Grand Hyatt Singapore

I'm also a Bride To Be at Grand Hyatt in Dec 2009. It's still a long way though. My HTB and I had booked SSR although the price are higher than the Vanda ballroom.

Hi Kitty,

Your perks are good, how did you manage to get those perks?

starrytulips

Hi Jocelyn,

I'm a Hyatt BTB at SSR too, but my AD is in Oct 2009.

I guess the perks that Kitty got were those offered during the bridal showcase. In fact, Hyatt just had a bridal showcase last month and the perks offered are the same as those that Kitty got, except that there wasn't any free stay.

pebblydiamonds

Hi Jocelyn,
i'm a Dec 09 BTB too! and having mine at Mag/Van in Hyatt. When is ur banquet? Mine's 6th Dec. I like SSR but we were worried about capacity..
actually not very far away already.. if u think abt it, it's abt 1yr from now already..
Btw come join us in Dec 09 BTB thread

Hi Starrytulips,

Congrats to you on your AD on Oct 2009! Btw what perks did you manage to get during the bridal showcase?

Hi Pebbles,

Congrats to you on your AD on 06 Dec 09! My banquet is on the 13 Dec 09 which is 8 days after your banquet. We didn't take the Vanda ballroom coz of the pillars.
What perks did you manage to get?

pebblydiamonds

Jocelyn,
yeah the pillars r a little in the way, but we figured that we'l try to arrange our tables skirt around the pillars. heh.
have u placed deposit and signed contract with Hyatt already? Please pm me if u'd like to exchange details on the perks. not good to post openly on forum

starrytulips

Hi Jocelyn and Pebbles,

Are you intending to take the wedding favours included in the package? I'd prefer to have souvenirs rather than food items, or a mix (but not all food). But I'm not sure what else to get, if I were to get it on my own... Any thoughts?

Will you be taking the black and red theme? Me and HTB love it, but not sure if we can convince our parents... Hehe

pebblydiamonds

hi starrytulips,
i haven't decided on favours yet. hyatt's favours r all food. heh. i like the pralines cos i like chocolates. but i agree with u that souvenirs r more memorable. my colleague had her banquet at orchard parade hotel, n their favours were very unique - stamps! with their PS pictures. so every guest had 4 different stamps, while the hotel combined all their submitted PS pics to form a nice album, with the words "congratulations! u're now on first day cover!" or sth like that. cute.
y don't u check out some of the various wedding favour sites. under this sgbrides forum should have ppl recommending different sites. bear in mind costing too.. cost was sth that's holding me back from getting additional favours instead of using the ones provided.

black n red theme is really nice.. my girl friend will b having hers at Mag/Vanda too next mth n using black/red. i'l let u know how the whole feel is! my mum doesn't seem to b able to accept the black.. but i'l tk pics of my girl friend's banquet n show my mum. hee.

starrytulips

Hi Pebbles,

Yes, I heard about the stamps too, as one of my best girl friend is having hers there. So cool!

I've checked out the sites, but haven't quite found anything cheap and good (yes, i'm a kiam kana sometimes ;p).

I actually managed to view a black and red setup at SSR (the room I booked) as there was a wedding on the same evening i went down to meet my co-ordinator. It does look quite unusual, but nice! Was also worried that the whole room might look a little too dark and pictures might not turn out nice. But after checking with our (potential) photographer, he said he's done that before and there shouldn't be a problem. Phew!

So now, it's just to convince our parents. heh.

kitty_ng

Hi jocelyn, starrytulips is right. Mine was listed on the pkg when i booked at the bridal show. But i'm sure u will hav no regrets booking with hyatt

Pebbles, i love the stamp ideas. I saw it before...very unique. Pralines are oso v gd. Most of my guests finished it before din started...haha.

I envious those couples who can use black & red theme. My hb & i could not convince our parents-in-law. In fact, we did not dare to risk it in the first place hee

Hi Pebbles, Kitty and Starrytulips,

Any idea where those stamp ideas can be found (Wedding favours)?
Any other ideas besides the stamps?
I like the black and red theme too.
As for the elders I guess we need to negotiate with them. Haha!

Usually the elders are the pandang types!

euanterence

Hi, i have just finished my wedding and will like to commend that the wedding at Hyatt was a successful one. The guests commented that the food was really nice (even nicer than Oriental which i was quite surprised..lol). As i did not have any appetite that day, i couldnt really enjoy the food. Feedback abt the service was that the waiters/waitresses were prompt and initiative - refills etc. Understand that many ppl are worried abt the pillars (which i agree), however i feel the ambience is really cosy and warm. All in all, i will like to assure u gals if you have taken up Hyatt that they will take ur comments seriously and act upon it.
Have posted up some pics for ur references. Have fun with ur wedding preps!
867794.jpg

867795.jpg

867796.jpg

867797.jpg

pebblydiamonds

Hi Jocelyn,
I dunno where the stamps r provided.. my colleague said it was provided by her banquet services.. all in the package. they just had to submit their pics..

