Grand Hyatt Singapore

hi Swatch2004!!!!

so long nv see ya...

hmmm...think min is 25 tables...but they accept anything less than that..but muz pay more per table la...think u beta cnfm fast ...coz ur wedding is feb rite? beta check with your coordinator c if hibiscus free on that day...

ya...me taking hibiscus...hehe...fell in love with it leh...bo pianz...

Hi gerlynn and Swatch2004,

I will only hav 15-18 tables, so the best function room for me shld be Camellia. I haven't seen the wedding setup for this room, guess ur pple might hav view this room before. Can I hav some comment abt this room? I m worry wth the two pillars in the middle which might block the stage ...

Hi BabyG

Some other alternate Suggestion.
If your table max is 15 only. Then you can take FS - Cresent Ballroom very nice with high ceiling
and candeliers light, pillarless and with own foyer.

You can try to ask for Hyatt Hisbiscus room(min 20) cos I saw only 16 tables on 1 of the day. Maybe need to pay more. 16 tables sit nice in the hisbiscus because the room is quite small.

Chijmes is also a idea place for 15-18tables in the center aisle of chijmes. But i think min table is 20.

Raffles Hotel, Suntec Function Room also min 20 tables, pillarless

Raffles the Plaza Atrium Ballroom also min 20 tables with 2 pillars but not so bad.

Ritz Carlton (Summer Pavilion) can take a max of 14tables.

Fullerton (Jade Restaurant) can take a max of 18 tables.

Wow, lotsa activity here last nite.

Hi Gerlynn & Puzzlerain, after some thought I may still go for Hyatt Hibiscus on a Sunday afterall - weekend is convenient for guests & I get what I want. (he he ... so indecisive!)

I agree with Puzzlerain that FS does look grander but given various constraints including dates, Hyatt does fit the bill. Love the gold theme & cosiness. Just hope it doesn't get too "cosy" (*cramped*) and the food is up to standard.

I saw the Chijmes ad with the spiral cake - nice
Marina Mandarin has something like that for their standard set-up, but it's a dummy cake.

Gerylynn, how's ur negotiation going? I don't quite understand the part about exchanging cards with T-dragon. Coordinator sounded like Hyatt doesn't pay "printer" for the cards exchanged, more like whether the "printer" is willing to exchange or not. I'm also thinking of exchanging cards for sashes.

Not happy with my coordinator who insisted that they have to release the tentative booking after one week "cos this is promo period & the system does not accept bookings over a week ... we have to be fair to other couples ..." I tried to reason that if no one else is considering the same room for the same day, they should be able to still hold the room for me, unless another couple is ready to confirm. Coordinators said no ... they have their policies

Wow, lotsa activity here last nite.

Hi Gerlynn & Puzzlerain, after some thought I may still go for Hyatt Hibiscus on a Sunday afterall - weekend is convenient for guests & I get what I want. (he he ... so indecisive!)

I agree with Puzzlerain that FS does look grander but given various constraints including dates, Hyatt does fit the bill. Love the gold theme & cosiness. Just hope it doesn't get too "cosy" (*cramped*) and the food is up to standard.

I saw the Chijmes ad with the spiral cake - nice
FS & Marina Mandarin has something like that for their standard set-up, but it's a dummy cake.

Gerylynn, how's ur negotiation going? I don't quite understand the part about exchanging cards with T-dragon. Coordinator sounded like Hyatt doesn't pay "printer" for the cards exchanged, more like whether the "printer" is willing to exchange or not. I'm also thinking of exchanging cards for sashes.

Not happy with my coordinator who insisted that they have to release the tentative booking after one week "cos this is promo period & the system does not accept bookings over a week ... we have to be fair to other couples ..." I tried to reason that if no one else is considering the same room for the same day, they should be able to still hold the room for me, unless another couple is ready to confirm. Coordinators said no ... they have their policies

hi gerlynn,

how much more to pay if the no. of tables is about 20 for hisbiscus?

Baby G,

there are two pillars at the end of the room, we might not sit ppl towards the end of the left and right corner so that guests will still be able to see the stage, and those ppl who sit there will be those not so close one. so kind of no choice but to accomodate a bit.

have not see the full set up yet, but think my FH and I will opt for silver set up instead of gold, though I must agree that the gold is very nice as well, just that we prefer silver more.

mookie22,

about the card exchage, we checked with T-dragon before and you can just choose from a whole lot of designs if you are from hyatt and use their printing, so no need to worry about the cards @ hyatt!

Hi swatch2004

How abt the two smaller pillars in front of the room? I guess the two pillars should be just on the left and right side of the stage. Did u notice the two smaller pillars? I m afraid the photo will come out wth pillar on each side ler...

