Grand Hyatt Singapore

eveuloveme

hi tsukushi,
i ordered wine from hyatt cos my package did not come with wine.

i ordered the red wine from them. i took the one that cost $22? it was quite good. i ordered one carton, and have another on hold. at the end i consumed 18 bottles for my 22 tables.

hi seafaith,
hahaha the black theme is very unique.. but i think the other colours are good too, and wat makes a wedding memorable.. is often not the deco.. but the bride and groom themselves! ahha

Hi eve,

Do you still remember which wine was it? They have a few choices at that price range.

When you put a carton on hold, does it mean they only charge you at per bottle price or something?

eveuloveme

hi tsukushi,
i think the red wine one that u don't have reserve 2 weeks in advance.... can't remember the name.

they charge the wine per bottle.

babeshan

Hi everyone, I m new here and I need a couple of advise!

1) I look into confirming the Hibiscus room with Grand Hyatt. Does anyone has any pix of their wedding in this ballroom? Appreciate if you can email the pix to me at [email protected]

2) Which bridal shop is the most comprehensive n economical?

Thanks a lot!

eveuloveme

hi tubby,
i have sent u the link to the dinner @ hibiscus room.

as for the BS, i guess u can look into ur budget and decide on an amount which is comfy.. then u can look at the BS around that budget? for a standard package that is comprehensive.... it can range from 2k plus onwards...

and so depends on what u like! hehe

jlwc1974

i booked last month and managed to get quite alot of free stuff... eg 2barrel beer , 1bot red wine per confirm table , 3d2n in bridal suite + 2d1n delux room (for helpers) , free corkage , free soft drinks , 25% carpark , 70% invites , floral deco , favours , champange , cake , $60 room service voucher , free breakfast buffet .... per table $688nett .... good deal? will be using the black theme, looks pretty cool...

jlwc, which room did you book? That's cheap with a lot of freebies!!! A bit unbelievable cos the coordinators seldom give in to so much freebies.

whitetwinkle

Hi jlwc,

WoW! your package is super comprehensive and super good deal! how did you manage to get all those freebies..and u taking the magnolia/vanda room? GOOD DEAL GOOD DEAL! Did you book thru any wedding shows?

eveuloveme

hi tsukushi,
hyatt will give the guestbook. but there is no angpow box provided.
if u want a container like a glass bowl to put the angpows in... then they can provide i guess.

jlwc1974

hi people , i booked last month oni ... was during the promo week , got the camelia room , very exclusive , good for 12 - 15 tables ... planning to get a MC to host the wedding ... and will be using the black theme with jazz music :D

jlwc1974

oh because my wedding dinner is on a weekday , so its cheaper... if u get a weekend (fri,sat or sun), of cos it will cost u more... :D

Hi eve, Thanks for the info once again. Need to make one then

duckula

Hi just came back from the Hyatt Wedding show today and i must say i am impressed. I have been going ard asking pkgs from various hotels and found this Hotel the most reasonable for price. just happened to hear abt this show on fri.

i book a weekday package. SSR. $788. The wedding usuals: free corkage (hard liquer) , free soft drinks , 25% carpark , 70% invites , floral ,wedding favours , champange , wedding cake, food tasting for 10. PLUS their hyatt normal stuff: 3d2n in grand suite, american Breakfast, $60 room service voucher AND:

This time round they have what they call wedding "wishes". For my pkg, i can choose up to 3. So I can choose any 3 of these items for free.

1)One 30L beer, 2) 1 Compl Wine per table 3)1 "club at hyatt" dinning membership for a year (what's that?) 4)1 Anniversary night stay 5)1 night stay for helpers 6) Dinner at mezza9 (it's in hyatt) 7) 2-piece band (Saxaphone and guitar) 8) Use of LCD projector)

I thinking of choosing 1,2,7

It's also similar to the Regent (also 788, because regent charge $30 for ausp. dates so 758+30=788),also have jazz band) except Regent has a higher min tables and it's only either free beer or wine. Plus regent reception is actually held in the lobby, so not very private.

I've been to many weddings and usually it's the very traditional chinese types, big ballrooms and very bright orange lights and oversize chanderliers. So when i saw hyatt, the first thing i thought was classy. Soft lights and jazzy pipe in music plus the room is what you normally see in interior shops, very zen (flowers in glass bowls). Very modern. Appeals to a dude like me.

