Grand Hyatt Singapore

hi mookie22...

yeps..me already settled both BS and dinner...so now no longer hunting for wedding stuff...well, gng to start designing gown in end Dec/jan...then PS in May...hopefully will be ok coz my peak at wk coming soon so wont have much time to plan for my wedding...

hi babyG...COngrats!! welcome to join our hyatt brides...hehe...so when ur AD???u still manage to get the promotion????

Hi mookie,

My AD is 15July04, BS is Milan same as Irene. My PS gown selection is next Fri and i m really very excited!
Hope that i can find the design that i like.

Hi gerlynn,

Yes i managed to get the promotion.

hi BabyG...

heehee..u muz be really excited huh...hope u will find the gown u like ...for WG, is it MTM or OTR?? what design do u have in mind??? my designer ask me to think of what i like n feedback to her..but i m clueless...

Hi gerlynn,

My WG is OTR, but I can choose MTM wth some top up if I can't find the design that I like. Milan does not encourage their customers to choose MTM cause once ur gown is made and u find the design not really good on you, u hav no choice but to accept it.

I like a design from Ted-Wu, with very nice, sweet embriodery using colored beads. So hopefully i can find a similar design.

Maybe u can try some OTR gown to see which design suits you most or shortlisted some design that u like (fr bridal magazines) and seek advice from ur designer. Ask him/her to let u try some OTRs, else you can't really know whether that type of gown looks good on you not.

Hi BabyG,
Wow, you will be choosing your gown, so exciting! Since it will be OTR, keep an open mind - u'll never know cos THE gown may not look like Ted Wu's at all. I'm sure you will find your dream gown! Good Luck!

Here's the expanding list

Name: AD / BS / PS
Swatch2004: Feb 04 /Camelia rm
Mookie22: 6 Jun 04 /Hibiscus rm /Jawn (TBC)
BabyG: 15 July 04 /Hibiscus rm /Milan
Gerlynn: 23 Sept 04/Hibiscus rm /Camellia /Beetles @ work
Puzzlerain: 19 Dec 04 /Hibiscus rm /Paris

Hi Gerlynn, I've more or less decided to confirm Jawn Happy Ever After which emphasizes on MTM. Now, I just need to confirm the photographer for PS. Plan to confirm asap & looking forward to design phase. I'm just like you too, clueless abt what I want. That's why I hesitated so long before deciding which BS I was comfortable with. Designer said dun worry, most brides oso dunno what they want. Just compile a whole bunch of magazine cut outs of gowns that you like and it will help your desinger to come up with something based on your preferences.

Meanwhile, I will try my best to "diet" & loose some weight! hehehe

seems like quite a bit of conversation going on here, and glad to see that the list is expanding. The thread for hyatt was quiet for quite a while before all you gals come here!!

I have chosen my MTM gown, which is a princess cut with train, and the gown is made of one big piece of lace, with some beads on it... well, guess i am not very good at my description. anyway,i quite like the design of it.

as what you gals said,just browse more bridal magazine and webs on the internet then you will know what you want!

cheers and have fun for your gown search!

hello mookie22..

congrats on finding ur BS..mine oso does MTM...well, PS shd be easier to find...first, u muz know ur budget...then its quite easy to select coz the more renowned the photographer is, the more X...so once u shortlist, go down to view their pictures, u will immediately know if u like that photographer...good luck!

hello swatch2004...yeah...now the thread seems so much more active rite...last time only u n me...hehee...hey, ur gown seems nice..n elegant..how abt ur EG?? how is it like? when is ur PS???shd be soon rite??

hi gerlynn,

my EG will be purplue colour with a strape hanging round the neck, and there will be some silver embrioderies on it. some of my friends suggested me getting three gowns, but i think i would rather spend time with my friends and family then changing all the times, what do you gals prefer?

hi swatch2004..

yea..i think 2 should be enuff...its quality rather than quantity...hehhee...

so when ur PS?? u decided where to go already??? n have u decided ur solemnization venue???