Hi puzzlerain,

Thanks for ur advice. I will attend raffles the plaza bridal show this sat, c any promo on that day not. Can view their ballroom as well.

The FS promo only for the bridal show is it? I mean free 15 bottles of wine.

babyG

ai... i did not really notice the two pillars at the front. how big is that? hope that I didn't see it because it's not big enough to catch my attention.. hehe

hi swatch2004, gd to know abt arrangement with TD, thks!
As hyatt charges based on pax, ur 20 tables in hibiscus should be based on the 15 tables & above px of $728 wkdays, $888 wkends & $908 Sat.

hi swatch2004...im not sure too...maybe its like what mookie22 says...u can check with the coordinator...hee...think both silver n gold still v nice la...

hi mookie22...glad u have made up ur mind...hope all of us wont regret..hehe...ya...think they are quite strict on the tentative booking..bo pian lor...made ur mind la..anyway promo untill next week only leh...

hi babyG...i feel the pillar wont block if u only have ard 15 tables...but if 18, then certain people on certain angles would be blocked...think its quite nice too...the set up i saw had the stage in the middle of the ballroom n decorated like a garden...its v nice...

but if u want, u can still opt for the hibiscus, thou may have to pay more..

btw, anyone went to see the wedding today?? me no time to go...

hi, KPO me went to see the wedding in hibiscus yesterday. if the bride is in this forum, congratulations to u & ur hubby! hope i wasn't intruding

Set-up was the same - very nice. Champagne roses, flower pot with candles and organza sashes. I even stayed till the couple's march in and first dish presentation. Dish presentation was simple and tasteful.

Everything is beautiful except that the room is quite cramped even for 25 tables - less space to move between tables for photo-taking and most importantly, the aisle is seriously narrow when guests are standing to welcome u. So, do bear in mind that u have to compromise on an elegant march in - u & ur FH have to weave between chairs, which won't do justice to gowns with trains.

i've always loved gowns with trains. altho stamford room would be bigger, i really like hibiscus.

Hi swatch2004,

I thk sliver setting will be very nice too... i actually also like silver.. but i had not seen any silver set-up yet.. guess most couples opt for the gold setting ...

but i always tot FS has a better reputation than GH?

Did anyone with Cheryl as their coordinator? Look like she is not very flexible in bargaining.

Hi gerlynn,

How many table do you hav? Do you upgrade to Hibiscus room wth additional $60 more per table?
May I know abt the perks that they offer u? Who's ur coordinator?

Hi irene, may i see your lovely pic? Please email me at [email protected].

Hi All!
Me also considering GH. I had attended 2 weddings there 2-3 years ago.

The 1st one, food was lousy and so was service too. Can you imagine sitting at the table the whole hour waiting for the waiter to serve you Chinese Tea? And worst, you get no immediate attention cos most staff were non-chinese then (i dun think they know Chinese Style wedding).

The 2nd one was total opposite! Food was fantastic & special. The ballroom was well deco (i think at grand ballroom). The waiters were attentive (i hope still am today) and Best of all, i could still remember them directing the guest to the carpark after the dinner! THAT WAS THE REASON WHY I PUT GRAND HYATT AS ONE OF THE TOP CHOICE, OF COS, NOT TO FORGET THE GOOD COMMENTS IN THIS FORUM, WHICH BOOST MY CONFIDENT IN THIS HOTEL!

But only set back is there is no wedding show this year or their current promo not very attractive. What do you think?

hi irene,

your photos look very good indeed, and the ice vase is very special!

the only worry now is about the two pillars at the front for camellia room, i really did not notice that but my FH did... think have to go down to view the room again!!

hi smiley,
i'm considering Hyatt for the same reasons - experienced the good food & service at a wedding last year.

Although the promo may not be very attractive, it depends on what ur priorities are. As hotel packages varies in terms of reputation, deco, prices & perks, and promo offers varies too, it is often not apples to apples comparison.

Do your research & start meeting up with the coordinators and checking out the set-up at various hotels and soon you will find yourself drawn towards the ones that fit most of your needs & budget. It's a process that we all have to go through ourselves. Good luck!

Hi babyG, seems like all coordinators at Hyatt are pretty strict. Mine's Andy. They have to stick to policy to be fair to all customers. You can't bargain, but can exchange perks.

Hi Swatch, have u decided whether to upgrade to Hibiscus yet?

Hi Gerlynn, have u confirmed ur deal yet? did u exchange cards for sashes? i was thinking that if i exchange cards with T Dragon, then there's nothing else in the package for me to exchange for.

