Grand Hyatt Singapore

Hi Kastine, we actually tell the ID what we want on the first meeting. Then after taking down all the notes, he went back to do space planning and designing. He gave us what we want but with creative ideas and very good space planning.

Thanks blurblur, hmm... have no time to pop by.

Hi.. I'm a hyatt bride this coming dec.. Is the service that bad? I'm getting worried.. cos i've had unpleasant experiences at friends' wedding dinners at other hotels and i definitely do not wish to have it happen at my wedding.. Btw is anyone's co-ord Karina? Is she good to work with..? My co-ords have been changing ever since Cynthia left

hi all hyatt brides to be,

anyone going to the hotel tomorrow to have a look at the setting? there will be 5 wedding tomorrow! hahah so a lot of different setups.

i went today, and there were 2 weddings, one is french vanilla with orchirds, the other is sandalwood with rose. too bad didn't take pics. the french vanilla with orchirds is whitish theme, quite romantic with the lighting.

according to my coordinator, there will not be any dry ice effect for the march in, but u can still request for it if u want. overall, i feel the setup quite romantic!!

hi leo,
i m a dec 05 bride too! my AD is the 8th. yours? i think hyatt has a good reputation becos so far all my frens and colleagues gave very positive feedback. I was with Cynthia too, but now i am with Zona. she is nice too.

my worry is actually with the fact that there will be 5 dinners on my AD!!!! scary... i hope the guests will not go to the wrong function room. i think certainly need more specific instruction on the invites. hehe

eve

Hi Kas,

Most probably will be at Hyatt to take a look tomorrow cos I need to go collect my contract. Will let u gals know if there's anythind interesting

BTW, can help me update my BS Bridal Veil? Just signed up with them today

hi leo07, dun worry i receive quite a lot of good comments about their food & service.. my wedding will be next Sunday, my coordinator is Karina also.. she's a very nice lady.... dun worry too much... ok...

hi jamie,
sandalwood is actually a beige / brownish table cloth, over the white table cloth, and i think u can get the same colour sash on the VIP's chairs? the ribbons for the napkins also sandalwood. then ur reception table also deck in sandalwood instead of black cloth (black theme) or the french vanilla (white).

the set up i saw was sandalwood with red roses, quite nice. maybe it is in the grand ballroom so the effect not so good? i think it will be nicer in the smaller ballrooms, cos cosier. why don't u go to hyatt on sunday to take a look? there will be 5 weddings!

eve

hi jamie,

saw from the previous posts and realised u r using the grand ballroom. hehe just curious u considering the black theme? i think black theme in grand ball room quite nice? cos the room is big enough and it won't be so dark as compared to the smaller room? my fren used the grand ballroom as well, and she had a black and gold theme. quite grand! IMHO.

eve

Hi eve,

thanks for e info. I wanted also... but worry too dark... and my parents dun really wan lei when I mention black
So did yr fren pay for the additional gold organza? As u mention she had black & gold theme. How much she paid?

How abt u? which ballroom & wat theme having? Hope I hav time to go hyatt today...

Corrine,

Gd for you finally confirm your BS liao. What is your package like. Bridal Veil is gd I must said.

You goin Hyatt today, if can try take some photos can?

hi jamie,

i wasnt sure if she paid extra, cos not really close to her. she used gold table cloth for the VIP tables only. maybe can negotiate with ur coordinator? my coordinator told me they don't tie the chairs with organza now, they use silk instead. did u go down today?

i m using the hibiscus room, and i wanted the black theme too. but my hubby thinks it is too dark, so he is not too keen. i m thinking of using green flowers cos it is the colour of my bouquet. hhaha i think green and black very ugly. so most likely i m using the french vanilla with some greenish flowers?

eve

Hi Kas,

U've got mail
Sorry I didnt managed to take any photos cos my hp is not really sharp in taking photos ;p I was there around 5plus & the place is still not fully set up yet. Maybe I'm too early so cant really see the full setup :p None of them is using the black theme. Did any of u gals went to take a look? I saw some couples so was wondering if it's anyone of u from this thread