Hi bubu,
thanks for sharing! congrats to your wedding anyway, and ur compliments would put alot of us at ease abt our choice of hotel..

euanterence

Hi Shanice

Mine is the smallest one- Camillia room cos the rest of the fx rooms were all taken up. Nevertheless,the deco should be similar

jasminewys

Hi. I'm a Hyatt BTB... Signed up with Mandy during the wedding workshop in June... AD on 28 Nov 2009 in Hibiscus room...

very happy with their service so far.. and comments abt them are very good... only one worry.. their projector screen is the mobile kind.. kinda worried that the guests at the back of the room will have trouble seeing...

kitty_ng

Hi joycelyn,

I heard that singaporepost provides such service of customising your pics as stamps. So maybe u wan to check the website for more info

kitty_ng

Hi jasminewys, my coordinator was mandy too. She's v gd
All the best for your wedding prep!

Hui & shanice, do u all multiply? I hav posted diff wedding themes of GH on it. If u all hav, can add me kittyng2106

shanicelim

hi Kitty,

sob i dun have multiply!

My coordinator went on leave. possible to send me your coordinator's contact? i need to check the availability of the room

piyo_piyo

Do you know anyone i can contact with? I have sent so many times of email to GH but no one reply me. Feel a bit frustrated with their services..

kitty_ng

Sorry hui, i saw yr invitation & i was in the process of accepting but somehow my connection went crazy...so the invitation was lost. Can i hav yr id, then i add u? paiseh....

Shanice & Hui, u can try email to mandy. [email protected]

tabbygal

Hi everyone...
Congrats to all brides for next yr! I'm a Nov'09 BTB, booked SSR for the dinner. Haven decided on the colour theme yet though i heard alot of raves abt black & red. Think it's really special but parents or older generaions may not be receptive.

smileger

My AD is in Jan 2010. Okok..i know it sounds abit kiasu but never hurts to start early right?? =P

Just keeping my options open! Would appreciate if anyone can share pics / info on the Grand Ballroom. Thanks!! =)

tabbygal

Hi Jasmine...
congrats to u too!! Initially the date we chose was 29th nov then changed it to 19th cos we felt that alot of pple maybe going away as it was a long wkend and at the start of sch hols. Hehe... which bridal shop r u goin to??

piyo_piyo

I went down to see Camelia room yesterday. Too bad there are two big pillars there. Anyone has the photos with Camelia room can share with me? Please email to [email protected] I actually comparing Hyatt vs Regent. Maybe u gals can give me some advices.

Thank you :>

tabbygal

Hi Hui,
Was considering Regent too. But if u read the posts in the Forums, Regent doesn't seem to have many good reviews on their bridal suite & inflexibility to bring food up to the suite after the wedding, etc. My HTB & I have been quite satisfied with Hyatt's svc so we signed up with them. Maybe u can consider other rooms at Hyatt?

cyys

hi Hui,

I had the Camelia Room for my banquet. the pillars weren't too much of a problem cos I arranged the tables such that the guests wouldn't have their views blocked. but it could be also because I only had 12 tables so the table configuration wasn't too tight. anyway I will go through my pics and see if there's any I can email to you that will be helpful.

cyys

oh btw, I did consider the Regent when I was deciding on the banquet too, but I didn't like the configuration of their small ballroom. I remember the room was longish and because I didn't have many tables, a lot of my guests would be sitting quite far from the stage. so I decided to take the Camelia Room instead.
but my wedding was quite a while ago, so not sure if the Regent's ballrooms have changed since then.

shakingheads

I am considering GH Grand Ballroom as one of my potential banquet venues. Met up with the coordinator to discuss the package but felt that it was rather pricey for weekday package and didn't offer any free flow of beer or corkage waiver. It's certainly a premium over Marina Mandarin or Swissotel Merchant Court, which at a lower Nett$$ per table. Can any GH Bride share their experience when choosing their banquet venues?

piyo_piyo

Hi CY,

Appreciate if you could send me your wedding photos which i'm looking for it urgently. Btw, i have rejected Regent. u are right the room is longish n pretty old too... I did consider the location and name of the hotel. I asked a lot of my friends n relatives, they never heard Regent hotel before, so i decided dun take the risk.

Who was ur coordinator last time? My one is Desiree which i think she is not friendly enough.