Goodwood Park Hotel

hi noscon,
thanks,so its a good weather to go yeah?? cool...i will def consider!! but would it be cold to swim and snorkel then?

hey cookiencream,remember to tell us how ur food tasting went! very curious!!

hi cookieNcream, i am concern on budget too. I prefer friday too but need to discuss with fh again.

hi noscon, i know you are being helpful. Hoping that sun might be cheaper for me. Thanks..

hi angel,
if you are on a budget, then maybe consider friday. the only thing to consider is that some pple may work late,etc. nevertheless, its good to look at all the factors that can help contribute keeping things within ur budget.=D

i'm starting to feel a lil nervous liao. i should be distributing my cards in july, but i have yet to send cards for printing..still trying to finalize design of printing.=P hopefully i can get that sorted really soon!

back to e honeymoon topic...actually i wouldnt mind to go to somewhere a lil exotic like mauritius, but just a lil nervous that the banquet we may have to top up quite a fair amount....but i'm just considering that we hv already given the deposit, so that's considered part of the banquet bill paid.hehehehe....what do all think? should i surprise hubby and book us for nice long trip to mauritius?? i'm so confused!!!

The foodtasting went on very well ydaz. We enjoy being the critic for every dish. It's quite fun as if we are the gourmet experts.

We were so full! We were told that the food was meant for 10 persons' serving and we had 8 of us. The food may appear a lot, but a word of caution is that we shld consider the portion for 10 and not 8. Therefore we hv some comment that some of the food portion were not sufficient for 10 pax. Overall food tasted not bad and we took the chicken, fruit fish, prawns and mango sago.

Hi haru, the BS do provide but i tink they looks old n they r made of beads, not crystals. so not so shiny n nice. tinking of making my own but no design to follow leh.
i onli looking for cheap shoes, haha, sinc onli wear a while n unlikely to wear again.

Hi cookiencream, i tinking of making my own box also, but the cardboard will have to be v thick izzit? ur foodtasting is for 10 pax? isnt it supposed to be for 6 pax? yeah! gd to hear tt the pastry counter is gone!

thanx haru n cookiencream for ur advise, i m not working liao, can relax a bit to do my things liao....

hi cookie,
my package says food tasting for 6 pax. u think i can add 2 more? wana let my sister come along..

e durian puff at GWP is yummy, gota have it again!!!had it e last time when we when to pay deposit..=P

hi haru

It will be ok to go snorkel and diving... for mauritius package because the plan flys on weds and sats and suns so usu the trip is like either 3 days kind or 8 days kind or you can extend further... meaning like me I went on wed and come back next wed or you can go on wed and come back next sat or sun....

hope this helps in your planning...
I went to GSA and I love the personal attention they gave. They specialise in a few countries incl maldives and mauritius and they are able to book any hotel you want even though they got packages too... They even deliver my air plane tickets to my house! They told me if I already got some things in mind, can just call them and then they will send to us. No need to go to their office....

Are you planning on gg with Air Mauritius packages?

cookiencream
great that you enjoyed the food tasting! Finally! Your big day is approaching too...

Little bride...
did you get your bubble guns? enjoy the process...

Hi noscon,
thanks...umm..wats GSA? sorry for my ignorance!=P

i'm stil contemplating if i should splurge on the honeymoon.(we've already splurged on so many other stuff like our wedding bands, cards,etc)coz i am nervous that we may hve to top up for our banquet...

hey ladies,
have you all settled your wedding cakes which you wil be distributing? i'm planning to get e traditional ones coz our parents prefer to have them rather then the whole cakes which e relatives have to collect from shops like bengawan solo. think i wil try Kyo cake shop somwhere in AMK or Toa payoh...

hi haru

GSA travels.... the agency I booked with for mauritius trip...

I love the band, I have many good reviews from my friends... some of them esp stayed behind till 11pm (i ended at 10.30pm) to listen to the band and then to sing along with them... so I love it. so far I have never been to a wedding with one so it is pretty unique too and the songs are played and sang live during my marchin and through out the night so guests can delicate songs and it make the atmosphere lively and relaxed....

