Goodwood Park Hotel

Hi RM,

My solemnization was not at Mayfair pool..so dont have any pics to share.
For ROM, i think the flower arrangement quite simple so for me I just needed to choose the colour.

Did anyone drop by at the New Windsor Ballroom to see the actual wedding settings? I've seen it and was disappointed with the decorations. Yes, it is brand new, high ceiling and pillarless. But the decorations isn't grand enough. Too little flowers, no backdrop on the stage and the colour of the table cloth is weak with no sashes around the chairs. Overall, it looks plain, bare and empty even with some floral stands and small centerpiece. My mother-in-law was saying it is not worth it as we're paying almost 1K per table. For 1K, we can actually do it at like Shangri-la, Fullerton which had very grand ambients and fantastic ballroom deco.

Please advice.

**CONFUSE**

i am very angry wif chris at goodwoodpark. i alreadi went down to view the place and indeed the place is nice set up. i told him i will look through the menu and might change e dishes. he say he is ok wif it but i might have to top up the balace amt.
2 days later i sent him an email regarding e chances... after 1 wk no reply call him also cannot find him...
realli lost my patience liao...

cheeky i agree wif you. though i not having my banquet there but i plannin to hold my rom there.
been hearing so many good feedbacks abt gdwoodpark.

I am very angry wif chris at goodwoodpark. i alreadi went down to view the place and indeed the place is nice set up. i told him i will look through the menu and might change e dishes. he say he is ok wif it but i might have to top up the balace amt.

2 days later i sent him an email regarding e chances... after 1 wk no reply call him also cannot find him...
realli lost my patience liao...

Hi toshi

Agree with you that the new Windsor Ballroom look plain, I went to take a look at the setup, and not very impressed, in the end still stick to Tudor Ballroom, small but cosy.

Think Shangrila and Fullerton will cost more than 1k per table, after the +++ surcharges.

yin yin
my ad not so soon but my rom still be end of this yr.
i am looking at the terrace poolside but till now chris still not yet get back to mi

Hi toshi and dongdog,

When did you go and see the setup for windsor ballroom? My wedding will be held there...kind of like the pilarless and high ceilling, maybe if it's too plain need to top-up the flower arrangement...

Actually, I saw the ballroom setting twice. The very first wedding held at Windsor which is 25 Feb 06 and the 2nd time was afew weeks ago. Both were weak and plain. It is definitely unfair to top up on deco cos their price had increased so much. They should at least see into improving on the look. Guess all of us had flipped through many bridal magazines, log onto venue websites and reck ballrooms. Some cheaper hotel venues and restaurants had even better and high end decorations with luxurious table wares, tentcards, centerpiece, good quality table cloths, stage backdrop and flower stands. Their flower stylist were very professional.

I went there on 19 March, and the setting was done for 35 tables. Feel a bit empty, and it just give me a feeling of being too modern and plain.

Hi hi!

Really, even the 1st wedding there is plain...argh...

I was told by Jeanie that the 1st wedding there was her best friend's wedding so I thought it should be nice especially since her friend is also from Hotel Industry.
Sob...I want Jeanie back!!!
We had such great time the other time, planning for my ROM.
I hope they sort out the mess real soon.

just received call from a new manager from GWP who will be following up on my wedding.

Name is Jamie Ting / DID 6730 1847. Perhaps she will be of better help than existing staff.

Yes. First wedding at the new ballroom is Jenny's friend. Her friend did not see any pictures or references of the set up cos its under renovation. Heard that her friend is also in sales line at Furama Hotel. I hope that they could do something with the flowers and decorations. Perhaps it is time to change their stylist.

HI all...

Gee. I certainly hope GWP gets their act together soon. It seems such a pity that a wonderful and reputable establishment such as GWP would allow their staff to display poor customer service skills. I had a good experience with GWP last year when my husband and I had our wedding and banquet there. I can only pray and hope that this year's couples will experience the same thoughtful service we received last year.

Hi LS,

Thanks for your sweet thoughts...all of us BTBs certainly keeping our fingers crossed for better service.

Btw, any of you have bought the new Female Brides magazine? I saw the ads on Straits Times, seems they feature Goodwood Park Hotel in the magazine. If you buy from MPH, you'll get 1 bottle of SunMoon Birdnest free

Yes, it has been lots of disappointing news. I hope the new director could change the look and improve on their services. Hope to hear good reviews from this forum soon.

