Grand Hyatt Singapore

hi all hyatt brides,

anyone had a quartet at hibuscus room before? is there a need for mikes?

hi blur and kristine,
just like u gals i didn't negotiate much and i signed the contract. but the hyatt pple are really nice, if u want to have additional stuff, like the use of a day room for ur helpers, they can throw that in too. just let them know what u need even after u had signed the contract.

Hi eve,
Feel much assured after hearing that

Hi Eve

Thanks for your advice. Actually, I also feel that the Hyatt people really nice just that I do not know what thing I should ask for more becos most of the things are cover in the package

hi kastine,

i feel that the package is actually very comprehensive and there is nothing much to bargain for.

here is what i negotiated
1. discount for beer (my package doesn't come with free barrel)
2. we are buying red wine from them, but they allow us to bring in a few bottles of white wine. in case some of my guests want to drink white wine.
3. extra easel stand for photos
4. use of day room and early check in

hope it is useful.
eve

Hi Eve

Our package is very comprehensive.

It cover

1) 2 barrels of beer
2) Every table come wif free bottle of wine
3) 1 deluxe room for helper

To me, everything is much cover. Just have to pay extra for the rose ball

Therefore, really nothing much to neg

Hi eveuloveme,

u mention abt discount for the beer rite, So did u get any discount? How much?

Who is ur coordinator?

Hi Kastine,
Yap received the contract yesterday.May call up Audrey to see if she can meet up cos need to ask her abt having a plc for solemnisation on the same day.Wonder if she can come up with smthg.Nt sure abt the use of projector yt bt will chk with her whether the hotel will provide us.Will try to meet up with her by before tis fri.I'll update u once i've chk it.

hi blurblur,

wow ur package is really good! so comprehensive. u using the black theme with rose balls?

hi jamie,
i managed to get last year 2004 price for the beer. i forgotten how much it is, maybe $100 less? i got it from my previous coordinator but she has since joined another dept.

Hi Eve,

Yap we are glad most of the items are covered. I like the black theme, something special & different fm the usual white/light ones (hopefully wont get any diapproval sounds fm our parents ;p).But i wont be taking the rose balls. I think the baby's breath that was in the pkg was nice too.

When's your AD?

Hi eve,

I signed the package rite before the price increase. therefore, everything tht I am paying if I wan extra things, wil be charge the last yr price bef increase.

But I think u r lucky to be able to get the old price too

Hi Eve

Are you talking to me with your msg below as I am the one who post my package.

Just want to make sure that if you are talking to me then I should reply.

Bye

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

hi blurblur,

wow ur package is really good! so comprehensive. u using the black theme with rose balls?

hi jamie,
i managed to get last year 2004 price for the beer. i forgotten how much it is, maybe $100 less? i got it from my previous coordinator but she has since joined another dept.

Hi Blurblur,

My co-ordinator is on long leave now that is why I have not receive the contract.

I also tried to neg for a free space for my ROM but have to pay. Btw, I thought it is illegal to have your customary before ROM. I have to ROM first becos I need to show my marriage cert for my final appointment of my flat.

As for the projector, Hyatt do not own any projector they outsource it so I think you have to exchange it with something so as not to pay.

I am looking at the black theme but FH not really into it becos his family is traditional. You are lucky your FH like the black theme.

Hi Blurblur

My co-ordinator is currently on long leave that is why I have not receive the contract.

I also tried to neg for a free ROM place on another day but failed to get it(have to pay). Will you be having the customary as I thought it is illegal to hold your customary before ROM.

For the projector, Hyatt do not own it they outsource therefore it is either you pay or you exchange with other thing.

You are lucky your FH like the black theme. My FH do not like it becos family traditional now it is either I just go ahead and see black face from him hahaha

Hi Kas,

Ha!Really blur n replied to Eve's msg when i saw my name ;p keke...must be feeling sleepy then ;p

Oh so u checked with Hyatt on the projector huh?Wonder hw much they r charging.My co-ordinator also on leave wonder when she will be back.

Oh my FH gt v weird taste smtimes ;p He like things to be different fm pp.Bt i wonder if his family can accept the black theme though :p

I thought it's ok to have the customary n ROM on the same day???My friend is having her customary n ROM on d same day this Dec..... But i will have to write in to HDB for extension for the submission of ROM cert cos i already gt my hse keys.Will have to wait for their approval.

Hi Blur,

I think we have to start our own thread instead of talking at 2 locations hahaha.

If I rem correctly the cost of the projector is ard 250 - 350.

I understand that actually by law customary cannot be before ROM but ppl do not care as customary is always every early in the morn n they proceed with the ROM.

