Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel

hunnie

so u using the L or straight march in? i saw one couple wedding on sat and they using L march in and it is abt 50 tables and i noticed that there are 2 types of tables, 1 for 12 person and the other for 10 person

bugbear

Hi Jes, if you have more than 45 tables and want a L-march, u will have to mix the size of the tables. big ones can be for 10 as well. If you have about 46 tables, then almost half of the tables will be the small ones.

I am facing the headache now. I have about 50 tables and if i wan the L-march to get the garden as the backdrop, i will have to mix the tables. If i take straight, i can have all the 6ft (big) tables.

U also have the same prob?

hunnie

Mine is definitely more than 50 so that means i can't do L-march right? So what to do with the garden... i understand that if L-march then they will draw open the curtains during the champagne pouring session.

yukie

Hi Bugbear... actually the straight march-in oso very nice... at least yr gown won't b crooked when u march-in. Cos for the L-shape march-in, the gown will b crooked when u turn the corner... jus my tots...
n big tables make the whole ballroom look more grand...

U can hv them open the curtain for the garden view when both of u r pouring the champange, don open when both of u r marching in... like tat the backdrop won't still yr limelight...

btw, i'm hving a L-shape march-in cos not enough table (37 tables 6ft) to do straight...

bugbear

Hi Yukie...my tots same as u...i kind of like the straight march cos it looks very grand with the long aisle, but i am a little worried that the stage deco will look small...anyway, am going to talk to the florists in a couple of months to see what they can do

Yeah, i will most likely have them open the curtain to reveal the garden during champange pouring, so that ppl will still have their eyes on me during marchin *vain*...hahah!

Jes, don't worry about the garden. If you really like to show the garden, can arrange for the curtains to open up.

Hi Hazel, i think they will charge accordingly for table of 12pax. U trying to fit more ppl and still get the L-march?

kaye

Bugbear, I dunno what kind of march I am using...jux tot if additional pax, will there be additional charges cos U all mention abt small & big tables

bugbear

i think there will be. The big tables (6ft) is kind of standard tables that GCW will provide if you have lesser no. of tables. If you have more tables, they will have to mix the size of the tables...for eg: if you have close to 60 tables, then all will be the 5ft tables so that can fit all 60 tables in that ballroom.

Maybe you want to check with your coord and see if you can put 12 per table? and see if there is any extra charge to that?

jesmineang

Hi Bugbear,
Lynette mentioned that the L-march can accomodate only max 52 tables... (mixture of 5ft and 6ft tables).

Anything above that will be straight march.

bugbear

ooh i c...but if you have like can have like 45 tables of 6ft and sit 12 each table, then will we be able to get the L-march and yet fit 500+ guests?
Hhmm...

marthastewart

WHAT!!!! There is a maximum of 52 tables!!! My guestlist is between 52-54 (hope it decreases!) and I want the L shaped march-in because I want the stage with the full glass windows as the backdrop. How! Does anyone have CONFIRMED info on this? Also, I want the 10 pax tables, 12 pax would make it so hard for me to do seating.

BTW, the stage decor so bland, probably due to the windows being so big and the stage being so small. I wonder if there is a way around this. I simply have to go down to the florists to check it out. Does anyone have a preference for June over Steffi and vice versa? I think I would require one who is TOTALLY professional and doesn't need babysitting. (Thanks for the info about the 1-2 mth thing! so means I should go in July?)

jesmineang

Actually she mentioned that only the left side of the ballroom that is the side whereby the windows are can accomodate the 6ft tables but there is a limit to how many tables you can fit... so the best is to have 52 tables (both 6ft and 5ft) for L-march

jesmineang

The ballroom decor is indeed v plain... infact the one that i saw last sat doesn't stand out at all...

Mine got to be straight march cos we definitely go above 52 tables... but i saw the pics and the stage look pretty low le

marthastewart

hi jesmine,

i hope to get only the 5ft tables, easier to plan lah. Then i wanted the stage with the windows as backdrop, at least they have something pretty to look at because the stage will be so "errrr". I have seen photos of the stage decor done by June florist. Nothing much one, I guess they also stinge on the materials. Unless you pay more, they won't give you impressive stuff. AND the stage is low...im crossing my fingers that I have less than 50 tables so that those sittin at the far end won't complain about the stage being so far away, being such a big ballroom and all...

when's your wedding ah? mine's in October

yukie

Hi Martha,

My sis who works part-time for banquet for a few htl say tat so far GCW is 1 of the htl tat has the biggest set up of stage.

I do agree wif martha tat the set up by june florist isn't very impressive. But tat is the standard package unless u wan to top up to get better table centerpiece. I've went to stefii last sat to choose my deco. Fine them quite alrite. Hv top up abit to use orchid to b place in the floating bowl i/o normal rose petals. Hv oso requested to place 2 teacandle i/o the standard 1 piece. The vip table centerpiece will b bigger. I top up $4o for to use more excotic flowers for my 2 vip table.

bugbear

Hi Martha, I personally feel that if you want to use the garden as the backdrop, then it's best to keep the stage deco as simple as possible, so that the guest will get the full garden view...else if you have too complicated stage deco, then it might get a little 'messy' I think the canopy (tentage thingy) goes pretty well with the garden as backdrop.

I agree with Yukie. GCW has one of the bigger stage setup among hotels already. If i am not wrong, the biggest stage is Raffles The Plaza (Westin).

If you really have 50 tables and want the L-march, i think maybe u should let your coordinator know to arrange for all 5ft tables. I have seen the mixed table setting and find it looks a little dis-organized. suddenly 1 row of big tables and suddenly a row of small ones kind of look funny
(my 2-cents worth)

Jes, the stage deco for straight may look small on photos, but in actually setup, i think the deco highest is 8ft-10ft and i heard from an ex-bride (June Florist) that the stage deco is actually not small. With the stage lightings all done up, the stage actually looks quite good.

