Grand Park City Hall

No prob Nana.

Dzxz - checked with my coordinator today, no reservations required for the watefall feature.
Nearer to the date, we will then confirm on the venue for the solemnisation.

hey ladies...

my AD is drawing near.. 18 June.. haha... fast fast!! just emailed my coordinator to ask him when can we go down to test our wedding montage DVD..

gals, may i know what makes u choose this hotel?? i just went to view their ballroom.. actually, i can say quite nice!! but when we left the hotel and went to the nearby 7/11 to buy some drinks, i realised the area around the hotel quite messy wor.. alot china workers walking and sitting around excelsor i think.. so was thinking if it's quite "zha"..

We had placed the deposit during the wedding show. The food at the wedding show is nice lei... Me eat couple of round, kekeke... Just that the refill of food quite slow lor...

Jacqueline-i think as long as the food and service is nice, can already... Anyway all these workers will only hang around Penisular area...

hi jacqueline,

initally, i also have that concern but like what sleepy said, i think the inner side of the hotel is more impt ba..afterall, our guests are not going to hang around outside the hotel for too long!

all in all, i chose this hotel because of the following..some are due to my personal preference though

1. good location - within 5 min walking distance from city hall mrt station
2. min. of 25 tables on a weekend (most other hotels require 30 & above)
3. relatively good food reviews (so far, havent' heard any really negative review on their food or services)
4.comprehensive package - free flow or beer, red wine per confirmed table, etc
5. good menu - 9 dishes (including abalone) at a reasonably priced (considered for a hotel-cos can't compare with restaurants!)
6. pillarless ballroom with private foyer area, relatively high ceiling

well, of course, there are also certain minor concerns which i had as follows..but i would say, these factors are not as highly prioritise in my list as compared to the above-mentioned..

1. surroundings of the hotel abit "messy"..seem always cluttered with alot of foreign workers..
2. short march-in aisle..L-shaped march-in, etc
3. foyer is long but slightly narrow..
4. branding of hotel..like some shared, not everyone seem to have heard of this hotel and sometimes i will need to make reference to peninsula plaza or funan IT mall to let my frens know the location of the hotel..

anyway, all the above-mentioned are just my personal thoughts gals..overall, i am still happy to have found this hotel and trust them to hold the most important event in my life..

thanks sleepy and supergal...

supergal, i go agree on your concerns coz me n bf also thinking about it.. but at least the ceiling is still ok coz ballroom dun look too small... i think if they open up the 2 ballrooms, the march in would be quite ok right??
what are the items that u managed to get the hotel to give u out of package?? i see from their wedding package online for 2010, they only have free flow beer from 8-11pm or 1 bottle wine per table..

actually my bf was still thinking to change the traditional dessert to the buffet type like michelle chia's... but the foyer is so squeezy and not really privatised...

Prissie...oh okie okie thks for sharing with me...

wow Stiobes..u must be feeling real excited liao.....hee hee hee

Hi Jac..I choose them is the first feeling I had when step to the hotel as compare to the rest I had been to...secondly is the coordinator is friendly helpful and flexible...thirdly is I did get some feedback from my colleagues that this is not a bad hotel food quite nice also (but I sign liao then ask them ke ke ) ...lastly is the package is reasonable.....dont worry about those people outside...look at Marina Mardrian, is a 5 or 6 star hotel but outsdie also many youngster play skate board, then many philipiness maid gather out times nearby ma...guest attend to your wedding arrive the hotel and go in liao they wont care about the others....unless the "zha" is at the main lobby whereby many others people rest around the main lobby then is not very good la.....moreover I think the location is quite acessible ma....MRT cross the road reach liao

I agreed with supergal on advantages point 1 to 6. haha..Currently, the only disadvantage to me is the short march-in. However, it is not something serious that will result in not choosing this hotel. The wedding show on sat has reaffirmed our decision in choosing GPCH.

Jacqueline> I din read thro the packages for 2010 cos I signed up last year. But I think should be free flow of beer and 1 bottle wine per table right? From my past research on hotels, I think most hotels will restrict free flow beer to certain timing also. Some only give certain barrels.

dzxz, both my bf and i kind of like the ballroom when we 1st see it.. about how it would look like during dinner still cannot visualize.. haha!! true hor, plus so near to mrt... good for those who dun drive. i was just afraid that the place might become rowdy lor..

