can i say "Janice offered my friend 12 bottles"? Haha.

Hi memorablechocolate & caymenS, thanks for sharing =)) Am going to meet up with Janice soon, hope to negotiate as much perks as possible..

Actually me and my hubby is abit hesitant on whether to wait till the next wedding show to see whether there are better perks resulting in a lower banquet price...since we are taking weekday package in Nov, Dec 2010, so still have time. But went to research past wedding show perks and rebates, think this one really quite good so far compared to the last 2 wedding shows (not sure about weekend, only researched for weekday package)...so personally very tempted.

Another consideration is whether how much Angbaos our guests will give given Grand Park City Hall for weekday. Yesterday hubby went to sound out his colleagues, only 1 out of 2 heard about the hotel -____- Scared we wont be able to break even...haha...

Haha...MemorableChocolate, can u wait till i signed my contract before asking William? I am still waiting for the actual copy to be mailed over by my coordinator, should be within these few days. =)

Actually, its the perks offered during this recent wedding show. But Saturday package is not entitled to the extra night stay for helper room.

The $$ discount is also different for 2009 and 2010 packages.

William is my coordinator too. I find him easy to talk to. He is very easy going with all the swaps.

Hi MemorableChocolate,

Finally, i signed my contract today. =) Tried to bargain for extra night for couple but failed. Hope u have better luck negotiating with ur coordinator.

Joanie>
William Chan (GPCH)
DID: (65) 6432 5529
Tel: (65) 6336 3456
Fax: (65) 6333 1574

CaymenS> i took up the 10bottles wine instead of 12, i think is alright since is unlikely to use that $250 F&B voucher too. Exchange for wine is better.

Hi MemorableChocolate, did you manage to get 1 night Bridal Suite stay, 1 night stay at Superior Room and one 2pm-8pm helpers room?

Jaycee -
Your wedding on weekday? I think not to worry too much on the Ang Pow. I had my wedding on weekday in June this year. We managed to break even though. =) Although there'll be some guests giving less than the market rate, but there'll be others giving more than the market rate.

hi everyone!

me and my hubby have more or less decided on GPCH! hohoho....very happy...today I went Novotel for the wedding show...dunno why feel very right about our choice, think it affirms our decision =))

Hi Stiobes, yes my wedding is gonna be on weekday leh..can I do a check with you how much was your per table rate booked with GPCH ah?(before including miscellaneous stuffs like extra wines bought yourself). Your package got both free flow beer and 1 wine per table?

Hi MemorableChocolate, Congrats!..U managed to get that extra 1N for couple at superior and 2-8pm for helpers!! I didnt managed to get that extra 1N in normal room but overall i am happy with what they have given me so far and the service & attitude of my coord =) Lets hope everything stays that way till my AD. My AD will be in Nov2010, is ur also around that period?

Jaaycee, urs also in nov2010??

stiobes,
just wondering can u share what was the smallest Angbao u received for ur AD banquet at GPCH and what was the average?? =) I am curious in finding out what ppl give for GPCH...

CaymenS: our wedding yup..would be in either Nov 2010 or Dec 2010, but gonna be a weekday =))

Just a quick check with you all...is it possible to arrange the stage such that it is on the side of the ballroom (either side with 'caligraphy words' one) and allowing for a longer march in, instead of the one advertised in the Sg.brides banquet page..the stage between two pillars...

Has anyone checked on this with the coordinators? If possible hor..wonder how they will cover the 'words' ..if not, the stage will look quite weird right? hehe...

Jaaycee: I did ask my coordinator. For 22 tables or less, u can arrange the stage to be shifted to the side so as to get a longer march in. But its not encouraged as the table arrangement wont look good, some of the guest will be sitting at tables just beside the LCD screens. U will see their heads popping out near the bottom of the screens. And GPCH will usually get WHITE clothe (that's what i was told) to cover up the calligraphy wordings, if not it will look very weird.

FYI..mine is weekday wedding as well =)

CaymenS > when ppl see that it's a hotel. they will give at least $80.

MemorableChocolate > you must have many tables. I didn't manage to get the helper's room. Is yours a sat?

