Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel

jan193

ice,

for my ROM invitation card i plan to print d inserts myself too! my coordinator say it's possible n we will even provide me a template

iceglacier

Dorami,

Yay! That's good! Was thinking of doing that to save money cos think many people will just throw the card away after the wedding!

Hee.. I started "collecting" wedding cards so that I'll have a format to follow!

jan193

ice,

yup..oledi spend over my budget for my ROM..so watever can save better save sme..somemore only plan to gif frens..families n relatives dun nd haha

yukie

Sorry girls was on leave yesterday for my PS...
Had a great time...!

Okie, hazel 1st... yap, i printed 280 cards, hot stamping, matt ink, 200 maps n 1 icon for 200 bucks only.

Hi odiey... me n hubby find the red xi card tat open like a door quite nice leh... somemore very meaningful, 'shuang xi lin men' cos the card open like a door...

They give u no discount at all? Who did u spoke to? Actaully b4 i went down i oready bargain wif them. When i call, i told them i'm jus collecting the card n not letting them print. They ask me y, i jus tell them how much others r charging only. I told them if u can charge me matt ink for the price of shining ink than i'll consider. Than i ask for free icon. Which she say will discuss again when i meet up wif her. So when i went down, i told her my buget n bargain whole package for 200 bucks...

Suppose to go down June today, but hv to canel cos hubby can't make it. Maybe will go tmr or next wk...

bugbear

Ice, my photographer is Montage. I also like nothing much to do now...just getting excited for my PS after hearing so many wonderful experiences from other brides.

Odiey, me too. I think i will end up topping for some other cards...i still trying to see if there is any other cards which is lesser in cost. I don think it's worth printing such ex cards where some ppl might not even look at it

Yukie!! How's your PS? Where did you go? U must have had a wonderful time huh. Who's ur photographer?

bugbear

Ice, u confirmed ur BS already? My BS tied with Montage. Actually i did not go BS/Photographer shopping...
I just hope can click with Eng Howe lor...heheh...but so far, my encounter with him has been quite good. he is very friendly and quite funny.

iceglacier

Bugbear,

Not yet... Since we last discussed about your BS I haven't done anything! Think the long stretch before my AD is making me very lazy! Very sian cos my close friends are not getting married yet so not

yukie

Aiyo bugbear... my PS photographer same as u lah... so yr post at montage tread...
Really had a wonderful time yesterday...
Eng Howe really very gd at putting ppl at ease n in the mood to pose...
so don worry, sure can click wif them 1...
Like chatting wif him n felicia...
We went upper pierce for outdoor shoot.

Hi iceglacier... it's really 'yi fen cien yi fen huo' lor... if can, do consider Montage...

odiey

yukie
we spoke to lina, she did give us a 10% disc after much negotiation. But we feel that the cards cld have been cheaper as it's quite simple. we din really like red cards so end up with not much choices.

Hi Bugbear,
We had wanted to choose the cheaper cards but Tdragon do not indicate the price of the cards on their catalogue. So difficult to estimate which are the cheaper ones. They tell u to choose the card you like and they just write out on a piece of paper the cost of processing the cards eg. embossing cost, printing cost, etc. U wun know if the cost they charge is the std one. Keep having the feeling that i got con. hahaa...

You r with Montage? 2 of my frens engaged EH too. He's good. Their photos turn out very well! U r in safe hands. When's your PS?

Dorami,
it's quite easy to print the inserts for your ROM as qty is manageable. I did that as well for mine. =) Are they giving you the hotel cards for your ROM? if you use their cards, those that open like a door kind, inserts dun seem appropriate as theirs are meant for hot stamping. So you may need to choose other type of cards.

odiey

yukie
we spoke to lina, she did give us a 10% disc after much negotiation. But we feel that the cards cld have been cheaper as it's quite simple. we din really like red cards so end up with not much choices.

Hi Bugbear,
We had wanted to choose the cheaper cards but Tdragon do not indicate the price of the cards on their catalogue. So difficult to estimate which are the cheaper ones. They tell u to choose the card you like and they just write out on a piece of paper the cost of processing the cards eg. embossing cost, printing cost, etc. U wun know if the cost they charge is the std one. Keep having the feeling that i got con. hahaa...

You r with Montage? 2 of my frens engaged EH too. He's good. Their photos turn out very well! U r in safe hands. When's your PS?

