Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel

sleepysleep

hi dorami,

congratz, 1 issue off ur mind.
yah looking @ 06, but havent get info on the package hehehe. do u mind sharing ur package info with me?

jan193

Hi sleepysleep,

u got mail!

marthastewart

hi everyone, I am now with Sheena...the turnover rate for hotel coordinators is jus too fast, i haven't even met the last one and she is gone already. Sheena sounds great though, enthusiastic and fun!

She mentioned that I have choice of florist. Last year when I booked there was only June Florist...now there is Steffi too. Anyone has any experience with these 2 and also how to go about selecting the florist and their floral bouquet decoration? I have completely no idea at all! Should I go down to their shops to check it out and have a chat with them? Or should I just check out their websites and decide from there? Also, does anyone know what types of flowers we can choose according to the price of our package?

Completely clueless...help me!

marthastewart

hi elvi, meritus mandarin not nice one. the food is EXTREMELY mediocre, substandard, whatever you call it.... and they have purple lighting in the ballroom which reminds me of my fishtank.

Yo Dorami: Care to share ya package with me too? [email protected]

Martha: Thx for ya advice. I tot so too. Just felt their deco is kinda outdated. But guess price wise in Orchard, the cheapest and affordable. What bout other hotel ballrooms? U had any experience with them? Marriot? Merchant Court? Pan Pac? Marina Mandarin?

jan193

Elvi,

I dun hav my contract as yet..cos juz met up with my coordinator to amend sme items n pay deposit but she havnt send me d amended copy..

Or do u wan to c d std package???

Pan pac is nt bad..i like it..but i tink oso nt cheap..

bugbear

Martha, you may want to hop by the 2 florist to understand what they can offer you. I think they have some choices...go talk to the 2 and see who u are more comfy with.

Elvi, i like Pan pac and MC. Pan pac ballroom is long, high ceiling, pillarless...MC is squarish, high ceiling, pillarless.

kaye

Marriot- after adding tax is $900+...even though their theme all looks so nice.
MC- that's 2005 pricing...valid till mar 06...
$778.00nett & $808.00nett per table for weekends
(Fridays, Saturdays, Sundays, Eves of Public Holidays and Public Holidays)
Minimum of 38 tables of 10 persons each

PanPac seems gd....forgotten the price...also just renovated...errr...or maybe I mistook with Marina Mandarin
Marina Mandarin just renovated, so they increase their price quite alot...think they increased abt $80~$100 compared to 2005pkg.

yukie

Hi martha, u can drop by the two florist when its nearer to yr AD. Mayb 1-2 mth b4 to c whose deco u like most. The florist will advise u wat r the range u can use w/o top-up. It oso depends on yr bargaining power. Try to bargain for no top-up if u can. My AD is in 3mths time n i'm goin down to stefii tis wkend. Will visit June florist the following wk.

I agreed wif u tat the turnover for hotel co-ordinator is high... i'm wif the 3rd co-ordinator now n i've not met my 2nd co-ordinator b4!

Dorami: I have the standard package from there plus the promo if sign up b4 15 June 05...unless it differs frm your one. Ur AD is jus a day after mine rht?

BugBear: Yeah, just so tempting for both. Must get the pcis and show my parents first.

Hazel: If u sign up nw using the 05 package for 06..they will still honour the rates reflected nw. I know gfor MC..not sure for the rest.

Yukie: You mean after signing up hotel packages, addtional costs will come from flower deco? Doesnt all this deco come as part of the package signed up?

