Grand Hyatt Singapore

och

hi bluechin,

my turn isn't coming so soon.
we r not planning for one yet.

cotton

Thanks for the advise. Now I feel better. I am planning to my coodinator after I come back and we discuss on the details. Is the Magnolia room sound system good? I think I have to bring in my MP3 player for the musics. Have anyone of you try that?

mio

Hi cotton,

When is ur wedding..Is is coming soon? My coordinator is also Cynthia..so far how's she like??? Does she know what u want??? I think u better let her know what u want..juz in case got hiccup on ur wedding day.

chiart

sorry to interrupt. but i am just getting advice from you ladies who have selected grand hyatt as the choice to hold wedding banquet...
heard good comments about it....
by the way, do you know the weekday rates?

neko

Hi Bluechin,
I'm not patang too. In fact we have already added Delannie & your name (+ hubbies) in my guest list. It'll be great if you and Delannie can come to my wedding too.
Hee hee, I also want to see fatty bom bom....

Must take care of yourself now, you may get tired very easily.

Hi Delannie,
We will be coming to your wedding too. Can't wait to see your sexy gown. Hee hee. Wonder what will your wedding favours be... I don't want your calendar! Ha ha ha (Remember our joke at Bluechin's wedding?)

See you gals on Sunday!

bluechin

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">Delannie &amp; Neko</FONT>

Glad to hear that the two of u r not patang! But i really dunno if i can attend Neko cos i might be having confinement then...... But then again if i've a premature baby chances r i can attend your wedding.

Aiyoh, u gals very naughty.... laugh at me for being a fatty bombom hor..... next time i also laugh at u gals.

Oiii..... got joke never share with me hor...... pls share about the calender joke with me tomolo when we meet hor.

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Och,</FONT>

Take your time and enjoy life first okay.

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">cotton,</FONT>

I'm not too certain whether the sound system in Magnolia room is good cos i was using the Grand Ballroom and what happens is that my coordinator engaged external professionals for the sound system.

My hubby downloaded the songs from the net and burn them into a CD before giving copies to my coordinator and standby copies for our keeping.

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">chiart,</FONT>

I'm not sure of the rates then..... perhaps the other brides will be able to help.

aigee

HI Chiart,

I booked Hyatt on a weekday.. after the revised 4% GST. the weekday rates for 2003 is about $678 or so.. can't really remember the exact amount..

ivory

hi Chiart,
me oso considering Hyatt.. havent decide yet leh..

weekdays charge is like $688nett for 35 tables n above.. hope it helps cos its the cheapest price for Hyatt liao.. lesser tables more ex lor..

chiart

hi aigee and ivory
thanks for the info.
i am considering for hyatt but it seems like it is so expensive..
ivory,
u mean $688 nett for weekday? how about food?

ivory

hi chiart,
its oni 8 course for weekday.. and yes $688nett, minimum 35 tables.

i find them very ex too.. in the end mayb i'll consider Plaza Hotel cos i need abt 50 tables lor.. so have to source for better price location. me not too worry abt the food quality, my bf will handle that..

u can ask them to send u the quotation then u can have a look lor.. or leave ur email here, i email a copy to u.. i just got it 2 weeks ago

ivory

Hi Renee Jesslyn,
i think u have to call them to say u wan a quote.. any way i will send u mine later.. difference shd not b too great as i got it end of Dec02

when u intend to have urs? mine most likely in 2004, haven't decide on date and venue..

cheers..

liz

Has Anyone tried doing their solemnization at Grand Hyatt before banquet ? Do they have any nice venues for the solemnization ? I'm doing at a church style wedding ceremony/solemnization.

priscilla

Hi Limyg,
Been there for dinner, quite goood the food n when serve the food is still quite warm not like other hotel, some serve u when the food is quite cold.

babydoll

Hi Cotton,
GH have not changed their wedding cards yet, hopefully will be soon. GH could not give us an answer to indicate when the invitations would change.
Hi Liz,
you can use their garden for solemnization, I've seen nice pics of Pikin's wedding there, but I don't have the link any more and not sure if she still checks this thread. I think they also have rooms if you prefer indoors, but best to check with them.