Dorami,
it's quite easy to print the inserts for your ROM as qty is manageable. I did that as well for mine. =) Are they giving you the hotel cards for your ROM? if you use their cards, those that open like a door kind, inserts dun seem appropriate as theirs are meant for hot stamping. So you may need to choose other type of cards.

jan193

hi odiey,

Dunno their range of cards for ROM same as AD or nt leh..i dun wana anything ang gong gong for ROM leh hee..

no choice..hav to pop by soon to chk with them i guess

moarie

hello all, i booked my AD dinner with GCW, on June 24th 06... finally got my date... would be needing some help from u gals here k... dunno who to choose for florist AND the card prints thing...
help k... thanks...

yukie, can i see ur photos when they R done too.. thanks...

please help ya.. thanks alot gals...

jan193

Yeah!!! we've another GCW bride

Welcome!!!

hope all of us can help one another yah so tt we'll all hav a wonderful wedding hehe

sherl

Can I join in too? Just booked my dinner with GCW on 13 March 06. I'm also feeling quite blur about all the florists and stuff, so hope we can exchange info...

Also haven't booked ANYthing else... after seeing all of you beginning your preparations so early, I'm beginning to panic...

kaye

Sher,
kao_welcome.gif

Ask U ladies if you all had purchased a mattress for your new hse? Is there a brand & model that you all prefer?

iceglacier

Wow! So many new GCW brides! Welcome!

Bugbear and Yukie, I went to show my FH the pic on the MS website and he likes it very much too! Now to psyco him that the money is worth it... heehee...

sherl

Thanks for the welcome gals, heehee.

Hazel, I highly recommend SP Latex from Dunlopillo.... Feel it's one of the most comfortable mattresses around.

marthastewart

hi guys, please give me your personal preference on Steffi bLooms or June Florist, if you have met up with them before...let me know, it will help great if you gave me personal experiences! I have to choose florist by July! thx!

bugbear

Morning ladies!

Sherl! Mgt! Welcome Welcome!! Feel free to join in the discussion!!

Yukie..heheh...sorry...so many posts...me blur liao. Good to hear that everything is cool with EH.

Odiey...my PS is in Aug...still got some time to go...

Ice...ehhehe...support you all the way! Hope to have you as a Montage bride as well.

Martha, i have actually spoken to both florists. Personally, i feel that Peggy (June Florists) is very nice to talk to. She is able to give you more advice as to what looks good and what is not...whereas for Stefii, i find that they will tell u more towards the "Depends on what you like" kind of thingy.

I think best is still to visit both florist and see which you prefer.

marthastewart

hi bugbear, thanks for your comments, how do you ask them about the decor, like "I am supposed to choose florist so I come and talk to you to find out more"?

anywya, does anyone know how to write the grand copthorne hotel name in chinese? i followed the sheet of paper they gave me, but mother in law told me another couple's wedding card wrote it differently. please help, i need to send out cards this week! thanks!!!!

bugbear

Hi Purple star, my coord is Alvin [[email protected]]

Hi Martha, yup, i just called the florist to make an appt with them...then when i am there, they will ask u which hotel, date, etc...and they will through everything with you...VIP table setting, normal table setting, the aisle stands, stage deco (cos they have choices)...colours of the flowers.
U can also raise ur queries/concerns to them...then they will let u know if u need to top up additional for different flowers, etc.

Did your coord give you a sheet of sample wordings? I tot chinese hotel name is alread printed? Why do u have to write it urself? Are your cards printed by TDragon? U can ask them to verify

odiey

hello...
so many posts over the weekend!

hi Martha,
the chinese name i have from Tdragon is Guo2 Zhun1 He2 Pan4 Da4 Jiu3 Dian4. What name did the hotel give you? dun tell me it's diff. I'm in the midst of finalising my invites. Maybe i shld confirm with my coorindator as well.
So when's your wedding? I will go visit the florist after i'm done for PS. Too much things to prepare at the moment.