Yukie, i also find June florist very friendly. They are quite accomodating to requests and they provide advice to to whether it looks good or not, etc. Did you top-up to change the stage deco?

bugbear

Hi Jes, yup, the 1st photo above is by June Florist right? The highest portion is actually 8ft if i am not wrong...and i think something to take note is that the new package doesn't come with the complimentary ice-carving anymore...so have to look for an alternative..either have the cake in the middle or the champagne glasses.

Have u visited any of the florists?
I think both June and Stefii, the highest for stage deco is ard 8ft. reason being that the stage is not against the wall...so it cannot be too high...else the risk of collapsing also higher...that's what i heard from the florists.

jesmineang

I do not know if that is from June Florist... 8ft is how tall in metres? as for the ice-craving, don't have already meh? I think my draft contract have le.

I have not visited them yet. I was thinking of a theme to do up the ballroom since i can't use the scenery as a backdrop as i using straight march. The stage like pretty small and low huh. The one that i saw that day using L-march got the stage stretch across the whole area.

bugbear

I think the 1st one is done by June. When you sign yours? I signed in Apr, already don have the ice-craving...it's an optional item
If i want the ice-craving, it will be an additional $200-300 i think...i don find it worth...so i will find an alternative.

Oh, so u have something in mind that you want? May have to topup i think.
Hhmm...i don't remember the stage spans across the whole garden..is it that big?

jesmineang

I have not sign yet. still waiting for the amendments of some terms and perks.

I also dunno. I read thru the archives and it seemed that food is good, ambience good, just some hiccups on the march in and coordination on the actual day. Thinking to get a wedding coordinator... anyone using the service?

bugbear

ooh i c.
When is ur AD? I also heard that generally the food is quite good and the ambience is good...i have not heard of couples complaining about the stage being too small, so i guess it should be okie...cos GCW have 2 projectors...

U settled your BS already?

bugbear

Ooh, Jes, you still have time to slowly find BS. Is your love nest ready to start reno?
I also have not search for ID yet...but for me, i just need the ID to design the home-shelter door cos the door is right smack in the living room
so gotto camo a bit

Yeah, i went down to TDragon already...and i custom made my cards. FH don't really like the card provided by the hotel...actually you should make a trip down (preferrably weekdays) to look at the cards. They have many many to choose from besides those provided by the hotel.

If you don want to top up, there is also a whole range where u can choose from. TDragon is flexible on that.

jesmineang

custom made ur cards? how much you pay for that?

btw, the guest book from Tdragon as well?

I have not really discuss with the ID how i want my hse to be...

will prob start that aft my papers next week.

bugbear

In total, i think i paid about $1.70-$2 per card, inclusive of printing cost.
Hhmm...come to think of it, i haven thought abt the guest book. I have no idea if it's from TDragon or from hotel.
Is it a guest book or is it a poster thingy?

marthastewart

hi guys, mine has the ice carving cos i signed last year. I initially thought it's quite dumb, but seeing that the decor has the ice carving in the middle as a sort of 'centerpiece' then I think it's quite ok, otherwise it will be empty right?

Jesmine: I actually don't mind the last image of the 'bare-looking' stage decor with the glass windows as backdrop. I imagine that with the lights of the gazebo in the night, it will look rather nice, as compared to overdoing with a canopy and tons of flower bouquets. The 2 stages for straight March-in seem quite bleah, but like everyone says, it probably looks better in real life!

Yukie: I like Peggy from June Florist, she seems nice and unassuming. Have never seen the people at Steffi before. June Florist gives lillies and roses or gerberras with the package. Does anyone know what Steffi gives? I wonder if they would 'shortchange' me considering that it has been a year since i booked and prices have gone up. hmmmmmm....

Bug Bear: Thanks for the info. my coordinator told me that they would be mixing the 5ft and 6ft tables. Why ah? I don't mind if it's all 5ft, unless they do not have enough tables. Perhaps they want to 'fill up' the space, but I think it's ok if the tables were spread out a little more.

jesmineang

i just received my amended draft contract as i asked for change of dishes for my weekend menu... The first dish changed to lobster combination and fish changed to steamed red garoupa. Cost increased from 768+++ to 888+++... ok?

bugbear

Hi Dorami...never say long way...flick of the eye and the day is here! :p

Martha, u are right...maybe they don have so many 5ft tables...that's why need to mix. Try finding out more? Sometimes too empty also not that nice...but i still find that same size tables looks more organized.
Hahha...don't think they will short-change you. The deco package is quite the same. Think Stefii also giving the same type of flowers.
If you are taking the garden as backdrop, i think the best is to keep the stage deco as simple as possible, so that the garden view can stand out.

jan193

Bugbear,

hehe..i guess u r rite.. I'm having my solemnization ceremony at GCW too tis nov..excited excited..hehe..even though it's still abt 4 mths away hehe

bugbear

Ooh, so u will be having solemnization in Oct, then your AD in Nov next yr? All at GCW?
Good good...slowly research...no rush...

bugbear

Wah...good good...so will your solemnization be in the function room or outdoors?
How is the ROM package from GCW like?

Got your lovenest already?

jan193

Bugbear,

My ROM wil be indoors..dun wana worry abt weather.. hehe

I'm takin their Hi-tea pkg..40+++ per pax..function rm @$288+++

Havnt got any lovenest..nt so soon i guess..hehe..planning to stay with my FH's family

hw abt u???