Nana, wah! last year package so good.. for 2010 they only let use choose between free flow beer from 8-11 or 1 wine per table... most hotel i seen only give 1 barrel which is confirm not enough de...

hi jacqueline,

the march-in is going to slightly cramped i think..even with the min. 25+2 on a weekend..that's what i heard..so many brides suggested separate march-in, esp if your gown is those very "fluffy" type..

as for the items in the package, it is the standard items..i didn't really negotiate for more cos i'm quite alrite with it le..yup free flow of beer should only start from 8pm onwards..and the one bottle of wine per confirm table is also the norm ba..

as for the dessert buffet idea, i think this seems like the trend now but personally, i don't prefer lah..cos unlike michelle chia's wedding, where i heard she has only 5 or 6 main courses, the dessert buffet idea will be more idea for pple to fill up their stomache if they aren't full yet by the end of the last dish..as for ours, we have 8 or 9 courses and i do think that the buffet idea could come to a waste! but i do think that it's a good opportunity for your guests to mingle around ba..as compared to the current chinese sit down dinner, where everyone will leave after the last course..

nana..you went for the last sat wedding show? how was it? do they have more "themes"? or nicer backdrop kind of thing?

btw jacqueline, 2010 packages really took away the free flow beer + 1 bottle wine per table perk arh? now making couples to choose in btwn? personally, i would think if you are really interested in this hotel, go for the free flow beer..cos buying wine on a consignment basis is definitely cheaper if you buy beer! also, the hotel still waive the corkage charges rite?

supergal> I can't comment if there are more themes to choose from as I din see any of their past themes. There will be 6 themes to choose from but they only featured two at the wedding show. Personally I prefer the backdrop of pink roses balls. It's like an overhead arc with the balls of roses hanging there.. haha.. not sure if u can visualise my poor description. As for the stands deco, I would prefer the other one. It's red roses.. with a big heart shaped on top...

That time when I requested for their packages, I remembered also either free flow beer or 1 bottle red wine. When we went down to sign the contract, they have improved the package to both free flow of beer and one bottle of wine per table.

supergal, i already decided that my gown would be the pong pong type le.. i like coz very princessy.. hehez!!
yes, they took away and ask to choose either 1.. i estiimated le, if without bridal show perks, it might be cheaper to get wine from hotel coz they charge cockage $20 for each bottle.. so including the cost of wine u buy from hotel, it would be more ex than buying from hotels.. and will need to rent the projectors.. and extend 1 more night for bridal room.. at least 3k additional top up.. if sign now, will get the bridal perks and will need top up about 1.5k..

very not worth it... den now u mentioned quite squeezy.. hmmz.. coz we planning about 30 tables..

nana, so u r saying if go down, they might give u different things?

Jacqueline> No no... I dun mean that. Sorry for not phrasing it properly. What I meant was they improved the package. We din know of it until we went down to meetup with the coordinator in person. We were then given the revised packages. Basically, we din manage to bargain for anything outside the package.

oh.. okok... i see... btw, who is ur coordinator?? i was talking to william on the emails.. is he good? easy to talk to? coz to me it's like...
the latest converation is i was asking him if can extend the bridal show perks to us if we can meet up to discuss and probably sign a little later coz we both held up at work and unable to find time this week.. but his reply is.. "How about 6 June at 5pm? We have a wedding banquet on that night but you will not be entitle to Bridal Show perks.".. it's like straight in the face that there is no negotiation...

hi nana..hehe, that's why you noticed that i used "theme" with the open-close inverted commas? i also heard that there is no particular theme for this hotel and some brides shared that this is kind of a flexbility that the hotel will be able to cater to what we want, reasonable requests though!
what you have described sounds good to me!

jacqueline, you mean there is corkage charge in 2010 packages? wow, there seem to be quite a number of difference huh? i rem that the 2009 ones don't have and we can even purchase a bottle of wine from the hotel at $22nett! but i know of cos prices are on the rise annually..so we can't compare ba..last time during wedding show, there is even a free upgrade of the first dish to lobster salad! but that was 2 years back i think! the projectors park, think can negotiate abit gal..they should be able to waive the rental ba..and 30 tables, if plus 2 reserves, could be quite cramped for you leh i think..

btw, what are the perks for the last sat wedding show? care to share? just for our info ba..since most of us here have already signed le

this is the perks for bridal show last sat..
Bridal Show Perks

© S$1,688.00 nett discount off total bill for min. 28 tables confirmed
© S$1,188.00 nett discount off total bill for min. 25 tables confirmed
© Additional night stay at Bridal Suite with breakfast for 2
© 5 trays of canapés during cocktail reception
© Waiver of corkage charge for duty-paid wine
© 30% discount for outside catering wedding reception

ya, it seems like really alot diff lehz... interested in the hotel but perks not there and seems like non-negotiable..
cockage charge for 2010 is $20nett each... and if buy from hotel is $30nett each... i really hope they can be more flexible..