Hi Hazel
I got my mattress at Taka, a brand called Serta. It feels very comfy and price is rite for us. Of course if u have the budget, Sealy and Simmons are the top brands in the mkt. Prices range fr reasonable to top end. too bad the ones we like from these brands are all 3k and above. out of our budget ;p Robinsons is a good place to look for mattresses. They even have instalment plan if you pay by Robinsons credit card.

jan193

Bugbear,

Any idea whether montage has a ROM pkg??? me looking for photographer for my ROM too..headache headache

gals do u hav any to recommend???

bugbear

Hi Dorami, sorry. I am not too sure if Montage have it...maybe u can check out their website?

Another that you can consider is Hillarion Goh. He seems to be quite popular. He does have ROM package i think.

sherl

hi Martha, in hanyu pinyin it's xing jia po guo zun he pan da jiu dian.

purplestar, my coord is also Alvin. His number is 90720033. Very nice guy, easy to talk to, accomodating too.

kaye

hi Sherl & Odiey,

thanks for your assistance...

Odiey,
which Serta's model did U choose? I also liked Serta..but I saw from one of the thread that its not tat gd....So, I worried....
My FH prefers Slumberland or Dunlop...
I prefer Serta
but from the fourm Seally seems to very popular

odiey

hi hazel,
Think mine is the Elegance range... but think it's no longer displayed at Taka when i went to make payment. i prefer the softer kind but my hubby likes it little firmer coz he's heavy. So we chose the in-between...

I din do much research, just brought my hubby ard Taka to test. like the feel and so we got it.

yukie

Hi jesmine... whether malayu anot, it depends on the type of deco u choose how u 1 it to b place...

Btw, i'm hving a L-march cos not enough table to do a straight march...

bugbear

Hi Jes, i most likely going for the straight cos i have about 50 tables and i don't want to mix the size of the tables.

How many tables u having? Still can't decide on straight vs L? Have u spoken to the florist?

Anyone heard from your coord if GCW is planning to have any new themes?

moarie

hello.. i booked my dinner with them june 24th 2006.. so exciting.. when are ur ADs??

the garden that they have in the ballroom, are all small trees now, shrouds! my co-ordinator told me the older ones dried out, so changed the trees! oh, but when the ballroom is set up, it really looked gorgeous...

I will have the L-shaped walk in also.. i have 45tables... so just nice for the L-shaped one..

Stefi or June florists better? which one are u ladies going for??

the wedding cards, anyone choose anything apart from the white and the red ones from them??

cheaper prints from anyone??

bugbear, u got u BS photos?? can see??

jesmineang

Min 50 tables... just seen a 58 tables banquet today. Straight march... stage not in the centre, slanted at the right side... not bad la

marthastewart

hi mgt, what you mean there are no trees now?!?!? why didn't they take care of their trees! shit, my wedding coming up soon, is the garden going to be bare!!?!??? OH NO!

as for florists, i am going to see them this saturday to check it out as well. sadly, they only give roses or gerberras, the cheapest of the cheapest flowers you can find in far east flora!

hey guys, you wanna buy mattress can check out Roland Furniture, it's like a long-time established shop! my parents bought from there! they have all the big brands too, except simmons, but can bargain and generally cheaper cos no high overheads. I heard that Sealy is good only if you are on the bigger built side, because it was designed for the caucasians. As for Simmons, it feels really good but only the 2k+ ones and is a bit overpriced cos premium brand. If you are buying Dunlopillo, make sure it has latex because that's what they are known for.

All this info is from my months and months of searching. Unfortunately, it's based on the rubbish that the salespeople tell me, so who knows if they aren't lying! :D :D :D

marthastewart

another question, does anyone know if there is an entry to the Grand Copthorne Waterfront carpark from Havelock Road and King's Centre? Let me know asap, i gotta print my cards already! THanks!

bugbear

Hi MGT, with 45 tables, do u have to mix the size of the tables? Or all will be the 6ft tables?
For cards, u can hop by TDragon. They actually do have other cards besides the ivory and red cards to select from, at no additional charge. The only thing is that if you were to select other cards, the back of the card will bear the TDragon logo instead of GCW logo.

Jes, what does the stage deco look like? The panel looking thingy? U going for the straight?

Martha, keep us posted of your meeting with the florists, k? Can help to checkout if GCW is planning any new themes? thanks.

jan193

mgt,

ur AD is in Jun 06 n u r planning so fast liao!!!! hehe

i oso wana hop dwn to Tdragon soon to choose d cards for my ROM..btw since my ROM is in Nov when shld i hop dwn ah??? 2mths in advance enough time??