<table border=1><tr><td>Bride</TD><TD>Banquet</TD><TD>ROM</TD><TD>Ballroom</TD><TD>co-ordinator</TD><TD>Theme</TD><TD>BS</TD><TD>VG</TD><TD>PS </TD></TR><TR><TD>BlurBlur</TD><TD>30-11-06</TD><TD>30-11-06</TD><TD>Sir Stamford Rm</TD><TD>Audrey</TD><TD>Black</TD><TD>Bridal Veil</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Iling</TD><TD>11-05-06</TD><TD>18-05-05</TD><TD>Grand Ballroom</TD><TD>Audrey/Mandy</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jamie</TD><TD>15-11-05</TD><TD>15-01-04</TD><TD>Grand Ballroom</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Milan Wedding</TD><TD>Mark Yang</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kastine</TD><TD>05-10-06</TD><TD>05-10-06</TD><TD>Grand Ballroom</TD><TD>Mandy</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Julia Wedding</TD><TD>Fabian Lim</TD><TD>Derrick Ong </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kelly</TD><TD>07-10-06</TD><TD>07-10-06</TD><TD>Camilla</TD><TD>Karina</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>The Wedding Present</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Ron Lee </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lynette</TD><TD>20-11-05</TD><TD>11-03-04</TD><TD>Grand Ballroom</TD><TD> Audrey</TD><TD>Black</TD><TD>Ted Wu</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rene</TD><TD>27-03-06</TD><TD>11-05-05</TD><TD>Sir Stamford Rm</TD><TD>Andy</TD><TD>Black</TD><TD>Divine</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Kelvin – Chris Ling</td></tr></table>

Hi Eve! Mine is Dec10.. Thank you Eve and Cleop for your assurances!! :D

Mine is the magnolia/vanda room.. seems like almost no bride has her dinner there.. hope all things go well.. the pillars are huge! ha....

Hi Eve,

I went down yesterdat but all is the normal vanila setup lei... hee hee. Btw, u mention abt silk for chair and no more tie organza.... is only for VIP chair?

hi jamie,

yah it is only for the VIP chairs but no harm negotiating? hehehe
could u describe the vanilla theme? cos i m interested in this theme.

eve

Hi eve,

it is the normal white &amp; vanila table cloth only.The flowers I saw is the same choice as wat we can choose fro. Quite simple. Juz lik black. Instead of black, it is white.

hey all! i just went down to grand hyatt today. my coordinator is karina. she's quite a nice lady. should be having it at magnolia vanda room. anyway one taking that room? pls include me in any mailing list ya? thankies! [email protected]

Hi kastine,

u using Julia wedding yea... Think u know Milan ex manager Michelle went over to Julia mths back... and Milan inhouse MUA liren going over Julia and Julia inhouse Mua Fanny coming Milan...lol... Wonder why they r always link... Many people told me tht Julia, Milan &amp; sophia same boss... dunno how true... hee hee

How is ur wedding preparation? I'm going to print my invites at Hi Tech later... wil upgrade u gals

Hi Jamie

I didn't know that Michelle is from Milan.

I know that Liren came to Julia and never heard that Fanny is going over.

Michelle had told me before that only Julia is directly link to Taiwan whereas Milan &amp; Sophia is not.

I am now not doing anythin besides sourcing for ID.

You using Hi Tech issit. How much is they charging you for invites?

Hi kastine,

Hmmm Hi tech charge hotstamping for 45cents for per insert &amp; $80 for the mould. Normal printing is $30 per 100 insert.

Btw, not sure abt the BD directly link fro taiwan. BUt when I'm in taiwan, I saw Julia &amp; Milan. But not Sophia

I think so far Hi tech is the cheapest I found. And they actually provide the string to tie the card. But hav to do it ourselves

Hi Kastine,

if u thinking to design own card, I think Hi tech not such a gd choice. Doing printing only at Hi tech is stil ok

Hi iling,

Had email u

hello.. :D considerin grand hyatt too. Tryin to negotiate with the co-ordinator now. REally appreicate if you could share with me what additional perks were given to u. Private msg me if u scared the hotel staff can see it. haha.. thanks so much. deeply appreciate it :D

any wedding show for grand hyatt? hotels like marriott and hotel intercontinental are giving one tables for their min tables booked but not hyatt leh
Any idea brides to be :D

hey blur gal,

grand hyatt's wedding show was held last week or two weeks back. but in any case, you can call them to look at their ballrooms and discuss their packages. there are many wedding banquets now, so you can pop by to look at the wedding settings too! my co-ordinator is karina. she's very friendly and approachable.

hi everyone i m new here in singapore brides. thinking of getting grand hyatt as my banquet place oso. Just wondering what perks did you gals negotiate from the wedding coordinators of grand hyatt when you booked the dinner? could email mi at [email protected] if it is not convienent to discuss here.. thanx..

Hi gals!!! I'm new in this thread! Very glad to see that there are mostly good comments abt Hyatt cos I'm gonna sign tonight!!! Last Sat, I happened drop by Orchard and popped over to Hyatt to take a look and saw the blank theme and my decision is fixed!!! Love the theme!!! Just hope my parents and guests like it as much as me! Any tips for me on addtional perks to request from Karina, my coordinator? (can PM me or email to [email protected]? So far Karina's very friendly and nice and followup very earnestly! Hehe after today you can put my name in the list for Hyatt brides liao!
kao_love.gif

BTW my AD is 22 March 06, BS is Milan (Jamie same as you!!!
going for communication session w photographer today... hehe) Not yet select VG and PS yet...

