Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel

bugbear

hehe...k...currently gown still not done. just the lining only...nothing to see

yukie

Okie Bugbear... hv make an apt to wif them tis fri... hv spoke to peggy n she sound nice...

Hi Dorami... i'm a TWP bride. Do make a an apt with them to try their gown... lovely gown n wonderful service...

bugbear

Hi Yukie. I think i spoke to Peggy the last time i was there. she seems nice... i personally find that she is able to give me more advice than the other florist i went to. Peggy will like tell me that this looks good, that doens't match kind of thing.
Keep me posted of your appt with them...i still haven decide on the stage deco yet :p

kaye

BugBear,
do U have to neg with the photographers for the no. of photos? cos I know I saw TWP's pkg...something like Andrew Choi's only 20 photos...additional photo is abt $100+?

bugbear

Hi Hazel, yes, the standard package only comes with 20 pieces of 8R. I have to topup to get more photos and bigger album. I think most photographers standard is 20-piece. I think photographers like PhotoLanguage, Chris Ling, Montage Andrew Choi all give 20-pieces.

Topup can be quite ex right?
but me vainpot...want more photos...hahah

yukie

Hi Jesmine... for me n hubby, it's b'cos of the Grand Ballroom. It's big, it's tall, it's pillarless, it's grand n it's quite new.
N of cos the perks r good...! N oso u hv the whole recep area outside to yrself!

Initially i like Merchant Court. But gave up after i had a apt wih them. Cos find them quite unflexiable, ballroom is small, not grand enough n the ballroom looks old (mayb b'cos of the color).

cutiepooh

Hi Gers

Wat perks were given by GCW during the wedding show? Hope u gers can update me on that coz I was unable to make it for the show. Is there a very big difference in price or other things in the package if we sign on normal days and during the wedding show?

Hope u gers can enlighten me coz I'm in the mist of making the initial preparation

sherl

Hihi ladies,

I'm probably signing up with GCW too. Could someone advise me on the cancellation/postponement terms of GCW? The one that I've received seems to differ from what I understand to be the standard terms. Thanks very much!

jan193

Jesmine,

For me n my FH, v choose GCW cos we like d grand ballrm..it's nice..d perks r gd n my coordinator is easy to tok to..most impt it fits my budget

we hav even brought our parents for food tasting n they r satisfied. so tt's y we decided to go ahead with GCW

moreover me n my FH is too lazy to visit too many places hee..

odiey

Hi Yukie

Read that you printed the cards at $200. May i know how many cards was there for? I'm going down to T-Dragon within this few days to print mine. When's your AD?

yukie

Hi odiey... The card were fm the htl range(the red 1 wif 3 fold tat opens like a door). Printed 280 pcs, hot stamping, matt ink, 200 maps n 1 icon. U must act like u intend to let others print the card cos others is cheaper(which is true tat others is cheaper, but u must do some homework b4 u go dwn, like hw much others r charging). They will keep explaining to u y others is cheaper. Bargain the soft way not the hardway.

My AD is 05/09/05...

bugbear

Actually, when considering GCW, any of you considered its location as well as it's hotel reputation? I kind of scared that ppl dunno that GCW is a 5* hotel.

odiey

Tks Yukie... Ok, will do some research before going down. Will be printing the same qty as you. Hot stamping in matt ink? sthg new to me. Are the maps printed on a separate sheet? Btw, any trouble looking for the T-Dragon's shop? Is the entrance next to the Excelsior Hotel? Tried looking for it once, but the whole place was dark and dodgy...

So our wedding is abt 2 weeks apart... ;)

Anyone printing personalised red packets? My frens did that thru Jasvy. Quite nice...

Hi BugBear
There will definitely be ppl who give very little even if they know it's a 5* hotel. Can only hope that the loss will be minimised.

jan193

I tot location is gd..dun really wan in town..cos parkin difficult n always jam especially peak hours or weekends..meaning another reason for ur guests to be late

kaye

Jesmine,
for my case, mine is just the waterfront ballroom...so there will be 2 pillars there...
I had been to a few hotels...GCW's suite room definetly not that great but not bad either...
Location definetly is inconvenient....
But I really like their foyer area...the feeling is gd...
I really fall in love with the hotel when I see the ballroom...
The price is ex and no free flow beer but I really like it....so, just hope that I dun make so much losses

Yukie,
U mean U print 200 cards with map using hot matte stamping for $200?

bugbear

yup, i also like the idea that it is out of city area, so guests will not have the excuse to come late, but public transport is kind of limited there.