Hi L.S,

Saw your post regarding the no. of tables... i thought the ballroom can take about 23 tables comfortably? you mean it will spill over to the aisles? i'm a bit worried that it'll be very squashed....

Hi cookieNcream,

are you holding your dinner on a friday too? which dishes did you choose? I'll be going for food tasting somewhere next month... how long before do we choose the dishes?

Sorry a bit blur now...

hi noscon,
thanks! ur band came with your package yeah? coz mine has no band inclusive so am scouting around for one band..=D if urs is from GWP's package, wil ask Jeanie for their contact.

shymz,
Yeah. Unforunately, during my brother's wedding, some tables had to be placed in the wings. But, that could be because they had a dance floor in front of the stage. Take away the dance floor, and you could possibly have all 23 or 24 tables in within the pillars. I'll be having a dance floor too! Very exciting!

Haru, noscon and all others!!!
Going for my trial make-up tomorrow! Actually have 2 weddings to attend tomorrow. So, the timing of this trial session is perfect! One Malay wedding at 3ish and a Chinese banquet at the Fullerton in the evening! Do you think the make-up will last for both celebrations? Will using an ampoule help?

hi LS,
wow!!!have fun ya!i think just bring some foundation to touch up and maybe a darker shade of lipstick for the evening wedding..but I am no make-up expert, so can't realy give much advice!hahah...

i am REALLY feeling the excitement of the whole wedding coming together.am actively searching for florist, band, little decoration pieces for wedding banquet,etc..e last time i want to happen to have last min arrangements!

Noscon,
from your opinion,would the terrace look very bare with what the hotel florist is providing? just wondering how much more flowers and decor i should add on. did you work with Bee Tin (GWP florist) and Greenpoint together?

hi LS
long time no talk to you liao... It's a great timing!!! What time is your trial? shd be ok.... I think just bring a little more foundation and lipstick shd be suffice... dun look prettier than the brides hor... heehee

haru
I engaged my own band - compass entertainment.. they did many weddings before so they did a good job and they will choose songs for you if you are not sure else you can suggest songs to them and they will help see whether it is suitable for weddings.. i like them

I basically talked to GP personally and seek their professional opinions on how I shd decor the place since they hv experience decorating it and has been featured on mag with the GWP terrace so they are the experts... most imptly I like their accommodating svr.
I did not talk to Bee Tin cos my coordinator at GWP liaise with them. Jeanie liaise with both florists later on as she is familiar with this kind of coordination and she can advise on how much flowers to have...
for me the more the merrier as I think hvg more flowers really brings out the "garden" impact of terrace but of course must see $$ budget too lah... some of my guests brought home the centrepieces cos they like it so much...

but my advice is not too spend too much cos after my wedding, i hardly think abt it, i guess my guests too...
my personal opinions..
but then again some brides really like a memorable impression so got to spend a lot of $$$ ...

hi noscon,
ok, coz jeanie asked me to approach and talk to Bee Tin personally first. anyway, i emailed GP but no reply yet...i think my budget really small. i'm of coz hoping that the flowers that the hotel's florist provide wld be sufficient so that we dun hv to spend extra, or mayb DIY..but with flowers, its a lil difficult to DIY.. what do you think? wil e terrace look too empty with just the hotels' provided flowers?

hahaha

thanks to Ls and Lindy about shedding some light on lindy's whereabouts...

sigh I think I old liao... forget liao...

ok sent you an email...

Dear noscon,

i'm also thinking of engaging a band.. do you mind sharing on the details of the band? How many segments, etc..

