Grand Hyatt Singapore

bridetobe2011

i just signed up for their 2011 package.

May i know wat are the things that i should be aware of on my AD?

and my wedding coordinator is Marlissa? any review?

adelineeee

Hi sunflower53, thanks for the advice. But i called and they advice me to postpone my viewing appt until the 2011 packages are released. but seems like some have alrdy booked their 2011 packages.. so i'm rather confused.

Hi Winnie, you mentioned you've signed up their 2011 package right? may i know how you contact them? coz i called the catering sales and Mandy mentioned no 2011 packages yet. Hyatt is one of my top few choices so would really love to settle it fast... please advice.. Thanks in advance =)

princess_girl

Hi Ade,

Your case is rather weird.... How come they mention that the package is not out? Maybe you can trying and write in again and ask? Their 2011 package is already out.Maybe they are going to revise the price again? I dun know.. But it is good to check and confirm.

princess_girl

Hi Hazey,
The perks are the same for both small rooms and the main ballroom. Their perks are kind of standard, only difference is weekday or weekend, the number of wishes are different and also depending you r getting lunch or dinner. Also the price difference.

babydino

any1 here held their AD at hyatt the Magnolia/Vanda room?

is the blockage by the pillars quite bad??

Tinking of holding my AD there

enimsaj85

hi all! i went to have a look at Grand Hyatt last weekend. the grand ballroom looks really nice with mirrors and a private foyer for cocktails w nice chandeliers. the wedding set up was nice too!
i only wish they did side station because i want a big bunch of floral centrepieces per table.

but anyway, look for Jonathan Wan. he's been exceptionally nice, patiently taking me around the hotel and explaining everything. he has also been very accommodating.
) will be going for the wedding show on 22nd May! :D

babydino

Hi Smilem

apparently fm what Jonathan told me, the wedding show is by invitation only. Maybe you wold lke to contact him for the details.

divineparadise

anyone here having their dinner at GH on 10 October? I plan to have mine there (but not confirmed) and worry that too many people having wedding dinner on the same night and the food quality and service will really be bad...

pebblydiamonds

Hi Ruthie,

not sure if u will be reassured, but i'd like to share our experience of having our wedding dinner banquet on a hot date too.
ours was 6th Dec 09 last year. it was an auspicious date and we were 1 of 5 couples having our dinner there at the same time. we had been worried about service standard, food quality etc, but i must say we were really relieved after the whole event. we had good food reviews, and mind u, our menu was a special order in which it was entirely vegetarian. on top of that, we did not take their standard vege menu, cos we met up with the Chef a few weeks before and he came up with a whole new menu for us. so food standard, we were pleased.
our originally assigned banquet captain turned out to be on MC, so their asst manager took over. wonder if it was a blessing? cos he said he usually doesn't do banquet captaining anymore. he was an indian guy who was experienced, systematic, confident and we were very pleased. sorry i can't remember his name now tho.
the sound and lighting guy was a malay chap mr rahman. friendly and ever helpful.
so as u can see, on the overall even tho ours was on a hot date, we didn't think that the service and food standards were compromised. our coordinator was also encouraging and we are pleased with how the event turned out.

if u'd like to find out more, pls feel free to pm me n i'll reply u as soon as i can.

have fun planning ur wedding anyway!

pinktini

hi pebbles, thanks for sharing. i was getting a bit worried too, cos my banquet is on a hot date. besides the basic pkg of the table setting, did they have any additional decorations that we can add on? i only know we can pay more for them to add alternate chair sashes to the guest tables.

enimsaj85

ooohh! how much must you pay to add sashes on alternate chairs? any idea?

i've checked and there's an option to take away the lazy susan so that you can top up on the floral arrangements for every table. they need to hire additional staff so it would be $1250 roughly additional.

oh and i've quite a lot of pictures of the ballroom (over zealous bride to be) so drop me an email if you need pictures. [email protected]

pebblydiamonds

oh we weren't given an option to pay more for more decorations. But they did say if we don't want to use their floral arrangements or their flowers, we can arrange for our own florist and order special flowers. but of cos it's extra cost on ur part to do so. and u need to let ur coordinator know so that they know when the flowers arrive and generally just help with the coordination of the flower delivery etc.
we didn't take that option up cos it's extra trouble! didn't think it's worth it!

moonsafarian

Hi all, i just had my wedding at Grand Hyatt. Like to share my experience with all of you here.