hello gerlynn,

my PS should be in the coming month, if things go smoothly. I think i will still opt for sentosa. I want to shoot something with blus sky and green, so guess sentosa is still the best choice. i thought of botanic garden too, but will check out the venue first before finalizing.

for solemnization, still have not make up our mind yet. also becoz hyatt said their rooms are upgrading, so cannot show us the suite, a bit worried what it exactly looks like if we decide to hold solemnization in the suite... still thinking.. any thoughts??

hi swatch2004..

ha, now that u mention...i have not seen hyatt suite b4..n i forgotten abt it...hehe...have u seen b4???

well...if not u can request for a function room from hyatt...or the garden???

wow..u muz be excited with the upcoming PS ya?? so fun...mine still so long...hehee...

hi gerlynn,

we asked about the suite before, but they said under renovation, so cannot see =(

i thought of the garden also, but i am also worried about the heat! or may be i can ask for a function room, which i have never thought of before...

yes, really excited about the PS, you can always do your PS first.. as it will take sometime to develop, =)

Hi swatch2004..

no la..my AD is sept'04...too far away...

ya...im quite sure they will give you a function room if no one is using that day...

hmm...hope the suite will be nicee...n hope by next year..hyatt will be well renovated...then even nicer...hehe..

new.gif

I have also signed up with GH in October. I also get to enjoy the the promotion (free flow of beer and waiver of corkage charges).

There's some questions that need you ladies inputs:

a. Btw anyone out there intend to rent the projector?
b. How much is the rental charge?
c. Does it come together with the VCD player or the laptop?
d. Anyone out there going for the food tasting? How much you need to pay?

gintonic

hi Gin,

can advise how u get the free flow of beer? we wanted to cfm on Hyatt but they din offer us free flow leh... that's our main worry...

hi gin...

welcome to GH...im also a GH Bride...i havent decide whether to rent anot..but think u cld rent from outside (which maybe cheaper) n they will set up for u free...ya, i shd be gng for food tasting...think its 380+++ for 10 persons...

hope this helps...L

hi ivory...

the freeflow is for confirmation in oct'03..not sure if they still have the promo...if dun have, then they will only offer 30L or what...

hi gerlynn,

thanks for the info... so they just had a promo in Oct har... nevermind, tonite then we will meet up with the manager to discuss before placing our deposit..

food tasting not free meh?

I have checked out the rates for projector, it's $300 for weddings, $450 for corporate functions... really expensive! So i'll prob get my own projector, i've got a quote of $150 from a freelancer mentioned in SB.com, let's hope this chap is reliable lah... My wedding is next mth, i'll let u all know whether the projector service is good or not.

Wah, i think u gals have got a good deal... when i signed up last year, dun have free flow beer leh...
35688.gif

Hi Ivory,

Gerlynn is rite, this is the promotion in Oct when I signed up with them. But GH give us a choice:
Either we go for the free food tasting or we go for the free flow of beer. After much consideration, we decided to go for the free flow of beer which is more worth.

Actually I check up with some of my frens who is preparing of the dinner reception as well, they got free food tatsing for the hotels that they signed up.

But after when considering the perks that GH give us, is still more worth lah...

My package is:
Free flow of beer
Waiver of hard liquor and wines
2 nites bridal suite (I think GH win on this promo)
Hope this will help you ya...

Hi naturally,

Pls let me know the outcome of the rental of the projector which you get from a freelancer. My AD is on the Sep 2004 so still got a bit of time to look for better deal. As I find that GH charge $300++ is quite X...