ice

Hi guys! have booked Hyatt in May for the dinner. I have not gone down for the food tasing nor collect the cards yet. Do not know when is the correct time. Was reading through the thread and didnt realise til now that there are thousand and one things to be done. Okay so you sisters out there, any advice to give me on what to ask from my coordinator, e.g the decor themes and the favours? would really appreciate the help!!!

woodstock

Hi Ice,

I'm having my wedding at Hyatt in May too. 3 weeks ago, I received a letter from my coordinaytor, Lynn, with 2 samples of the cards, and also to inform me to collect the cards once I selected them. Perhaps you should call your coordinator to enquire.

yvonne

hi ice..

i have also just confimred my wedding dinner with Hyatt on 22 june..
was actually quite lucky as i only started looking ard for hotel venue after CNY.. luckilty there were a few hotels available on 22 june (only 6 left).. we tehn decided on Hyatt..
when did u make ur tentative booking with Haytt ?? were u as late as i was

my coordinator is Lynn too.. i think she is very nice.. but she seems soo busy..
i think she works till 10pm sometimes.. cos one of her mails was sent at 10pm..

ice

Thanks yvonne and woodstock. You guys share the same coordinator. Mine, I think he should be Andy. No sound from him at all. Geez, maybe he has forgotten about me.
Oh, I made my booking last november, I think..... or December..... It was during the wedding fair the Hyatt organise. I thought I was late but it turn out that yours is much later...... you must be rushing like mad now yv.? I am going after his ass today. >l

yvonne

yes.. i was so kan chiong.. had many sleepless nights..
yesterday when i confirmed with Hyatt..
i went home so tired after many sleepless nights.. i slept at 10pm..
today can concentrate so much better at work

din know tt the banquet stuff would have so much impact on me...

snoopy

Me having dinner in Hyatt in June. My coordinator is Anthony. Gain a lot of information from all those previous messages posted by everyone here.

So excited now a bit stress over my photoshoot next week. When I tried on my evening gown a month ago, my bridal shop asked me what will be the theme and colour for the dinner. And I was "huh" I have not tot so far ahead. These kind of thing must also coordinate. No wonder, everyone is stress and will lose weight naturally.

yvonne

hi snoopy.. i did lose weight too..
my mum tot i m eating less to look skinny for my wedding..
actually i am eating the same.. dunno why lose weight too..
maybe just stressed over the wedding.. now tt i have chosen Hyatt.. things are more or less settled.. rest are just following up like PS, gown fitting, food tasting, etc etc..

snoopy

Your wedding is just a few days after me, mine is on the 18th. My male colleague also choose Hyatt and his wedding is on the 14th. Luckily, he is only inviting the relatives. we already attended his ROM last year.

one word of warning, there are more things to come, more things to decide. Now, I was like there are 1000 and 1 things to decide and I am nowhere near making them.

I am not having any food tasting, trust that hyatt food quality is good. want to save some money.

aigee

Hi Ice,

my corodinator is also Andy.. don't worry .. he is a very nice guy.. so far he has been very helpful on the few occasions that i met up with him... i just signed my contract....

.. I think he has been busy with his own wedding that's in March.. so you will definitely contact you once he is settled down.. don't worry..

jan

Hi Ladies...

I thinking of making a appt with Hyatt, but which coordinator should i look for? and can i have the contact no pls?

brenda

Hi Bluechin
I like to know more abt the ballerinas that you engage for yr wedding. Where can go if I also wan to book.

jan

hi ladies!

i've gone to look at the hyatt ballroom, due to my no of guests that i have, i'll have to take hibiscus room... anyone of u took this room too?

Just wondering if there's other weddings held on the same day will it be confusing to the guests? especially there's a room along the way to hibiscus room, just worried that my guests will go to that room instead... ???

minx

Hi Jan,

I am taking the Hibicus Room for my wedding... It's a very cosy and yet grand Ballroom .... I fall in love with it when I saw it with the wedding setup... It was also featured in the DBS cashline Ad.

I don't think it will be confusing as they will place your wedding photo (an 8R) outside....

wini

Hi ladies!!