Or can you pass me the contacts of compass entertainment @ [email protected]

Thanks a lot!

i had a lovely day yesterday..doing nothing!my hubby have to work all weekend and he had been super busy all week, so i was delighted when he finally had the time to meet me yesterday (we hadn't meet up for about a week).we went for some yummy curry and spent the evening chilling out..ah...the simple pleasures in life.

so hows everyone's exercise regime coming along. mine is still at zero for this week. hopefully,i'll have enuf will power to go for a run/power walk later.hahaha....
my hubby also feels that we outta start working out since we only have less than 3 mths to our wedding. and i really wana tone up before PS, hehehehe...

gosh,we are so undecided on our honeymoon, i think we may even end up booking it only after our wedding! then we'll also know our budget that we can spend for our honeymoon!

hi ladies!
i did it, finally went for a quick jog/powerwalk!!
didn't do a long distance though..heheh..but better than none! its really hot at this time of the day, but i had to go now coz i was falling asleep, and if i take a nap, i will b too lazy to get moving!hahahhah....think i got a lil tanned from the jog..hmm...

HI ho...

Attended 2 weddings yesterday. Tiring! In the end, I reapplied my make-up for the evening banquet from scratch. I thought the MUA used a foundation shade that was a tad too dark. It didn't go well with the tone of my neck! She'll adjust the shade during the photography session next week! Will be using a little more colour for my cheeks and eyes for the PS also. Yesterday's trial was au natural. I liked it, but would prefer a little more colour, a little more glamour for the pics!

noscon,
Jeannie coordinated the flowers for you? Even the ones you ordered that were not part of your package? Funny thing is, when we asked them about getting more flowers, she was trying to discourage us. Wonder why???

Hi All! I'm bk from weekend break...Being looking ard for europe packages, but dun hv my departure date wor...exchange rate v ex too, goodness....

Noscon, LOL! i guess poor lindy muz be "sweating" out there...

little bride & haru, I'd nego. 8 pax to attend my foodtasting. The chef told me the food was meant for 10 pax, then Irene told me the food was meant for 8 pax... er... v blur now!
I not sure if they r willing to prepare for additional pax. But no harm asking yr coordinator whether can add extra pple to attend anot. As for angbao box, u can use the box for A4 paper (can take from office) and decorate with fabric, lace or paper.

Haru, hv u chk out Kyo? Me chk wif Beng. Solo alreadi. They hv nice wedding boxes leh, though cant personalised lor. I'm tink more or less i'll use them coz got their branch near my place. I can easily pick up & distribute to my relatives rather than hv them to pick up themselves.

shymz, mine a friday dinner. I took the lobster salad, crispy chicken, fruit fish, prawn with macademia nuts and mango sago. U need to book yr foodtasting date & menu at least 7 days in advance.

Hey LS, u will hv a dance floor ar? tat's interesting!...but got space meh? must remove tables anot har?

Tonite i'll hv meeting at GWP for colour theme & decoration. Will share wif u tmr.

LS
glad u like your makeup...
who is the mua?

Generally my 2 coordinators(1 left) dun encourage more flowers, I also dun noe why... maybe they feel it's enough but I feel brides think differently because you want it to be special and very pretty so you spare the money but maybe if they are the ones getting married, they may think differently. Any how they are very good coordinators to advise us not to spend so much... heehee

hi cookieNcream

cool so exciting.... share with us the decoration details...

haru
so disciplined eh.... your hubby so busy one? I always very "nian" to mine because I am very used to being with him. I hope I can learn to be more independent! haha but i go shopping with friends!!

ladies
Anyone went midnight shopping? how was it?

i spent the nite at shangri-la yesterday as hubby had a free rom as he had event there. took e morning off and managed to have a nice swim there tis morn..and we had a nicehot tub bath last nite. it was really nice for hubby coz he had been working all weekend.

hi noscon,
yeah, i am pretty much independent, if hubby nt free coz of work,i'll just do my own stuff like go for a run,etc...heheheh....

Hi haru,

We're probably gonna have more than 20 bottles. Just in case. Mixture of red and white wines. I think more red compared to white. And some whiskey and vodka for mixers.

