Grand Park City Hall

mine is on 24th oct..so by the time 7th month ends, i'm left with only a month..which i may want to spend the time doing some last min. stuff le..hahaha!

that's why wanna plan my food tasting earlier. it will also be the so-called "ti qin" day..and both sides of the families will also discuss the GDL items to prepare..

quite a number of things to do prepare in the next 2 weeks..then prob after 20th aug..will sit down to settle guest list and write invites le..have to temp stop other wedding preps until after 19th sep..

how's preps for all other GPCH brides?

Hi stiobes (mystiobes)>> are u the Kyly that is fm my company, ur ex-company?? u knw who I AM?? haha..

i hv a feeling that u are the Kyly I know.. hehe.. :p anyway, im interested in GPCH.. let me know mre comments which u hv on tat hotel leh.. feel tat the price per tab is reasonable lor.. any pics to share.. email me some leh.. saw so many +ve comments on this hotel.. mks me wana sign liao.. bt thing is, i still hvnt fix my AD date leh..

Hi Hi.. Is Grand Park Hotel City Hall = Grand Plaza Park Hotel City Hall?? me abit lost.. seems like there's 2 names to this hotel.. are the the same hotel or different??

it's the same...grand plaza parkroyal = grand plaza park hotel = grand park city hall!

but not to worry..at least for the next few months or so, the wedding invites will indicate that grand park city hall is formerly been known as grand plaza park hotel..

oic.. so Grand Park City Hall is the new name for Grand Plaza Park Hotel.. i got confuse earlier on..hehe..

understand fm the co-ordinator.. (duno who) when i call ov and enquire abt the ballroom.. im told that i can hold up to 35 tables.. hv they reno their ballroom.. ?? saw earlier comments in this thread is that the ballroom is very cramp when they hv 32 tables.. any comments??

it's the new name after their rebranding i think..

my co-ordinator shared that they MAY renovate the ballroom sometime next year. during the Qing Ming season..though nothing concrete has been confirmed yet..

yup we were told that the ballroom can hold up to 35 tables but i think no couples here really hit that number...for fear of being too cramped of course! maybe just try not to go beyond 30 tables (including reserves) to be on the safer side

har.. think we will nid ard 34 tables... so if really go up to 34 tables.. it will b v pack huh.. oh no.. then i really hope tat they will do something to mk the ballroom bigger..

erm..making the ballroom bigger may be quite unlikely i think..cos the surroundings of the ballroom doesn't seem to have any "spare room" for enlargement!

think most prob they must just touch up the lightings, sound system? ...etc..dunno leh

CH -
You are right! I am the Kyly you know! Hee..

Anyway, I really din take much photos of the ballroom, actually what makes me sign up is the sincerity of Henry (left the co liao) and the attractive package. If you are going up to 35 tables, I doubt it can accommodate. If I am not wrong, the comfortable max is 32 tables.

I had 29 tables, not too cramp. Just remember that your evening gown is impt too, cos if the more tables you have, the more diff to walk around. =)

Hi BTB,
I¡¯m planning to go for their Wedding Show on 19th Sept 09, but my ROM is on 20th Sept 09, will be a busy day on 19th, so likely to go down before the Wedding Show. Do you think I can bargain for better perks before the Wedding Show(I¡¯m kia-su too that the dates will be taken up during the Show)? My AD will be on Nov 2010, Sunday, looking at Sapphire Package, planning to ask for Free Flow Beer and waiver for wine corkage. Free projector rental (they quoated $300nett rental), maybe with exchange of the SPA voucher (don¡¯t really need it) and Wedding Favor (intend to bring in my own).

Is William easier to bargain for perks? Is yes then maybe I will be going down this Sat.

As my FH's sister has her wedding here too (last yr 2008), do you think she would mind if we took up the same venue?

wow.. seems like alot of thumbs up for this hotel.. bt if 34 tables really cramp.. then really gota c hw again..
me find tat the package is good and the perks are good too.. and the hotel's location is easily accessible..

any 1 hv pics on the ballroom to share?? do email me ok..

Kyly, so hw's ur comments on the food and ballroom?? everything's good??

my AD hvnt fixed yet.. tat's y dare nt book yet..

Hi ladies, William just reply my email. He said, renovation is on Ching-Ming Festival on April 2010, only changing Carpet, main door and touch up walls. Minor renovation i think.

He help me to block the ballroom on my Nov 2010 AD liao but he will release all tentative booking during the wedding workshop (19th Sep 09). So likely i will go down before the workshop as i b preparing for my ROM the following day.

Tentative booking is free, u just tell him your date and he will do a check if that day is taken, if not he will note down your name. If there r other couples who wanted the same date, it depend on who r willing to BOOK it with a deposite. So in another words, it is not fixed, it is done so that you will be told if other couples r going to take that same date.

OIC.. i checked with them yest.. they says as of nw.. nxt yr yr end, still got many dates available.. haiz.. feel like booking it leh.. this hotel seems good leh.. bt hope tat i wouldnt b disappointed when i go there and c myself lah..

there's this hotel which i also fancy.. n quite like after seeing their web.. bt somehw, after gng there with my HTB.. totally change of opinion.. hotel looks like those m'sia type.. and food wise also nt good.. coz my HTB went for a wedding dinner there recently.. so v disappointed with it.. luckily din book tat time..

CH-
Comments on food is good, and raves on the Halal food too! Ballroom wise, I like the high ceiling and its pillarless. Though the march in is not very long, but i guess most imptly is the perfect moment. =)

Maybe you can ring or email William (my coordinator) and go for a 'site visit' for better visualisation? 34 tables will be very cramp though, but no harm going down to take a look.