Actually saw of the thread on the renatl of the projector from a freelancer which charge at $180, wonder is that the one that you loan? Does it come with the laptop or the VCD player as well so that you can link up to the projector?

hi ivory,

i had my wedding a yr ago at hyatt, despite not hving free flow beer. we served wines instead, no beer, since there was free corkage. the wines were bought on consignment, so any unused wines could be returned. just an option for u to consider.

hi ivory...

yea, my package is the same as gintonic...

hi naturally,

ya i saw the thread too...n the feedback seems quite good rite...hope he is a reliable guy...do let us know the outcome...so exciting your wedding is just next mth...all the best in your preparation..u muz be v busy now...:P

hi oct...

where did you get ur wine consignment from? v good deal huh...maybe u can share w us??? how much per bottle? n how many bottles did ur guests consume??

kekeke... me add myself on the expanding list too

Name: AD / BS / PS
Swatch2004: Feb 04 /Camelia rm
Mookie22: 6 Jun 04 /Hibiscus rm /Jawn (TBC)
BabyG: 15 July 04 /Hibiscus rm /Milan
Gerlynn: 23 Sept 04/Hibiscus rm /Camellia /Beetles @ work
Ivory : 4 Oct 04 / Grand Ballrm / Popular Honeymoon
Puzzlerain: 19 Dec 04 /Hibiscus rm /Paris

my coordinator is Andy... he's really a nice guy.. advise us on all sorts of things n extra costs.. think he really help us alot on our major concern.. that is BEER!!! hahahahaha

we will be bringing a lot of red wine n Andy mentioned that have to charge min corkage fee which both me n my hubby found its quite resonable

actually wat are the perks are u gals toking abt? me n my hubby never go hotel scouting..

Hi Gerlynn, this thread has come alive again!
Welcome Gintonic and Ivory.
Glad that the earlier contributors have come back to help us newbies too! Hope you will continue to stick around to share your wisdom!

So Naturally's wedding is the earliest amongst us here. Yes, please do let us know whether the projector's performance. I haven't really thot abt projector rental but I would love to have show a photo montage.

Gintonic, i think i will have food tasting too - you can provide feedback to the chef and it's an opportunity for both families to interact.

I will consider bringing wines but dunno how much my guests will drink. Och, which wines did you get for your dinner & were they good?

Don't know if you gals mind my asking but will you/FH/PIL be giving your parents tables for the dinner i.e. they will be collecting ang paos? Was wondering how many still follow tradition or have "modernised". My parents say that they won't ask for dowry but will collect ang paos for all their tables. As my FH and I are paying for everything, we're thinking that we can't afford to give them that many tables. Granted that different families have different financial cushions, I'm curious to know what the average figure and range is in Singapore. Any advise?

Hi och..

thanks..will definitely check it out..

hi ivory,,

welcome to add on to our list..
ehh...u mean u know u want hyatt from the start?? thats cool...me n my FH scout ard...but think in the end hyatt seems the best choice...we booked during the promo so its free flow beer n no corkage charges...

hi Mookie22...yeah agree the thread died down for awhile ya??? hehe...btw, how r u? have u been doing anything for your wedding?? should have started to make ur gown???? me pretty busy nowadays as my peak coming soon...no time to prepare for wedding...hehe..am clueless abt what type of gown i want...

oh..we are not intending to give my family any free tables ..hehe...told my dad...think he is ok abt it althou did grumble abit...but we are paying for the things and i see no reason in giving my parents...hehe..so cant advise u...but think it depends on how many tables ur parents want the FH to give....maybe just a few??? if not , very taxing on the couple leh....

hello all,

was busy with work and doing some wedding preparation for the past weeks. Had my food tasting recently, the food is nice. the only complaint would be about the fish and the suckling pig, which is not really up to standard. we feedback on that and hope it will be better on the wedding day.

have my PS recently too. havn't seen the pics yet but hope that it will be nice!

mookie22, for the tables, we do agreed to give my parents 8 tables plus dorwy. afterall, they raise me and they will be buying jewellery for me as well. not that they will take the money for their own enjoyment. so we agreed to that lor. though this will make us tight financially!

hello swatch2004...

glad that ur food tasting is ok..i have a few friends who attended wedding there these 2 months n one say the food is OK LOR...the other say not bad n one say everything is too SALTISH...gosh...really depend on luck...so hard to guarantee the actual day ...

hey..show us ur fotos if its out ok...i mean if u have soft copies or what...

hi mookie22..i think u shd talk to ur parents and come to a consensus like swatchh2004...so that u can afford it n at the same time ur parents would be happy...rite?