Jacqueline> William is my coordinator. Since he took over my ex-coordinator, I only emailed him few times. I met him for the first time at the wedding show. I do not have much liasing with him as yet. But from some of the feedback in this thread, GPCH is quite "strict" in terms of their packages, more of law by law kind.

Hmmm seems that there is really alot of diff lei....think is it cos of recession, they cannot be giving so much? hmmm but on the other hand recession should give more perks to attract couples hor....

Some corrections to what I have mentioned just now.. the package for 2008 is complimentary one barrel beer (25- 27 tables) or free flow beer (28 tables or above)plus one bottle of wine per table.

Then when I signed up that time, it was revised to free flow beer regardless of your table numbers plus one bottle of wine per table. However, the price increases slightly too.

nana, ya, i was talking to william thought email too.. thought that y so not flexible.. sigh... if they can give the perks, it would be good lehz..
sigh... the last years package really good lehz... if price increase a little, and overall still worth it i should be ok. but now is everything also dun have...

supergal, it has to be a hotel ballroom that is presentable and comfortable.. (My future MIL hinted me that she wants those).. Then, was hoping for a nice pillarless and high ceiling because would want the ballroom to look so squeezy... Looking for free flow beer, wine cockage waived with projectors provided and less than 1k per table...

Just to check what are the red wine will u be buying as I think 1 wine per table given by hotel is not enough...but I am a total idiot about wine...anyone can advise which brand to buy and not ex.....Hotel is giving Wolfbass but think I not going to buy the same brand...

Hi Jac, u may wan to try orchard hotel or Carlton Hotel or even Novotel Hotel? I remember Novotel is quite good and pkg should not be bad either ba....hee but cos when I go GPPH I love it first sight so I cancel my appointment with Novotel lo...

dzxz> I also dunno anything about wine. My HTB's brothers work overseas. Everytime they come back, they will buy for us from the airport. So far, they have gotten us several different brands.

Carlton Hotel has 2 big pillars. Furama Riverfront, M Hotel, Park Hotel Orchard have pillarless and high ceiling ballrooms. Location wise I think Park Hotel Orchard and GPCH will be more accessible.

dzxz, wolfbass should be ok but depending on what one they provide. you can also go to those distributors to check on the wine. The staff there can also help you to choose. just tell them what u prefer or what you wanna avoid.
Orchard is too expensive.. haha!! Novotel's perks for 2010 is not that good either. M hotel although it kind of pillarless, but there are 2 big pillars at the back...
GP is nice.. but without the bridal show perks, we got to top up quite a lot for beer and wine.

nana, i tried contacting park hotel orchard but no response from them..

They only allow either free flow beer or 1 bottle of wine per table...
But during the wedding show, they will give 6 bottles of wine if using UOB card...

Hi dzxz, I also think one bottle of wine per confirmed table may not be sufficient…I signed up during last year wedding show and they are giving additional 6 bottles and I still feel that it may not be enough..cos maybe weekend pple may tend to drink more?

I think the hotel is using Wolfblass Bilyara and this brand of wine is not too expensive actually..and I have heard from radio stations (class 95) that Wolfblass is a good brand of wine! But like you, I am going to bring in another argentina/chile brand that my sis used last year, as I still have about 1 carton left at home..if still not enough, will buy from hotel directly..think it will be at $22nett then~

Jacqueline, personally, just to share my personal view on the hotels which I have been to for weddings..

NCQ…like dzxz, I almost wanted to sign up with them (before I got to know about GPCH!) but I didn¡¦t want to commit 30 tables then..so dropped the idea. Think they have a big and nice private foyer area and the Phoenix Grand Ballroom looks quite nice when fully decorated (even though some may say it looks kind of old)..foodwise, quite alrite..attended my frens wedding dinner back in nov 07..perkwise, may not be as good because they are not giving free flow of beer and only have 1 bottle of wine per table..think they have corkage charges as well..location wise still ok..walkable from Clarke quay MRT..but I heard the parking is quite bad..read a lot about the parking problem from the forum..

M Hotel…the so-called 2 pillars at the back of the banquet suite looked more like a sunken in corner where you can have about 2 tables there but think there shouldnt be any view blockage..march-in wise, it will be abit weird in my opinion..foodwise, had our company D&D there last year, not many good reviews but I do think that their bridal suite is nice! Esp the Jacuzzi in the room..kind of cool…location wise, walkable from TP MRT but personally, I do really like the feel of the hotel ba..