How much addition for muslim food per pax? Had u all heard of the name Varalyn (if i had spell it correctly), she was my HTB's sister co-ordinator or manager, not so sure, was only given this name. Is she the co-ordinator too?

i think Varalyn is also a co0ordinator, coz when i drop them email enquiring abt the wedding packages.. she reply me..

so far this is 1 of the hotel ive shortlisted.. and is the 1st choice among my shortlisted list..hehe.. :p

bt as i still hvnt fixed my AD yet.. and they r hving a bridal show soon, think is hard for them to mk a reservation under open date for me lor..

anyway, i will try to ask for a site visit soon.. me also scare 34 tables will b v cramp.. bt we both also hv alot of relatives.. so bo bian lor..

CH> ohh, do you have Varalyn direct email or contact? Anyone know if she is easy on bargain-ing? Hehe...

I'm going down next week, but haven't cfm any appointment date/time with them, sitll thinking which co-ordinator i shall look for. I'm thinking of 28 tables only, maybe 2 additional reserve tables.

Ya, i agreed that GPCH is the best amoung the city area, reasonable price (esp for the dicount going on) and location is two thumbs up.

hmmm..for bargaining, i think the co-ordinators has some standard list of stuff that they can throw in..so i don't think it matters who we look for. because all of them should be just following the top down instructions!

but personally, perhaps you may want to go with the person whom you are more comfortable with! at the moment, i think there is william, janice and vera for this hotel who is doing wedding events..not sure if they have new staff joining after july cos that's was the last update that i got from my co-ordinator..

Hihi.. i dun hv Varalyn direct contact.. bt as wat supergal says.. think no matter which co-ordinator, think will still b the same.. coz the hotels will hv a certain standards for perks.. bt think the only difference i c in different co-ordinators are the services they provide and their attitudes lor..

anyway, ive been to GPCH on Fri.. thumbs up for this hotel.. like the ballroom.. the recept area outside the ballroom is fantastic.. so much privacy.. so spacious.. bt din get to c the ballroom though.. coz they hving private functions inside..

i just had my food tasting this afternoon gals..generally the food was good. portion was big but had some minor hiccups at the start because my co-ordinator did not communicate clearly with the staff at park palace. some of the better dishes were the scallops, baked large prawns and steamed garoupa!

overall, i would say based solely on the food, i think i have made a good choice to hold my wedding banquet there!

hopefully, they will keep up the standards

Hi Mystiobes, tks for accepting mi on FB
u look so pretty!

Visited GPCH today, must say this is really a place worth considering! Like the pillarless ballroom (thou slightly old, but they will do minor reno nex year during Qing Ming or the 7th mth...) With the perks they are giving now, tink it's quite a thumbs up!

I just went down to GPCH, it was great meeting William. I had place a deposite too. They are going to ask Vendor to quote for new design for flowers arrangement, only avaliable on Sep 09. BTW gals. additional 6 bottles wine if u use UOB credit card. *Winkz Winkz
It was lucky i asked, this promotion was there since 2008, jus didn't know it still exist. Hehe.

drizzles54 -
thanks! i do not have much photos of the ballroom though. hehe..

MemorableChocolate -
William was my coordinator too. He is a very patient man. =)

wah.. such a good buy.. good deal leh.. wana grab it..bt too bad for me, my AD date nt cmf yet.. so cannot book nw.. hope they hv mre good buys in the near future too..

Yap, the co-ordinator also didnt tell me, but i ask when i was going to make my payment. Always have the habit of asking this "any discount for any credit card" ... Haha. For resturant dining too, is a good practise, even if its 10%, it still can waive off the service charge and sometime can cost up to another meal or a dessert. (at the same time, earn points too) *Winkz

Here is the UOB link for 6 additional bottles of wine, ending this Month end.
http://www.uob.com.sg/personal/promotions/cards/promo_wedding_priv.html

Gene> ya it is on top of the wine per table (if u choose wine instead of beer).
As long as u pay your deposite using UOB credit card, you will get the 6bottles.

Hi!!

I am a BTB in 2010. Am seriously considering GPCH as a potential banquet place. However, my dinner is in Nov/Dec 2010, wanting to make use of the UOB cash discount of $88/$66 off per table but it is stated in UOB website that it is valid for weddings in Jan-Aug 2010, anyone has an idea whether the cash discount is valid for dinners held between Sep-Dec 2010? thanks!

Hi Jaaycee,

Go and check with the coordinators. Its very likely they can make arrangement for the 88/68 discount even ur AD is in late Nov10.

But now GPCH is ALREADY having $68 discount on weekend n $88 discount on weekdays(even w/o UOB card), as long as u sign up now or during their 19th Sep 09 workshop. I sign up last weekend for my wedding on Nov 2010, i still get that discount.

hi MemorableChocolate, have u view the bridal suites during ur visit there? I was told the some of the bridal suites (other than presidential,governor or oriental) are really small and plain. Jus wondering whether is this true...

Hi WeeMeng,

I saw the staff from T dragon during one of the wedding show last week, they told me usually is about 2months before the AD for the card selection. But i guess no harm going down to view earlier, in case u dun like their design and wanna source for something else.

CaymenS> I only seen the governor suit (as my HTB's sister had that during her wedding). I kind of like it. Is a living hall with a small toilet and is link to the bedroom with a huge toilet. The living hall itself is like one hotel bed room size. I heard that other bridal suit is similar size. Only governor suit has additional outdoor Jacuzzi right beside the living hall.