Hi ladies, my meeting wif GWP was a tough one. We were asked to make many impt decisions! Sweat~

We hv chosen the white and peach combination. As for flowers, Irene suggested mango-orange roses. However, we hv no ideas wat the actual colour effects and she has no photos to show. She only ensured us tat it wld turn out nice. Like noscon & LS mentioned earlier, she also doesnt sound keen when we said we wld like to visit the florist.
Anyone has floralbell's contact and address?

Until now i havent seen the bridal suit, do u think i shld request particular suite? Everytime i ask, they said occupied. I think they didnt want us to choose.

As for the no. of wine, we asked them to cap at 24 tentatively. All red wine. Very difficult decision. Shld we allow them to serve the liquor to the guests when cocktail start or when dinner start.

Noscon, any advice on this? HELP HELP!

cookie...

1st of all, take a deep cleansing breath. 2nd, have your fiance-hubby rub your shoulders to ease tension. Then, panic slowly. Ok! Ok! The last step's a joke! But, seriously, do calm down. Mango-orange roses do sound pretty. Esp. if you've picked out the peach coloured table linen. If in doubt, you can always visit any florist and ask to see their mango-orange roses. That'll give you some idea of the colour combination. I'm still wondering why the coordinators discourage extra flowers. Not that it's at GWP's expense. Perhaps it's more work on their part coordinating the flowers and florists. Then again, isn't that what banquet coordinators are supposed to do?? I would think they would be in the best position to handle the logistics.

The viewing of the suites... I guess my fiance and I were lucky and were able to view 1 suite. Only 1. There was this guy who was active on this thread months and months ago. He has since been quiet. But, he managed to view all their suites during one of his visits to GWP. In any case, in my opinion, you and your intended should insist on viewing the suites. Perhaps you could send your coordinator an email requesting this. Pick a day (preferably not over the weekend) where you can go down to GWP and spend some time finalizing all the banquet details AND viewing the suites.

The serving of alcohol...
I attended a banquet several days ago at the Fullerton Hotel. They only started serving the wine after the 1st course was presented. Interesting concept, I thought. Perhaps this was to ensure all guests remained somewhat sober for at least part of the banquet!! Hahahaha.....

noscon...

So sorry! Didn't realised you asked who my MUA is! her name is Lynn (Baoling) and she's one of a few MUAs that Bridal Concept engages for their brides. I'm a Bridal Concept bride!

hi LS, i muz hv sound v panicky! Hahaha!!! I didnt expect need to confirm so many things at one go, so quite scared lor...heehee. Thx for yr advices, i will discuss wif my hb again! And yes, eastlibra seems to MIA for quite sometimes huh? Hope he knows we are missing him. really thk him for the BIG efforts in sending us the pics.

Today marks my 3th pak-tor annivesary. I was grilling my hb ydaz nite wif qns on our 1st few dates... haahaa... he was so scare tat if he cant rem, & i will
kao_angry.gif
. Luckily he passed but he still owe me 3 qns tonite b4 i can leave him to sleep peacefully...hohoho

hi cookieNcream,
no worries, dun panick...relax and breathe...=D

my MUA is Kenneth Lee, am having trial in about 2 weeks.looking forward to it!

Hi LS,
i may be meeting a guy a friend recommended for wine tasting..hopefully we can get that sorted soon too.

haru,
Wine... wine... I'm no wine connoisseur (in fact, alcohol and I do not mix well, unfortunately - i develop asthmatic symptoms when I drink), but my fiance likes red wine and will be going to a place called Winebos to arrange for wine tasting and the ordering of our stash of wine for our wedding. Think he's got a lobang there. Lobangs are always good!!!

gues everyone must be busy busy with work, coz the thread not active for past 2 days. anyways,i'll be gg to get more furniture for our house this sat. have a great weekend!!!

hey people...

Tomorrow is the day my fiance and I go for our PS! Can hardly contain our excitement... Went for a mani and pedi last evening. May go for a body massage and scrub today if time permits. Need to clam myself down lah...