Last evening i met up with my new coordinator, Michele, she's quite a nice lady. And there was a wedding at the grand ballroom, they were testing the projector when i was there... the screen is a portable one (hyatt provides it complimentary), which is good shd u decide to place it elsewhere...

I'll prob go for gold theme, hubby and i prefer a warmer touch, now headache over wat flowers to use... i kinda like simple Zen-like floral arrangements, but dunno if it would look out of place with a gold setup...

Och, Irene and anyone who has had their wedding at hyatt, can advise wat flowers u used?

I am new to this forum. It is a pity that I only knew about this website now otherwise it would have saved me some frustration when I was doing my planning. Anyway ... I am having the Hibiscus room and am a little worried now that I read that it is rather cramped. my wedding is on 23 dec 03 and I would definitely feedback tp everyone on the service, food etc. Next week I would be meeting the coordinate, Michele. Seems that the gold theme is rather popular but was hoping to be able to get it a bit more xmas looking.... hope that all turns up well.

hi mookie, we faced the same problem as u when planning our wedding, we din know how to estimate the amount of wines to serve. the advantage of hving consignment wines is that u can return all bottles that weren't used. the finewines guy recommended river gum's chardonnay n carbanet sauvigon for affordability n taste. that's what we got. i'm not a wine expert, but i thot they tasted ok.

hi gerlyn, u r welcome.
n btw, my food tasting n actual day food was good, but i attended another friend's wedding at hyatt 3 months after mine n the food was rather salty.

hi naturally, i used cream roses.

hi daphne...

welcome to here...well late is better than never...guess u will be a great help to all of us since your wedding is so soon...rem to update us ok...n all the best to your upcoming wedding...

im also thinking of other theme other than the gold...but havent think of anything...anyway still very long...but i may be opting for the dessert thingy...coz really like their dessert...

hi gerlynn,

their dessert is definitely nice. we chose peach pudding for dessert and all the guests at food tasting like it a lot.

btw, i think i will change to hibiscus too, and after viewing the room, i think it goes best with gold theme because of the inside deco, but may be you can think of something new that will inspire them in new themes!

Hello Daphne!
Hey your wedding is just 2 days after mine!! U got everything prepared yet? Michele is your new coordinator too? Actually i've seen quite a few silver theme setups, it's very nice and elegant, and i suppose more xmasy than gold?
I've asked to meet Michele again next tue, wonder if i'll bump into u?

Hi Och,
Thks for sharing, i'm thinking of either cream/champagne/peach roses, which shd blend in nicely, or deep red roses which would be more outstanding, but might be a tad too loud... i dunno lah, maybe i shd go pester my coordinator for more photos before i confirm, hee, i'm gonna be a troublesome client...

Gerlynn,
My hubby was very impressed with the grand dessert too! But if i tell him the price, i'm sure he wouldn't be as impressed... it's $17 per head... but it sure is a grand way of ending the banquet...

Have a nice weekend, everybody!

Hi Naturally & Daphne,
All the best in your preprations for your impending wedding. You'll be the first amongst us here.

Daphne, the spaciousness will depend on how many tables you have and whether you will have the screen and projector. If you have 26 tables and the projector/screen, it might be a little cramped along the aisle.

Gerlynn & Swatch2004, thanks for your feedback. I want to be respectful to my parents but don't want to feel burdened at the same time, so FH & I will have to work it out and talk my parents.