Hmm.. I thought the day helper's room is already part of the package and the promotion now is to extend it to a night stay for the helper's room. So, if your helpers do not need the night stay, then you can use it for yourselves.

Jean, u r rite..during this promo, helper room has been upgraded from 2-8pm to 1N stay. However, in the contract, they will specify that the helper room will Either be on the AD itself, or on the next day. That means if u choose to use the helper room yourself for the 2ndN, u will not get any day room at all (2-8pm) for ur helpers on the AD.

Hope i dun sound confusing...

Jaaycee-
Per table was $758 nett. free flow of beer and 1 free wine per table. my hubby and i was too kiasu cos our frenz drink alot, we bought extra red wines and it was left unopened! haha.. so, just do a check whether how many of your fellow attendees are driving. =)

Caymen-
the lowest amount of Ang Pow that I received was $28!! pretty little for a hotel! our average collection was $80-$100, and most of our guest gave $88. =)

stiobes> relieved in hearing tat on average is near $80-100...sounds reasonable enough to us for a weekday wedding =)) thanks for sharing with us! hmm...but $28 is really too little lah..but I have got a family of 5 relatives who came to my brothers wedding and gave $30 angbao in total!!! haha...

CaymenS > thanks for sharing with me on the L shape march in arrangement..looks like its quite difficult for us cos we are looking at near to 30 tables...hmmm...haiz. looks like we have to make do with the short march in le..

Oh yours also Nov weekday! we are looking at Nov and Dec 10..have some dates already...intending to go down coming week to GPCH..Was wondering whether you manage to negotiate for any swaps for your spa treatment voucher and requested for waiver of the rental of LCD projectors ah?

I didn't exchange my spa voucher coz we thinking of having spa the next day. as for lcd rental,we got it waived off!
ask for the waiver, they are quite ok with it, esp when the wedding workshop is round the corner.

stiobes, tks for the info. from the feedback i gathered so far, relative are usually the ones that gave less. most friends and colleagues will give market rate or more if we're close
but 28 is really too much. I'll be amazed if that ang bao got name on it. :P

CaymenS> My wedding is on Nov 2010 (weekend-Sunday) i think Sat is a hot day where hotel have more customer who wants room, is hard to get extral room stay i think.

ipc> We are planning for about 28 tables, may go higher as it will be more economical if you have more tables. Will only confirmed when time is near. My co-ordinator just put down on the agreement of 26 tables.

I switch the $250 F&B voucher for 10 bottles of wine. I remain the spa voucher, thinking of going spa too. Hehe.

Caymen -
yes, relatives do give lesser. but my hubby's relatives (close ones) are pretty generous during the morning tea ceremony though.. hehe..

and .... the person who gave $28 wrote her name!!! can't imagine lor! haha.. but anyway, its the attendance that counts too. I have few frenz who couldn't come, no inform, no ang bao. they can really treat as if nothing happen! these kind of ppl, i really nothing to say. haha..

CaymenS> No you don't sound confusing, just that its different from what my coordinator tell me. I was told 'You can use the night for yourself', haha I assume I get helper room plus 2nd night. :P

stiobes, wow..those who last min MIA without informing are really horrible..no basic courtesy at all. Do they call and apologise the next day??

jean, u should check with ur coord again, coz maybe u will have better luck than me in bargaining for the 2N from them. Ask them to email u a draft copy of the contract for perusal. =)

Just went down to speak to Janice, she is really a very friendly, meticulous and patient gal...however, sigh...now that we are almost confirming on GPCH, we have got 2 other hotels which we went down for discussion calling us up to entice us with very attractive offers...guess times are really bad wor..

stiobes> Can do a check with you how many bottles of wine did your guests consume in total ah? and you had 30 tables? Do you think you can share with me some of your banquet photos (ie. stage, reception area, ballroom) held at GPCH..want to have a feel how the effect of the reception area and ballroom turn out to be in photos... thanks thanks =))

Caymen -
no wor, those who didn't turn up didn't even bother to call and apologise lor. i have some who sms me at 7.30pm-8pm saying that they were held up at work (mine was a weekday though), so I appreciate them alot. =)

Jaaycee -
I do not have much ballroom pictures though, but you can add me at [email protected] in facebook to see some of the photos that i have posted. =)