Had several events on the wedding day at the hotel. Started with an early check-in to the suite to prepare for my solemnisation ceremony at 12.30pm. In the morning, my hb received a SMS asking us to call the guest services officer to inform them on our way there. Was wondering why. Turned out the officer was waiting for us at the front entrance of the hotel. We alighted from the bridal car, was welcomed and brought to our suite. No worries about checking in, parking of the car, luggage etc.

Had about 1.5h to change into another gown & re-do my hair & touch up on makeup by the MUA. Then we went down to the function room & everything was set up. The banquet captain, the sound technician & some members of the staff were present to see to everything. The music was ready, the flowers, table & chairs were set up. Drinks were passed around to my guests. My dad walked me in & gave me away to my hb who was waiting at the table with our solemniser & witnesses. After the ceremony, I went to change into my tea dress & had my tea ceremony at the same room. The staff was still around to help out, together with our helpers.

After that, we proceeded to lunch at mezza9. Had ordered lunch prior to the day. Once my guests & us sat at our pre-arranged tables, the food was immediately served & orders were not mixed up. Water glasses were frequently topped out. Food was well presented & portions were sufficient. The server was attentive & prompt in his service. He then helped to cut & distribute our wedding cake to our guests. Even suggested a DBS card during billing, which was in our suite. Hence he followed us up to retrieve the card & returned to the suite for us to sign the bill.

Had our banquet dinner in the same evening. The captain was very thorough in his briefing with my hb, even came up to my suite to clarify some areas with me (hb wasn't sure of certain details).

Surprisingly there were 2 other weddings on the same day, which we didn't know nor ask about. There wasn't any confusion nor was the service compromised. The private foyer we had to receive our guests was very useful. During the food tasting, my only concern was the size of the fish was too small. We're very pleased that on the AD, food was fresh & tasty & all portions were generous. My relatives called my mom up to thank her & commented on the excellent food. My friends & colleagues also had praises for the banquet.

As we couldn't partake in the food during the banquet, a server came up to deliver the food & our wedding cake after the event, which we didn't request for. Good initiative on their part. Stayed in on the 3rd day & ordered room service. The person taking the orders on the phone was very meticulous. The food was great too. We also had access to the Club Lounge on the top floor, which served complimentary breakfast, canapes & cocktails.

The bridal suite was spacious & everybody who were with us in the suite had a comfortable rest in between our events. Every time my hb & I called for something on the phone, we were greeted warmly by our names & our requests were carried out promptly.

I told my hb that even such a fussy person like me who likes to see to details is 100% happy with Grand Hyatt, it must be an excellent place to hold our wedding. I'm glad we've gone with this hotel & would highly recommend anyone who is considering Grand Hyatt. I'm 100% pleased with this excellent hotel!

pinktini

jasmine: if i'm not wrong, top up $15++ per table for the alternate chair sashes.
take away the lazy susan, meaning the food is served individually? extra $1250 is per table? wah, then tt would be a lot of money leh. which ballroom are u taking? i'm taking the hibiscus room in november.

pebbles: i also agree no point hiring own florist, extra cost plus more coordination headache.

^moon^: so they actually reserve the entire course of meals and deliver aft the banquet? hehe, my hubby & i are foodies, we're so bummed out thinking we'll miss out on the nice food. :p
are there any pics of the bridal suite?? i didn't ask to see when i booked the banquet. :p

enimsaj85

hey jenny! oh, i meant it's $1250 more in total which is really reasonable.
yup individually plated food

im gonna see the bridal suite tom at the wedding show, will try to take some pictures :D

pebblydiamonds

jenny: ya i had the same experience as ^moon^, in which they sent the whole course of food from 3rd dish onwards up to the room, laid out nicely on a special table with warmers underneath to keep the food warm. very pleased with that. oh and can i recommend that on one of the mornings that u are in the bridal suite, u opt for the stay-in breakfast. cos it was SUMPTUOUS. we loved it and the portions were so big i think 4 persons could have eaten it and still all be full ok. totally satisfied with that. the room service meals are really quite fun. like in-room romantic dinner without the candlelight. haha.