The food standard so inconsistent, very worrying!
Swatch2004, did you have the Seabass or other fish? My menu doesn't have suckling pig though. Mmm, the grand desserts sound v tempting but price is too grand .. ke ke

I had been thinking about the colour of flowers too. I like red roses as they are elegant and romantic, but I feel that they don't stand out as much among the dark green leaves in the floral arrangement. The lighter coloured roses will stand out more. I also feel that Hyatt's roses aren't those nice big blooms. Saw very pretty whitish-pink roses in a foreign magazine but can't remember the name. Naturally, if you like deep red roses, don't worry that they are too loud cos I've seen a set up like that b4 which looks very nice. I was actually wondering whether bright red roses would be loud

hi mookie22,

can understand the bit about financial burden. It will be very tight budget for us as well but I just don't want to leave my mum being unhappy. so i think the best choice is to talk her nicely and tell her your constraints. I am sure she will understand as she is your mum afterall.

for the fish, we have garoupa instead of the seabass, and for the suckling, we actually have to pay extra for it. but i think they are quite flexible with their menu, you can try to negotiate with them about what you want.

your whitish-pink roses sound nice, but if you request them particularly, you might have to pay for it... might be the next time when you meet with your coordinator, you can ask them to show you some pictures and they will be able to recommend you!

mookie22...yeah like what swtach2004 says, im sure ur parents will be understanding...just try to let them know what is the best u can do for them...

hi swatch2004...hey how much do u have to p;ay for the suckling pig/? is it in addition or a swop between 2 dishes???

hi naturally...im interested in the dessert but dun think i will take the Grand dessert coz the price is too grand...haaa...probably will try to work something out with my corrdinator for a cheaper range..maybe dun require too many varieties or what...:P

After seeing the forum, it seems that I have the most tables leh...I have about 40-45tables. So for my case is that I will be occupying the Grand Ballroom as well as the Ballroom 1 which is located at level 3. I will be going for my food tasting as well. My MIL say that if in future during the AD, the food not up to standard we can complaint lor...(which I think that during the Food tasting and Ad, the chefs may be diff lor).

Well, in the earlier thread, gerlynn was asking that if bride's parents will take all ang baos for the dinner tables. My parents will not be asking for any pin jin but will be taking the ang baos lor...(I think quite fair lah).

As for the theme of the AD deco, I will be in for the silver theme but my hubby prefer the gold theme. Maybe will decide next year as my AD is next Sep. Still quite far...

Lately receive a bad news from my bridal shop which I book a package with. They intend to wind up the business as the lady boss is going to Australia with her hubby for at least 3 years. They transfer my contract to a bridal shop named 'Vanity' but I declined. But glad that she return us our deposit. So now my and my hubby are trying to look for other BS. Gals, any suggestions or maybe can share with me your Bridal package?

Thank You

hi gin...

sorry to hear abt your bridal packge..but really lucky that she still returns you the deposit..and ur wedding still quite far away (same as mine)...so good luck in ur bridal searching again...it all really depend on personal preference ...mine is Camellia Houte Couture in penisula plaza..i signed up coz i like the designer (who is also the owner) taste in gowns and her passion for this job...

ya, i will be giving my parents pinjin..thou have not really decide how much...hehe...muz really plan hor..coz we r on tight budget as well...

I am so mad with hubby. Was supposed to meet up with wedding coordinator on this Tuesday (same day as you naturally) hence decided to check out the wedding set up during the weekend since I was quite worried about the size. Hubby was supposed to call and make sure that there was a wedding...however he forgot (really bird brain)now have to go to meeting with no idea of color and size. So so very mad...I am going to give him the silent treatment....... is it just my hubby or is most guys don't really bother ???!!!

Hi Daphne...
Hee, dun like dat lah, he must be too excited with other wedding preps (like RSVP maybe?) and so forgot to call lor... dun worry, Michele is just a call away, u have her number? I can always pm u if u need!

Just spoke to Michele, she's has too many appts on tue, so can't meet us... will meet her on next thur instead, cos there'll be a gold theme wedding going on.

Hello Gin!
I dun quite understand... how come u need 2 ballrooms? Grand ballroom can accomodate up to 50+ (if they remove partition, can take 70+!) Sorry abt your bridal package, that's so unexpected... but nvm, u still have plenty of time to choose another BS!

Yeah... grand dessert so expensive... but gerlynn, thks for the splendid suggestion!! We'll ask if they can downgrade grand dessert menu....