Meet this lady called Zona. Very patient. I was very wishy -washy abt booking it and she took time to clear our doubts. She was one of the last few to leave after the show was over at 5 and everything was cleared and we were the last few couples. Her other colleagues were already gone for the day i think.

Normally for good hotels dinner it's about 100 difference btw weekdays and weedends but for Hyatt it's a cool $200. So if you think about it, you get same great service(hopefully) at $200 lesser (abeit a weekday). Best of all for me personally, it's their min tables, lowest i can find so far(20 tables, weekday) at their cost. Normally other hotels must have 25 to 30 tables (weekdays too). So practical me thinking maybe would not lose much if i can't get people to come on a weekday to fill 20 tables.

So wanted to share my opinions and hopefully you guys get the same deal if or when the wedding show for hyatt comes along.

eveuloveme

hi samuel,
zona was my coordinator for my AD last year. she is great! haahh very helpful and nice lady. had a great time working with her. is she ur coordinator too?

hyatt has different bridal showcases.. and they have certain dates block out. these are the so called "auspicious dates", sadly on these dates.. there are not much perks given... certainly not as many as u are getting! hehe

u are so lucky! i didn't get any perks for my wedding last year! nothing at all, not even the beer and wine! considering my wedding is on a weekday! ahahaha they usually have more perks for wedding on weekdays...

shiro_ger

I agree withe samual and eveuloveme. Zona is indeed a great coordinator. I have been to marriot and meritus mandarin, though Hyatt is more expensive and in terms of perks, not as comprehensive as the other 2, but still, i think coordinator's service in hyatt is tip-top (at least this is what i can say for Zona).

I have spoken to Zona about it and have mentioned to her the possibility of negotiating for more perks, she said more or less shouldnt be a prob, but must discuss with the director.

I have not signed up at Hyatt, but will do so when 2007 is opened for booking.

Yippee....

shiro_ger

Hi Seafaith,

Ya, it's only available for booking till Mar 07. Mine will be held in Sept 07. Kiasu hor.... but no choice, geomancer told me this date is the best for us, so by hook or by crook, must hold it on this date lor. Hee...

duckula

hi eveulove me,

yup she said she's my coordinator, and i think i'm quite taiko loh, coz didn't read any reviews abt her before and she approach me first.

Shirley, Hyatt's perks not as comprehensive and MM and Marriot? Really? If you dun mind sharing, what are the differences?

eveuloveme

hi duckster,
ahhaha sorry my hokkien is really non-existance.. wat is taiko?

shierly,
Zona is GREAT! haha she is very nice and will try her best to help out... very nice lady. hehe

blueybubble

Wow,
Didn't know that there was a wedding show for Hyatt yesterday. If not, I would have gone down again to see! Looks like some of you had some really good offers! Should have signed up during the show but I didn't even know when their shows are held!

dreamer17

ayb the show is by invitation only...tats y no advertisment...

i think they trying to sell their 2006 package...

for pple who decide to book their wedding in 07, i am very sure hotels like pan pac, hyatt, oriental...etc...goin to raise their table price by at least $80-$100....

shiro_ger

Hi Duckster,

Maybe you want to gimme your email, i can send you a copy of Meritus and Marriot 2007 wedding package? But mainly, both offer wine per confirmed table and a certain volume of beer, which Hyatt is not including in their package. Meritus's package also includes invitation card plus printing. And if you are holding your solemnisation 45 mins just before your banquet, they are not charging, but Hyatt is charging $500 nett for the function room without refreshments. I am still negotiating with Zona. If she can gimme what i requested for, best! If not, i still go ahead with hyatt coz i simply fall in love with the theme. I must say it's even better than a particular 6-star hotel in terms of deco and ambience. (Hee.... price also higher).

Oýa, the wedding showcase is not advertised. I also knew it through Zona, that's why i popped by to see what's their theme like.

shiro_ger

Hi dreamer,
The package after Mar 2007 is not out yet, dats why it is not opened for booking at the moment. Zona was telling me that day that prob can start booking for later part of 2007 in Apr. She will drop me an email when it's open and i will go down and make a deposit.But if i booked now, i will probably secure the 2006 rates and maybe can further negotaie on perks (but subjected to her director's approval). When's your AD?

Coco,
Please check your mailbox.

dreamer17

heard that most hotels tat have not open their 2007 packages for booking will be increasing their price per table by at least $60-$100...

but i heard pple saying the bridal suite is fantastic....

enuka

hio all,

i've jus been to hyatt's wedding promo last sat too. oso signed up coz fell in luv with the whole ambience.. but didn't know ROM need extra $500 even if it's 45 min before dinner..too bad din have Zona as my coordinator..

vivien_koh

hello samuel,

I'm new in this thread.. But then i'm also thinking of taking the hyatt as my banquet venu..