pinktini

jasmine: i emailed my co-od abt 1.5wks ago to ask if got wedding show going on, cos i have not really seen a full wedding setup except pics sent to me by some other brides. maybe she too busy, nv reply me.
can u be so kind to post up some pics? $1250 in total is really really reasonable!! i shall go check that out in detail.

pebbles: alamak, 3rd dish onwards? i like the 2nd course leh. ok nvm, i shall arrange my prog in a way that i will still be seated at the 2nd course. ;) thanks for the rec, i shall choose the stay-in bfast, i dun think i got energy to dress up and go down to makan also.

moonsafarian

Jenny > I had my wedding at the hibiscus room too. The private foyer is useful to receive yr guests, esp if there are other events held on the same floor. Do ask to see the bridal suite. I was offered the junior suite which was abt 50+ sqm. Find it too small so I asked to top up for the duplex suite which is 2storeys, same size as a 5room hdb flat. Wasn't available so I settled for a grand suite, which is 83sqm. U'd appreciate the space if u hv guests in yr room, like my family members & some helpers who were with us inbetween the day & night events.

I did consider paying more for individually plated food & my own florist but decided against it & spent the money for topping up for the suite & my own wedding favours

Although the perks offered by Hyatt aren't fantastic, I'm very pleased with the entire wedding experience with them. For most guests, their "memory" abt yr wedding banquet would mostly be abt the quality of food & its portions, which I think Hyatt has done an excellent job in.

pinktini

oh no, i think they gave me a normal hotel room leh. - grand deluxe room.

i not getting own wedding favors or self-designed invite cards, my inlaws think its a waste of money.

princess_girl

anyone has lobang for self-design cards? or printers? i m also thinking to design my cards and send for printing... not sure of the printer vendors and the cost of that... pls advise.

Anyone has any idea if hyatt will be coming up with any new themes or new design of their cards? i found that the cards they provide kind of too plain..

Hi moon, I'll be having my wedding at the Hibiscus room too!
Can I ask you some questions on the montage and the music? Did you play the childhood montage and express highlights from your laptop? I read some past horror story about another bride whose montage had no sound even though they were being played on the laptop. Met up with my coordinator recently and she told me the music has to be in a certain format (WAV) in order for the system to recognise it. Did you also bring your own music CD to play during the event? Thanks in advance.
I am quite worried that I might encounter the same problem even though I've not read similar feedback here.

moonsafarian

Hi sunflower, no such prob with the music from yr laptop if it works during yr AV testing prior to yr AD & just before the banquet starts. Have yr files backed up on CDs too. Yr music can be in any playable format IF u're gonna play from yr laptop. If u prefer to hv the hotel sound technician play the music while yr helper plays a photo-only montage, firstly yr music supplied must not be in mp3 format as the hotel player works with only audio tracks, and secondly the synchronising of music with playing of the slideshow gotta be timed perfectly.

What I did was play from my own laptop, even for the 2
march-ins. I believe a cable was not connected properly or to the wrong input/output jack, with regards to the story u heard. Most importantly, run a sound test first

Hi moon, thanks so much for the information, its really helpful. Will definitely be doing a sound test prior to the event, but seems like they only allow me to do so on the actual day. It is abit risky but since there is no other negative feedback on sound, it should be fine.

candycandy001

Hi, just to share something abt my friend's wedding with Hyatt recently... Food & service are basically good, but the waiter/waitress a bit inexperience... During the whole dinner, I saw 1 waiter & 1 waitress drop the drinks, few glasses broken.

olivia_n

I attended a friend's wedding at Hyatt last year, and the service staff couldn't understand English well... We just wanted some peanuts as we were waiting for the dinner to start, and we had to approach the waiter 2 times before we called the captain.

