Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel

odiey

hi dorami,
you might want to collect 2 mths in advance to give yourself more time to print the inserts.

Bugbear,
did you hear anything abt GCW coming out with new theme? my coordinator din mention lei. btw i have a pic of the guest book which my coordinator emailed to me. Can fwd to you.

Yukie
have you found your march-in songs? was told i need at least 4 - 5 min coz of the long march in. not easy to find such a long song... any recommendations anyone?

jan193

odiey,

thks for d advise.

I wld like to c d guest book too

bugbear

Hi Odiey, thanks. can fwd to me [email protected]
No no...i did not hear anything...i am wondering if any of you heard anything...just interested to find out if they have any plans

Wah...for straight marchin the song must be at elast 4-5mins ar...ah yo...then i must start looking liao...not many songs are that long

Jes...i also going for straight...cos i don want to mix the table size..and of course...longer march = walk longer...hahah...

yukie

Hi Odiey...

I've choosen my march in song since last year... kia su rite... :p below r the songs tat i'll b using for my dinner...

1st March-In
Claudine or Hana's Eyes by MAKSIM

1st Dish
Grieg's Piano Concerto In A Minor by MAKSIM

2nd March-In
Angel Brought Me Here by Guy Sebestian

Champange Pouring
Glory Of Luv by North

During Dinner
Enchanted Garden(whole disc) by Kevin Kern

moarie

Hello all..

Dorami,
this is called kia su! haha... must plan early lah..men always 1 beat slower then females! haha..

martha,
there are still trees, but small.. really small.. no longer the giantic ones that we prob seen at first. i went down last fri and got a shock when i saw the garden... u can go check it out first..

Yukie,
I also thought of my 1st march in and 2nd march in song liao! haha.Kia Su but i like to imagine.

1st March in:
From this moment (shania Twain)
- 1st 1min, some dancer will dance in first, then throw some flowers and make it more grand for us.Then we start.haha

2nd March in:
Donna Lewis - I love you always (a hippier song)
- start of the song just play, then with some lights thingy around, then we dance aliitle, then walk.. haha...

During dinner, a series of songs that my hubby and i like.. will burn them into a CD lor.. kevin kern included..

Odiey,
can i see the guest book also??

Bugbear,
I have no idea abt the differnent table sizes though.. probably go for the normal one ba.. should be the bigger one i guess.. arrangement of the tables can be planned one i think..

yukie

hahaha... mgt... my sis was the 1 who help me wif the song n we had great fun choosing! My sis will open our rm door when the rite beat come n i'll walk out fm the room to the other end of the living room n back, counting how many tables i'll hv pass n agar agar can knw where the music should stop...

kaye

I m taking weekend..but next yr is my AD, so no intention to change yet...as I have not really tried the dishes....

moarie

yukie,

this is like parading lor.. haha... u must have a long train..then can action many many with ur train! haha.... so exciting..walk with style and action! haha....
i also planned with my hubby... planned our moves too... can't stand it... xiao!
eh, when is ur AD?

moarie

my AD is nx june.. at the moment, i am thinking of switching a couple of dishes from the weekday menu to the weekend one.. my MIL wants it..so must listen...

Tentative menu:
1. Deluxe chinese & jap combi platter
2. braised shark's fin with crabmeat and harsma (anyone knows wats Harsma?)
3. Roasted chicken with deep fried garlic
4. Steamed live prawns with chinese herbs and shaoxing wine
5. Stir Fried Fresh scallops &Pine Nuts with Black pepper corn
6. baby Abalone, sea cumcumber & Conpoy withgreen seasonal veg
7. Steam garoupa in home made style or minced garlic in soya sauce
8. Ee- Fu noodles
9. Oor Nee (if they have.. Typical Teochew desert)

Yup... tentatively that's what my MIL wants..

bugbear

Morning Gals!!

MGT!! Your tentative menu is exactly what i have in mind for mine...heheh...actually, the ornee is in Menu1. I checked with my coord already.

MGT, you sure GCW allows flowers (fresh) to be thrown in the ballroom? I asked to throw flower petals and my coord said strictly NO. It's the hotel policy. No fresh flowers as it will stain the carpet. Better check before hand k...

bugbear

Mgt, i forgot to tell u. I got my coord to send me the floor plan for 46 + 2VIP, L-shaped march and almost 20-22 tables are the smaller size...they will fit those smaller tables at the side...those nearer the aisle will be the bigger tables.

jan193

mgt,

wow u really change quite a bit of ur menu..price muz hav increased by a lot too then..can i noe hw much is d change in price

i only changed my menu slightly n there's a increase in price liao
kao_cry.gif

moarie

Dorami,
this is the weekend menu.. my dinner on sat..i can select food from the weekday menu also if i don't like the weekend dishes...thats wat my coord said..Is urs the weekday menu??