Goodluck to all GWP Brides.

anyone know when is the next windsor ballroom wedding? so curious to see the set-up myself after all these comments above...

hi cs pair,
i will be dropping in tmr (29apr) to have a look at teh new ballroom.. if it looks as bad as what has been discussed, i think, i may want to squeeze into tudor.. hahah.. i have oni confirmed 25 tables.. siao liao..

jen,

My husband and I visited the Tudor Ballroom before our banquet. While we were there, we noticed that the ballroom was set up for 24 tables. No dance floor. It was very packed. We had only 20 tables and a dance floor. Also packed. But I guess it added to the excitement and electrifying atmosphere of the whole night. We wouldn't change it for the world!

Hi toshichan & dongdong,

Yes, I too am extremely disappointed with Winsor's setup.
In March we viewed the ballroom prior to a wedding dinner & my heart sank. My fiance who normally doesn't concern himself over decor was also taken aback by the lack of it.

Decor included some rather unattractive floral stands & pale table centrepieces.
Stage had no drapes/decor except for a sparsely decorated floral arch which stood insignificant under a prominent 'Exit' sign. The screaming 'Exit' sign was the only visible fixture on the stage wall!

The ballroom is huge & the severe lack of colour/decor gives a very empty/cold feeling. Poor ambience, un-wedding like (not exagerating, you've gotta see it to believe it).

Agree that even the less expensive hotels have lovely, classy decor. Peeved about having to pay so much for the bare ballroom! Perhaps we're expected to bring our own decor too

Chris said the decor was suggested by their florist & that was that!
I hope they'll adopt some ideas from the other hotels & spruce up Winsor soon.
Gosh, my encounter with GWP has been anything but happy
. But I do take heart in knowing that there are brides/couples like L.S who had great & memorable experiences. I hope all GWP's BTBs will have similar good ones too!

Slight diversion here --- Has anyone done printing on the new invitation cards? I was informed that we must use hotstamping.. If so, what's the cost like?

Hi Tersher,
I have just sent my cards for printing and we used the normal printing. As printing it on both sides costs more, what we did was to do a cut and paste job later. Hotstamping just cost more and both my husband and I don't think that it is worth the $$.

So how was the windsor ballroom? Is it what was really described? I only read your posting now, so have missed viewing it.

Cheers, cs pair

hi all, these are some photos using my camera phone, effect not very sharp, cos of the low lighting, but hope that it will give all a feeling how windsor ballroom look like.

366244.jpg

I have 2 other photos, those who want leave their email behind, quite leh chay to post here due to size constraint.

Wow...

Thanks for the pics, dongdong. The ballroom looks rather bare. But, it does have potential! More flowers!!!
But that usually means more $$$ involved.

Don't know about the rest of you, but I'm not too keen on the projector and the rest of the electrical devices on the ceiling. Just me, perhaps.

Yes, I agree with L.S. Didn't really like those electrical items on the ceiling. Pretty unsightly to me.

Yes, they should spruce the ballroom with more flowers or decoration to make it look better.

Guess GWP has to pull up their socks on the decoration.

Will you be taking up this ballroom, Dong Dong?

366412.jpg

Tudor Ballroom - 25 November 2005
Single ladies waiting to catch my bouquet!
We had 20 tables and a dance floor. The entire ballroom was bursting with energy! Electrifying! Love the ambience of the Tudor Ballroom. Cosy and classy!

Hi Dong Dong,

Can you send me the 2 pictures? Email:[email protected]

But it does look bare
I hope more BTBs complain abt the deco so they will do something abt it. It's such a waste such new and nice ballroom looks bare coz of improper deco

i had viewed the windsor ballroom, however, i cannot tell how the actual deco will be like. according to chris, the couple had actually paid extra and engaged another forist to do the deco. still, there are definitely room for improvement. chris informed mi that they are talking to their contract forist.. however, when will teh changes take effect, is a big question mark. to be fair, the ballroom is pillarless with no obstraction. its a nice place. what a pity. i m keeping my fingers crossed, praying that teh improvement that are in negogiation can take place sooner so that my dinner venue will look better.

hi dong dong, can i have the other 2 pictures too? my email is [email protected]
we've signed up windsor ballroom for our dec 06 banquet... and these HR changes are making us abit jittery but we are praying for the better! give them some time to sort things out.
i am just curious but if an external florist has to be engaged, is there a way for us to argue/fight/bite to cut down our banquet charges since they are unable to deliver as promised?

Bamboo,
Mine's this Dec too so I'm hoping that GWP will have new ideas by then. The thought of having to top-up $$$ for decor/flowers is absurd!

Jen,
did your friend's florist do up Windsor very differently from the orriginal/suggested decor?
Was she not able to negotiate with GWP's florist, afterall the package already cost so much.

Btw, I've just picked up a copy of Female Brides. They're having a bridal fair at GWP May 19. There's a picture of the Windsor with better decorated tables & ribbons on all chairs. Don't know if the decor's only for advertising purposes or they've finally decided to spruce up the place.