Actually i kinda estimated my losses already. I am not so particular about losses...afterall, i think the moment we decided on throwing a banquet, we should expect some losses (beer, wine)

kaye

heheee...think we never tot of gaining the AB....
actually, I not so worried abt the wine...its the beer part that's frightening....its counted by barrel...once opened a new barrel, dun care if it can be finished...
think 20L abt 60 glasses?- average abt 1 tb drink 2~3 glasses... for the whole banquet
just hope that my guests are wine drinkers...at least its counted by per bot.

bugbear

heheh...i estimated my losses to be abt 10k...including those tables given to my parents, beer and wine.

Hazel, i think these days ppl drink more wine than beer...so i am only catering 60l beer for about 48 tables. To cut down on consumption, maybe u can consider serving beer after 1st fanfare...meaning don serve beer/wine during cocktail. i personally feel that it's wastage to serve beer/wine during cocktail...cos ppl mingle ard, walk away and the glass of beer/wine will be removed.

kaye

BugBear, I agree with you on serving during the dinner time..... I hope I dun ve to buy additional beer....I gt abt 25tbs...20L beer...yrs 48tbs-60L beer....almost the same lah....
how many tbs ur parents taking? mine almost taken abt 11 tbs...

bugbear

Hazel...i think beer should be enuf. You planning to serve wine?

My parents need about 15-16 tables, but they only requested 6 from us. The rest of the tables, my parents will pay...me and FH footing all the banquet ourselves, so they just take as 'small token'

kaye

I never know its like that one...
tot we paid for the tables then the AB from my side give to my parents...thats what my father told me...
In the end, all my frenz & relatives + my parents' frenz AB go to them.

sleepysleep

going down to take a peek @ the wedding dinner later, last min decision.. is there a rom area there for me to take a look too? coz everyone bz no time to guide me there..

thanx in advance

jan193

sleepysleep

I'm having my ROM in GCW too. u lookin at indoor or outdoor? tink they hav both

mine is indoor - Veradah 1 & 2 at level 2. The very popular wan is d Paradiso rm

jan193

sleepysleep

no hehe..nt same day but same place keke

paradiso is indoor..looks like a chapel tt's y pretty popular.. rm charge if i'm nt wrong is $688+++..

outdoor i'm nt too sure d price..tink is $588+++ but havnt seen it b4 so nt to sure abt d place.. tink u go there enquire with them

iceglacier

Morning Dorami!

Dun think there are fans, but it's actually quite cool if you have it in the late afternoon as the hotel building blocks the sun... At least that was what happened when we went to view the place in the evening.

Crossing my fingers very badly that it will not rain!

sleepysleep

oh last min something on cant manage to go down to view, but i saw the pics! i felt that it is NICE!!! plus so many seats for ppl hehee

erm any indoor rom area picpic to share?

hi iceglacier,
how much did u rent the outdoor location?

jan193

ice,

When's d big day? since urs in d evening shld b fine.. i walked pass there too once in d evening..really windy too..so shld b alrite..

sleepysleep,
no pic to share..hehe... i didnt saw d setup for d rm..keke..juz d rm itself..

bugbear

Hi Ice, thanks for the pics. The prommenade looks good! So $588 is just the rental of the place + chair setup?

Hahah...Ice, u still rememebered the time where it's really only u and me keeping each other company :p

iceglacier

Er.. I think it includes flower deco, drinks and maybe snacks? Oh.. and also the Paradiso room as a backup venue i think.

Cannot remember cos I dun have the details with me now.

jan193

ice,

my ROM is Nov 05 n my AD is Nov 06..longer way to go..haha

Bugbear,
tink 588 only for d place n deco..

food wise i tink hav to pay separately

iceglacier

Bugbear, Yup.. got the promenade area from my solemnization! Really hoping it wun rain! Your AD is getting closer right?

Dorami, at least you ROM this year! My AD and ROM all in Oct next year, sometimes I think it's too far away!

bugbear

Ice...heheh...me AD still quite a few months. Oct. Will be hacing solemnization on the same day as well.

Dorami is right...good to start early...then u will feel more prepared and won be so stressed

odiey

hi Yukie
I just went down to print my cards, the sales person is not easy to bargain. Anyway, we din like the hotel cards and top up for other range. T-dragon is not cheap at all. Every little thing also must charge. The only complaint abt GCW is the quality of cards they provide and we have no choice but to use their printer if we need to change cards. In the end T-dragon is the one that makes money.

So did you go down to June Florist to check it out? Think i'll prob go down and take a look at both florist. Not sure how's their decor.

iceglacier

Dorami & Bear,

So far away now I very boh already, cos nothing to do. Bear, who is your photog ah?

Actually I am thinking of printing the inserts of the wedding cards myself... You think it's possible?