I'm just wondering if there are any additional hidden costs for Hyatt... just afraid there may be some extra costs incurred, even us knowing until the end of banquet.. Anyone can advise please? thanks...

naturally

Hi Wini,
There shdn't be any extra costs, everything shd be as specified in the contract, even if there are extras like sashes for chairs, ribbons for chopsticks, rental of projector for pre-dinner presentation (not sure if they provide this), more floral decoration, etc, all these additional stuff are optional and up to u.

Even with other hotels, they will specify everything clearly in the contract, like cost for additional barrels of beer and wine corkage, there shdn't be any hidden costs i believe? Do check with your coordinator if u have any doubts, or if u want to confirm for yourself, u can always compare quotations from different hotels.

Hope i've been of help...

babydoll

Hi Wini,
We booked our banquet with Hyatt, and there are no hidden charges to my knowledge. If you sign up with them, all the costs will be specified in the contract as Naturally said. Better to check for yourself. You can contact Anthony who is my co-ordinator, he is very nice and professional.

tse

Has anyone rented the LCD projector at Hyatt? How much is the rental?

Yeap, agree that Anthony is very nice and professional. He's quite accomodating to our requests too. When we raised our concerns to him, he immediately agree to give us additional perks in order to put Hyatt on a more competitive edge over other hotels which we shortlisted. We are quite pleased with the ambience and package. How is the food over at Hyatt? They do not have any in-house chef to cook for banquets and that becomes our major concern.

skye

Hi All!

I had my wedding at Hyatt recently and must say, I'm really very happy with it!!

My co-ordinator Lynn was fantastic, putting up with all my questions and "nonsense" at times...hee hee
but must say she has been a good help!!

The ambience was good and the 2 captains in-charge of operations that nite was fantastic! We were initially quite worried but they put us totally at ease from the start! They even managed my 4 little flowergals and pageboys.

Tse, no worries abt the food cos it was very good!! I only had the 1st 2 dishes but they kept some for us as supper. Up to today, I'm still getting compliments abt the food!! &amp; I didn't do any food tasting.

Once again, to Lynn, Gary &amp; Carine, thank you all very very much for the fantastic night we have to remember!!! Keep up the good work!!

tse

Thanks skye!

Wow, I must say that u are very courageous to give food-tasting a miss. Have you tried Sheraton Li Bai's food before? In comparison which is better? My relatives are all food critics and that gives us more stress when comes to selection of hotel. As Hyatt does not have a Chinese restaurant that cooks for the banquet, so there's no way we can try out the food before the confirmation, unless someone has attended a wedding there before. One of my colleague said that Hyatt's food is good, but I just want to seek a second opinion coz my colleague is an Indian and all Chinese food taste good to him. But I'm kind of relieve that you and your guests said that the food is fantastic. =) I probably pop by Hyatt for the bridal show this weekend.

By the way, is there a bartender charge for comsumption of less than $500 of wine and liquor for the bar that is unmanned? We have to take into consideration all these hidden cost just in case.

skye

Hi Tse!

Actually I'm not that courageous lah....just that it was my peak period at work so I really can't afford going off on a weekday for the tasting. So hubby and I decided to skip that and take that chance.

Well, Li Bai is a well known restuarant. I've been to a friend's wedding in Sheraton last year and I will not say it's fantastic. But then again, I didn't manage to eat all the dishes served that night cos we had to do the photo sessions but from the portion they kept for us for supper, and friend's comments, Hyatt's food is good! Note, I had mine on a monday night.

I'm not too sure abt this bartender charge. but in my package, all wine and hard liquor corkage is waived. the only extra cost we had to pay was the extra barrel of beer that we opened that night cos somehow our friends drink like anything even though it was monday.

Hope this will help

tse

Cookie,

Hyatt does not really have a bridal show. I checked out already. There would be 12 vendors displaying their ware and services at the hotel. I know the bridal gown is from Blush Blush, then there's Robin Photography, Compass Photography etc. There would be different types of table set-ups. No fashion show and no tea reception.

minx

Hi babydoll,

He should be calling you already if he is your co-ordinator. I am meeting up with him next week to handover to another person.

ice

hi people,

due to the increase in my tables, I have to change my room to Magnolia.... Does anyone have any of their weddings there? Initially, I m taking to Sir stamford room. Love the reception area but NO MORE LIOW
Would really need some assurance for the Magnolia room Help!!!