Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel

kaye

„Z Waiver of S$18 per table
„Z Complimentary day-use Deluxe Room for wedding helpers
„Z No corkage charge for all duty paid wine & champagne
„Z Special Wedding favours

** SIGN-UP & PAY DEPOSIT ON DAY & ENJOY THE BELOW:
„Z One barrel of 20 litres draught beer or 6 bottles of house wine for weekends or One barrel of 20 litres draught beer and 6 bottles of house wine for weekdays, with our compliments

TERMS & CONDITIONS

1) This promotion is valid for new booking only
2) This promotion is based on the number of minimum tables required
3) This promotion is only valid for weddings that are booked between 15 April to 15 June 2005 AND and for weddings banquet held at the hotel before 30 December 2006.
4) This promotion is not valid with any other offers or promotion and is not transferable or exchangeable for cash or any other item(s)
5) These privileges are only valid if the deposit is paid with two weeks upon receipt of contract

kaye

sorry, bugbear,
that means I have made a mistake..must sign up on that day to get the beer...
Pls note that mine is not waterfront ballroom..thats y the perks diff fr grand ballroom. Grand ballroom shld have better perks.

So, U havent sign up with them?

I wonder how much is the beer...anybody has any idea? think may comsume alot of beer..N its not free flow.
286003.gif

how can they not include beer in the pkg..only include it in the promo pkg...

kaye

*sign...
now, I worried..not enough beer..cos my FH said one of his "ang mo" colleague can drink at least 8 mugs of beer...
* faint...imagine he has a few of these colleagues..And will be refilling their mugs after every dish.....dunno if the complimentary beer enough for them...still got other tables leh..

bugbear

Hi Hazel, I have already signed my package. It's kind of weird...cos it states there that this promotion is valid for weddings that are booked between 15-April to 15-June 2005. I think mine falls under that date. Dunno whether i get the additional complimentary beer + wine or not...

Additional barrel of beer is at $650+++ for 30l

iceglacier

Wow... Think that table can finish your whole barrel!

We're quite worried about the cost of wine. Seems alot of pple request for wine at weddings now. Maybe need to find out cost of and extra barrel and get them to put in your contract.

bugbear

yeah, beer is very ex huh.
I also praying hard that my losses will be just the deposit

Ice, yeah, i think there are more wine drinkers compared to beer drinkers these days...actually for me, if the hotel give an option to take complimentary wine or 6 bottle of wine, i would definitely take the extra barrel of beer. It's more worth it. So long as they waive all wine corkages, can easily get reasonable priced wine at about $20 per bottle

kaye

wat! $650+++ per barrel!!!...those ang mo drink beer ones....
sure make losses... Luckily, sign up during fair..imagine if no wedding fair, I have to pay for the beer (no complimentary) even though other hotels give complimentary 30L min or free flow.

bugbear, urs a weekday? else why got complimentary beer + wine...think U chk with yr consultant on when U sign it.

Actually, I prefer getting complimentary beer than wine as wine is within our control which brand, year & price that we want to buy...We can buy mid range ones...abt $15~$17 which I saw during the fair.....

bugbear

ooh...no no...I dont have complimentary beer or wine...i meant if sign up on that day will get to choose between beer or wine right?

bugbear

Wah. Weekdays weddings have more perks and price is cheaper hor...sigh...if only my FH parents are not looking at dates...then i might consider doing it on weekdays :p

Ask u gals...if there such things like eg: my AD is in Oct, and i have a friend wedding in Nov/Dec, she cannot invite me and i cannot invite her? How long is this period we are looking at?

kaye

ya lor...In the past, I know weekday is cheaper only.
first time I saw the perks are better in weekdays....

heard got alot of versions, 3mths, 6mths, 1yr...but also heard before its that bcos in the past, ppl no money..that's y didnt invite each other if the AD is too near...cos wedding spends alot of money..still have to give AB...as years goes by, it bcomes "clashing", tats y cant invite each other

btw, do you have any problems with yr contract? I vet through and it seems ok leh

bugbear

Hazel, u referring to me about the contract? nope...i don have any probs with my contract. Already signed...can't do much if there is :p

Hhmm...so the shortest is actually 3 months izzit? Yeah, i heard about the clashing part...din't know about the past it's bcos of $$

kaye

ya, so far, its 3mths min...
but if U not superstitious, then its ok...
but for my case, its a conicidence that our frenz all diff of 6mths....& we feel its ok...
So, its alrt for us.

bugbear

ooh i c. Then i will need to go check with FH mom. It's FH parents that are more pantang...better to be safe than sorry :p

jan193

No prob.

I juz went for food tasting yesterday with our families.

It's pretty good. I'm most probably gg to sign up with them

bugbear

Dorami...how did you managed to get a food tasting before signing up? I wanted to do that, but was told i couldn't cos they do not have a chinese restaurant.
What are the dishes you tried?

jan193

BugBear,

I arrange with my wedding coordinator. Pay 50% of the table price though..nt free..

Tried the dishes in the banquet menu lor..in a private rm..so only for the purpose of serving my families..