Hi Puzzlerain, are you confirming Hibiscus room?

btw, Regent Hotel has a function room for up to 20 tables. They had a promo earlier - 1 table free for every 10 tables. Although it is less accessible, heard from fren that the food is good & room is nicely decorated. I have the package details somewhere if anybody is interested.

mookie,

have not had chance to go down to hyatt at the moment. I am actually contented with camellia as well (minus the pillars bit), should work on how many guests do we have to be exact!

hi mookie22...

me did not really bargain for things leh..coz have kinda asked b4 n the reaction i get from the coordinators tells me its really hard to get extra bargains...the only thing i require is for them to give me the garden for my solemnization if no one is using it on that day...

i have nt decided on the theme or cards...must i decide now?? coz i am thinking of doing those nearer the AD...but i think i will get the sashes...as for card, shd also be exchanging with t-dragon or exchange the cards for other things and i will get my own cards, coz hyatt card really cant make it...hhehhe...

hi babyG and camelia...actually i feel the package is quite comprehensive with the promo...at least for a 5 star hotel, the package already includes free flow beer, no corkage charge, 2 night stay...the only thing which is not included is the food tasting...did anyone managed to get free food tasting???

babyG, its quite hard to get extra perks..but like what i say, i feel the package is quite good...i have not confirm the number of tables. have to pay the extra ...

so far my coordinator, andy, is quite ok...well i think he does work on weekends...sometimes...n with the promo now going on, he is very busy...he always email or call me at 10+pm,...n he has been quite helpful...the only thing is HARD TO GET EXTRA PERKS>....hehehe....

Hi mookie22

Yup. Me Confirming hisbicus room.

Agree with Gerlynn that very difficult to get any perk with the current promotion they are having.

Gerlynn

Theme and cards is only when near the AD then you will decided.

hee...yeah...so now got swatch2004, me n puzzlerain are confirmed hyatt brides...n i guess mookie22 too?? heee...

btw...puzzlerain n mookie22...when are ur AD? i only know that swatch2004 is feb04???

hi gerlynn,
mine is june 04, so it is not too far away considering that i'm only just about to confirm hotel

just curious, have u or puzzlerain seen & compared set up in stamford room with hibiscus?

have u ladies confirmed your BS/PS yet? i know gerlynnn has cos u said that ur PS is with Beetles @Work - confirmed going to Bintan? So FUN! swatch2004 should be ahead of all of us, so ur gown should be almost ready?

i shortlisted a few earlier but put that aside to focus on hotel. have to switch focus on deciding BS/PS soon. seriously considering jawn. others include Dang, Silhoutte & Le Galleria.

Hi irene, where is ur gown from? When are you going for your honeymoon too?

hi mookie22...

yeah u r quite late in preparation huh..hheehee...yap mine PS with Beetles @ wk n will be gng bintan..coz my FH and I dont like studio shoots..think we cant pose like models..hehe..so prefer to go somewhere outdoor..n maybe can stay there overnight for mini-honeymoon...:P

btw, me have not seen stamford room..i only saw hibiscus and camellia...u saw b4?? any comments?

frankly, i like Hyatt's package a lot esp the 2 nites stay.. i thk most hotels only give one nite, rigth? (not v sure).. but 1 nite stay really quite rush... immediately the next day noon you will have to check out, etc.. can't rest at all...

my coordinator also Andy, he is really quite a nice chap lah.. try to accomodate most of my requests.. (except for the small pineapple tarts episode..sigh..)...

HI mookie22..

wow.. u really very cool yah.. AD in june 04 and now still have not confirm anything? ;) anyway.. just do things one-step at a time.. u shld be ok lah.. i have a colleague who do everything in 4mths.. :P

well. my bridal package is from Milan.. i like their service and gowns a lot..;P .. my honeymoon.. no plans yet.. coz hubby still very busy with work leh..

Hi swatch2004,

thanks.. actually the ice vase is supposed to be placed on the stage.. however Andy suggested to place the vase at the entrace of Stamford Reception Area coz if on the stage may be a bit cramp...

don't worry too much.. since u didn't notice it.. then probably the pillars not so obvious yah.. u can just go now to see it again..

hee hee, i'm pretty late ...trying to stay cool under the heat. FH is the really cool one - "i leave it to you dear, u decide".

hi gerlynn, i've not seen stamford with set up yet. if time permits, might check it out first b4 confirming hibiscus. btw, which BS are u with?

hi irene, dun worry, at least you can save in the meantime for a better honeymoon

irene,

thanks irene. will go down and take a look when i am free. I am sure there will be solution to problems.

and i agreed that the 2 nights at hyatt is one of their attractive perks, seriously one night means you only get to sleep then have to pack the next morning!

now that you got more time to think, must get yourself a nice honeymoon ;o)

I interested in GH oso.Can anyone tell me wat promotion u all r toking abt?
Btw,any coordiantor to recommend when i call?