Hi naturally,

Hubby is not busy at all, he has not even finish writing the invites and I had to nag at him to do quickly. Anyway I have been trying to get hold of Michelle for the whole morning. Think she is busy lah. Anyway will try later..
Hubby just called and apologises, seems that he cannot stand the silent treament.

Finally manage to get hold of Michele. Anyway have reschedule to Thurs cos there is a 28 table wedding on wed nite. Should be able to see how tight the place is.
Can someone tell me what is the grand dessert ???

Hi naturally,

I think the on level 3 there were three ballrooms. Grand ballroom, Ballroom 1 and Ballroom 2. For mine, will be the grand and ballroom 1 as it is just nice to take 40-45 tables lor... BUt if my tables increase to 55 tables, will be taking up all the 3 ballrooms...

Hi Daphne,

Sorry can't tell you what is the grand dessert cos yet to go to that stage.

Oh the grand dessert is a buffet dessert spread, so instead of the usual last dish of pudding or yam paste or other desserts, the guests will be invited to help themself at the grand dessert buffet table.

During the bridal show i went to (think it's Oct last year), wat they did was to "hide" the grand dessert buffet table behind a partition. And then voila! The waiters will push open the partitions to reveal the mouth-watering desserts... heehee, this shd appeal to all dessert lovers, but dunno if old folks will like it, cos they won't be served...

Oic Gin, i've always thot the whole place is just called Grand Ballroom, didn't know they give names to the partitioned areas...
Btw, that shd be level 2, not 3, yeah i know u have to take 2 flights of escalators to get to the grand ballroom level, but the level inbetween is called the "mezzanine" level, so that makes the grand ballroom level the 2nd level instead of 3rd... i also find it confusing, heehee, hope nobody goes to the wrong banquet, haha!

hi mookie,
thanx for the welcome ah

as for the tables giving to my parents, both my parents n PILs are very chin chye.. we b giving my parents 8 tables, meaning, we pay for the tables, angpao for the 8 tables they take
if they wan to invite more than 8 tables, then they have to help chip in for the additional tables they wan
that’s how we work
but of cos if we making a loss on the banquet, my parents will auto “surrender” the ang paos to us to help cover the cost lah
if not I oso wan them the keep the ang paos

as for the dowry, whatever my PILs give them for Pin Jing, they will return half as dowry..

cos my family oso bo lui type
lucky my PILs both are very easy going

hi gerlynn,
I din decide on the venue lah.. my hubby the one who decide.. then both of us oso lazy to pay visits to hotels n bridal shops..

hi swatch,
u mean the garoupa dun taste nice? then change to soon hock lor..

hi daphne,
welcome welcome… its still not too late to join in our thread
cos u can give advice to us mah

dun be mad at ur hubby lah.. relax relax… mayb next time u do the coordination?

hi gintonic,
dun worry… me oso lotsa tables.. at least 50.. datz y I must have all the ballrooms on level 3 opened up for us

hi naturally,
u open up the 3 ballrooms then can accommodate 70 tables lah
for 45 tables they will open 2 ballrooms oni, then the 3rd ballroom still can be use for other couple if they have small wedding.. I think so…

ya… me oso a bit blur when I have to go up 2 flights when its indicated level 2… anyway, my coordinator say they will station ushers at different levels to make sure ur guests go to the correct wedding

ivory,

it's not a problem with the type of fish, it's the way they cook that did not bring out the best taste of it. must remind them not to get them overcook the fish on the day..... =)

Will you be bringing in your own wines or will get from GH?

Heard from my coordinator that the if buy from them, like say if we get three cartons but manage to drink only two cartons, we got to take back the 1 carton lor...On the other hand, if like say not enough and we need more of the same type of wine, if they happen that they run out of stock they might give us a higher price of wine. So my hubby and I are still considering

We manage to find a shop at Toa Payoh Lorong 4 that is the wine supplier. Check with them on the price and if we get more, there will be some discount on the wines. They do provide delivery to the hotel as well.