Hi Bamboo and Vanessa,

I'm also Dec bride to be...using windsor as well. Haizz the problem is our agreement only stated flower arrangement but not the size or amount of flowers will be used to decorate the ballroom, so a bit hard to argue.

Cookie Bunny,

Perhaps we can try talking to Chris again or as L.S did, suggests a meeting with their florist. Maybe after their wedding show the decor will improve. Don't know why we're having to even concern ourselves with the ballroom set-up. Shouldn't GWP be adequately taking care of these basics? I'm considering re-cycling the flowers/decor from my wedding mass for the Windsor.

Hi Dong Dong,

Thanks for loading up those pictures to share with us. I'm disappointed because they'd convinced me that the new ballroom is going to be very grand, luxurious and they will definitely change the look and deco. Hence, I've keep my finger cross and 'd taken up Windsor during their upgrading and renovation, without even looking at it, not given any pictures or artist impression to view. I guess I've trusted GWP too much. Didn't know that it'll turn up to be like this with no black and white. It is ridiculous to top up cash on flowers, sashes and stage deco. Most hotel banquets comes with it with no charges. Service they'd provided was unsatisfactory, this will only affect their reputation. We felt cheated and I'm tired to chase them for an answer. Their turnovers are fast and there's no one that can assist us. I really hope you guys, the GWP brides can put up together to resolve the problems. We all want to be happy GWP brides.

Hi Toshichan,

Is your AD fast approaching? Golly, i'm definitely not paying additional to fill the empty ballroom (this should be in the already costly pkg)!

Just a thought- was wondering if the few of us who have booked the Windsor could arrange for a diplomatic meeting with Chris/GWP's florist to suggest/discuss possible options.
Perhaps a group of us meeting with the representative will prove more fruitful than each individual's futile attempts at trying to contact GWP. Maybe some good will come out of it & we won't have to fret over the decor further.

Btw, anyone attending Female Bride's wedding show @ GWP on May 19th? That may be a good time to clarify certain doubts with them, afterall they'll be trying to sell their wedding pkg then & am sure they won't be wanting unhappy customers.

Hi Vanessa,

I dont mind joining you all to meet them and discuss. When's your wedding? Mine will be on 29th Dec.

Are you going to the wedding show? I'm not free that day so I cant attend.

Arghh...I just got the feeling, they are allocating the same amount of $ for decoration both on Tudor and Windsor ballroom without giving further thought that Windsor ballroom is bigger so it'll need more flowers etc.

Hi Cookie Bunny,

My church wedding's on Dec 2nd & dinner the 3rd.
Will probably attend the show for some ideas on gown designs.
Can't be certain but there might be a wedding banquet mock up in Windsor's that evening for advertising purposes, so hope to take the opportunity to find out about their decor ideas.

The pictures I took were 2 months back, so not sure if things have changed. But I am staying put in Tudor, cos my tables are not a lot, and the new price is too high to justify for additional costs in Windsor Ballroom.

If someone has recent photos of Windsor ballroom, will be great if they can update if there are changes to the decor.

Hi Vanessa,
Ya, it will be good to attend the show, it's a pity I cant cancel my other appointment.

Do take some photos and share with us, thanks

Which BS are you going to?
I already went for my gown design last week

Dongdong,
I thought the price is the same irregardless the ballroom you are taking?
I definitely have more than 25 tables so have to take Windsor.

Hi Cookie Bunny,

No worries about not making the show. I'll keep you posted on the Windsor status.

Oh my BS, now that's another headache
. I kinda made a booboo, on the impulse sign-up with French Bridal & have since read about several brides' unpleasant encounters with them. I've not been for the gown selection so am trying to stay positive
What about your BS? Hope all else is goin well for you. Btw, would you be the same Cookie B on the 'catholic brides' thread?

Hi dongdong,

I'm curious too as to what's the price difference between the Tudor & Windsor. Did you book the Windsor then decided to switch to Tudor? If so, was there a fee imposed on the change? Thnks.

I signed up the Tudor ballroom mid last year, when the Windsor ballroom renovation has not started. The price difference is $100+++ per table, but I wasnt offer the mix and match menu when I signed the contract with a lower price, no free wine per table also.

I will check with GWP if they allow me to mix and match the menu under old pricing.

Hi Vanessa,

Thanks, will wait for your updates

OOh really bad comment? Their gowns featured in the magazines look really nice, it was in my shortlist BS. Just stay positive ok...I'm sure everything will work out fine

hehehe yup me the same cookie in catholic thread

Which church are you going to held your mass? Me going to have it at CTK.

Dongdong,
Lucky you managed to sign up before they increase the price. I think now the price is the same whether you choose Tudor or Windsor but I remember reading somewhere if you want to change after booking they might impose some charge.