Thanks v much

Hi Angeline

The promotion now till 18Oct is free flow of beer and waiver of the cockage wine.

You can look for Lynn which my friend recommended that she is very friendly also very strict with their perk.

hi gals..

im back...went KL this week for work...btw, me signed up with hyatt liaoz..my fiance went down to pay the deposit coz the promo until today only rite..hehe so happy at least no worries liao..:P

hi mookie22...my BS is camellia houte couture...duno if u heard b4 coz its a very new shop...n quite small...but i really like the boss who is also the designer...she takes pride in the work n is super accomodating n friendly...had went down afew times b4 coz my sis, who is also getting married, also signed up there n we went down to discuss her gown..can see that the designer reeally think of a design that no one has and suits you...

anyway...so puzzleain n mookie22...u guys signed up with hyatt already???/

hi gerlynn,
i signed with hyatt today too! yes, it is a relief & hopefully no regrets!

I've heard of ur BS. Haven't seen their gowns though. Sounds like you click well with the designer. Have you gone thru the design stage already? Me gotta pull socks up & confirm my BS/PS.

Wow, so it is double happiness for your family. Hehe, you & ur sis can share tips with each other too.

Hi puzzlerain, when is ur AD and have u confirmed ur BS yet?

Hi gerlynn and mookie22

Me also signed with Hyatt but still very consider about the aisle.

My AD is 19-Dec next year. My BS is Paris which i have book almost 2 years ago when searching for ROM dress. But saw the thread that the shop not so good. *sad* *sad*

Do you know where to buy the "Ah Chuang" Tray/Basket that is with lace and red flower. I saw in Takashimaya very small and expensive.

The photo album very nice but also very X.

hi gerlynn, mookie22 and puzzlelain,

glad to hear that all of you finally decided to sign up with hyatt. Hope that all of us will have all the things work out smoothly there.

Hi Puzzlerain, you're worried about the narrow aisle too right? Yah, that's one of my biggest concern. don't think there is enuf space to make grand entrance with "big gown, long train" if u have to squeeze between guests chairs
So, have to moderate gown expectations a bit.

Saw more photos of Hyatt's set up. finally saw the zen square glasses with floating flowers but w/o floating tealights. quite nice but gotta pay extra. Oh, another comment I have is that the roses for AD floral deco look rather small, don't u think? Not those large healthy-looking bloom.

For ur BS, do what you can to ensure that everything goes smoothly. Be very friendly but firm with them, start preps early and re-confirm items included in your package with them. Bring girlfrens along for meetings who can pose as potential future customers and they may try to be more careful about how they conduct business.

Sorrie, quite ignorant abt customs so I haven't seen An Chuang Trays/Baskets. he he, my Chuang already in & slept on, so geomancer picked a date a few days before AD for An Chuang. Your lace and red flower sounds v nice. Have you checked other threads for tips?

Hi all gals, hope u dun mind cos here's a summary of our preps so far:
Swatch2004: Feb 04 /Camelia rm
Mookie22: 6 Jun 04 /Hibiscus rm /Jawn (TBC)
Puzzlerain: 19 Dec 04 /Hibiscus rm /Paris
Gerlynn: AD? /Hibiscus rm /Camellia /Beetles @ work
anyone else to add?

BabyG, Angeline & the rest,
hope you find the hotel of your choice & maybe join us as Hyatt Brides

Hi puzzlerain,

Tks for ur info.Do we need to have a confirmed date 1st b4 we went dwn to ask them to show us ard?
Coz,the Date wil b a bit delayed in cuming out...

Har,quite strict wif perks har.....i like their free wine corkage chrg...
any others to recommend?

hi puzzlerain and mookie22...

me duno anything abt an chuang also..hehe...

btw how many tables do u all have?? yest me went down to pop by to see hibiscus...very nice..but a bit cramped with 28 tables...think abt 25 would be beta/..as for the aisle...not wide..but tink still ok...

my AD is 23 Sept '04...so below is the updated list...

Gerlynn: 23 Sept 04/Hibiscus rm /Camellia /Beetles @ work

hi angeline...u can still go down to see around..then once u have a date, immediately make a tentative booking and they give u 1-2 weeks to confirm n pay deposit..ehh...the promo for the free flow beer n free corkage has ended..but maybe u can still check with the promo has extended...

Hi Gerlynn,
I am trying to limit to 25 tables, cos I have seen 25+1 set up and thought it was just nice. Guess I should have gone down on Sat to see 28-table set up, in case I exceed nos.