I also wrote in to ask for HDB extension but they briefly said that the maxi is 3 mths. Some ppl told me that even after 3 mths HDB also never chase so I also duno

Hey Kas,

Agree with u!
Sometimes I also forget which thread I was in ;p Haha!!! Hey u can email me at [email protected]

We can continue our own conversation without boring the rest in this thread ;p keke...

My friends wrote in & got an approval for an extension up to 1 year for the ROM.Hope i can get it too.Then i wont have so many dates to rmbr ;p

hi kastine,
sorry i dun quite get what u mean.... i was replying to jamie's msg regarding the beer...

hehehe :P

hi blur,
my AD is this 8 Dec. now i am starting to get excited. i think the black theme with baby breath is really very nice.... my hubby like it alot too. but he is worried that it might be too dark. i will go down to hyatt next mnth to take a look at the actual set up.... but i will try my best to convince him. hyatt is also having a new theme, sandalwood, but there are no pics yet. they are also changing the design of the cake. hope this helps!

hi jamie,
i signed up the package only this year so the prices for most things have gone up. i dun get any extra perks cos my date is one of those "block out" date so no extra perks. only managed to get discount for beer!! so sad. hehe

Hey Eve,

I didnt know there will be a new theme coming up.I'm also going next month to take a look at the ballrooms again.Cant decide between Sir Stamford or Hibiscus.My co-ordinator told me there will be wedding on all the ballrms on 18 Sep so I will be there take a look
Maybe we'll get to see each otr there

Does anyone know how the weekend dinner packages are like for 2006? Can share? Cos am sourcing for venues as well...thanks!

Helo everyone !

I am new to this thread and would like to find out more abt the black theme Hyatt is offering.. anyone have pictures to share ? Cos i already take up Hyatt for my AD dinner.

pls e-mail me to [email protected]

Thank u v.much

Hello everyone! I am new to this thread

I have just signed up with Hyatt for my AD in Oct-06!! It was a rather rushed decision as I was trying to get the promotional rates! heehee! :p

I agree with Kastine and eve.. the promotional package that they are offering is really quite comprehensive.
I also tried to get the garden (FOC) for solemnisation on the same day of my AD but also failed to get it. My coodinator, Karina, said that the promotional package is very good value liao.. so quite difficult to request for additional items. But will still try..I dun really like the wedding cards..heehee..may want to get my own.. =p see see can change the card to something else or not..

Ladies..is it true that the coordinator will not be there on the AD..instead.. the coodination will be passed to other operation manager??

Dun really like that leh..

ooppsss...forget me got other question..what exactly is the "Black theme"??

The pictures that were shown by our coodinator shows that all the chairs have black cover..I dun like.. but i really like the black napkins (in KA(fat)'s 16-Jul posting).. so cool!! And the flowers!! Are they the "rose balls"?? They are gorgeous!!
KA(fat), is the chair covers black too? Wonder if i can choose the normal white or cream setting but with the black napkins?? :p
Also, my coordinator say to choose the black theme..must pay more.. did you?

Hi Kelly,

as for the wedding cards, me had ask my coordinator bef, but they can't change it to other thing. Cos the cards to them is very cheap.

Hi Kelly,

I sign up for the black theme as well. But there isn't any extra charges lei....

For the rose balls, you have to pay extra ya.

Hello!! hello!! hello Ladies!

Hi Jamie,
That is quite sad!! Really think the card not very nice..hmm...but dun really want to spend more money to replace too.. The cost of the wedding..so high!! Faint..dun dare to even think abt it.. :p

Kastine, Hello!
Actually..I only confirmed the venue yesterday..My case was a bit special..not very convenient to talk abt that here.. heehee..
But nope... i have not sign the contract, only paid deposit. My coordinator, Karina is leaving for biz trip tomolo. She told us that we will get the contract 2-3weeks later. Definitely will not rush to sign the contract..

rEnE, hello!
Is the chair covers black too in the Black theme?? Hmm.. think must really speak to Karina if we really have to pay more for the black theme! Me want the black napkins!! :p

And Ladies, need your advice again. How much beer are you all having for your dinner? Our package includes 2 barrels 30litres beer each, which is abt total 180glasses! We are only having abt 198 guest.. seriously think that is too much beer!!
what you all think??

Hi Kelly,

I actually asked my co-ordinator if I could put the deposit later instead of on the showcase becos my FH is not ard. However, it is rejected.

I still have not signed the contract as my co-ordinator just got back from her leave.

Which ballroom are you using? Are you using any projector?