Carlton Hotel….very good location! Their empress (if I rem correctly) ballroom looks quite nice if not for the 2 big mirror pillars that nana also mentioned….my fren did her ROM back there in 2006 and overall, is quite pleased with their service!

Orchard Hotel….package is quite expensive like you said and the location is not very good…have to walk a far bit from Orchard MRT station..unless you like the ballroom a lot, I would think give it a go ba..

As for the Furama series (Riverfront or City Centre) of hotels, they never really cross my mind..maybe I don’t really have a good impression of the hotels..dunno why..

Have you considered Holiday Inn Park View? I find the ballroom quite ok and the perks are not too bad (for 2009). Location wise is not too bad. How about Amara Hotel? But Amara ballroom not so nice and kind long..

Actually, for a weekday wedding, I find Grand Copthorne Waterfront not a bad idea..i like their grand ballroom a lot but I cant meet their tables requirement..so have to strike if off m

hi Supergal.. thanks babe!! actually what u have listed are what i m considering also..

NCQ, i heard how nice their ballrooms are but then, their perks are really not there...

M hotel, i also did though of their march in coz entrance is by the side right?? but the private foyer is a plus.. and their bridal suite... i almost decided on this hotel until i saw the ballroom... i m holding back.

Carlton, didnt get to see their ballroom yet. but overall, it's a hotel u cannot miss...

orchard hotel, i went to a wedding dinner last year.. very nice... but price also very nice.. haha!!

actually furama's perks is pretty good esp the riverfront. but the city centre ballroom is pretty nice... pretty high ceiling and pillarless. but guest getting there might be a prob. and the slope up to the hotel main entrance and into the car park is a real prob for my bf's car and his friends'.

Holiday Inn Park View, their new ballroom seems nice on the photo. perks ok too.. but dare not commit now coz didnt get to see the real ballroom after reno.

Grand Corpthrone, same case.. cannot meet min requirements...

actually i m considering goodwood and hilton also.. if pillar is not a prob, i might take hilton.. and goodwood seems pretty nice but a little ex.. haha!!

sleepy, yes, william seems quite strict...

actually GPPH City Hall is nice.. bf and i felt it was ok but we dont want to commit so soon coz haven recee others.. and without the wedding show perks, means need to top up quite a lot lehz,,

jacqueline> Assuming the perks under normal circumstances (meaning not from bridal show) from other hotels are around the same with GPCH, what will be your deciding factors then?

for my opinion, if you manage to get free flow of beer, i would not recommend to get more bottles of wine. it will not be worth as your whole total bill will give you more problem. you have to be firm on this decision.

come from my experience, i understand the wine were not enough for everyone. we discuss with our coordinator to start the free flow of beer when our cocktail start. then when our dinner start, the coordinator will start to open wine to everyone. once they were finish, our guests just continue to drink beer instead. luckily our guests are understanding

nana, my considering factors wold be free flow beer and cockage for wine waived.. and projectors included..

because without the wedding show perks, GPPH charge for cockage...

cheekrene, that sounds like a good idea.. how many bottles of wine did u consume in total for that day?

when will be your wedding date jacqueline?

how about waiting till the next wedding show to sign up? though it may probably be half a year later..if you can wait till then?

supergal, mine would be on 28 Nov 2010.
dare not wait for too long coz from what i know, hotels have quite a lot of bookings le. Afraid that if i wait, in the end, i cant find a ballroom that i like.

nana, what u meant?? u mean like now they have bridal show, den maybe next mth they might revise their package? but they wun inform us de right??

hi jacqueline, yup if you wait till the next wedding show to book, which should be sometime in oct or nov09, it may be quite late le..esp when you are very particular about the dates..

alternatively, if you are still interested, you can ask william to tentatively reserve the date for you and pray that till the next wedding show, no one will request for the same date as you..

this is what i've done and we consider ourselves quite lucky ba..i booked the date with the co-ordinator sometime in late march last year, just a few days after the march 08 wedding show (cos i missed it!!)..waited till sep 08 then we sign the contract at the wedding show to enjoy some of the perks!

the co-ordinator did tell us that there are some other couples who has asked about the same date but like us, they are also waiting for the wedding show to sign up and since we are the first to reserve the date, we have priority. but of course if any couples want to book immediately and not wait for the wedding show, the co-ordinator will usually call up the couple who has tentatively reserved the date to ask if they are still interested and would like to confirm their booking. if still can't decide, then the tentative booking will be released to the couple who wants to make the payment immediately..

i guess this is how most hotels work!