So exciting!!! I'll drop by here very often! Catch up with you gals again!

Hi gals! Thanks for the welcome! I'm back from meeting Karina. Sadly i will not be a hyatt bride cos i realised i misunderstood Karina on the ballroom requirements...

the ballroom is really so beautiful... Hope you gals have a happy and fairytale wedding!
kao_wedding.gif

I'll be back to venue hunting again... catchup soon!

I just had my wedding at GH last month. And I thought I would share a few observations with you future brides.

Food/Decor
Excellent. Nothing to fault

Service
This is where it gets a little disappointing. I am not sure if its because my wedding day is popular and their ballrooms were all fully booked but they did disappoint me a bit there.
First, I had the solemnisation at the Garden ard 5:30pm and they only got around to setting up the area at 4:45pm...my JP and some guests already arrived when they are still in the middle of it!
Imagine people settling down, and the staff still arranging flowers and chairs..etc

Then, they lost the white wine which we bought and passed to concierge a day earlier. They eventually found it but it again indicate not enough attention paid to us.

Our march in music was a little screwed up, took a while to start (and the effect was lost) despite an earlier rehearsal.

I guess you could say I am a little picky as I received excellent feedback from my guests afterwards and nobody felt anything went wrong. But as the bride, I felt the little hiccups could have been avoided.

As a five star hotel who boasts of excellent service and charges high enough for it, I do expect higher standards.

So my final advice is, make sure you assign someone capable, organised, a little "bossy" even to keep the Hyatt crew on their toes that day. And always check in advance so you don't get caught by last minute surprises.

Good luck all and let me know if you have any questions

Dear qiqi,

Thankies very much for your sharing. Just wanna check with u, is your banquet held at the grand ballroom? Cos mine is at magnolia/vanda, which is much smaller scale. I'm afraid that they do not pay enough 'attention' to my wedding on the AD.

I am also intending to have my solemnisation on the banquet day as well. May I know what happens after the solemnisation? As in what will all the guest be doing? Did you invite all the guest to attend ur solemnisation?

Thankies so much for your help!!!

Hello qiqi!
Thank you for sharing your experience!
Think must "monitor" and feedback to my coordinator.. I am using the Camilla room (the smallest ballroom) and my AD is on a popular day.. so really worried that the services for my dinner will be neglected...

I might be another GH BTB

Most probably will be choosing the Mag n Vanda.. waiting for my coordinator to draft out the contract. Yes, do agree tat the pillars there are HUGE.

blueybubble, i m tinking of holding my solemnization ard 6.30pm b4 the wedding banquet dan proceed to mingle wif the guests

The no of guest tat i m inviting for solemnization is abt 30 pax only those close ones. else it might be noisy ^_^

Just curious, any1 coordinator is Ailin??

Hello Smilez,
So where are you thinking holding your solemnisation? In a function room or in the garden? I also want to have my solemnisation on the same day of my AD.. dun really want to do that during the dinner itself (some of my friends did that).. I will prefer to keep it a more private event that is just for family and close friends..

Dear Smilez,

Congrats! Ya, the pillars are kind of a hindrance. But no choice lah, at least they have TV to show everything.

Oic, cos i'm not very sure how the solemnisation is arranged. If that's the case, I'll most likely do it at the garden. Think it's really nice!

Kelly, mi gg to hold my solemnisation in another function room (magnolia 4). cos me using mag/vanda so i will have one more spare room to use

blueybubble, i heard GH is putting request to change their current TV to a 42" plasma screen.. i realli hope this request can go thru.. keeping fingers n toes crossed

The garden was realli nice!! But 2k for the garden is realli sometink tat i m not gg to fork out.. plus this is dependent on the weather condition.. wat i understand was if it realli rains on tat day.. dan i still gotta pay tat garden venue $$. so after considering like not so worth it..

keke.. unless i got spare cash dan i dun mind splurging on it *grin*

Hey Smilez,

Really? I'll be overjoyed if they are changing their TV. Cos they already have the plasma at the lobby and it looks good. So hopefully mag/van will get it as well!

What? $2k for the garden? My goodness! Luckily you told me about it...I guess no garden solemnisation for me then!
Anyway thankies for the info!

Hi Blueybubble,

My coordinator din give any guarantee that the plasma will definitely be provided. Juz tat they had just submitted the request for the plasma.. pending for approval...
Yup Yup.. wish they realli change it.. will look more classy :P

Mabbe u can try and see if ur coordinator is able to 'throw' in the garden solenization for u..

Will ur AD n solenmisation be on the same day??