I believe this may be a common problem in many hotel banquets, with part-timers, etc, but service really does makes a difference to the banquet. Even if we give feedback about the type of service we want, will Hyatt be able to do anything about it? Anyone has any experience with this? In terms of giving feedback to Hyatt on service and they acting on it? Appreciate any sharing from other Hyatt brides or BTBs...

princess_girl

hihihi,

wat r the perks u all get during the last wedding show? Any new updates for the hotel in terms of wedding favours , cards, themes that can share?

moonsafarian

Her name is Mandy Wan. U can call the hotel's general number & ask for her from the Catering Sales department. I got her name here from the earlier posts too. She's with the hotel for a very long time.

Have u signed up with Grand Hyatt too? U'll love the experience if u have

yumsoup

Thx moon~ i've not signed up for banquets yet.. still looking ard. would like to email her to get the 2011 price list~ heehee

may i knw wat's the max number of tables for wkends?

Gladys - Hibiscus room is pillarless. Camelia room has some pillars. Not too sure about the rest. You should go down and have a look.

Gin - you wouldn't go wrong with Mandy, she's great. I had her too for my wedding and everything went smoothly. Generally the staff at Hyatt are all competent and provided good service. The banquet manager (Francis) was also very experienced. And my friend told me he's quite cute somemore. lol. Service staff might be slow and inexperienced, but thats quite common I suppose. This part is out of our control anyway...I think it depends on their training etc. My friend told me he asked for 5 glasses of beer and red wine which never came, but I'm relieved at that because their purpose was to make us drunk. It would have wasted alot of our alcohol as well. :p

One thing that I noted was that after our wedding, only the cake and dessert was delivered to our bridal suite. The banquet food was nowhere to be found on the room service trolley and we could only see 2 pairs of chopsticks and spoons. We wondered if we're supposed to eat our wedding cake with the chopsticks?! Moon told me the food is inside the warmer below...however, the staff should have taken out the food and placed it on top for us. We were too excited after the whole wedding to explore the trolley I suppose.

moonsafarian

Gin > u can just drop by the concierge at the hotel to pick up a booklet on wedding services. Hibiscus is for intimate weddings, with a max of 28 tables if I rem correctly.

Gladys > the grand ballroom has no pillars too. The hotel's website has floor plans & capacity seating u can refer to.

Sunflower > my banquet manager was Francis too! He was around during my solemnisation in the daytime & later during the banquet dinner. He even came up to my suite with my hubby when my hubby was too stressed up & couldn't manage to brief him abt the programme lineup. An experienced manager & dashing too hehe.

blackangel55

I'm a btb planning for my wedding next year. Currently magnolia/vanda ballroom suits me most as I estimated around 32 tables for my guest list so the min 30 tables is good for me. I've tasted the food at Hyatt during 2 of my frens' weddings, one in 2006 another in 2009. Food is not bad, however my only worry now is the pillars mentioned by some of us in this forum. Is the pillars really blocking a lot of views? If so, have to get another lcd projector, is it troublesome? anyone have more recent wedding pics held in this ballroom?

pinkscrump

hi btbs,

anyone else booking Hyatt for their AD?
am looking to book Hyatt for my AD next year, but it seems that their service has been kind of slow, been waiting for their answers to my question.

cupcakescream

Hello Brides,

My FH and I are thinking of having our reception at Hyatt next year. I was wondering if anyone knows if Hyatt does buffet style instead of sit down Chinese dinner as we are planning the wedding from overseas?

pinktini

daniel: i had some bad experience with the 2nd co-od after my 1st co-od resigned. she was unresponsive, unhelpful and even MIA-ed. i was really very frustrated with her. didn't know she quit until someone from the hotel listened to her voicemail and knew we were looking for her. Yes, she didn't even bother to hand us over to a new co-od.

however, thankfully, the new co-od, Clara, assigned to us is very enthusiastic and friendly. best thing is, she responds fast! much much MUCH better and i really feel assured now with her handling it. i'm only praying i dont' have another change of co-od, cos Clara seems really nice. I'll be taking the Hibiscus Room in november, will update on service after my wedding.