Dorami: Oops..made a mistake...mine is earlier, 23 Sep 06 (Sat).. must be too stressed. Still cannot decide heeh..u book very early ya.

kaye

Elvi,
if I am not wrong, we can get to choose our own design..talk to the florist...the hotel had allocated a budget for them...so, U can get any theme U like as long as within budget...if its over the budget, U may have to top up.
e.g. within budget only allows normal roses for deco but U want hydragens or callies which are more expensive..then U have to top up

yukie

Hi Elvi, ballroom deco is included. Wat i meant is if u choose to deco yr ballroom wif more exotic flowers, mayb u will need to top up abit...

jan193

Elvi,

so which hotels hav u shortlisted??

yah me pretty fast..me n my FH lazy to view too many n since v both like grand cop so decide on it lor..aft all book at tis time got more perks

my ROM in nov will b @ grand cop too keke

hunnie

Anyone who took photos of the ballrooms or know where i view the photos? And also any other coordinators to recommmend? I am looking at min 45 tables...

yukie

Dorami... don knw leh... two years ago when i attend hubby relative wedding dinner there i've been to the room n it look nice. But last mth i went view again it seem old to me leh... they hv to bridal suite, 1 with dressing table, the other w/o. Do u tink they will decorate the bridal suite b4 we move in? Or can we request them to decorate to make it more romantic n cosy?

jan193

Yukie,

I went to view d bridal suite during their wedding show..mayb tt's y it's looks nice to me..

hmm..u like tt say i worried liao..

btw when's ur AD??

i guess can ask ur coordinator n suggest to him/her???

kaye

Dorami,
That time during the wedding show, the suite looks the same as normal days...no particular deco...

yukie

Hi Dorami... i'll check wif my co-ordinator again... don hv to worry lah... eveything will look nice when u dim the light n spray nice nice perfume...
can oso ask yr jie mei to use the petals of yr AD flowers to decorate the room to give yr hubby a surprise!

My AD is 05/09/05

hunnie

Hi girls...
new here... just received the promotion package... it seemed to be the same as the one that u all got during the fair

kaye

dorami, got meh?
how come I didnt realize it....
U went to the 27th flr....walk till the end to get to the rm, rt?

jan193

Hazel,

I cant remember which floor liao..but it's at d end of d hall..i got a coordinator to show it to me b4 d fashion show start

i remember d flowers on d bed cos i tot it was very nice..then juz as i was abt to leave one of d staff push the champagne in so my FH ask whether there's a couple chking in tonite then she say it's for us to view later..

kaye

that means we are looking at the same room..
so funny, normally I dun missed out all these things...but I know their TV can chk email..maybe that day I concentrate on the wrong things.

btw, have I asked which ID & BS have U choosen?

yukie

Hi Dorami... tks tks...
yap getting excited now...!

Tink the room i viewed oso on the 27 fl. I went there on a normal day. The thing i don like abt tat room is there's only 1 toilet n it's not inside the room! its beside the main door at the living room area... Would be better if it's inside the room...

kaye

Yukie,
There's 2 suite rm, think the one outside is bigger...
if its inside the room, it would be smaller...

yukie

Hi girls... i've check with my co-ordinator, tis is wat he replied.
*We will have Flower and Chocolate and fruit basket set-up in your room.
*To upgrade to our Waterfront suite at additional $100.00+++ per night and to upgrade to our Presidential Suite at $1,000.00+++ per night

kaye

Yukie,
I also know that if upgrade needs to pay more but I dunno Presidential suite needs to pay $1000+++/night...I rather use that money to go short trip

jan193

Hazel,

My AD is nxt yr end..too early to sign up with a BS rite?? btw wat's ID??

plan to start lookin for BS aft my ROM

jan193

Yukie,

I tink so too. Wished there was 2 toilet. I looked at d waterfront rm too but though there was 2 toilet it's much smaller

hunnie

Thanks Dorami, you all mentioned abt Lynnette, she is on leave till monday so i also dunno who to look for when i go view the ballroom.

kaye

hi Dorami,
ID is interior designer.
I am now looking for ID to reno my new hse...

all settled...now only left the hse..

jan193

Hazel,

oic..hehe

nope nt looking for ID at d moment. plan to stay with my in-laws first. Flat we'll settle later