Hi Angeline Goh

The promotion is only until 18Oct. You can just go and look at the ballroom during the evening time, mostly sat and sun as sometime there is wedding there and you are able to see the setup.

So how the prepartion swatch2004?

hi mookie22...

maybe u can ask n c when there is another wedding with 28 tables...its ok..just abit cramped coz the last 2-3 tables would be right at the end of the ballroom..ya, think set up for 25 tables would be just nice...

hi puzzlerain,

seems i am the earliest among us all here.

planning to do food tasting and go down to the ballroom again in the coming month. think will talk about some of the details with the coordinator at that time as well.

will print my invite soon too, as i don't want to end up too rush.

will have my PS next month too.

hope that everything are in place....

how about you gals??

Hi gerlynn & puzzlerain,

tks very much...my date still not yet out...abit gan cheong liao.scared i can't find a hotel tt suit my budget n is on a weekends.

Do those sales coordinators work on sat sun? coz FH working on weekdays n so very hard to arrage to go dwn during wkday unless after 5pm after work.Normali,when do u guys meet the sales person?

Hi Angeline,

Do try to get ur date soon so that you can have more hotel choices. Availability will depend on the popularity of ur month (eg: June, Sept & Dec are popular) & date (how auspicious).

You can meet coordinators anytime, weekday after work or weekends, as long as they are at work & ur schedules fit. After calling them up to request for banquet package, make appts with the ones that you are interested in. Many of them will suggest that you meet them just before a wedding starts, so that you can see the set up of the ballroom at the same time. For me, I've even done meetings alone w/o FH.

Hi Swatch2004,

Looks like ur preps are going on smoothly and timely. Good to print invites early too. Must update us after ur food tasting.

I'm just beginning to get a taste of how the family gets involved with wedding preps (eg. invitation list)... headache ah.

Which BS & photographer are u with? I haven't decided yet and Mum just got ideas from aunt abt renting EG & getting make-up from BS too ... which might affect my choice of BS.

hello mookie22,

yes, wedding is never between two individuals but two families, esp for us asian! and i think till now, getting the guest lists from parents of both side is still the biggest headache!! then also gowns and makeup for mum and MIL also another challenge....

i do hope that things will go smoothly, well, it's not easy when you have thousands and one things on your mind, plus the chinese custome is so complicated!

for the BS, we actually planned to go with bridal news, but in the end, we changed to golden horse awards after getting some positive feedback from friends. plus originally, we wanted to join bridal news as we wanted to get them for the actual day as well, but now we got my FH's freind to do it, who is a photographer. therefore, we decided to switch to GHA after viewing their pix!

think they have all these wedding shows at suntec every now and then, you might just want to pop down and check instead of going round and round.

Hi mookie22,

thanks alot!! But the thing is the date is not out yet,maybe 1 more mth later...so,i was thinking tt we go dwn to those hotels n see the setup,bqt details,etc n when we got the date then give the 1 tt we like a call to chk the availability of the place n book from there....

Think i will be like u oso,going dwn n view on my own as my FH quite bz at work n if we were to wait for each other,next yr oso haven choose the place yet.
heehee..

hi gals..

yeah agree that families would often affect the decisions in planning a marriage...guess muz tolerate n compromise...hehe...

hi swatch2004...so excited for u..u r our ist upcoming wedding in hyatt...n its gng to be really busy for u...yea, tell us abt ur food tasting....

hi mookie22...u shd really start finding ur BS, esp if u want MTM gowns....so that u have ample time to design the gown u like...

hi angeline...i think hyatt staff often work quite late..so u can pop in at nite...n sometimes they wk during weekend...hope u will like hyatt too...hhehehehe...

i'm terribly indecisive hor ... i had shortlisted a few BS earlier and have been seriously considering one. just haven't commit myself yet. sometimes, i just have to remind myself that it is just for one nite & dun worry abt the nitty gritty details cos people generally don't remember those things. so the most impt thing is to be happy and have a good time.

Hi Swatch2004, lucky that you got what u wanted for both BS and photographer. try to relax & have fun with ur preps!

Hi Angeline, good plan. Dun be a slow coach like me ... hehehe

gerlynn, u still have quite a lot of time to ur AD & u seem to have settled a lot of things. when is ur PS?

Puzzlerain, found ur items for An Chuang?

Happy holidays!

Yeh!! Congrats & Welcome!
U can add on ur AD info so that we can all share & update each other on hotel preps etc ...

Name: AD / BS / PS
Gerlynn: 23 Sept 04/Hibiscus rm /Camellia /Beetles @ work