My co-ordinator is karina.. anyone had any comments abt her? :p

By the way, she didn't mention to me abt any of the wedding 'wishes'.. when did u book the package?

fcc

I just had my wedding last weekend at Hyatt, SSR. It was a wonderful event.

Everything went on perfectly well. No doubt, there is some issues but was quickly settle by my wedding coordinator there. I will say they are efficient, flexible and responsible. Initially, the laptop that we brought is not able to play DVD, so we wanted to loan from the hotel, but the banquet IC wanted to imposed a charge of 100+ for it, hence, my hubby called up our wedding coordinator, and he simply make all the arrangement for us and make it hassle-free.

We were using the black theme decor and all who came love the it so much and gave many compliments about it. All the hotel staff had indeed provide an excellent service throughout our stay there and had help to make it a enjoyable and successful wedding.

And when we check in that day, my wedding coordinator gave us a number to call before we reach the hotel for express check-in especially for bridal couples. We gave them a call about 20 mins before arrving. When we arrive, the staff were waiting at the main lobby welcoming us and show us straight to the room with any hassle.

When we arrive at the bridal suite. It was simply fantastic. It was much bigger than we expected.There is a spacious dining area, a working table and a very comfty living area for watching TV. Into it, was the bedroom that has another TV. Beside that, they have a common toilet for guest and another super big toilet that has 2 sinks, 2 separate cubicals, one toilet, one shower and then another big bath tub. And lastly they have a rather spacious walk-in wardrobe as well...

Really thank Hyatt for such a memorable wedding and wonderful stay there. =)

seafaith

Hi Agape!

Congratulation!!! Hopefully my wedding also turn well on that day. I also book my banquet at SSR. Can u share me your banquest photo?

Meantime, who is your co-ordinator?

Well done.

Rgds

fcc

Hi Seafaith,

Thanks. My photos are not ready yet, probably take another 3 weeks. My coordinator is Andy Chia. =)

duckula

Hi Vivien,

Sorry,no information abt Katrina though. I booked my dinner on 25 Mar, during their promo. Just a few advices. To me, some of the banquet rooms are quite low (Maybe I'm just tall), like magnolia. Feel very squashed. Please check out all the rooms when meeting w the co-ordinator.

Hmm, I guess wedding wishes are only available on their promo days. But, not to fret, they still give out their 30l beer and compl. wine per table (supposely if you confirm your banquet on their special dates. You have to ask Katrina abt it.) Still a GOOD bargain, coz ultimately weddings are generally for relatives,friends to gather (other than CNY). So i believe other than food, beverages are important for people to have a good time. Expect drinks to be costly if you dun bargain. ;)(Not many places have both beer and wine,and watch out for those killer corkages)

Hi eveuloveme, taiko (i dun know what dialect) mean fortunate i guess ;).

Hi Vivien,

Karina is a very nice lady. You can approach her directly if you have queries and I'm sure she will try to help.

vivien_koh

Hello tsukushi and duckster,

Thanks very much for the information! Have both of u already signed up for the package? Are your wedding date on weekends or weekdays?

irenee

hi, any one has eve's AD program? can you forward to me at [email protected]? I am going to meet zona this fri... really love the photos tat some of you guys have posted... think i will settle for grand hyatt.. tired of searching
Thank you so much!!

eveuloveme

hi irene,
i will send u the programme later today...
hehe

zona is nice! pls tell her hazel and william said hello when u meet up with her this friday!

eve

bweebschan

Hi! I'm new to this Hyatt thread, but I'm also a Hyatt bride, and will be using the grand ballroom on 21st Oct this yr
Wondering if any of you have pictures taken of the black theme and can kindly send some to me at [email protected]? Tks!

eltgal

Hey Hyatt brides,

I just signed up with HYATT for november package. Wanted to check: After paying the deposit, will the hotel send something to us? Have been waiting for some sort of confirmation/ follow up but nothing yet.

Please can someone explain if we will receive anything via post?

seafaith

Eltgal,

You co-ordinator never tell u that they will send u the full contract to you for signing?

I recvd mine 2 week s after we paid the deposit via mail. No worry, they sure will send to u or u just drop an email to your co-ordinator, they will adv u same.