Hi eve, I'm using the SSR. Though I have not yet have my AD. But I feel that black theme will not be dark. As mentioned in the earlier threads, for Hyatt, their tables is position in such a way that there will be a light shinning down at the centre of every table. Erm... not too sure, does that apply for others room. Cos when I went down to view the place, my coordinator highlighted this point to me and I thought it was great. Because, it will really look very nice with a light shinning down at the centre of every table. The other time when I went there, they had a setup of the black theme at Sir Henry Room. When I saw it, I was even more convince that it is going to turn our fantastic! =)

Hi Kelly, yes for the black theme, the chairs cover are in black also. Erm, I am a black theme supporter, cos I really think its something that is out of the box. Bigtoes had her black theme wedding last year, saw her pics and its very nice.

Girls who are considering black theme, just wanna say again, it will not be too dark, but the effect it brings out is elegant and classy ya. :-D

Hi ladies, since so many of you are keen on the black theme, here are some pix from mine last Dec to share. This was in the SRR, no upgrades required & had quite alot of freebies thrown in. Let me know if you want to the link to the rest of the pix, Cheers!

305265.jpg
305266.jpg
305267.jpg

Oh yes kelly, I am also not using their invitation card. I have got my own wedding favors, so i opt that out as well. Agree that the card is not very nice lah. So I just told my coordinator straight that I don't want. As we were discussing our contract, we highlighted to him that we feel that renting the projector for $350 or $300 is too expensive. So in the end, he actually let us use the projector for free. Not sure is this consider an exchange.

For some of you here, probably they are more strict on getting more freebies and exchanging because, you girls have sign up during the wedding show which is quite a good deal le. So perhaps they are more strict.

hi bigtoes,

thanks for sharing the pics! can i have the link? thank u!

hi kelly,
i spoke my coordinator, and there is no extra charge black theme, the napkins are black in colour too. however, only those napkins at the VIP table will be tied with a special ribbon, the rest just normal folding. u will only have to top up if you choose those special flowers or floral arrangement.

Hello! Hello everyone!

Kastine, Hello! I am using the Camilla room, the smallest ballroom as I am only inviting less than 200 guest. My fiance's aunties and uncles are mostly in Malaysia, so will be going to Malaysia for a "2nd round" of dinner.. hahaha :p What abt you? Which ballroom are you using?
And..sharks! I forget to ask My coordinator, Karina abt the use of projectors!!! Faint! haha! Luckily, I've a colleague that owns a projector. He is like our firm's projector rental guy.. haha! Noe many of my other colleagues borrowed his projector for their weddings. But think I will still speak to Karina abt it..

By the way, we got the contract already..they sent it to my fiance.. must sign and return by 31-Aug.. .

Hi rEnE and eveuloveme, Thank you for the info! Will speak to karina again before we sign the contract. Think better to get even all the small small details confirmed 1st b4 signing..

bigtoes, Hello! Can share with me the link too?? Will love to see the photos!! Thank you in advance!

You ladies have a wonderful weekend!! I'm off to JB for Go-kart...with my company!! hahaha! :p

hi Bigtoes,
thank for yr pix can i kn which ballrm is this?

hi rEnE,
can tell me how the card look like? cos they never show me & hb the card. Cos we made the payment by credit thought fax then they post me the agreement and we sign already just post it bake to hyatt. and the bride room that they give us big ant?

i went to conrad for my friend wedding dinner conrad hotel will change the plate for every dish. i wonder hyatt hotel got this service ant any 1 here ask them this Q be4?

hi iling, i dun reali rem how the card look like. I rem they have only 2 designs, one is ivory and the other is dark red. Their card is just something very plain and simple and typical, ("bu qi yan").

Hello iling, like wat rEnE mentioned above, the ivoy card has 2 hearts..(quite small) at the center of the card.
For the dark red card, instead of the hearts, it has the chinese character "xi3"... quite small too...overall I feel that both cards are a bit too plain.. .heeheee... :p
Hope I didn't remember wrongly .. :P

thanks rene & kelly then i think maybe i will print the card ourself cos im thinking i wan to print the card with our photo but dun kn how much will it cost.

hi gals, sorry for the late reply..just back from vacation. i-ling, the ballroom for the pix above was the Sir Stamford Room. Kelly_pink & eveuloveme, pls leave ur email addy for me to send the pix link

Btw, if u are interested...there is a cheap printer at Bras Basah Complex - level 2. We went to this place called i-Success (i think) - look for a Mr Ng. We exchanged our cards for an additional nite in the suite, and got our self-designed cards printed for $1.10 each (inclusive of inserts, ribbons & envelopes). He is pretty cool about reprinting extras as well (if you run out of invites), at no additional charge.