At the end of it, the chef wil come n tok to u..u can gif comments or make changes to the menu if u deem necessary.

Who did u tok to?

kaye

Dorami,
really? I never know that we can do that...I tot must sign up before we can have that 50% disc...cos I even need to bargain to get the 50% disc for food tasting during signing up.
who is ur consultant?

bugbear

yah lor...my coord told me that cannot be arranged

Anyway, signed already...not nice also cannot help it...but luckily u you tried and the food is nice.
So which menu did u try?

kaye

mine in Apr 06....its a weekend...
no wonder, Lynette is the director or manager if I remember correctly...So she can have more power unlike the rest...

the only thing that's not gd is the sharkfins...*sigh...
btw, Dorami, U tried the cold combination platter or the japanese kind?

bugbear

What about the chicken? Has anyone tried the chicken with burgundy sauce? I heard raving reviews about the garlic chicken, but haven heard anything about the burgundy chicken. Not too sure what it looks like or how it tastes like.

Anyone tried their desserts? I dunno which to choose

jan193

I tried the Hot & cold combination platter, but changing the sushi to roasted pig..gotta add sme $$ though..our parents dun like sushi..rest of it is stil fine

as for chicken i took d golden roasted chicken flavoured with nam-yee sauce..

cos my AD is a weekday so my menu wil be diff fr u oso if urs is on a weekend..

for dessert i took d mango pudding with raspberry sauce cos tt's my mum's fav..

bugbear

ooh...how much more do u have to top for the roasted pig?

Hazel, u planning to take menu 1 or 2? Thinking of swapping any dishes between the 2 menus?

kaye

hi actually, I dunno which to chose yet.....but I know their E-fu Mee is the most popular...so no intention to chg that.
Chicken will be roasted...taste better...if the chef skill is gd.
Dessert...initially wanted to have the mango pudding (my fav) as compared to the traditional dessert...but think their traditional dessert (almond something) sounds better in terms of name..N my tradtional dad will prefer that too...

most likely will ask the staffs which is better..then I opt that for food tasting maybe in Mar...which is still long long way to go.

Yo Dorami!

We met here again. So u have signed up for GCW? This is one of my shortlist too =)Seems to me the package is not bad..jus that food tasting is not included in it.

jan193

Hihi Elvi!

Yup, signing up soon. Nw waiting to arrange a meet up with my coordinator and she's drafting my contract for me n my FH to take a look first.

yah food tasting nt included. I paid 50% of d table price to try the food last week too. Wana play safe cos our parents more emphasis on food so wana make sure they r happy with our choice. Luckily so far so gd. heeh

Hi Dorami,

Actually me very sad. GCW just replied me that they could nt accede to my min table of 40 for Sat. Actually I wrote to Lynette but Zephyr was the one to reply.

She said wat could be done was to have the package upgraded by dividing the minimum revenue required (ie S$768+++ for weekends x 45 tables for Saturdays) by the number of tables we are having, i.e. 40. In this way, the price per table is increased and the Hotel will in turn upgrade the package, eg, upgrade the menu.

I calculated and this arose to $864!..I might as well top up a bit and go Fullerton or Marina...Sigh...~

jan193

Elvi,

Wah..that's really x..mine is weekday so min. is 35 table still nt too bad

mayb u can source for other places??? short listed any others???

I'm meeting Lynette on Jun 1 to discuss my ROM pkg as well as Wedding Din pkg.

jan193

Elvi,

Else another suggestion..take up 45 table..try to get more pple to cme.. if really cant fill up 45 then d extra use sme other day lor..

eg. parents' birthday etc

Dorami..

I did shortlisted a few..like Meritus Mandarin and merchant Court..definitely can meet the table reqt. Only things I heard bout Merchant Coyrt is the standard of food drop and for Meritus Mandarin, the service is poor. There was once the ballroom experience technical difficulties and the montage became yellow..Imagine so embarassing.

I probably will want to meet up Lynette and discuss with her. Dun believe that I have to be "forced" to use 45 tables....If I pay for 45..its as good as telling me to feature 40 full tables and 5 blank ones behind...look so awful..

jan193

Elvi,

Yah try bargain with her. She's pretty easy to tok to n hopefully she can gif u sme lee-way.

Gd luck

btw when's ur AD??

bugbear

Elvi, if you were to confirm the min 45 tables with them, you need not present 45 tables and leave 5 tables empty. You can tell them that you just want to serve 40 tables and for the rest of the 5 tables, you consume some other day for some other occassions. This was what i am being told by my coord.

No doubt that if you top up a little more from the upgraded package of $864 and you can get Fullerton, but the package from Fullerton may not be comparable to what GCW is offering...

So, try talk to Lynette and see what kind of arrangements she can offer you.

Dorami/Bugbear,

Thx for the tips. But to consume the rest of the 5 tables in another day will be the last in my list that I have to resort to.

By the way, anyone can gif me Lynette's contacts?

bugbear

Elvi, if you really like GCW, then go talk to Lynette and see what kind of arrangement she can do for you.
Or maybe you check with her like u buy wine or beer from the hotel, then see if she agrees to you having 40 tables? Or maybe you consider taking Sun?