BugBear,
The tentative menu seems to be the nicer of the lot lor.. heehee...

I havent spoken to her abt the flowers yet.. maybe flowers or something lah.. then i just asked my friend if can rent a bubble making machine or something to make entrance more grand lor..

mine is 45(include VIP), +2 standby leh.. can send me??

moarie

bugbear,
i just asked my coord.. she said all tables will be the 6feet ones.. isit the smaller one or the bigger one?

chobits_lek

I have also signed up with Grand Copthorne and my AD is 17 June 06. I am taking the riverfront ballroom. Anyone had their banquet there??

bugbear

Hi Chobits! Welcome!!
How many tables u having?

MGT, i just sent u my floor plan. I got my coord to draw for a total of 50 tables, just 3 more tables from u only...and he stated in his email that if i want L-march, then x number of tables have to be the smaller one, which is 5ft

Maybe i have to go talk to him again.

moarie

bugbear, i ask my coord to email me liao.. need to ask her again lor.. thanks 4the info..
okie.. when i get it, i email ya too.. ha

all so free, keep posting ah.. no need to work ah all!hhaha..
I am having my holidays! 2weeks! Dun jealous!

yukie

Hi MGT... my AD is 05/09/05...

Hi dorami, u.stand fm my co-ordinator, dessert don need top up n change of cooking method oso don need top up...

hmmm... me too 1 go on leave leh... sought of stress out recently... tink due to busy prepareing our wedding...

jan193

Yukie,

i changed d items on my 1st dish d combo platter.. so say muz increase price.. hai

n sme other things.. cant remember exactly wat amendments i made oso..damn

kaye

Welcome Chobits!
finally, I have someone who is not taking the Grand ballroom....
I am taking the waterfront ballroom....

hmmm...chg of dessert dun need to top up....but I also dunno what to chg.

yukie

Hmmm.... me don intend to spend $$$ to top up... will choose between the two given menu...

Hee... i like the almond paste wif ginko... nice nice...
but hubby don quite like... i find it very special leh... most probably will b getting yam paste cos hubby likes i oso like... me greedy huh...

Hi odiey... receive the pic liao...!

bugbear

Morning morning...

Yukie, what are the dishes u intend to take? I can't decide between the Burgundy chicken or the garlic roasted chicken.

Anyone tried the burgundy chicken before?

bugbear

Morning morning...

Yukie, what are the dishes u intend to take? I can't decide between the Burgundy chicken or the garlic roasted chicken.

Anyone tried the burgundy chicken before?

moarie

odiey,
forgot me liao...i dun have... i want can...pls...heehee

oh ya, anyone needs to get wine or not? i can get the cheapest one @$12bucks per bottle.. am trying to find out from my friend.. so hor.. ya.. let me know okie...

BUgbear,
sent u the email liao.. check it out ya...
Burgundy is alcohol ah?? dunno wat is that leh.. My MIL wants the garlic one... ur AD oct leh.. now haven't try yet ah?? or is it 2months b4??

bugbear

me me...mgt...can send me the wine list? i am definitely interested to look at the wine. I estimated my wine to be ard 72 bootles

Heheh...yah...think somewhere in Aug then is the food tasting. usually it's 1-2 months before. I still cannot decide which dishes to take

moarie

haha.. bugbear, knew u want the list..haha.. i will go confirm with them..get the list then send u.. i also estimating abt 72bottles..haha..

try the tentative menu lor.hah..then can tell me how the food is like lor..
heehee...

oh ya.. receive the thing i sent u liao mah?

yukie

Hi Bugbear... me oso don knw wat is burgundy chicken. But i'm taking the garlic chicken cos heard great review of it n i luv luv garlic alot!

Girls, don jus go for the cheapest wine... try the wine n c if u like it. We got our wine fm Star Cellar. We were given a range of wine to try out, tink abt 10 bottles. Tried fm the lightest onwards(hubby did the trying as i knw nuts abt it!). Than we choose the 1 tat hubby like best. Don choose 1 tat u tink yr guest will like. Cos u will never satisfy all of them. Choose something tat u like.

bugbear

Hi Yukie...i also heard great reviews about the garlic chicken. I most likely to do both chicken during food tasting. Tot add 1 more dish, i think is $40+++

Heheh...yeah...best combination is cheap and good wine. I went to 2 friends who is dealing with wine and they gave me pretty good wines at very good prices. I am still considering and looking out.

Heard that Carrefour also offers pretty reasonable wines